Largo, FL 
Taylor Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #13 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 357ft.   3 / 357ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Livin Large in Largo!

1    10/11/2013   10/14/2013
Review By: jjw4ucm
Played: 21  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 1.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Can I say creature comforts?!?! Seriously, this has to be the best course I've ever played in terms of everything you need to focus on just playing the game. Not only are there benches, bag hangers, trash cans, and bathrooms, there's also boot scrubbers at several holes and little brooms at every hole to dust off the tee pads. I've never played a course with so many amenities -- hats off to the local club that maintains this course!

Keeping in mind this is coastal Florida, there's not a lot of elevation, so the course does a great job using different shots, lies, and scenery to keep things interesting. I never once got bored playing here.

The active pin marking system is fantastic and something I wish the course designers in my native Kansas City would use more often. Again, just another way this course lets you focus on the game and not on wandering around or being confused.

While this course plays in a fairly busy park in Largo, there are signs abounding warning passerby to watch for flying discs, and the people I encountered walking their dogs/running were extremely friendly for the most part and seemed really aware that they were in a DG area. Again, kudos to the local residents and club for turning what's usually a big con into something positive.

The lake you play next to is gorgeous and makes a nice water hazard on a couple holes. I had to smile at the signs reminding you to watch for alligators (but seriously, this is Florida -- if there's water, there's a chance of gators, and not the blue and orange variety).

Again, the scenery on this course is really pretty and made for a very enjoyable round. It reminds you that in Florida, you don't have to be next to a beach to be in some really peaceful, gorgeous natural beauty.

Another huge kudos is in order for the local club for the FANTASTIC signage everywhere on the course. I spent no time wandering around; there's literally signs everywhere pointing you directly to the next tee from every basket.

Very friendly locals abounded to help me out, give pointers, and ever offer extra discs if I needed them -- thanks guys!

Signs at the tee are visually stunning and give you all the info you could ever need.

I played in October, so the course had dried out nicely and was ready for play. Even if it hadn't been, there was grass almost everywhere to help with being waterlogged. I hope to come back sometime in summer to see what it's like during the rainy season.

The shelters and playgrounds in this multi-use park were generally pretty secluded and wouldn't come into play save a horribly thrown drive, which I've been known to do, but was lucky enough to not do this time around. :)

There's great signage pointing you to the parking lot and ample parking. This park is pretty big and has a lot of non-DG areas, so I appreciated knowing where to go. Made it very easy.
Cons:
I feel bad listing this as a "con", but keep in mind this is coastal Florida -- there's not a lot of elevation on this course which will probably be very different for most of you from out of town.

While the people frequenting the trails around the park seemed very friendly and aware of the DG course, there are still trails that cut across, so think before you throw and remember that they can come into play occasionally.
Other Thoughts: This course is just southwest of the heart of Largo. Take 686 westbound from 275, left on Clearwater/Largo Road, and right on 8th Ave. You should see signs from here. Also, Bay Drive cuts over to the barrier islands at Bellair Beach, so if you're staying in Clearwater Beach like myself or on the other barrier islands it's a fairly easy drive.

As far as layout, scenery, and the like, this course is probably a solid 4.0. What sets it apart is the sheer amount of amenities and little touches that just take the game from good to truly enjoyable. I have never seen a better maintained, signed, thought-out course, and hats off to the local club that makes it all happen. Thanks for giving me a great place to play!

That's why Taylor Park gets a 4.5...when I got back to Kansas City, the gf and I went out to one of our local courses and I was searching for the pin position markers, benches galore, shoe scrubbers, and the like that I saw here. I'd love to see my local KC courses incorporate this (and also, pick up the garbage as well as was done here...maybe I can bring back some ideas!). It truly stands out in my mind for both the amazing play and the first-class experience of playing here.

To reiterate, 4.0 because of the course itself -- 4.5 due to the experience and ease of play. Because I felt it was everything a DG course should be and more. Happy discing in paradise!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, great community

2-4    4/14/2013   9/1/2013
Review By: Treebeard
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Course layout is diverse, fun, and demanding at times.
-Course maintenance is top-notch.
-Enjoyable surroundings in the park, nice amount of shade.
-The local disc golf club/community was great. I showed up on one of their league days and had an absolute blast. One of the most friendly and best organized clubs I've encountered. I look forward to going back to play with them.
Cons: -Course only yelds a few bomb opportunities if that's something you're looking for.
-Not much elevation change but this is FL so it's really not bad for the area. Not really a fair con!
Other Thoughts: Stop by and check this course whenever you can, but if you get a chance to play with the local club you should get on that. They've got a bar across the street with good beer and food too; it's pretty awesome.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Don't get stressed ,practice

5+    2/17/2013   2/19/2013
Review By: Rustyham
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First off, this course is swank. Two practice baskets, close parking (ample), close bathrooms and waterfountain. As for each hole, the baskets get moved about twice a month, each hole have between 2 and 4 positions. Each pad also has a coat (bag) rack, a bench, a very easy to read sign, shoe brushes and pad brooms. Definitely one of the best equipped and maintained courses out there.

Meanwhile, the holes are VARIED. Lots of sharp corners and tight windows, lots of obstructions to navigate, but it never feels accidental or hap-hazard, almost like the trees were grown specifically with the course in mind.
Cons: There is a lot of sand, which means a lot of ants. Don't stay in one place for too long. Definitely pay attention to the wind, it can turn your disc over and send it out over the lake. I wish there were more open air, long distance holes, right now there is only one (17), but I hope as the game gets more popular, they will a lot more land to the club and the course.
Other Thoughts: You should definitely try this place out. You'll use just about every throw in your arsenal, and you'll really learn how to not bite more than you can swallow. Aim for par here if you want a good score.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The club loves their course!

5+    6/30/2012   7/4/2012
Review By: nitron2097
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My favorite course in Tampa Bay (Ed Medard is a now a close second though!) The Taylor Park Disc Golf Club has done an absolutely incredible job on this course. I played here when the wooden signs were broken and there were no alternate pins.

This is probably the most beginner friendly of all the bigger courses in Tampa Bay. The holes are straightforward with enough hazards to get in your way if you throw an errant shot.This course tests your ability to avoid hazards and drive with precision.

As everyone says, Taylor Park is the best cared for course around here. The signs are impeccable and give extremely detailed representations of the holes... with pin position markers! Benches and bag racks on every hole with brushes to clear the tees and even shoe brushes on several holes. Best course equipment hands down.

We have this plant in Florida called "saw palmetto". It's pretty much a huge palm tree sitting on the ground... and it eats plastic. Taylor is infested with this stuff and it creates a spectacular natural hazard. You learn quick to keep away.

Taylor is a great test of driving accuracy. You'll have to throw many different kinds of shots here. The fairways are generous, but not wide.

This course has more alternate pin positions than every other Pinellas County course... combined. Every time you come here, the course will be different. Very good effort was put into these pin placements... each one changes the shot you'll have to throw; 11-A is simply sadistic, 13-B might as well be IN the lake, and 15-C is epic; the basket goes on top of a four foot high tree stump... awesome!

The scenery here is amazing, and the wildlife is great, too. I saw a pileated woodpecker and a water moccasin on my last visit... along with Taylor's 14' long mascot, skulking around the lake!

Two practice baskets! That's a major plus!
Cons: The layout can seem a little bit repetitive. C.R. Willey did a good job of utilizing what little elevation change the course has, but most of your shots are straightforward.

You do occasionally have to wait on pedestrians while you're throwing along the lake. This course is extremely popular, so it can get crowded sometimes, too.

The only restroom is between #17 and #18, so either walk down the shell path and start on #14 if you want to hit it in the middle of your round, or go before you throw.

A few of the tees - #9 Pro and #16 - offer no run up room. Not really much to do about this, but some might find it problematic.

Only real opportunity to grip 'n rip is #10. I'd like at least one more wide open hole if this was my course, but now I'm nitpicking.

#4 and #14 are basically at lake level, and both these tees and fairways get submerged by heavy rain. Again, nothing to do about it, just be aware.
Other Thoughts: Really, the amenities make up for the few minor faults here. Taylor is the best course in Tampa Bay. Everyone from the disc golf club is friendly and welcoming, and the course is awesome.

Spotters might be helpful for beginners. You can easily lose discs in the underbrush here.

Despite the proximity to water, bugs are never really an issue here. The biggest problem is HEAT... bring water (there's a fountain near the tee for #18).

Hole notes:

#1 - A bit of a poke 'n hope fairway. It's pretty overgrown, and the two palm trees in the middle eat plastic.

#5 - Nice uphill shot. Position C here is rough.

#7 - Position C tests your accuracy; a low skip shot just in front of the foliage to the left puts you next to the basket.

#10 - Long drive contest hole. Careful with RHBH and lefty flick hyzers here, through... I've skipped off the hill and down toward the lake before.

#11 - Taylor's signature hole. Position A is sadistic. It's on a little bank about eight feet from the lake with trees directly behind and the fairway is guarded by a big overhanging tree and saw palmetto.

#12 - Nice shot choice here. You can go right through a tough opening or drive high right out and around.

#15 - Longest hole on the course, and I mentioned Position C earlier.

#18 - Position C here is fun, too. It's blind from the tee; there's a big hole cut into the overgrowth just past the walking path... the basket's tucked in there about twenty feet in. Drive right or you're making bogey.

Taylor is home base for me and my pals, and it's my favorite course. Play it, and if you have time, check out the disc golf club on Sunday!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 IMPRESSIVE!...but watch where you step.

1    6/3/2012   6/5/2012
Review By: Iowa420DG
Played: 149  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: COURSE EQUIPMENT - The tee pads and baskets are great. The course provides a small brush and shoe cleaners near many holes. Nothing was stolen. This is the most impressive display of course equipment I've ever enjoyed.

GAMEPLAY - Naturally, the game play benefits from the solid and plentiful equipment. Aside from that, it has great flow, easy navigation, and a great variety of holes. It offers a ton of good risk-reward shots. The Water comes into play, significantly, on 2 holes. Good use of the little elevation change Florida can offer. There was hardly anyone else playing this course, but plenty of people enjoying the walking path and playground equipment. The holes flowed into each other well, and "next-tee" signage was helpful and accurate.

WILDLIFE/SCENE - The wildlife here is phenomenal. I spotted a gator in the lake and a water moccasin near the sidewalk - both firsts for me. Tons of grey squirrels playing and little lizards. The course is located in a pretty secluded part of a huge park.
Cons: The wildlife I noted are very dangerous... look out for water moccasins. Actually, an old man walking the path spotted the snake for us. If not for him, one of us would've likely stepped on it and gotten bit.
The grass on the fairways is rather uncut. Its 5''+, making it difficult to spot snakes before you step on them.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in the Clearwater/Tampa area (better than Cliff Stephens and North East Coachman), which is saying something, because they're all good!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sandslugs indeed!!

5+    5/13/2012   5/19/2012
Review By: Alin
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The most aesthetically pleasing course in the area and, certainly, the best looking course I have ever flown. I am biased as it is home base. Challenging enough with at least 3 basket locations per hole. The great signage...I'm on the turtle hole (#13). The gator mascot!! Great benches, bag holders, next tee sign directionals, and welcome sign!
Cons: While I am quite used to the park being multi-usage, the wait on the walkers is extensive enough to be a con. Without this con the course would rate 5.
Other Thoughts: Bias aside...the Taylor Park Club has put a lot of effort, funds, and tender loving care into this course and it shows!!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Maybe the best course I have played in some time

1    3/26/2012   3/30/2012
Review By: numbernine
Played: 45  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I hate to be that guy, but I am struggling to find ANYTHING wrong with this course. So, here I go.

First, let's talk about the signs on this course. Seriously, the single best signs that I have ever seen on a course. Period. They are essentially overhead, digital images of the course itself, and the THREE pin positions of each hole. There are also little images of the club members throwing their discs and walking and other things. With these signs, you can stand on the tee pad, look at the sign and never have to find the basket in front of you. These things are the best! And on these signs, there is a little marker that indicates which pin position the basket is in. Literally, every course should have these signs.

Navigation is EASY on this course. If you get lost, you are trying. After each basket, there is a nice, bright sign that says "THIS WAY" to the next pad. Also, the course has a PERFECT natural flow. Great course design. This is often overlooked when playing a course, but it is indeed the little things that matter!

There are multiple pads on most holes. The pads are all long, nice, concrete pads that grip well and are cleaned off. And if they aren't clean? THERE IS A SMALL BROOM ON EACH HOLE TO CLEAN THEM OFF! They literally thought of everything on this course.

The baskets catch perfectly. They have to be new.

Bag racks are on almost every hole and benches are on every hole. This is great! I love being able to sit if I have to wait on the group in front of me, or not have to put my bag on the ground. While I generally carry a stool, this is still a great add on!

The park is beautiful. Lots of mature trees, palmettos and other natural obstacles to get in your way. There is also a large body of water towards the center of the park that comes in to play on several of the holes.

Lots of different shot types to be had on this course. It's mostly a mid range, control type course, but there are different throw types required.
Cons: if I had to come up with something to gripe about, it would be the number of non disc golfers on the course. There were SEVERAL times (I think on the back) where I had to wait on people to get down the walking path, or for them to get their dog out from in front of the basket I was shooting at it. It's something that can't be changed, but it is something that brings down the rating by .5
Other Thoughts: Honestly, I love this course. It has everything that everyone loves about disc golf. It is obviously deeply cared for by it's club. The attention to detail is stunning! go out of your way to play this one!

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Florida's finest

1    3/12/2012   3/12/2012
Review By: w8nforhim
Played: 58  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: You must play this course! This course is one of the best-kept, maintained courses I have ever played. The course is located at a beautiful park that is situated around a small lake. The course is on the opposite side of the lake from the entrance of the park. Each hole is between 200-300 feet for the most part and has scattered trees, but no thick woods. The start of the course has a bulletin board with announcements and a course map. Each hole has concrete tee pads. Each hole also has a sign that shows the hole layout, including the different pin locations. Then, there is a marker showing which pin location is in use...this is a great idea that many courses fail to include. Then, there are signs that point you in the direction of the next tee pad, differentiating where applicable between pro and am. Also at each hole, there are bag holders and benches. Several holes also offer shoe brushes and brushes to sweep off the tee pad.
Cons: There are really no cons. If you want to get technical, most of the shots are similar...between 200-300 feet and usually straight in front of the tee or slightly to the left or right. But this isn't really bad. Just FYI.
Other Thoughts: Again, you must play this course. It is absolutely beautiful and makes for a very enjoyable round. The course has scattered trees and shrubs throughout the holes, but the fairways are pretty wide and reward technical shots, but don't make it impossible if you hit a tree. All-in-all, my favorite course in Florida!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Very nice course

5+    1/15/2012   1/15/2012
Review By: scottys33
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.9 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very well maintained park along with great signs. There's a variety of shots so its not dominantly a righty or lefty course.
Cons: Occasionally foot traffic along the path slows down the game.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the Tampa/St. Pete/ Clearwater area you should definitely go play Taylor.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 taylor park

5+    12/15/2011   1/8/2012
Review By: tedy4444
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: this course is amazing for intermediate and up players. the club at this park is so involved and puts so much money into trying to make this the best park around. great signage. no way to get lost or confused. always well groomed.
Cons: the water holes are fairly challenging especially since the water is on your left and im a right handed backhander. can get the better of any righty that cant consistently get some turn. when it rains, this park is underwater.
Other Thoughts: i recommend any avid d-golfer to hit this course when in the area. i drive like a half hour to get there roughly once a month. it is worth a trip.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.