Disc Golf Center
Largo, FL 
Taylor Park Share
Uploaded By: 9ballwizzz Hole #18 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 282ft.   3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee Sign



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Don't get stressed ,practice

5+    2/17/2013   2/19/2013
Review By: Rustyham
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First off, this course is swank. Two practice baskets, close parking (ample), close bathrooms and waterfountain. As for each hole, the baskets get moved about twice a month, each hole have between 2 and 4 positions. Each pad also has a coat (bag) rack, a bench, a very easy to read sign, shoe brushes and pad brooms. Definitely one of the best equipped and maintained courses out there.

Meanwhile, the holes are VARIED. Lots of sharp corners and tight windows, lots of obstructions to navigate, but it never feels accidental or hap-hazard, almost like the trees were grown specifically with the course in mind.
Cons: There is a lot of sand, which means a lot of ants. Don't stay in one place for too long. Definitely pay attention to the wind, it can turn your disc over and send it out over the lake. I wish there were more open air, long distance holes, right now there is only one (17), but I hope as the game gets more popular, they will a lot more land to the club and the course.
Other Thoughts: You should definitely try this place out. You'll use just about every throw in your arsenal, and you'll really learn how to not bite more than you can swallow. Aim for par here if you want a good score.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful course

2-4    11/19/2012   11/21/2012
Review By: KimBrennan
Played: 53  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 33.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice park. Artistic signs (on both short and long tees, with correct distance to the various pin placements.) Clean park, with restrooms.
Cons: As this is a multi use park, non disc golfers are frequently nearby. Several of the holes are parallel with the main walking path, which aggravates this problem.

The course is tightly packed into the available space, meaning that fairways are adjacent to each other (have to watch out for other golfers throws.)

Baskets do not have the hole number on them. Coupled with the closely knit other holes, it is sometimes possible to mis-identify which basket is appropriate for the hole you are on.

Lake hazard on several holes (and the lake has large alligators, so it is wise to avoid at all costs.)

No drop box for recovered lost discs.
Other Thoughts: While the tee signs are beautifully done, for a first timer on the course, I really preferred the photos as done at NE Coachman.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Taylor Park Review

1    10/23/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: dano3
Played: 47  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Taylor Park is beautiful. The Parking is plentiful and the course is clean. There are plenty of signs leading the way to the next hole. Great pin placement with options for multiple pins.
Cons: several holes follow property boundary of homes. No Camping
Other Thoughts: Locals are very friendly. Unlike other Florida courses I played on my vacation.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/15/2013   10/19/2012
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 9.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course is located in a beautiful Park
-Alternating Pin positions, some tees have multiple tees. Pins are consistently rotating.
-Nice balance for left and right throwers. They can rotate the baskets, flip the shots and still maintain a nice balance for throwers.
-Course Map at the start, as well as a practice/warm up area with two baskets and distance markers. (e.g 30ft) There are also benches in the practice area as well as a picnic shelter.
-Each tee has the whole package: Concrete Tee's, Bag hooks, Benches, and great tee signs.
-Taylor Park gets a solid A+ for their Tee signs. Very attractive and ornate tee maps at both the long and short tees, pin locations, with distance, pin position marker. Plus a bonus for placing huge yellow signs around the park that warn of Flying Discs.
-Two raised baskets. #7 and #15. (They may or may not be in play, depending on the basket position setup)
-Bathrooms & Shelters located at the start on the course ( Bathroom is located near the parking lot, but on the opposite side of the shelter near basket 17. You won't get near it again until you finish)
-Each fairway is open enough to allow a person to choose their lines, but there are enough trees that will require you to hit the gaps strategically.
-Beginners can play here with no problem, as well as professionals. It's primarily the longer holes that have the multiple tee-pads. The course gives stronger arms a chance at the long distance shots, while still providing a fun experience to the novice. It's very well balanced.
-Great fun factor
-Course navigation is straight out and back. It plays out and back to the parking lot.
FWIW
-located in a park with a number of activities and walking trails.
Cons: -You are still subject to course interactions with other park goers and park activities. Congestion can be a factor here. You are still reminded to look before you throw. Though the course is away from other activities, it is not segregated from the rest of the park.
-Some fairways play real close to some houses and their fence lines, pay attention when you throw.
-Walking paths come into play on certain parts of the course, and you may find yourself sharing the playing field with other park users.
-Though there are signs, some of the transitions may have you looking around for the next hole. (First time issue only)
Tip: It's easy to skip 11, don't miss it.
Other Thoughts: Taylor Park is a beautiful course that is located in a very nice park. It's full of well-built and attractive amenities. The layout will have the thrower working lines around trees and down pathways. I think the fun factor is equal to the challenge. It's definitely a fun course to play, and it didn't take long before it was added to my favorites list. Everyone that plays here, should come away with a great experience. The only real issue I see is that the park traffic could become an obstacle. Even when I played here, I found that I was working around park traffic. This course should be added to the list of courses to play in the Tampa/Clearwater area.
It's a park, so no special footwear or protective clothing necessary here. You'll pass plenty of restaurants and gas stations on the way here. It's Florida, so bringing liquids should be a norm. You will want to give yourself some extra time to get here. Traffic from 275 is hectic and can be slow moving. It's not easily accessed, but is well worth the trip. Taylor Park will not disappoint!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Much improved...

2-4    8/12/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: v0nn3gut
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has, by far, the best signs I've ever seen. They have clearly put in a lot of work and it shows. Little touches like shoe cleaners and mini-brooms at some tees make you feel like your on the pro-circuit or something.

Infrastructure aside, this is a great park. I threw about 50/50 side-arm versus flick today so you can definitely get a variety of shots.

Cons: Only two cons:

- Pedestrians are abundant, but they seemed aware of the fact that a game was being played around them so not the biggest issue in the world.

- A lot of the holes on the back nine are staggered so that you're walking back towards the tee of the hole you just played to get to the next tee. I understand they have to make the most of the space they have to work with but this type of layout makes the course feel crowded.
Other Thoughts: Definitely an excellent course and I will definitely be back there sooner rather than later

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Experience

1    8/8/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 61  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 3.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quality 18 hole course located in a large family friendly park in Largo. A large announcement board sits by the parking lot and there are bathroom facilities on site. Large cement tees are sufficient for throwing, and about 1/3 of the holes have a short tee. First rate colored signs depict hole number, distance and desired flight path. A long screw/wingnut inserted into the base of the sign indicates "A", "B" or "C" basket position. "Next Tee" signs assist with navigation. There are benches and bag poles at each hole. Water comes into play on a couple of holes, but is not restrictive or unfair (Hole # 11 in particular is excellent). Newly placed flags atop each basket makes them visible from the tee box.
Cons: Safety issues exist at some junctures where holes run parallel to one another. Waiting on pedestrians who use the walking path can be an annoyance. Palmettos and water will punish errant shots. The fairway grass should be cut more often. Not a fan of hole # 1- a "throw and hope" hole.
Other Thoughts: The town of Largo is a real nice area of Florida, and Taylor Park is no exception. It has variety and is laid out well. It is primarily an open course with plenty of various types of trees and vegetation spread out challenging you to hit lines.

As an out-of-state player who played a PDGA event here, I thoroughly enjoyed my experience. I was totally impressed by the local club, the "sand slugs", who made me feel welcome and who work tirelessly at course enhancement and attention to detail. Their unofficial "clubhouse"- a restaurant across the street, contains various plaques and memorabilia from leagues and weeklys. A highly recommended play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in the sun.

1    7/1/2012   7/19/2012
Review By: chuckrcp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of pin placements.
Pro and amateur tee pads.
The members are very nice.
For my first time playing it was easy to find next tee.
Cons: Lots of paths cross in the fairways.
People do not look before crossing in front of tee pads, I almost hit a person walking on path.

Other Thoughts: Had a great time I will be bringing my son to play here

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The club loves their course!

5+    6/30/2012   7/4/2012
Review By: nitron2097
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My favorite course in Tampa Bay (Ed Medard is a now a close second though!) The Taylor Park Disc Golf Club has done an absolutely incredible job on this course. I played here when the wooden signs were broken and there were no alternate pins.

This is probably the most beginner friendly of all the bigger courses in Tampa Bay. The holes are straightforward with enough hazards to get in your way if you throw an errant shot.This course tests your ability to avoid hazards and drive with precision.

As everyone says, Taylor Park is the best cared for course around here. The signs are impeccable and give extremely detailed representations of the holes... with pin position markers! Benches and bag racks on every hole with brushes to clear the tees and even shoe brushes on several holes. Best course equipment hands down.

We have this plant in Florida called "saw palmetto". It's pretty much a huge palm tree sitting on the ground... and it eats plastic. Taylor is infested with this stuff and it creates a spectacular natural hazard. You learn quick to keep away.

Taylor is a great test of driving accuracy. You'll have to throw many different kinds of shots here. The fairways are generous, but not wide.

This course has more alternate pin positions than every other Pinellas County course... combined. Every time you come here, the course will be different. Very good effort was put into these pin placements... each one changes the shot you'll have to throw; 11-A is simply sadistic, 13-B might as well be IN the lake, and 15-C is epic; the basket goes on top of a four foot high tree stump... awesome!

The scenery here is amazing, and the wildlife is great, too. I saw a pileated woodpecker and a water moccasin on my last visit... along with Taylor's 14' long mascot, skulking around the lake!

Two practice baskets! That's a major plus!
Cons: The layout can seem a little bit repetitive. C.R. Willey did a good job of utilizing what little elevation change the course has, but most of your shots are straightforward.

You do occasionally have to wait on pedestrians while you're throwing along the lake. This course is extremely popular, so it can get crowded sometimes, too.

The only restroom is between #17 and #18, so either walk down the shell path and start on #14 if you want to hit it in the middle of your round, or go before you throw.

A few of the tees - #9 Pro and #16 - offer no run up room. Not really much to do about this, but some might find it problematic.

Only real opportunity to grip 'n rip is #10. I'd like at least one more wide open hole if this was my course, but now I'm nitpicking.

#4 and #14 are basically at lake level, and both these tees and fairways get submerged by heavy rain. Again, nothing to do about it, just be aware.
Other Thoughts: Really, the amenities make up for the few minor faults here. Taylor is the best course in Tampa Bay. Everyone from the disc golf club is friendly and welcoming, and the course is awesome.

Spotters might be helpful for beginners. You can easily lose discs in the underbrush here.

Despite the proximity to water, bugs are never really an issue here. The biggest problem is HEAT... bring water (there's a fountain near the tee for #18).

Hole notes:

#1 - A bit of a poke 'n hope fairway. It's pretty overgrown, and the two palm trees in the middle eat plastic.

#5 - Nice uphill shot. Position C here is rough.

#7 - Position C tests your accuracy; a low skip shot just in front of the foliage to the left puts you next to the basket.

#10 - Long drive contest hole. Careful with RHBH and lefty flick hyzers here, through... I've skipped off the hill and down toward the lake before.

#11 - Taylor's signature hole. Position A is sadistic. It's on a little bank about eight feet from the lake with trees directly behind and the fairway is guarded by a big overhanging tree and saw palmetto.

#12 - Nice shot choice here. You can go right through a tough opening or drive high right out and around.

#15 - Longest hole on the course, and I mentioned Position C earlier.

#18 - Position C here is fun, too. It's blind from the tee; there's a big hole cut into the overgrowth just past the walking path... the basket's tucked in there about twenty feet in. Drive right or you're making bogey.

Taylor is home base for me and my pals, and it's my favorite course. Play it, and if you have time, check out the disc golf club on Sunday!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 IMPRESSIVE!...but watch where you step.

1    6/3/2012   6/5/2012
Review By: Iowa420DG
Played: 145  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: COURSE EQUIPMENT - The tee pads and baskets are great. The course provides a small brush and shoe cleaners near many holes. Nothing was stolen. This is the most impressive display of course equipment I've ever enjoyed.

GAMEPLAY - Naturally, the game play benefits from the solid and plentiful equipment. Aside from that, it has great flow, easy navigation, and a great variety of holes. It offers a ton of good risk-reward shots. The Water comes into play, significantly, on 2 holes. Good use of the little elevation change Florida can offer. There was hardly anyone else playing this course, but plenty of people enjoying the walking path and playground equipment. The holes flowed into each other well, and "next-tee" signage was helpful and accurate.

WILDLIFE/SCENE - The wildlife here is phenomenal. I spotted a gator in the lake and a water moccasin near the sidewalk - both firsts for me. Tons of grey squirrels playing and little lizards. The course is located in a pretty secluded part of a huge park.
Cons: The wildlife I noted are very dangerous... look out for water moccasins. Actually, an old man walking the path spotted the snake for us. If not for him, one of us would've likely stepped on it and gotten bit.
The grass on the fairways is rather uncut. Its 5''+, making it difficult to spot snakes before you step on them.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in the Clearwater/Tampa area (better than Cliff Stephens and North East Coachman), which is saying something, because they're all good!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sandslugs indeed!!

5+    5/13/2012   5/19/2012
Review By: Alin
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The most aesthetically pleasing course in the area and, certainly, the best looking course I have ever flown. I am biased as it is home base. Challenging enough with at least 3 basket locations per hole. The great signage...I'm on the turtle hole (#13). The gator mascot!! Great benches, bag holders, next tee sign directionals, and welcome sign!
Cons: While I am quite used to the park being multi-usage, the wait on the walkers is extensive enough to be a con. Without this con the course would rate 5.
Other Thoughts: Bias aside...the Taylor Park Club has put a lot of effort, funds, and tender loving care into this course and it shows!!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.