Largo, FL 
Taylor Park Share
Uploaded By: 9ballwizzz Hole #18 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 282ft.   3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee Sign



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 oh...my...god

2-4    3/18/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: elpool009
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: perfect signage. easily the best ive ever seen.
the pin placements are incredible, three possibilities for basket locations. the perfect amount of shade and sun for those blistering FL days. did i mention the signs??? the huge effing alligator. the cleanliness of the park. the variety in shots. the varying degree of difficulty in each hole. each one is independent of the last. almost like being at an amusement park with each hole being a different ride. the lack of silk worms. the trash cans. the digital sounding blackbird on 13.
Cons: proximity to a well worn path.
Other Thoughts: this spot forces you into a different shot on each throw. super cool layout with the trees and bushes beg you to enjoy a super ambidextrous afternoon. really loved it here both times i played there. if you only have time to play one course in the area, then play here. if you have time to play a few times in the area, then play here at least twice.

second favorite course ive ever played.
devens ma being #1

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 All I can say is wow

5+    2/19/2011   2/23/2011
Review By: IGotDisc
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I wasn't going to review this course since so many have but!!! If you haven't been to Taylor lately and you have in the past, you should see it now! The club there has had this course shaped up even better. There were a lot of shrubs and stuff removed to open up the park even more. The even included another practice basket because so many players show up. Great job guys!
Cons: Agreed with everyone else. Pedestrians! I had a guy randomly pick up my disc and called my number from my disc in my face. Really? Your walking around here and you can't tell what whole bunch of golfers are doing?...
Other Thoughts: This place has always been my favorite to play and probably always will. Too bad I have to drive so far to get to it.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good course made great

5+    1/21/2011   1/21/2011
Review By: JimW
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 1/31/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Every hole has two or three pin positions for a total of 42 overall and they're moved around frequently.

Tee pads are reasonably long and wide

Beautiful tee signs provide a visual of the hole as well as laser-measured distances for every pin position and a marker to show which position the basket is currently in.

Every hole has a whisk broom, bag hanger, and bench on it.

Hole design is generally very strong forcing players to use a wide variety of shots to put up a good score. Nearly all the new pin positions add to the course's quality instead of just being different for difference's sake.

Difficulty is moderate but fair. The trees will get you if you throw off target or too high but good throws will almost always be rewarded.

The baskets are quality ones and in good condition.

The course overall is kept in very good condition by the local club which runs weekly doubles and a handicap there.

Cons: The frequently mentioned walking path.

There are only amateur pads on six of the holes.

Hole 1's long position has virtually no fairway any longer due to tree growth since its creation and would be greatly improved by being moved. The new short positions on 7 and 16 lack imagination, being simple straight ahead shots when the terrain would have allowed for more interesting placements.
Other Thoughts: Taylor Park is my home course but when I first started playing disc golf two years ago it was merely a good course. The changes the local club (which didn't even exist at the beginning of my playing days) over that time period are phenomenal and have made this into what I consider to be the best course in the area now.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/2/2011   1/17/2011
Review By: Osotogari
Played: 47  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/17/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Taylor Park is not a predominant right or left handed course and is laid out very nice. It has a good variety of open, tight, long, and short holes; it also has some hazards that will get your heart going and make you think. The tee signs, benches, and bag poles make it an even more enjoyable course. The local club takes very good care of the course by keeping the course groomed and staying on top of any needed and preventive maintenance. The course's multiple pin placements not only change distance but change the way the whole is played altogether.
There are a couple alligators that hang out (basking in the sun) next to a few holes/tee pads. They're far enough away so as not to scare you, but close enough to check them out (from a distance).
Cons: The park is very picturesque, drawing snowbirds and locals alike, which slows play
Other Thoughts: Wish this park was closer to my house :-)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Highlight of the Tampa Area

5+    1/9/2011   1/11/2011
Review By: supelives
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Taylor is a well designed park and excellently maintained. I have been playing the Tampa/St.Pete area courses for a year now, and I can honestly say that no other course in the area is as well maintained. The Taylor Park Disc Golf Club has done more for their course than any course I have seen in Ohio or in Florida. Over the course of the last year, they have added additional pin locations, additional tees, brand new beautiful full color signs (with aerial views, distances, and pin placement markers as well as photos of local club members), bag racks, benches, trash cans, brooms, out of bounds markers....You name it, they've done it. They have immense pride in their course and have invested themselves emotionally and fiscally. The course is technical, with a lot of trees and some palmettos. There are a few holes that are a bit short, but they make up for it by being well designed to make them challenging. Water can come into play on 9-15. Leaugues are immensely popular there. I have played in every league in a 30 mile radius, and Taylor Park's is by far the most successful. They routinely draw between 40 and 60 players for Sunday morning handicaps (9:00), and 20-30 players for Tuesday night blind draw doubles (6:00).
Cons: There can be some foot traffic as Taylor is a very pretty park and it draws walkers, but for the most part, they are pretty considerate.
Other Thoughts: If you haven't played Taylor, or haven't played it in the last few months, it's time you went. You will be impressed. I guarantee it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 "disk"

1    12/25/2010   12/25/2010
Review By: DelightSquad
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a top notch course and I reluctantly gave it a 4.5 because of 1 thing.

Taylor Lake park is located in arguably the DG capital of FL and stands supreme over some of the more known courses in the area. A beautiful setting and committed local scene are why.

-Professional tee signs that are easily understood.
-Practice basket
-Multiple pins/tees
-Amazing layout
-Nice baskets
-Bag holders
-Benches at every hole
-Brooms for every teepad
-Big leagues/local scene

This is everything a Florida course should be. You've got water, tall trees, palmetto shrub, and moderate wind, all in a perfectly maintained park which feels like FL to the last hole.
Cons: PEDESTRIANS
People love this park and I don't blame them but they fill the walking trails and don't seem to pay attention.

I am struggling to bring another complaint.
Other Thoughts: If there is a course that I could have in my backyard it would be this one. Beyond all the good people and great layout it just feels right here. I don't like to write long reviews but I could go on for thousands of words if put to the task.
*Funny note: check the sign leading to the course along the road. Reads "DISK GOLF".

Finally, F*** YEAH TAYLOR LAKE PARK

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/25/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: zeppelin
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Taylor Lake Park has a scenic location and a well planned layout that is just challenging enough to be fun. The main natural hazard is a large lake with gators, but a paved walkway also crosses the course fairways in several spots. The tee signs are excellent, the benches and restrooms are nice, and the directional signs are well-placed for newcomers. The course is located on the west side of the lake, by the last parking lot.
Cons: Part of the course is in low lying areas which may be flooded by rain.
Other Thoughts: Another reason for disc golfer envy across the bay. Well done!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  consistantly fun and challenging

5+    7/25/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: paul buyun
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Excellent new tee signs with great detail for pin placement, distances, and possible routes
2. Multiple pin placements on all holes for variety and challenge
3. Plenty of trees for shade, but can also get you in trouble if you have an errant throw
4. Local club has added benches, with more on the way
5. Locals are friendly and helpful
Cons: 1. Jogging/walking path plays into some holes and can be busy at times. Sometimes a wait, but not enough to be discouraging.
Other Thoughts: Great course. There are 2, even 3, different pin placements on every hole for variety and challenge.

The local club takes great care of the course. There are handicaps on Sundays - 10AM, and blind draw doubles on Tuesday nights - 6PM. They are an open and friendly group. Experience ranges from World Champion to newbies. They break out players by divisions, so it is always competitive, but friendly.

Coachman, Maximo, and Cliff Stevens are close by, and get a majority of the hype, and they are good courses, but Taylor is a great, underrated course that will challenge you and have you coming back to play again and again.


5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Must See & Play!!!!

5+    7/25/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: WheelyNealy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: This course is a must play! A very beautiful park that is well maintained and surrounds a lake. The course is designed for all levels of players with several alternate baskets that keeps it mixed up. Brand new tee signs are top class and will keep you well guided through all 18 holes. About 4 holes hug the side of the lake so keep them dry & watch out for the gators! Otherwise your looking at mild tree coverage & creative pin placements!
Other Thoughts: Friendly hadicap round every Sunday @ 10am & blind draw doubles every Tuesday @6 pm

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Improvements

5+    7/21/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: m4evrnaday
Played: 26  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1. New Tee Signs
2. New player benches
3. More alternate pins have been placed, so now some holes have 3 different locations, all have atleast 2 pin locations

The players club at Taylor Park has proven that they care abou the park and making improvevments to the course. They have all new signs that are some of the best I have seen. There are more improvements being made as well. There are several more tee locations and a few tucked in within 10 feet of the water. The course can prove to be challenging at times depending on tee locations.
Cons: Could use another restroom on the front nine by 20th street (atleast for us women).
Other Thoughts: As the game expands and the economy improves maybe we can get a Pro-shop at the park

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.