Largo, FL 
Taylor Park Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #18 (Taken 2/2013)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 339ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Long Tee



Reviews: 59
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
If I'm in Florida, I'm playing this course again!

1    5/20/2016   5/22/2016
Review By: timbruchman
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great Layout!
Super Clean!
Easy to navigate
Clear signs mapping out the Hole for both Pro teebox and amateur
They have a disc return box for those who have lost discs
Other Thoughts: I'm from the midwest, so this course for me was paradise. The course was very well maintained and you could tell there was a lot of thought put into the layout of this course. The course had amazing views of nature and it was a pleasure to play.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Taylor Review

5+    1/14/2016   1/14/2016
Review By: reichmusic
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A true gem in the region.

Kudos to the local disc golf club- so much pride put into the course.

Concrete pads, beautiful scenery. A few pro pads on a few holes.

The most amazing maps ever,
Benches, bag holders, trash cans,

Absolutely amazing

Multiple pin positions.
Cons: The pads are a little small and worn.

It's a multiuse park, and I imagine pedestrian traffic and non disc patrons would have the place very crowded on a weekend.

Windy! right on the water almost always a tough wind

Distances are mostly moderate to short
Other Thoughts: One of my favorites in the area- a must play

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun course

5+    1/10/2016   1/10/2016
Review By: mickbrbr3015
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course provides a challenge for all players. There are multiple basket locations on every hole making the course different every other month when the baskets are changed. A very nice walk thru the park.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Worth the Trip

1    12/26/2015   12/26/2015
Review By: freddysez
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16
This review was updated on 1/13/2016
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: When building a disc golf course the Taylor Park Tee signs would be a perfect role model. This course demands accurate, not distance off the tee and when the wind is whipping around. it changes holes dramatically, especially the holes near the lake
Cons: It can be a tad confusing what basket to throw at on number 2 (18 hole basket is on the right). Cons are nitpicking really
Other Thoughts: Playing a course for the first time and not getting lost and actually concentrating on your game and appreciating the course is always a pleasure. Hey look 5 losers posted that my review isn't helpful

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Almost better than Cliff

1    2/18/2015   2/24/2015
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 65  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course is very well maintained. Everything is great from the signs to the super long tee pads and nice baskets.
- Course has a nice flow and first timers will not have to worry about getting lost
- No holes were too long; most were around 250, which is a nice length for amateurs
- Just enough trees and water to make it hard but not frustrating
- Good variety of tighter and open holes
- Tee pads have shoe cleaners, bag hangers and benches, which makes the course feel like a Selah Ranch
- There was a warning of disc golf in the area and that always is a good sign
- Nice people to ask just in case you couldn't find a certain hole
- There was a great shaded practice area with two practice baskets
- Two tees per hole, so pros and ams can play
Cons: - Many baskets in view of some tees
- A couple holes backtrack on each other, which when busy could be a problem with many discs flying around
- No holes to really air out and chuck it as far as you can
- Lots of non golfing pedestrians to watch for
- The park was kind of hard to get into, you had to snake all the way around the park to the entrance and go on this side road
Other Thoughts: It is an interesting course with a couple of nice additions. I didn't see any alligators, and I came here thinking I would see one. Definitely have to watch out for other people, both golfers and non. Come here if you are in the area because this is a nice solid course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

fantastic

1    12/27/2014   1/17/2015
Review By: boursin
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: great pads, great baskets, nice people. The signage is great, the course is easy to navigate.there are easy holes and some very challenging ones. the bell on # 2 is a nice touch. Varied pin placements add to the challenge. I will definitely be back.
Cons: can not think of any
Other Thoughts: The pro comments says it all. Wow what a great course. The league has done a great job. it is obvious that a lot of time and effort is put in to keep this course maintained. the league even has there own business cards. If you are in the area place this course.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

johnny4put

1    10/22/2014   10/26/2014
Review By: johnny4put
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. Well groomed. Nice signage. Concrete tees. Very easy to navagate.
Cons: Cant think of any.
Other Thoughts: I would play it again in a heartbeat. It was my favorite course while visiting the Tampa area. Loved it.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tests every shot in disc golf

1    10/17/2014   10/18/2014
Review By: noscope
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 1. Has different hole locations
2. Tests every type of shot in disc golf
3. Has some holes that have tight fairways and others where you can straight up bomb it.
Cons: 1. You can lose your disc in the water on a few holes if you're not safe but that's technically a challenge not a con
2. Like others have stated the course gets a little tight as you go to the last 5 holes
Other Thoughts: Course is really awesome and is right by a huge lake which is pretty when you go out to play.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not what I was expecting

1    3/18/2014   3/19/2014
Review By: blueblur
Played: 118  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 28 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A variety of shots. Course has great tee sign and 2 pads and alternate pin positions on some of the holes. Great baskets and good signs that show you to the next tee. Course plays on the side of a lake, so the scenery is nice too.
Cons: Some of the holes are a bit too close together. This could be dangerous in a shotgun start tournament with players on every hole. Three or four of the holes play next to a walking path with exercise stations. I had to wait for seven minutes for 2 ladies to finish their exercise station just behind the basket to throw safely. Having baskets near OB is a great way to add additional challenge to a hole. However, when the basket is only 5 feet from OB, about the worst that can happen is a circle 3. Two almost identical holes with the basket right next to OB. There are several holes with extremely narrow fairways through lots of trees. This is not very interesting course design in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: Would be a better 12 hole course than 18 because you could get away from walking paths and spread the holes out a bit.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Next Tee

1    1/17/2014   1/23/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 5.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Generally, I'm not too concerned with the amenities of a course, as long as they are good enough to keep me playing and not wandering the wilderness. At Taylor Park, they stand out though. When I remember this course in the future, it won't be a signature hole that pops into my head. It will be those incredible tee signs. Those massive bag racks. More than anything, it might be those next-tee signs, with that font and those big helpful letters making sure I get to where I need to go.

The course flows really well. I jumped from hole to hole and didn't realize till near the end just how little space is occupied. Part of this is because of the flow and navigation but much of the credit has to go to the design. It's just a really impressive use of space. Squeezing in two fairways down that narrow stretch between the lake and the edge of the park would never have occurred to me. Yet it mostly works.

There are a few cool shots, especially 12, which has that small downhill through a a narrow tunnel which opens up for most of the fairway with the pin by the water. The placements the put the basket by the water were the best for me, and though all of the holes have several different spots for the target, 12 and 15 were there on the day I was. Not coincidentally, they were my favorite holes.

It's a well-appointed, intermediate-level course that, thanks to excellent navigation and flow, can be played quickly, although it may slow down more than most if it's busy.
Cons:
The limited space is, well, limiting. As the course goes down and back, parallel to the lake, it practically creates shared fairways for a number of holes. With a fence on side and lake on the other, there isn't really enough width to support two side-by-side fairways. Essentially it limits all of these holes to very straight shots or risky endeavors. It's mostly fine for forehanders like myself, but RHBH players will unfortunately have OB on their left for most of the course. That's not the major issue though. When the course is busy, players will often be in the firing range for players going the opposite way.

That's not the only area which is cramped enough to create a danger zone. The 18 and 3 pins essentially share a green. This is especially troublesome as the third tee is blind and close enough to make a run at the pin. (It's also the most likely opportunity for a black ace that I've seen.)

More importantly, or maybe less, there isn't much that will challenge an advanced player. The holes aren't very long, and they are all fairly open, so the better player may not find much to like here. At the same time, beginners may struggle with the OB and lose discs. So the amount of players that the course is suited for is fairly small. Now, I do fall into that intermediate category, but I recognize that many others will be not good enough or too good to fully enjoy it.

I wouldn't say that any of the holes here are truly bad(well, maybe 1). Just cramped. But there aren't any holes that I would describe as memorable either. It's a solid but unspectacular course with some nice obstacles but nothing approaching a signature hole. Given the acreage it must sit on, it's actually quite the achievement.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my round here and would definitely recommend it for anyone of a similar skill level. It's not too far from a few other courses and it's worth a shot if you're in the area. It's just not a get-out-there-now-and-play-it recommendation.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.