Largo, FL 
Taylor Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #9 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 183ft.   3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 55
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Livin Large in Largo!

1    10/11/2013   10/14/2013
Review By: jjw4ucm
Played: 30  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 1.7 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Can I say creature comforts?!?! Seriously, this has to be the best course I've ever played in terms of everything you need to focus on just playing the game. Not only are there benches, bag hangers, trash cans, and bathrooms, there's also boot scrubbers at several holes and little brooms at every hole to dust off the tee pads. I've never played a course with so many amenities -- hats off to the local club that maintains this course!

Keeping in mind this is coastal Florida, there's not a lot of elevation, so the course does a great job using different shots, lies, and scenery to keep things interesting. I never once got bored playing here.

The active pin marking system is fantastic and something I wish the course designers in my native Kansas City would use more often. Again, just another way this course lets you focus on the game and not on wandering around or being confused.

While this course plays in a fairly busy park in Largo, there are signs abounding warning passerby to watch for flying discs, and the people I encountered walking their dogs/running were extremely friendly for the most part and seemed really aware that they were in a DG area. Again, kudos to the local residents and club for turning what's usually a big con into something positive.

The lake you play next to is gorgeous and makes a nice water hazard on a couple holes. I had to smile at the signs reminding you to watch for alligators (but seriously, this is Florida -- if there's water, there's a chance of gators, and not the blue and orange variety).

Again, the scenery on this course is really pretty and made for a very enjoyable round. It reminds you that in Florida, you don't have to be next to a beach to be in some really peaceful, gorgeous natural beauty.

Another huge kudos is in order for the local club for the FANTASTIC signage everywhere on the course. I spent no time wandering around; there's literally signs everywhere pointing you directly to the next tee from every basket.

Very friendly locals abounded to help me out, give pointers, and ever offer extra discs if I needed them -- thanks guys!

Signs at the tee are visually stunning and give you all the info you could ever need.

I played in October, so the course had dried out nicely and was ready for play. Even if it hadn't been, there was grass almost everywhere to help with being waterlogged. I hope to come back sometime in summer to see what it's like during the rainy season.

The shelters and playgrounds in this multi-use park were generally pretty secluded and wouldn't come into play save a horribly thrown drive, which I've been known to do, but was lucky enough to not do this time around. :)

There's great signage pointing you to the parking lot and ample parking. This park is pretty big and has a lot of non-DG areas, so I appreciated knowing where to go. Made it very easy.
Cons:
I feel bad listing this as a "con", but keep in mind this is coastal Florida -- there's not a lot of elevation on this course which will probably be very different for most of you from out of town.

While the people frequenting the trails around the park seemed very friendly and aware of the DG course, there are still trails that cut across, so think before you throw and remember that they can come into play occasionally.
Other Thoughts: This course is just southwest of the heart of Largo. Take 686 westbound from 275, left on Clearwater/Largo Road, and right on 8th Ave. You should see signs from here. Also, Bay Drive cuts over to the barrier islands at Bellair Beach, so if you're staying in Clearwater Beach like myself or on the other barrier islands it's a fairly easy drive.

As far as layout, scenery, and the like, this course is probably a solid 4.0. What sets it apart is the sheer amount of amenities and little touches that just take the game from good to truly enjoyable. I have never seen a better maintained, signed, thought-out course, and hats off to the local club that makes it all happen. Thanks for giving me a great place to play!

That's why Taylor Park gets a 4.5...when I got back to Kansas City, the gf and I went out to one of our local courses and I was searching for the pin position markers, benches galore, shoe scrubbers, and the like that I saw here. I'd love to see my local KC courses incorporate this (and also, pick up the garbage as well as was done here...maybe I can bring back some ideas!). It truly stands out in my mind for both the amazing play and the first-class experience of playing here.

To reiterate, 4.0 because of the course itself -- 4.5 due to the experience and ease of play. Because I felt it was everything a DG course should be and more. Happy discing in paradise!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, great community

2-4    4/14/2013   9/1/2013
Review By: Treebeard
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Course layout is diverse, fun, and demanding at times.
-Course maintenance is top-notch.
-Enjoyable surroundings in the park, nice amount of shade.
-The local disc golf club/community was great. I showed up on one of their league days and had an absolute blast. One of the most friendly and best organized clubs I've encountered. I look forward to going back to play with them.
Cons: -Course only yelds a few bomb opportunities if that's something you're looking for.
-Not much elevation change but this is FL so it's really not bad for the area. Not really a fair con!
Other Thoughts: Stop by and check this course whenever you can, but if you get a chance to play with the local club you should get on that. They've got a bar across the street with good beer and food too; it's pretty awesome.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Touch of Class

1    6/14/2013   6/14/2013
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * The course is very well taken care of. Everything is top notch from the signs to the pads and baskets.
* Course flows smoothly and first time players can find their way easily.
* Variety of distance ranges although no truly long holes.
* Just enough trees and water to make it interesting without being too penal.
* Good variety of in the woods contrasting with near the lake shots.
* Tee pads have shoe cleaners, bag hangers and benches. Everything feels high class.
* Signs present warning of disc golf in the area always helpful.
* Locals were very friendly and the neighborhood seems nice.
* Variety of other activities available as well.
Cons: * If you don't like throwing near walkers, then be careful, because there are plenty on the path by the water. They seemed to be pretty aware, and like anything else, just don't throw if there are people there.
* No real bomber holes, so if you have a big arm, you might not use it much here. On the other hand, great for those of us who throw 300 to 350.
* All in all, a wonderful course.
Other Thoughts: Taylor park is a gorgeous course beside a very fishy lake. I saw many people fishing and walking,and it seems like a nice place to spend a day. The course signage is just spot on. And, the little things, especially what I mentioned around the tees, really make this park a treat. I wish i lived a bit closer, because I would play this often. This lovely place was a real pleasure to play!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

If You Like Disc Golf and Fishing...

2-4    6/14/2013   6/14/2013
Review By: thrembo
Played: 87  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 39.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/2/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you like disc golf and fishing, this may be the perfect course for you. There is a nice big lake that looked and smelled very clean. It comes into play a little bit on the dg course, but several people were fishing it, and I heard its a good spot to drop a line.

Speaking of clean, the whole park was very clean.

Mature trees abound, and the course makes good usage of them.

The course has a nice flow to it, and easy navigation.

Multiple pin placements, combined with excelent sinage enhance the overall experiance.

Very friendly locals.
Cons: The cons are minor.

There is a hiking trail that runs through part of the course. It seemed like most of the non-dgers were aware of the course though, and I noticed several "Warnig, Disc Golf" type signs scattered about the course. Still, care must be taken to avoid other park users.

More of a warning than a con: The speed limit is 15mph on the road that goes around the lake to the course, and is enforced by some nasty speed bumps and the local police dept.
Other Thoughts: This is a very charming course, and a must play in the greater Tampa area. Its somewhat short and technical in nature, but you'll apreciate all that shade in the summer time.


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Don't get stressed ,practice

5+    2/17/2013   2/19/2013
Review By: Rustyham
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First off, this course is swank. Two practice baskets, close parking (ample), close bathrooms and waterfountain. As for each hole, the baskets get moved about twice a month, each hole have between 2 and 4 positions. Each pad also has a coat (bag) rack, a bench, a very easy to read sign, shoe brushes and pad brooms. Definitely one of the best equipped and maintained courses out there.

Meanwhile, the holes are VARIED. Lots of sharp corners and tight windows, lots of obstructions to navigate, but it never feels accidental or hap-hazard, almost like the trees were grown specifically with the course in mind.
Cons: There is a lot of sand, which means a lot of ants. Don't stay in one place for too long. Definitely pay attention to the wind, it can turn your disc over and send it out over the lake. I wish there were more open air, long distance holes, right now there is only one (17), but I hope as the game gets more popular, they will a lot more land to the club and the course.
Other Thoughts: You should definitely try this place out. You'll use just about every throw in your arsenal, and you'll really learn how to not bite more than you can swallow. Aim for par here if you want a good score.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course

2-4    11/19/2012   11/21/2012
Review By: KimBrennan
Played: 56  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 34.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice park. Artistic signs (on both short and long tees, with correct distance to the various pin placements.) Clean park, with restrooms.
Cons: As this is a multi use park, non disc golfers are frequently nearby. Several of the holes are parallel with the main walking path, which aggravates this problem.

The course is tightly packed into the available space, meaning that fairways are adjacent to each other (have to watch out for other golfers throws.)

Baskets do not have the hole number on them. Coupled with the closely knit other holes, it is sometimes possible to mis-identify which basket is appropriate for the hole you are on.

Lake hazard on several holes (and the lake has large alligators, so it is wise to avoid at all costs.)

No drop box for recovered lost discs.
Other Thoughts: While the tee signs are beautifully done, for a first timer on the course, I really preferred the photos as done at NE Coachman.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Taylor Park Review

1    10/23/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: dano3
Played: 47  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Taylor Park is beautiful. The Parking is plentiful and the course is clean. There are plenty of signs leading the way to the next hole. Great pin placement with options for multiple pins.
Cons: several holes follow property boundary of homes. No Camping
Other Thoughts: Locals are very friendly. Unlike other Florida courses I played on my vacation.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/15/2013   10/19/2012
Review By: RussMB
Played: 108  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course is located in a beautiful Park
-Alternating Pin positions, some tees have multiple tees. Pins are consistently rotating.
-Nice balance for left and right throwers. They can rotate the baskets, flip the shots and still maintain a nice balance for throwers.
-Course Map at the start, as well as a practice/warm up area with two baskets and distance markers. (e.g 30ft) There are also benches in the practice area as well as a picnic shelter.
-Each tee has the whole package: Concrete Tee's, Bag hooks, Benches, and great tee signs.
-Taylor Park gets a solid A+ for their Tee signs. Very attractive and ornate tee maps at both the long and short tees, pin locations, with distance, pin position marker. Plus a bonus for placing huge yellow signs around the park that warn of Flying Discs.
-Two raised baskets. #7 and #15. (They may or may not be in play, depending on the basket position setup)
-Bathrooms & Shelters located at the start on the course ( Bathroom is located near the parking lot, but on the opposite side of the shelter near basket 17. You won't get near it again until you finish)
-Each fairway is open enough to allow a person to choose their lines, but there are enough trees that will require you to hit the gaps strategically.
-Beginners can play here with no problem, as well as professionals. It's primarily the longer holes that have the multiple tee-pads. The course gives stronger arms a chance at the long distance shots, while still providing a fun experience to the novice. It's very well balanced.
-Great fun factor
-Course navigation is straight out and back. It plays out and back to the parking lot.
FWIW
-located in a park with a number of activities and walking trails.
Cons: -You are still subject to course interactions with other park goers and park activities. Congestion can be a factor here. You are still reminded to look before you throw. Though the course is away from other activities, it is not segregated from the rest of the park.
-Some fairways play real close to some houses and their fence lines, pay attention when you throw.
-Walking paths come into play on certain parts of the course, and you may find yourself sharing the playing field with other park users.
-Though there are signs, some of the transitions may have you looking around for the next hole. (First time issue only)
Tip: It's easy to skip 11, don't miss it.
Other Thoughts: Taylor Park is a beautiful course that is located in a very nice park. It's full of well-built and attractive amenities. The layout will have the thrower working lines around trees and down pathways. I think the fun factor is equal to the challenge. It's definitely a fun course to play, and it didn't take long before it was added to my favorites list. Everyone that plays here, should come away with a great experience. The only real issue I see is that the park traffic could become an obstacle. Even when I played here, I found that I was working around park traffic. This course should be added to the list of courses to play in the Tampa/Clearwater area.
It's a park, so no special footwear or protective clothing necessary here. You'll pass plenty of restaurants and gas stations on the way here. It's Florida, so bringing liquids should be a norm. You will want to give yourself some extra time to get here. Traffic from 275 is hectic and can be slow moving. It's not easily accessed, but is well worth the trip. Taylor Park will not disappoint!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Much improved...

2-4    8/12/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: v0nn3gut
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has, by far, the best signs I've ever seen. They have clearly put in a lot of work and it shows. Little touches like shoe cleaners and mini-brooms at some tees make you feel like your on the pro-circuit or something.

Infrastructure aside, this is a great park. I threw about 50/50 side-arm versus flick today so you can definitely get a variety of shots.

Cons: Only two cons:

- Pedestrians are abundant, but they seemed aware of the fact that a game was being played around them so not the biggest issue in the world.

- A lot of the holes on the back nine are staggered so that you're walking back towards the tee of the hole you just played to get to the next tee. I understand they have to make the most of the space they have to work with but this type of layout makes the course feel crowded.
Other Thoughts: Definitely an excellent course and I will definitely be back there sooner rather than later

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Experience

1    8/8/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 65  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 4.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quality 18 hole course located in a large family friendly park in Largo. A large announcement board sits by the parking lot and there are bathroom facilities on site. Large cement tees are sufficient for throwing, and about 1/3 of the holes have a short tee. First rate colored signs depict hole number, distance and desired flight path. A long screw/wingnut inserted into the base of the sign indicates "A", "B" or "C" basket position. "Next Tee" signs assist with navigation. There are benches and bag poles at each hole. Water comes into play on a couple of holes, but is not restrictive or unfair (Hole # 11 in particular is excellent). Newly placed flags atop each basket makes them visible from the tee box.
Cons: Safety issues exist at some junctures where holes run parallel to one another. Waiting on pedestrians who use the walking path can be an annoyance. Palmettos and water will punish errant shots. The fairway grass should be cut more often. Not a fan of hole # 1- a "throw and hope" hole.
Other Thoughts: The town of Largo is a real nice area of Florida, and Taylor Park is no exception. It has variety and is laid out well. It is primarily an open course with plenty of various types of trees and vegetation spread out challenging you to hit lines.

As an out-of-state player who played a PDGA event here, I thoroughly enjoyed my experience. I was totally impressed by the local club, the "sand slugs", who made me feel welcome and who work tirelessly at course enhancement and attention to detail. Their unofficial "clubhouse"- a restaurant across the street, contains various plaques and memorabilia from leagues and weeklys. A highly recommended play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center