Largo, FL 
Taylor Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #3 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 225ft.   3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 58
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

5+    1/2/2011   1/17/2011
Review By: Osotogari
Played: 47  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/17/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Taylor Park is not a predominant right or left handed course and is laid out very nice. It has a good variety of open, tight, long, and short holes; it also has some hazards that will get your heart going and make you think. The tee signs, benches, and bag poles make it an even more enjoyable course. The local club takes very good care of the course by keeping the course groomed and staying on top of any needed and preventive maintenance. The course's multiple pin placements not only change distance but change the way the whole is played altogether.
There are a couple alligators that hang out (basking in the sun) next to a few holes/tee pads. They're far enough away so as not to scare you, but close enough to check them out (from a distance).
Cons: The park is very picturesque, drawing snowbirds and locals alike, which slows play
Other Thoughts: Wish this park was closer to my house :-)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Highlight of the Tampa Area

5+    1/9/2011   1/11/2011
Review By: supelives
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Taylor is a well designed park and excellently maintained. I have been playing the Tampa/St.Pete area courses for a year now, and I can honestly say that no other course in the area is as well maintained. The Taylor Park Disc Golf Club has done more for their course than any course I have seen in Ohio or in Florida. Over the course of the last year, they have added additional pin locations, additional tees, brand new beautiful full color signs (with aerial views, distances, and pin placement markers as well as photos of local club members), bag racks, benches, trash cans, brooms, out of bounds markers....You name it, they've done it. They have immense pride in their course and have invested themselves emotionally and fiscally. The course is technical, with a lot of trees and some palmettos. There are a few holes that are a bit short, but they make up for it by being well designed to make them challenging. Water can come into play on 9-15. Leaugues are immensely popular there. I have played in every league in a 30 mile radius, and Taylor Park's is by far the most successful. They routinely draw between 40 and 60 players for Sunday morning handicaps (9:00), and 20-30 players for Tuesday night blind draw doubles (6:00).
Cons: There can be some foot traffic as Taylor is a very pretty park and it draws walkers, but for the most part, they are pretty considerate.
Other Thoughts: If you haven't played Taylor, or haven't played it in the last few months, it's time you went. You will be impressed. I guarantee it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 "disk"

1    12/25/2010   12/25/2010
Review By: DelightSquad
Played: 40  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a top notch course and I reluctantly gave it a 4.5 because of 1 thing.

Taylor Lake park is located in arguably the DG capital of FL and stands supreme over some of the more known courses in the area. A beautiful setting and committed local scene are why.

-Professional tee signs that are easily understood.
-Practice basket
-Multiple pins/tees
-Amazing layout
-Nice baskets
-Bag holders
-Benches at every hole
-Brooms for every teepad
-Big leagues/local scene

This is everything a Florida course should be. You've got water, tall trees, palmetto shrub, and moderate wind, all in a perfectly maintained park which feels like FL to the last hole.
Cons: PEDESTRIANS
People love this park and I don't blame them but they fill the walking trails and don't seem to pay attention.

I am struggling to bring another complaint.
Other Thoughts: If there is a course that I could have in my backyard it would be this one. Beyond all the good people and great layout it just feels right here. I don't like to write long reviews but I could go on for thousands of words if put to the task.
*Funny note: check the sign leading to the course along the road. Reads "DISK GOLF".

Finally, F*** YEAH TAYLOR LAKE PARK

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/25/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: zeppelin
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Taylor Lake Park has a scenic location and a well planned layout that is just challenging enough to be fun. The main natural hazard is a large lake with gators, but a paved walkway also crosses the course fairways in several spots. The tee signs are excellent, the benches and restrooms are nice, and the directional signs are well-placed for newcomers. The course is located on the west side of the lake, by the last parking lot.
Cons: Part of the course is in low lying areas which may be flooded by rain.
Other Thoughts: Another reason for disc golfer envy across the bay. Well done!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  consistantly fun and challenging

5+    7/25/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: paul buyun
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Excellent new tee signs with great detail for pin placement, distances, and possible routes
2. Multiple pin placements on all holes for variety and challenge
3. Plenty of trees for shade, but can also get you in trouble if you have an errant throw
4. Local club has added benches, with more on the way
5. Locals are friendly and helpful
Cons: 1. Jogging/walking path plays into some holes and can be busy at times. Sometimes a wait, but not enough to be discouraging.
Other Thoughts: Great course. There are 2, even 3, different pin placements on every hole for variety and challenge.

The local club takes great care of the course. There are handicaps on Sundays - 10AM, and blind draw doubles on Tuesday nights - 6PM. They are an open and friendly group. Experience ranges from World Champion to newbies. They break out players by divisions, so it is always competitive, but friendly.

Coachman, Maximo, and Cliff Stevens are close by, and get a majority of the hype, and they are good courses, but Taylor is a great, underrated course that will challenge you and have you coming back to play again and again.


5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Must See & Play!!!!

5+    7/25/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: WheelyNealy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: This course is a must play! A very beautiful park that is well maintained and surrounds a lake. The course is designed for all levels of players with several alternate baskets that keeps it mixed up. Brand new tee signs are top class and will keep you well guided through all 18 holes. About 4 holes hug the side of the lake so keep them dry & watch out for the gators! Otherwise your looking at mild tree coverage & creative pin placements!
Other Thoughts: Friendly hadicap round every Sunday @ 10am & blind draw doubles every Tuesday @6 pm

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Improvements

5+    7/21/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: m4evrnaday
Played: 26  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1. New Tee Signs
2. New player benches
3. More alternate pins have been placed, so now some holes have 3 different locations, all have atleast 2 pin locations

The players club at Taylor Park has proven that they care abou the park and making improvevments to the course. They have all new signs that are some of the best I have seen. There are more improvements being made as well. There are several more tee locations and a few tucked in within 10 feet of the water. The course can prove to be challenging at times depending on tee locations.
Cons: Could use another restroom on the front nine by 20th street (atleast for us women).
Other Thoughts: As the game expands and the economy improves maybe we can get a Pro-shop at the park

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/1/2010   5/20/2010
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 78  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 12.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging without getting ridiculous. There are a few holes that really challenge you to take the right line or else face a tough par. This is mostly due to trees in the fairway and thick undergrowth in difficult places that tend to block alleys to the pin. This is particularly true on hole 1.

The rest of the holes are open enough to have multiple lines to the pin. Yet there are just enough trees to knock you don't if you aren't careful.

The water is a challenge on several holes (8, 11, 13, & 15).

Some elevation, unusual for this area of the country.

Decent tee pads, baskets are in very good condition.

C.R. Willey does a great job keeping this course well maintained.

Plenty of people to catch around with and very friendly. Also doubles play during the week.

Good mix of long and short as well as alternate pin placement that mix things up a bit.

Good facilities including bathrooms, pavilions, and play areas.
Cons: Gators in that lake are HUGE! Don't get in there. So this makes disc retrieval a nightmare.

Water is always on the left. There is no way to fix this but is somewhat of a con in my book.

Walking path with lots and lots of walkers can be aggravating. Just when the path opens up for you to take a shot someone goes by walking the other way and you have to wait another 5 minutes. This can take some time if you are unlucky.

You have to drive all the way around the park at a snails pace before you get to disc golf parking. But, see below
Other Thoughts: This is a well designed course that will challenge you. You would think there are enough easy holes on this course to walk away significantly under par but this course always finds a way to try to get my closer to and back over par if I am not careful.

You can park on a back street by driving past the park on 8th AVE SW, going past the lake and making a left on the other side of the park (onto 18th or 20th St SW and parking on the grassy side of the road to the left right by the course parking lot.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice and different

1    3/7/2006   2/7/2010
Review By: ncee
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice treat after playing in the North during this time of year.
Cons: When we played, there was a LOT of over growth. We lost 2 frisbee that day, but still had fun.
Other Thoughts: Another course that was fun to play, and nice that we didn't have to shovel or plow through feet of snow, and it was free. It doesn't get much better then that.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/19/2010   1/19/2010
Review By: jeremytf
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 29.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety in hole design and lengths kept me from getting bored. I had to use a variety of discs.

The course feels fairly open because it is mostly grassy, but there are a ton of trees that will affect your shots. To me, it required just the right mix of accuracy and distance.

Takes advantage of the lake on a couple holes, with your drive running parallel to the lakefront.

The terrain is a little more rolling than most Florida courses, which was a nice change. It's nothing like courses in other parts of the country in that regard, but better than some others in this area.

The course is very well maintained, with nice concrete pads, and marked very well. Any time I had doubt about where to find the next tee, there was a "Next" sign with arrow telling me which direction to go.

Park bathrooms are very convenient, along with tables, benches, etc. There is a map on the main sign at the start of the course to help you find the first tee, which isn't obvious from the parking lot.
Cons: The fairways cross and parallel a lot of walking paths in the park, which had a few people even on a Tuesday afternoon. I had a wait a few minutes a couple times, and I bet it would be even busier on a weekend.

It looked like there were a few holes that had alternate pin locations, which wasn't obvious on the signs.
Other Thoughts: I loved this course. First, it's a beautiful setting with the lake and lots of trees, and even a little bit of elevation change! It was a good compromise between the local favorites - Coachman and Cliff, so I ended up liking it better than both of those courses.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.