Largo, FL 
Taylor Park Share
Uploaded By: 9ballwizzz Hole #8 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 249ft.   3 / 249ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    5/1/2010   5/20/2010
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging without getting ridiculous. There are a few holes that really challenge you to take the right line or else face a tough par. This is mostly due to trees in the fairway and thick undergrowth in difficult places that tend to block alleys to the pin. This is particularly true on hole 1.

The rest of the holes are open enough to have multiple lines to the pin. Yet there are just enough trees to knock you don't if you aren't careful.

The water is a challenge on several holes (8, 11, 13, & 15).

Some elevation, unusual for this area of the country.

Decent tee pads, baskets are in very good condition.

C.R. Willey does a great job keeping this course well maintained.

Plenty of people to catch around with and very friendly. Also doubles play during the week.

Good mix of long and short as well as alternate pin placement that mix things up a bit.

Good facilities including bathrooms, pavilions, and play areas.
Cons: Gators in that lake are HUGE! Don't get in there. So this makes disc retrieval a nightmare.

Water is always on the left. There is no way to fix this but is somewhat of a con in my book.

Walking path with lots and lots of walkers can be aggravating. Just when the path opens up for you to take a shot someone goes by walking the other way and you have to wait another 5 minutes. This can take some time if you are unlucky.

You have to drive all the way around the park at a snails pace before you get to disc golf parking. But, see below
Other Thoughts: This is a well designed course that will challenge you. You would think there are enough easy holes on this course to walk away significantly under par but this course always finds a way to try to get my closer to and back over par if I am not careful.

You can park on a back street by driving past the park on 8th AVE SW, going past the lake and making a left on the other side of the park (onto 18th or 20th St SW and parking on the grassy side of the road to the left right by the course parking lot.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice and different

1    3/7/2006   2/7/2010
Review By: ncee
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice treat after playing in the North during this time of year.
Cons: When we played, there was a LOT of over growth. We lost 2 frisbee that day, but still had fun.
Other Thoughts: Another course that was fun to play, and nice that we didn't have to shovel or plow through feet of snow, and it was free. It doesn't get much better then that.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/19/2010   1/19/2010
Review By: jeremytf
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 28.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety in hole design and lengths kept me from getting bored. I had to use a variety of discs.

The course feels fairly open because it is mostly grassy, but there are a ton of trees that will affect your shots. To me, it required just the right mix of accuracy and distance.

Takes advantage of the lake on a couple holes, with your drive running parallel to the lakefront.

The terrain is a little more rolling than most Florida courses, which was a nice change. It's nothing like courses in other parts of the country in that regard, but better than some others in this area.

The course is very well maintained, with nice concrete pads, and marked very well. Any time I had doubt about where to find the next tee, there was a "Next" sign with arrow telling me which direction to go.

Park bathrooms are very convenient, along with tables, benches, etc. There is a map on the main sign at the start of the course to help you find the first tee, which isn't obvious from the parking lot.
Cons: The fairways cross and parallel a lot of walking paths in the park, which had a few people even on a Tuesday afternoon. I had a wait a few minutes a couple times, and I bet it would be even busier on a weekend.

It looked like there were a few holes that had alternate pin locations, which wasn't obvious on the signs.
Other Thoughts: I loved this course. First, it's a beautiful setting with the lake and lots of trees, and even a little bit of elevation change! It was a good compromise between the local favorites - Coachman and Cliff, so I ended up liking it better than both of those courses.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Above average, but a little monotonous.

1    1/3/2010   1/7/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 735  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice dual concrete tees. They are in good shape. There were no issues with affecting my confidence in my plant foot. I always view concrete tees as a necessity.

2) Signs have hole #, distance and a general map (layout of the hole but no obstacles shown). This is always a benefit to a first timer.

3) Chainstar baskets are in good condition and they catch very well.

4) Turf and grounds are in excellent condition. The park is well maintained and the care of the course and park are obvious.

5) This course is very beginner friendly from multiple standpoints. It is mostly open with only spotty tree placements. There are short tees available on many holes. I always can appreciate a course that can appease the likes of beginners all the way up to professionals.

6) This course although fairly open has a lot of obstacles fo you to avoid. There are lots of mature trees with sprawling canopies. There are some lower palmettos shrubs on a few holes that can give you an obstalce to avoid when your disc finishes up in the fairway.

7) Diversity on this course is average. There is water to throw out over on a few holes, some tighter holes with small gaps, some more open holes with well placed baskets that incorporate plenty of trees into your shot selection.

8) Nice practice basket are. It is about 50-75' around which is always nice to give a bunch of people a chance to warm up at the same time.

9) Benches around the first tee and a kiosk helps to welcome you to the course. There are also benches scattered through the course in different picnic areas. I would assume in season and on nice days these shelters house a lot of pople so those benches may or may not be in use. Plenty of shelters on the course too even if they arent intended for the disc golfers, they are more for the picnicers.

10) Alternate pins are available on all holes (I believe). I always like to see a course that can move baskets to provide a slightly different course from time to time.

11) The locals were super nice. I got there right as a league was going to begin and they let me go in front of the shotgun. Then when I was on hole #11 and they were headed out to the course the told me I should join up. They didnt know I was busy course whoring and wanted to still get to Cliff Stephens, North East Coachman, and Gregg Paas. In the end I did make it to all of them but would not have if I played along with their league.
Cons: 1) Course is a little monotonous. The holes are well designed in the tall mature wooded area of the park but they are a little too similar in my mind. There isn't enough variety because 16 of the 18 holes are in the same wooded area of the park. The only 2 holes that are a little different from the rest are holes #1 and 2.

2) The water is only really in play on a couple holes. Rather than running the holes all lengthwise up one sie and back the other I would have put a couple of doglegs and a couple that had baskets tucked closer to the water.

3) Benches are in the park but not always associated with the teeboxes of the disc golf course.

4) Course is simply too flat. It has virtually no elevation change from hole to hole or during the holes. This leads to a little but of monotony too.

5) Walkpath is in danger on a few holes. I always hate to see paths that go right through the area that beginners might throw. They always tend to be up the left side of the disc golf hole where beginners have the tendency to miss their shots.

6) There are a few exercise areas in play and also a playground. These are generally unacceptable in my opinion, as it will only contribute to too many people disagreeing with the multiple use areas including disc golf. When properly designed these intersections of use can be avoided.

7) Signs are a little outdated and could use updating.
Other Thoughts: This was a pretty good course in the end. I do think it would be a little monotonous overtime without playing different tees and different basket locations. I would certainly play it if I was in the area, but day after day it might get a little old to me. I still think it has enough assets to be a fun course. I think it would be a much better doubles course than singles because you can really gun for the birdies and try you rbest to hit the tightest gaps.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A nice day at the Park

5+    9/5/2009   11/23/2009
Review By: Greenleaf
Played: 34  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very beautiful with the lake and scenery. Wide open shots and narrow ones. A very creative couse design. Public restrooms.
Cons: Lots of pedestrian traffic that can really hold up your game, it gets really busy on weekends.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A lot of Fun and Technically Challenging

1    8/11/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 28.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was just plain fun!!! Not really long overall, although a few holes had some length. Most holes were around 300' but technical. A lot of trees to navigate around. Water comes into play on about 4 hole and it was always to the left of the tees. I used several different shots to play the course. Multiple hole placements on each hole

Nice concrete teepads, long enough to get your throw out the box well. Most holes had a pro and novice teepad. Signage was accurate but vague. Very clean park, had cans scattered about to help it stay that way. Very well groomed course. Bathrooms at hole #17. Practice hole for putting next to parking. Signs to direct you to next teepad. Excellent flow!!!

People I encountered, golfers and non, were very friendly. Doubles on Tues. @ 6 and Singles Tourney on Sunday mornings.
Cons: I really don't set out to find faults in a course unless they are glaring, so this course doesn't have really any. If I had to find any faults, it would be:
1) Waiting for other park users to pass on the paths (which wasn't bad at all).
2) Could use another restroom around hole #9
3) A Pro-Shop to replace discs lost in the drink and to provide drinks when it is hot
4) Not much elevation change
5) Upgraded hole signage that gave a better visualization of the hole and which placement
These faults are nominal at best and if they were "fixed" this would be a 4.5 course easily
Other Thoughts: Has everything needed to keep you coming back!! A wonderful experience regardless of your skill level

I met a lot of good friends at this course while living in Seminole. The guys are just great and we played at a lot of other courses together. So thanks to the crew there for making me welcome and part of the crew (Mark, C.R., Bill, etc)

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/22/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: drewzer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: nice course design. a variety of shots needed. at least half the course is birdie-able. nice park setting.
Cons: pedestrian traffic can slow the round a bit(back nine mainly).
Other Thoughts: I nick-named this course " pinehurst", for obvious reasons. I consider the pines great equalizers. a challenge for all skill levels.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 birdie fest

2-4    2/23/2009   2/24/2009
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 184  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 20.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park around a large lake. The course is quite a bit different than the other courses in the area. Fun holes that can all be reached from the tee. There is water, but you will most likely not come anywhere close to it if you are of the advanced or higher level.
Cons: Park is very crowded, and you have to wait on many of the tees or even skip holes because it gets so crowded. Safety is an issue to as people on the walking trail could easily be hit by errant throws. The course is nice, but the holes are very packed together. Many holes where you are very close if not on another fairway.
Other Thoughts: I played here twice because it was so crowded the first day that we played. The second round was much better, but we still had to let a few joggers pass by. I enjoyed the course and the park. Also there is a nice sized alligator that sits on the bank of the left pond as you drive into the park. A nice course to compliment the rest of the Tampa area courses. I can't complain as I birdied 9 of the 18 holes :)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a visit

1    5/28/2006   5/28/2008
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2011
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very attractive park. Tall pines serve as a canopy and wind coming off the lake keeps things fairly cool.

Designer has done a very good job squeezing quality holes into a very small space.

Minimal schule, easy to navigate, high fun factor, appeals to a broad range of skill levels, nice eye candy on the jogging trail.
Cons: Several holes are tight on the jogging trail and players must wait to throw at times.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course in Pinellas

5+    11/19/2007   1/3/2008
Review By: Marv Vega
Played: 35  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2008
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great course in Largo I've played at least a dozen times. The holes are reachable but challenging. Fairly wooded, foliage comes in to play on most holes, the lake on some. A few of the holes are long and most look like some thought was put in to them. Course is good for beginners and advanced players alike.
Cons: The only real con I can think of is that a pedestrian path runs adjacent to some of the holes, a picnic area by a couple of others. Delays are common and patience can be tested.
Other Thoughts: A relatively quick play on a scenic, challenging course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.