Orlando, FL 
Gordon Barnett Park - North Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 293ft.   3 / 293ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Blue Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The Bigger of the two Brothers.

1    10/16/2013   10/16/2013
Review By: Charbachuk
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Located in the massive and gorgeous Gordon Barnett Park in Orlando.
- The park itself has all sorts to offer, bmx, recreation areas, ball golf putting green and driving range (I used the driving range to warm up, the nets caught the discs perfectly.)
- Baskets are all in good condition.
- Tee-Pads are all in good condition.
- The hole diversity is second to none; each hole has a million different ways to reach the pin creating a very interesting experience when playing in a group.
- The course diversity is also very good; each hole presents its own unique challenge with hazards, O.B, deep rough and tree lines. There is no getting bored here.
- Multiple pin placements on some holes.
- Amateur pads on most holes; playing from these pads produces an entirely different course and creating a totally different experience.
- Beautiful wildlife throughout the entire course.
- The signature finishing hole to end all signature finishing holes. 315 feet from a shaded Tee-Pad over a gorgeous pond with a fountain onto an Island green that is only 40 or so feet in diameter. Basket sits on the short side of the island under a large tree. A perfect shot is needed to make it on the island.
- Pro shop located on grounds.
Cons: - The Tee-signs are borderline terrible in my opinion. They are not very accurate, dingy and look like they have been there for a while.
- Course can become a little difficult to navigate; the back 9 is nearly impossible without a map or a local.
- Almost certainty that you will lose something out here; whether it be a disc or your mind, something is getting lost.
Other Thoughts: - This course is Top 3 favorites and Top 3 difficulty.
- Another great course in Orlando, the new mecca of disc golf.
- In my opinion, the playing experience on this course is better than the Park side course, but at what point do we say if its not broke don't fix it.
- Definitely take a day trip for this course, just make sure you either have a map or a local.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Challenge in the woods

1    8/2/2013   8/4/2013
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Challenging lines in the woods with unique (6 and 8) holes.
* Multiple pads and pin positions
* Excellent shot variation from extremely tight lines on the front, to a more wide open back.
* Definitive signature holes with 6, 8, and of course 18
* Reasonable distance variety especially on the back nine.
* Front nine is quite shady and does give a break from summer heat.
* Pro shop with decent disc selection is on site.
* Bathrooms and water fountains on site with water fountains before 15 by the playground.
* Course is a real challenge. These are not 225 ft wooded holes. It plays quite long off the back.
* Prepare to use your whole bag, lots of different lines to be played.
Cons: * Sometimes the navigation and walking was odd. After hole 12, you have to walk around a football field and across the street to continue, and there are other holes that are tough to find. You will walk a lot for your 18.
* I had mixed feelings about hole 8. It seems like a spike hyzer hole, but there is a low ceiling with no real cut through. I would like to spend some time just playing that hole to see if I can figure out what I missed. Not really a con, but it was confusing at first.
Other Thoughts: After playing parkside, this was a real change. The holes in the woods were long and precise, and the open ones still had gaps to play. I really appreciated 13 to 18 and the differences they offered. And hole 18....What a sight. 315 ft to an island is quite the shot. You can leave your round thrilled or with the one that got away. I played a star eagle to the middle of the island and left loving this course. I wonder if I would have felt differently had I found the water? I'm sure I'll find out one day in the future. But, don't let the challenges of this course turn you off. There is basketball, mini golf green, hiking, fishing, and playgrounds to also enjoy. the fact that there is as challenging a course as northside is just icing on a tasty cake. Please take the trip and enjoy!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Home course

5+    4/12/2011   4/26/2011
Review By: Christianlamb
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plenty of variety here. Of the 2 courses at Barnett Park, this one is the toughest. Long holes w/ good obstacles (trees) to throw around and through. Hole 18 is not for the faint of heart, as you must throw a strong drive to make it onto a small island..... you miss and you're now down a disc. Really the entire course is pretty difficult and may not be the best course to start off on for beginners. Great wooded areas w/ clear lines to the baskets though. Also clear paths and signs pointing to the next tee. Love it!
Cons: Many people may just pass on hole 18 due to the high probability of losing a disc in the water. Difficulty level a bit high for beginners.... this is judging from my own experience... this being my first course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  aweosme

5+    2/13/2011   2/16/2011
Review By: ck tricky
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/27/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Awesome terrain for what central FL has to offer.
Pro and Am tees are poured and clean.
Multiple pins seem to float around monthly.
Tree placement is challenging, but not enough to become annoying.
Holes favor a variety of different shots.

This course is pretty awesome, I've played it around 50 times.
Cons: if im being forced to gripe about something: lack of elevation between holes. [ but this is florida ]

for the landscape and the unknown budget, i think the discgolf setup couldn't really be much better.



Other Thoughts: My friends and I play here at least once a week, still not sick of the north side. This place is fun, I'm glad I live close by.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 1st Time at Barnett

1    1/23/2011   1/23/2011
Review By: rpitt08
Played: 95  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 16 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging course with plenty of OBs to navigate. Multiple tee/pin positions. Mostly easy to navigate. Nice signature island hole 18! Pro shop on site. Course maps available at pro shop. Nice scenery. Some elevation play.
Cons: Trouble finding hole 3 and 17. 17 was recently moved. A little biased toward rightys.
Other Thoughts: A great and challenging course. Shoot 54 here and you've really played well. You can't beat two courses on one site. This course is much more fun that the Preside course for an advanced player. Urban area with lots of traffic so exude confidence.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center