Orlando, FL 
Gordon Barnett Park - North Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 234ft.   3 / 234ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Blue Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Not as good as Parkside

1    3/15/2011   3/25/2011
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 76  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 8.2 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As stated in my review of the Parkside course there is something here for everyone at any age to do. Below is a list of the amenities.
BMX track
Multiple covered playgrounds
Lake for fishing
Skate Park
Tennis Courts
Boat ramp
Dog park
Golf practice area
Baseball and Softball fields

All of this plus two disc golf courses and it's all FREE!! There is a well stocked pro shop with pretty decent prices and uber clean bathrooms. There is also a bamboo retrieval device by the bathrooms which could easily come in handy when playing the signature island hole 18. There are several benches and trash cans scattered throughout; although there are more on the Parkside course. Multiple pin positions on every hole with some have two sets of tee pads. Yellow painted wingnuts mark the current pin positions. There is a good amount of water that comes into play. OB is also utilized quite well. The concrete tees are good sized and in good shape. A good mix of shots/hole and elevation change makes up for the huge lack of signage. There are no Next Tee arrows painted on the poles like there was on the other course. The baskets are color coded and numbered which helps as sever holes have close or crossing fairways. Away from most park activities.

Cons: Even with a map it is easy to get turned around or lost. There are several very close or crossing fairways. As with the Parkside course there are a ton of ant hills. The signs were bent/rusting on at least half of the holes. The walks in between the holes aren't marked well and get quite narrow at times. The layout looks like it was mushed in to areas where they couldn't put anything else. Hole eight for an example has the basket tucked into a bunch of trees and palms with no real path to it (I know a lot of other reviewers liked it, but I just felt as if it was a filler hole). Multiple holes are close to fields and/or roads and would make playing on a busy day tricky.
Other Thoughts: All in all a good course, but it wasn't as much fun for me as Parkside.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.


1    3/8/2011   3/14/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 113  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/21/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course had several very fun holes. There is a Pro Shop with a nice selection of discs and maps are available as well. Elevation was used where it was available. The terrain changes from dirt, to grass, to sand often.

Other Pros:
- multiple tees
- variety (turns, distances, obstacles/ open)
- water hazards (lake and gullies)
- 2 courses on 1 park
- challenging: fairways can be tough but fair
- easy to navigate with next tee signs when needed
Cons: It is a busy park with many other activities going on.

Other Cons:
- almost stepped on a snake
- rough areas are thick and pointy
Other Thoughts: My favorite holes were 8 and 18. 8 has a 90 degree turn into a beautiful area tucked in the woods, and 18 is the island shot.

We got a little confused pulling into the park, the GPS brought us to the backside of the park where there was no parking. Here is the phone number on the map I got so you might find it easier: 321-276-3681. Park hours are 8am- 8pm. I hope to play here again.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/13/2011   2/16/2011
Review By: ck tricky
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/27/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Awesome terrain for what central FL has to offer.
Pro and Am tees are poured and clean.
Multiple pins seem to float around monthly.
Tree placement is challenging, but not enough to become annoying.
Holes favor a variety of different shots.

This course is pretty awesome, I've played it around 50 times.
Cons: if im being forced to gripe about something: lack of elevation between holes. [ but this is florida ]

for the landscape and the unknown budget, i think the discgolf setup couldn't really be much better.

Other Thoughts: My friends and I play here at least once a week, still not sick of the north side. This place is fun, I'm glad I live close by.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 1st Time at Barnett

1    1/23/2011   1/23/2011
Review By: rpitt08
Played: 96  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 17.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging course with plenty of OBs to navigate. Multiple tee/pin positions. Mostly easy to navigate. Nice signature island hole 18! Pro shop on site. Course maps available at pro shop. Nice scenery. Some elevation play.
Cons: Trouble finding hole 3 and 17. 17 was recently moved. A little biased toward rightys.
Other Thoughts: A great and challenging course. Shoot 54 here and you've really played well. You can't beat two courses on one site. This course is much more fun that the Preside course for an advanced player. Urban area with lots of traffic so exude confidence.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    11/13/2010   12/4/2010
Review By: slavedriverx2
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: nice and open but not to open i really like the curves you have to take to get to the tees
Cons: the courses are together and not real clearly marked
Other Thoughts: i like how the tress are kept kind of thined out so that you can find the disk when they do go in

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wonky layout, several fun holes.

1    11/20/2010   11/20/2010
Review By: ChrisWoj
Played: 127  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 11.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Barnett North makes use of limited elevation in a good way. There is not a lot to work with, but where there is it seems to be used to achieve some challenging pin placements. The course is also broken up well between open and wooded holes, preventing a monotonous run of one or the other. The tunnels in the woods are mostly well defined, with routes that make sense (there is always a flight path that will bring you to the pin placement on your drive, if you can hit the line and get the distance).

I also enjoyed the fact that a few holes gave you some genuine choices. Hole 2 provided the option of a straight route, with risk of skipping out of bounds, a huge but safe hyzer to lay up short if you have the arm for it, or a massive anhyzer to try for the pin, which has a deep slope and creek next to it. Hole 5 has an absolutely gorgeous and well manicured approach and green. And, as has been said in all reviews: hole 18 is beautiful.
Cons: With all of that said: the course is poorly laid out. I can't understand why, with so much land available, and so many potentially great holes that would flow so much better - you're stuck walking across fairways to reach the next teepad in some areas, you have to backtrack a good ways in other areas... In multiple areas you're going to have trouble finding the next tee, even with a course map.

This is especially true in a few areas where the signage is missing completely. For someone with vision problems (no depth perception, blind in one eye) - signage is absolutely vital. Admittedly all of these things are problems that are solved by multiple play-throughs - but when someone is in for a weekend and wants to hit a course any one of these issues can really add some undue irritation to what should be a relaxing day of golf.

Additionally - the course was not much of a challenge. From the blue tees it is relatively easy to score in the 40s, even on a poor round. It was supposed to be the more challenging of the two courses on the property - but only a few holes were really a challenge.
Other Thoughts: Keep in mind that although I only rated the course decent at 2.5 - it is accompanied by another disc golf course. I did not play the other course, but having two 18 hole loops on the same property really does increase the worthiness of a visit to the property on the whole.

Along with that there is a very nice little pro-shop out on the property as well with discs for sale. Although the selection was virtually all Innova, it was a nice selection. But I would improve one thing - the map here on the site is far clearer than the one printed off and available there, I would recommend that they switch over the map they're using.

Finally - I will state that the course has the potential to really amp up the difficulty. It has some fantastic looking long pin positions. Some of the holes were in the long positions but most were medium or short positions. Glancing at the positions available I'd say that with them all in the long spots (something that the fellow at the pro-shop said doesn't happen, sadly) the course would be a much more enticing play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Island Greens are fun!

1    12/26/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: ARock
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging course that did not have any gimme birdies. The short holes all had wrinkles to make them challenging. Had a few shots I haven't seen before including #1 that required a choice of going high over the treetops or weave through them. Low treetops throughout the course made approaches difficult. The 18th hole is a thing of beauty. 315' to the pin lying on an island green. Must be 290+ to carry the water and the green is not huge. I stood there and threw several just for the fun of it and to enjoy the scenery. Course was open and remote enough to allow dogs off leash on middle holes.
Cons: Park seemed a little rough around the edges. Not sure I'd be comfortable playing there alone or as night approaches. A few holes were under construction. Did have a few "chuck it and pray" holes (defined as holes where there are lots of trees and no clear path through them all).
Other Thoughts: I'd love to go back here and play it again. If nothing else, the 18th hole makes the course worth playing. Also, pretty close to I-95 so makes for a nice break on long road trips.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun & Challenging

1    6/28/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 30.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/13/2010
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This place had a good mix/variaty of shots. Not many elevation changes, but what were available were exploited. Some fun blinds. Not too long to deter new players, but some good rip for the dawgs (I played all the long placements). Several tees and hole placements. Nice flow!! Creek runs thru some holes to provide an OB and 18 is an Island Green!!!

Nice tee pads, mostly concrete with a few carpeted, palet style (those were use for where the lake/ creek rose and flooded the area occasionally**) Trash cans and benches spread out pretty well.
** They were well built and long enough... Some have floated closer to the hole, LOL!!

Pro shop with all the stuff. Restroom located there. Great staff and really cool locals

League play on Sunday (Handicap system used to deter-sand baggers) Mixed Doubles on Tues. & Thurs.
Cons: Not many cons to list. Maybe make more teepads that are concrete at each tee placement (which it seems they are working on). Umm, mow the lawn so I can roll a couple? ( I don't care, there are windows....)
Other Thoughts: As you can tell if you have read my reviews, I LOVE CHALLENGE!!! This course provided it, but had short tees to promote the sport to newbs (A++). The locals I played with were very cool. My new "Home" course....

Favorite Hole: DUH!!! #18.... Island Green, about 320' (Long Tee). High risk, High reward! I love throwing over water!!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

5/17/2008   5/20/2008
Review By: waywu2001
Played: 29  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Gourgeous Course (park was amazing as well) One of a kind experience dealing with unique foliage. Well laid out with accompanying signs. Great variety to challenge different skills.
Cons: Some of the OB had bushes with killer thorns. They GRAB and don't let go. Also, while we didn't run into problems I can foresee that the park has unsavory visitors.
Other Thoughts: Park closed at 8! There was still probably a half hour of daylight!!!

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip

1    2/8/2006   5/8/2008
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 162  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 18.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2011
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Two courses on site. Stocked pro-shop. Close to the Orlando attractions. A few very good holes. Solid Blue-level challenge. Most holes have nice cement pads.

Holes 10-11 are very nice, longer par 3's with multiple routes through the trees.
Cons: Quirky routing.

Hole 9 is one of the worst holes I've ever seen. Basically its throw about 150 ft. then let the disc skip hard through a thick patch of little trees and hope for luck.

The new hole 7 involves crushing a spike hyzer out over the fence of a retention pond and then having a 100-150 ft. lay-up shot. Par 3.5 and aesthetically unappealing.

The water on the 18th hole eats way too many discs. No safe play for beginners. It's an interesting coincidence that the course designer has a pro-shop within 200 ft. of this water hazard.

Discs get stolen in the park and there have been a few assaults.
Other Thoughts: Don't be a dirty discer. Leave the course cleaner than you found it!

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.