Orlando, FL
Bill Frederick Park - Turkey Lake Share
Uploaded By: BennettUA Hole #8 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 247ft.   3 / --   3 / 247ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Orlando Favorite

1    11/2/2013   11/3/2013
Review By: TeeRex
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Love the concrete pads. Signs at every hole make ID easy for first time at course. Nice layout, mild skill levels, opportunity for aces exist here. Plenty of facilities for rest room. Bag hangers at holes, some rest benches. They sell some discs at front entry office.
Cons: Just that it rained on us here, but hey, it is central Florida.
Other Thoughts: Have only been playing since May 2013. I was able to go 4 over par first time on course. Mostly a par-3 course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Course.

5+    10/9/2013   10/9/2013
Review By: Charbachuk
Played: 25  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is located in a beautiful neighborhood and more importantly inside of Bill Fredrick Park.
- Tee-pads are all perfect size and in really good shape.
- Plenty of shot variation; every shot that you have in your bag will be used on this course.
- Rolling winds and elevation change really add an element to the game not often seen in Florida.
- Beautiful scenery and wildlife; the majority of holes run along the shores of Turkey Lake providing some great photo opportunities.
- Course can be difficult; depending on the wind, this course can be one of the harder courses in Florida in my opinion. With that being said, if you can keep your shots low and putt well it is very easy to score really well.
- Although this is a "longer course" it still has a few Ace Runs; Hole #4, #10 (I have an ace on this hole), and Hole #14.
- Signature hole in my opinion is #17; longer shot that moves up, then down and right to left to a landing zone made of beautiful Florida sand.
- Playing course from the short pads actually makes this a different course than playing from the long.
Cons: - Tee signs are old and from experience of playing a tournament here, not very accurate with distance.
- Course does not have a very efficient flow from hole to hole; if you are playing it for the first time get a map from the park office or play with a local.
- Lacks signature finishing hole; Hole #18 is a blind shot over a ditch up to a small fairway which leads to a tight shot to a guarded basket. No real shot for birdie, I've only seen one person birdie it and it was an amazing shot.
Other Thoughts: - This course ranks in the top ten in Florida for me; It has everything a disc golfer could want plus some more.

- This is definitely a course i would take a day trip to play; play T-2 and the Gordon Barnett courses, or just check out the Orlando night life.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Original is Worth a Play

5+    8/10/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 145  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 3.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Naming the second course at Turkey Lake "T2: the Turkenator" was apt, though that moniker says more about the original course than anything else. Turkey Lake is much like the original Terminator. In relation to the big man on campus, it's low-budget. It lacks the big effects, the blow-your-pants-off moments. And maybe it's just a bit cheesy, and relies a bit on nostalgia. But it's still follows the same story as the big-money sequel. And it's well worth playing.

Like big bro, the course plays through a mix of fields and lighly wooded areas and comes close to its namesake lake on a few hole. There isn't a true water carry, but drives off 5 should hang out over the water for a while if you want to avoid the outcrop of woods. The lake is in view for a number of holes, but with the exception of 4 (where you would have to overshoot by about thirty feet to hit the lake) you are teeing off away from the water.

Still, there are a few really solid holes. 10 is a nice ace run, shooting over a gulley and towards a basket that hides behind a solitary tree, approachable from either right or left. 18 features a similar throw over a gulley, but instead of landing near the pin, a well placed drive leaves you on a narrow fairway leading to a guarded basket.

The signs are old but still in good condition and accurate for the most part, although a few baskets may have been moved. The par lables have faded, although that's just as well since they don't make too much sense. There is a par 3 that is considerably harder and longer than the par 4 which precedes it.

And there's a great flow. The front nine circle in a huge loop that descends to the lake and climbs back to the start. The back nine loops around the other way, into the woods and towards the highway.
Cons: So what's not to like? Well, there are a few tosses that interact with walkways. (3, 6) There are a few fairways that I've seen being used for other events. (8, 7)

There's not too much length and there's not a ton of difficulty. Too many holes don't require control and many fairways are just too wide.
Other Thoughts: I play this course about one out of every four visits to the park. It's a good, fun course. It's just not T2.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Gobble, gobble...

1    6/12/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 197  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 5.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course in the back of a large parge complex. Excellent concrete tee pads with multiple pads at most holes. Good signs offering length and basic hole shape. Navigation signs in the right places to keep you on track. Course and park are also very well maintained. There are bathrooms, plenty of parking and picnic areas/gazebos galore. Nice small lake with docks and other activities abound. Camping on site for campers, tents and even some small rental cottages. Really a very cool park.

Course has hole lengths from 219' to 420'. Most holes are open grass with mature trees shaping the shots that need to be made. Everything is pretty straight forward and nothing is so technical that it feels like a beat down. This course is probably best for beginners and intermediate players. It is not overly challenging, and could even be a good spot to work on different aspects of your game, Plenty of open space to keep those errant shots from being too punitive.

Cons: A shot or two over or very close to the paved walking path.

Not any super holes, or huge challenges.

No water carries on a course by a lake. I guess for some this could be a positve.

Other Thoughts: Just a very nice little course. While it doesn't play long or super technical there is just enough cool features to keep it from being too easy or boring. There are basket positions tucked behind or near trees. There is a slightly elevated basket. There is also some tight gaps off the tee and some low ceiling shots to prevent some short, open holes from be simple ace runs for all. Nothing too tough, but little features that make you hit the line.

13 was probably my favorite hole. It is a slightly down hill 290' hole with the lake in the background, and two ways to get to the basket. There is a fairly open RHBH anny line or a tighter RHBH line that would need to fade a tiny bit.

18 is a pretty cool blind shot that makes you throw a sweeping RHBH hyzer line to a well guarded basket. Had to walk the whole fairway to see the basket. I liked the look and feel of the hole, but would love to see the small tree right in front of the basket removed. That would make the basket visible from half way down the fairway, and not force people to throw an over hand shot or some other utility shot to go over the trees. Just my .02 I guess. Just no fairway there. Weird, but it does look cool.

Overall this course is defintely worth your time. It is not going to beat you up, but does offer some fun in a great setting. Plus there is another course right on site for that second round after you are all warmed up.


8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great intermediate course complements T2 Turkeynator

1    4/5/2013   4/11/2013
Review By: fictionfree
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Challenging design that utilizes what little elevation changes there are in this area
-Good use of trees to create tough drives and protected approaches
-Fast greens are great for optional roller shots
-Great design allows for good introductory/beginner-friendly course that is also fun and challenging for more experienced palyers
-Attractive with large open rolling greens and water backdrops - water rarely comes into play, but is a presence on a few holes
-Great complement to the other, bigger course in this park - T2
Cons: -Length of holes is pretty monotonous
-Hole length on signs doesn't seem right - holes generally seem longer than the signs say
-18 seems unfairly difficult (especially compared to the rest of the course) - maybe I just need to play it more but I see no possible way to consistently par this hole
Other Thoughts: I played this course, the original, first and then played T2 - as recommended by another reviewer and I loved it. I brought lots of water and took my time, and never felt tired - the original really is a great warm up for T2 - there is even a nice covered picnic table to take a break and have a mid-round snack.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great park!

1    1/16/2013   1/17/2013
Review By: larrod25
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenic park, nice views of lake. Mostly open par 3 course.
Cons: Tee signs seem to show incorrect distances on a number of holes. Not a lot of distance variety. Very few benches, and a fair amount of hills to climb.
Other Thoughts: This course is a nice compliment to the T2 course (also in same park). This one is called the 'Original layout' on the course map. Although it has a lower par and seems easier than T2, it is certainly challenging in its own right. It seems as though the original layout has been modified a bit, however, as many of the tee signs seemed to be a little off. This course has more views of Turkey lake, and several holes that play along it. It is much shorter than T2; I played T2 from the shorter Red tees, but played the OL from the longer Blue tees. The back nine is much tougher than the front, and there are some really tight gaps that punish severely if missed. I am sure this course would be much easier the second and third time around. Overall a nice experience. I am glad I played both courses rather than one of them twice. If you are travelling to Orlando, Bill Frederick Park at Turkey Lake is the place to play!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Yin of the Bill Frederick Courses

1    1/13/2013   1/13/2013
Review By: RussMB
Played: 102  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/3/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very Scenic and well maintained State Park ($2 per person/$4 per car to enter) Ask for a Map when you pay.

-Course has a rolling terrain, that plays near a very scenic lake *This is relative to where you are coming from. Most of the coastal Florida courses are Flat, so someone from Tampa would call this terrain Rolling. Someone from Tennessee would probably consider this flat.

-Close to Universal Studios, but Disney is a little bit of a drive. (In case you are vacationing)

-Concrete Tee's, Multiple Tee's locations, Bag holders, Tee signs with Maps & Distance.

-Beginner friendly/players of all levels can enjoy

-Is an Old School course, and definitely plays as such. This was a fun course to play!

-The original Turkey Lake Course and the T2 course start back to back.

-Good mix of Left, Right and Dog Leg pin locations.

-9 holes out and back to the parking lot, the back 9 starts right next to hole 1 and also finishes at the start. This allows for a nice stop at the vehicle and the bathrooms.

-Very nice restrooms at the start. Look for the big building on the right as you approach the teeing area through the parking lot.

-The course is mostly open, with some wooded shots. 18 is a rugged narrow dogleg that makes for a great finishing hole.

-The course is pretty much isolated, but it's not immune from Park goers & pedestrian traffic. The back 9 is more isolated than the front 9.

-It's not as challenging as T2, but it still offers a good time and a lot of fun.

FWIW
-There are a ton of activities here! If you have a spouse, friend or family member that is wants to watch your kids, then there are a bunch of activities they could do while you get to play a couple rounds here. From Playgrounds to a Farm, there is plenty to do here.

-Camping and Cabin rentals on site as well.
Cons: -There is a walking path through the front 9, not terribly in the way, just look before you throw.

-This course plays near some common areas and near a ballfield. Though pedestrians and park goers should be easy to spot, look before you throw. The campground on the back 9 is the same way.

-Some of the holes have been changed, which is not reflected in the maps. This makes navigation a little difficult. The one I remember was that the 4 tee is now down on the bank of the water. (Which is actually makes a very scenic tee)

-Depending on when you get here, allow for a longer commute time. Orlando has very congested roads and it can get brutal! TIP: Have quarters for ready for theToll Roads. They are exact change only and no bills. I learned they do accept pennies! Cleaned out my change cup! ;)

-This may be a factor for some, but the distances and shots may get redundant for some. I think it's great having one course designed for challenge and the other designed for casual fun. Yin of the Bill Frederick Yin Yang
Other Thoughts: Turkey Lake is definitely the easier of the two courses here. Beginners can play here as well as advanced players. Since there is a campground here, you may see a few Non-players trying their hand at throwing a disc. The walk around the lake alone is very enjoyable; being able to play Disc Golf around the lake is fantastic. The course was immaculate the day I played here! Clean, Sunny, and in the lower 60s! It's not terribly challenging, but it's fun to play and I had a great time. It plays up and down hills, and near plenty of water. (All of the water factors are lateral water hazards)

These two courses are well worth the cost of admission. This course also makes for a great warm up course for T2. I would recommend playing this one first before T2. You'll want your arm loosened up for it. I didn't see any gas stations in the immediate vicinity, but it's Orlando. There are plenty of restaurants within a few miles. Any type of shoes and shorts will be fine here. You may have to fight with some thorny weeds on the fringes of the back 9, but overall you should be fine. Plus, this is the kind of course you could bring someone that may not be a DG player. Perhaps some family and/or friends you are vacationing with.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    12/6/2012   12/6/2012
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 54  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 10.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. It reminded me a little of Taylor Park in Largo only without all the water. This is stress-free disc golf. Beautiful landscape with some elevation changes. There is plenty of opportunity to let it rip while still having to have accuracy. I appreciated some next tee, signs (just needed more of them). This is park is really, really well maintained. It is low traffic. You don't have to worry about pedestrians. I also like that it challenges every aspect of your game (especially between both courses...but even just on each of them individually). That brings up the next plus. This is a multi-course site with one fee to get in and play all you like! I liked the combination of open with enough trees to mess with you and then going into some holes (like hole 8) that were more closed off yet with length that made you really throw a laser in order to be low and long enough. Another great feature is that the course does allow you to get back to your car around hole 9-10. Love that they put the $ in to do it right and install multiple tees to give you a variety of options. I hope I can get back to this course sometime. I haven't played Barnett to compare but this course was so much fun!
Cons: My biggest complaint is that it is not always easy to find the next tee. Sometimes there are signs and other times there aren't. I got really confused after hole 3, trying to find hole 4. They really need a next tee sign unless I missed it. I am not really sure about restroom facilities. T2 did have a sign that said don't pee on the course. Thought that was interesting. Other than that...nothing but positives come to mind!
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area, come play these two courses! It is well worth it. Bring every shot you have. Come and enjoy challenging disc golf without having to worry about losing half your discs in the water.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice course to practice all your shots

1    6/10/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: cesar32935
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple shots. Left/Right, and low/high ceilings. Also putting uphill/downhill a couple of times. I even had to throw a Roller once (first time in a live round). Short holes are not necesarily a "gimme" because they're usually guarded by tight shots.
If you're a Recreational, or Intermediate player, you will enjoy that you can still save par even if you hit a tree off your tee shot.
Cons: Water. In the summer months, it will be awesome if they had a few more water spots.
I was confused a couple of times between the distance on the score sheet, and the distance posted on the tee pads.
Other Thoughts: I wish I lived a little closer, the course will force me to become better at throwing "tight" drives.
The uphill/down hill puts don't have a lot of inclination, since this is FL and it is mostly flat, but it's a nice change of pace.
The park overall is pretty nice. My son and I enjoyed the other ammenities available during our visit.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Clean course

1    5/15/2012   5/15/2012
Review By: tfrank
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very clean and friendly. It is in FL so there are tons of little lizards and big birds and sand and swamp things. There isn't a ton of elevation, but the water and trees make up for it. The course map looks easy, but the tree and basket placement is difficult. Bring a variety of discs and arms because the course doesn't favor a right or left fade.
Cons: I can't think of any. FL is hot and humid in the summer. Duh. Bring water.
Other Thoughts: The $2 fee isn't really a con, because I have never seen a course with so little trash. I would pay a couple bucks to not have to play around tons of butts and bottles. This is a very well maintained course.
Also not a con, but when it is 90 and 90% humidity at sea level, your drivers fly differently. I didn't, but I would recommend playing the first few holes for practice to see how things fly. The trees actually saved me from being alligator bait twice when my drives wouldn't stop turning. I would add a number to the turn and subtract a number from the fade on your discs.
I played conservatively around the water because I took the warning signs seriously, but there are plenty of birdie opportunities for the confident player.
Update: I played again. 18 can be birdied. Instead of trying to follow the narrow tunnel to the basket, throw far right and really high and go around all of the trees. I was able to land two drives within 30'. Scout it out first though, it is tight.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.