Orlando, FL
Bill Frederick Park - Turkey Lake Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #18 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 224ft.   4 / --   3 / 320ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Red Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Orlando Magic!

1    3/1/2014   3/1/2014
Review By: thrembo
Played: 79  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 38.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/7/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a truly fun and scenic course, with old trees, a large lake and featuring central Florida style rolling hills.

Two sets of tee pads on every hole that are large and grippy. Informative signs at each tee show hole layout and distance. (Judging by some of the older pictures on here, the tee signs are new, and show future alt pin placements that were not in the ground yet at this time).

Very nice bag hangers.

Nice baskets.

Plenty of picnic tables, pavillions, benches, garbage cans and restrooms.

Very clean, and highly maintained course.

A well established league, that hosts some of the biggest tournaments in FL. Very friendly locals that I'm guessing are used to seeing out-of-towners.



Cons: There are a couple of minor navigation issues. Ask for the map/scorecard when you enter the park. It will help. There are some next tee signs, but finding them can be tricky also.

This is a multiuse park with many non-DGers wandering around and through the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is located in a spectacular park, that features another 18 hole DG course on site. Camping, fishing, childrens farm area, a Tai Chi(?) class, a revival (that I thought about crashing) and several other things going on.

I know that I might be in the minority here, but I prefer this course over the other one at this park (T-2). This course IMO is more scenic, and has more varied type holes. Its a little shorter and more open than its big brother, but the negatives on the other course bring it down below this one. I declare this course a certified gem, and thoroughly enjoyed playing here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Orlando

1    1/12/2012   1/14/2012
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is beautiful! It's super clean and scenic. Everyone has mentioned all the great thing that this course has to offer. Multiple tees. Holes that require the thrower to make many different shots. Some high risk-high reward. Overall, its just beautiful and anyone who throws it will see why. Not to mention it has another 18 holes.
Cons: Not even sure if it's a true con but the only thing I could see as some would squawk about would be that it cost $4 to get into the park. I never mind. Free golf is everywhere and they take incredible care of this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lil Brother to T2

1    7/6/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 28.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging, but not to long or tight. The variety of holes make you use several shots. Multiple tees and hole placements to keep it different and interesting. I have never played it when it was crowded. Beautiful park/course that is is next to a nature preserve. A few hole that water is involved. Maintained well and clean. Nice flow to the course

Tees are pretty good if you play the red ones. Most of the blue (pro) tees are carpet and lumpy. There seems to be an effort to upgrade the pro tees to large concrete pads.

Restrooms at the parking lot. Plenty of trash cans to keep it clean. Discs at the entrance if you need some plastic.

Absolutely one of the most beuatiful parks I have ever play on!!!
Cons: Not many cons to list. You have to pay $2 to enter, but it such a nice park, I don't mind. Finding hole 15 was a chore the 1st time I played. Some of the holes are pretty old and rusty, but still servicable.

All the teepads need some loving, even the red ones since they are pretty short
Other Thoughts: When the teepads are all in, this park will be awesome due to the fact that you have 36 hole to play. It is more of a traditional park course than T2. I really enjoyed this layout as much as the more difficult tract. I was really challenged on several holes

Favorite Hole: #5- With the lake on the right and an inlet and bog in the middle of he fairway, shot selection was at a premium. Takes a nice rip with accuracy to get to the pin and stay dry. Several diffent placement to challenge you each visit to the Turkey

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great Intermediate course

2-4    8/1/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 73  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/24/2012
19 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course design offers an amazing amount of variety. You can grip and rip some shots whereas others have to be carefully planned. Some shots are only for tomahawks and others you have to hug the ground. Each tee has a well displayed picture and cement pads, so the navigation is vey easy. The few holes that tee off next to each other have bag holders which make waiting much easier. Several of the holes have next tee signs. This comes in handy because the signs are located when you can't see the tee pad. The Ranger hut that you check in at sells discs so if you're a little low you can stock up (I didn't check on prices though). There is a large bulletin board that has a huge course map and local disc golf info. There is a nice piece of astroturf to help you get up the hill after you tee off on 18 that helps tremendously. Possibly most important being that the course is in Florida is the facilities located at the start of both courses. There is a male and female bathroom, function hall, picnic tables, and a water fountain in the Carter Center.
Cons: Some of the baskets could use some TLC as the chains are starting to rust. Not only is there water on the course (not a bad thing in itself) it is very swampy and difficult to even get your floating discs. I was playing with my dad and cousin and we each lost a disc on hole five which has a lot more water than we all thought ; Near the water there were a ton of blind mosquitoes (ones you can't see) so it made it increasingly difficult to play through. Holes eight and nine both have overgrown tee pads: it took me a little while to find them, we actually passed them twice.
Other Thoughts: After you pay the entrance fee to get into the park follow the road all the way to the end and you will see a sign that says Carter Center and Disk Golf (yes it's actually spelled that way) to the right. Bring the course map that is given to you by the park ranger as you will need it. When I played it was 95 degrees and three of us went through over a gallon of water. If you're looking for some competition they do have a large weekly league.

Play T-2 and you will think you are in a totally different area.

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Worth every penny

2-4    1/15/2009   7/15/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 114  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 18.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Firstly, this is one of 2 courses in a beautiful park. This older course is in the more manicured area, with lawn-quality mown grass on the shores of a nice lake. The park is pay-to-play, but also limited access (gated), which benefits the disc golf by limiting the amount of non-golfers on the course.

The course features moderately open holes with enough trees to work your shots around, modest elevation changes, and very little undergrowth to lose discs in. It's not terribly long or gold-course-challenging, but every hole is different, well-designed, and fun.

I'd rate the course alone 3.5, but it's paired with The Turkeynator (4.0), and both courses have front & back nines that loop back to the parking lot, giving you options to mix-&-match any combination of the 4 9-hole loops, or play 36 fine holes in one visit.

Navigation was easy, without a map.
Cons: Park closes early, before dark. And it really closes; they lock it up tight.

Other Thoughts: It's a great park, especially if you're on an Orlando vacation and need a few hours of peace and quiet and fine disc golf.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 very fun!!!!

2-4    3/22/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: DarrenFL
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: a lot of open driving and pretty much just trees so its kind of hard to lose any disc. small hills make the game really fun and challenging. never had to wait for other players to finish before i began teeing off. everyone moves quickly.
Cons: 1st time playing had a little trouble finding some holes
Other Thoughts: a really fun course. played it 3 times now and love it.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Turkey Lake Original

2-4    1/20/2009   1/28/2009
Review By: chrissauls
Played: 91  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 20.1 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great park with facilities. Nice fairways with excellent pin placements. Every hole is different. Very fun course.
Cons: Can't think of any.
Other Thoughts: Played the course while on vacation .This is the 3rd time I've played the course and first since 2001. Some of the holes seemed to have changed and for the better. It was very windy which is how is should be when your playing around a lake. Couldn't get over how well maintained the coure was and the scenery. Very clean park. Course is definately in my top 10. A must stop for any disc golfer on vacation.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.