Orlando, FL 
Bill Frederick Park - Turkey Lake Share
Uploaded By: reposado Hole #5 (Taken 10/2015)
3 / 334ft.   3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign

Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Great views, great course, great start in FL

1    5/11/2015   7/2/2015
Review By: pmay5
Played: 57  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good concrete teepads on every hole, two per hole, baskets are in good shape, mostly isolated part of this large park. Bill Frederick Park is a large park right near the heart of Orlando on scenic Turkey Lake. Very clean course, you can tell the locals keep up with that aspect also.

There are many different activities at this park, and there is a walking path and camping near the course, but they only affect a couple of holes and can be mitigated pretty easily.

Great views of Turkey Lake, especially on the early morning I was the only one on the course, except for a few long legged cranes walking by as I putted. They stopped to see if I made the putt, I didn't.

The course is laid out on mostly open terrain, with the trees there to force you to shape your shots. Even though there is a lot of shoreline available, #5 is the only hole where you could splash a disc. But it is a hyzer drive for us righties, so it can be managed.

Another good hole is #13, downhill towards the lake, there is a straight line available, but you could fade left toward the lake. I threw a forhand to a more open path and it faded right back into the fairway. #10 was fun, short ace run over a sandy area, reminds you where you are. #18 was a surprise, tight tunnel shot through the trees, the only one on this course.
Cons: Biggest con I had was that opens at 8AM means opens at 8AM for this course. Large iron gates locked for the night, but they did open right at 8:00. I would have preferred a little earlier start.

The tees signs were a little dated, could use an update, but they are part of the history of this course. Not a huge problem, since you can see most of the baskets from the tee.
Other Thoughts: Speaking of history, I understand this was one of the first permanent courses in Florida. A nice start on my DG history cred. The attendant at the gates was helpful, $2 to play, but well worth it. They have discs to rent at the gate, I even left one I found on the course, I asked him to call the number, or add to the rentals.

Really glad I made this my one and only chance to play in Orlando.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Show

1    5/23/2015   5/23/2015
Review By: freddysez
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
This review was updated on 7/12/2015
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The layout and navigation flows splendidly, strategic trees around baskets add creativity for approaches, and the wind is a heck of a factor on several holes. I love hole 10 on a elevated tee to a slightly elevated basket heavily guarded by trees. It's a treat playing a course for the 1st time without having a tough time getting around on the course.
Cons: The park offers a lot for non disc players so naturally some folk aren't paying attention
Other Thoughts: Bathrooms are always a plus, let alone clean ones. So glad I went! Hey look 2 clowns with nothing better to do said this review wasn't helpful

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Thanks Bill!

1    4/25/2015   4/25/2015
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 52  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2015
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautifully manicured course that takes a nice walk on the terrain next to a beautiful lake. Holes 3-5 along the water are amongst the most picturesque that I have played anywhere.

Most holes are fairly open with strategically placed obstacles that allow the golfer to really pick their own line and try to hit it. Good throws tend to yield birdie throws, but bad ones may find the frequently placed OB as definied by the many roadways and paved bike trails.

Great tee boxes for both the front and back tees, as well as wonderful signs that help navigation, clearly mark OB, and usually have signposts to hang your bag.

A few holes really stuck out to me. 9 is a really nice tunnel shot that finishes next to the parking lot, so if you only have time to make a 9 hole loop, that is available. 13 by the water is also really beautiful.

This is Florida's oldest standing course which is in and of itself pretty cool.

Multiple practice baskets to warm up by the first hole. There is also a really nice kiosk which suggests proper tee boxes by estimated player rating.

Loads of other amenities in the park including multiple well-kept bathroom facilities are really nice.

It looked like there were some discs to buy or rent at the entrance to the park but I didn't stop for them.
Cons: Only a few here.

You have to pay to enter the park (but $2 is definitely worth it).

The holes by the lake really have a lot of bugs (nothing they can really do about that).

Hole 12 plays a bit close to the campground for comfort.

The trees and bushes on 18 tee could use a slight trimming to help clarify the line.
Other Thoughts: What a great park! And this course is only 1/2 of it. Make sure to check out T2 while you are here.

(there were 2 extra holes, 6A and 6B there when I played. I am told they were for an upcoming tournament. Im not sure they are absolutely necessary and the course flowed a bit better without them in my opinion)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

good course

2-4    7/17/2014   1/17/2015
Review By: boursin
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: challenging, short holes and longish holes, Great scenery,good pads good baskets. some elevation (for Florida). Nice locals who helped me find a couple of holes.
Cons: alcohol police, do not drink on the course because if you get caught you will be asked to leave the park.
Other Thoughts: Nice course with a variety of looks. Next time I will play T2. the lake is beautiful and the grounds are very well maintained.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Orlando

1    1/12/2012   1/14/2012
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is beautiful! It's super clean and scenic. Everyone has mentioned all the great thing that this course has to offer. Multiple tees. Holes that require the thrower to make many different shots. Some high risk-high reward. Overall, its just beautiful and anyone who throws it will see why. Not to mention it has another 18 holes.
Cons: Not even sure if it's a true con but the only thing I could see as some would squawk about would be that it cost $4 to get into the park. I never mind. Free golf is everywhere and they take incredible care of this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lil Brother to T2

1    7/6/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 29.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging, but not to long or tight. The variety of holes make you use several shots. Multiple tees and hole placements to keep it different and interesting. I have never played it when it was crowded. Beautiful park/course that is is next to a nature preserve. A few hole that water is involved. Maintained well and clean. Nice flow to the course

Tees are pretty good if you play the red ones. Most of the blue (pro) tees are carpet and lumpy. There seems to be an effort to upgrade the pro tees to large concrete pads.

Restrooms at the parking lot. Plenty of trash cans to keep it clean. Discs at the entrance if you need some plastic.

Absolutely one of the most beuatiful parks I have ever play on!!!
Cons: Not many cons to list. You have to pay $2 to enter, but it such a nice park, I don't mind. Finding hole 15 was a chore the 1st time I played. Some of the holes are pretty old and rusty, but still servicable.

All the teepads need some loving, even the red ones since they are pretty short
Other Thoughts: When the teepads are all in, this park will be awesome due to the fact that you have 36 hole to play. It is more of a traditional park course than T2. I really enjoyed this layout as much as the more difficult tract. I was really challenged on several holes

Favorite Hole: #5- With the lake on the right and an inlet and bog in the middle of he fairway, shot selection was at a premium. Takes a nice rip with accuracy to get to the pin and stay dry. Several diffent placement to challenge you each visit to the Turkey

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great Intermediate course

2-4    8/1/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 76  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/24/2012
19 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course design offers an amazing amount of variety. You can grip and rip some shots whereas others have to be carefully planned. Some shots are only for tomahawks and others you have to hug the ground. Each tee has a well displayed picture and cement pads, so the navigation is vey easy. The few holes that tee off next to each other have bag holders which make waiting much easier. Several of the holes have next tee signs. This comes in handy because the signs are located when you can't see the tee pad. The Ranger hut that you check in at sells discs so if you're a little low you can stock up (I didn't check on prices though). There is a large bulletin board that has a huge course map and local disc golf info. There is a nice piece of astroturf to help you get up the hill after you tee off on 18 that helps tremendously. Possibly most important being that the course is in Florida is the facilities located at the start of both courses. There is a male and female bathroom, function hall, picnic tables, and a water fountain in the Carter Center.
Cons: Some of the baskets could use some TLC as the chains are starting to rust. Not only is there water on the course (not a bad thing in itself) it is very swampy and difficult to even get your floating discs. I was playing with my dad and cousin and we each lost a disc on hole five which has a lot more water than we all thought ; Near the water there were a ton of blind mosquitoes (ones you can't see) so it made it increasingly difficult to play through. Holes eight and nine both have overgrown tee pads: it took me a little while to find them, we actually passed them twice.
Other Thoughts: After you pay the entrance fee to get into the park follow the road all the way to the end and you will see a sign that says Carter Center and Disk Golf (yes it's actually spelled that way) to the right. Bring the course map that is given to you by the park ranger as you will need it. When I played it was 95 degrees and three of us went through over a gallon of water. If you're looking for some competition they do have a large weekly league.

Play T-2 and you will think you are in a totally different area.

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Worth every penny

2-4    1/15/2009   7/15/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 123  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 20.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Firstly, this is one of 2 courses in a beautiful park. This older course is in the more manicured area, with lawn-quality mown grass on the shores of a nice lake. The park is pay-to-play, but also limited access (gated), which benefits the disc golf by limiting the amount of non-golfers on the course.

The course features moderately open holes with enough trees to work your shots around, modest elevation changes, and very little undergrowth to lose discs in. It's not terribly long or gold-course-challenging, but every hole is different, well-designed, and fun.

I'd rate the course alone 3.5, but it's paired with The Turkeynator (4.0), and both courses have front & back nines that loop back to the parking lot, giving you options to mix-&-match any combination of the 4 9-hole loops, or play 36 fine holes in one visit.

Navigation was easy, without a map.
Cons: Park closes early, before dark. And it really closes; they lock it up tight.

Other Thoughts: It's a great park, especially if you're on an Orlando vacation and need a few hours of peace and quiet and fine disc golf.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 very fun!!!!

2-4    3/22/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: DarrenFL
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: a lot of open driving and pretty much just trees so its kind of hard to lose any disc. small hills make the game really fun and challenging. never had to wait for other players to finish before i began teeing off. everyone moves quickly.
Cons: 1st time playing had a little trouble finding some holes
Other Thoughts: a really fun course. played it 3 times now and love it.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Turkey Lake Original

2-4    1/20/2009   1/28/2009
Review By: chrissauls
Played: 109  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 21.8 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great park with facilities. Nice fairways with excellent pin placements. Every hole is different. Very fun course.
Cons: Can't think of any.
Other Thoughts: Played the course while on vacation .This is the 3rd time I've played the course and first since 2001. Some of the holes seemed to have changed and for the better. It was very windy which is how is should be when your playing around a lake. Couldn't get over how well maintained the coure was and the scenery. Very clean park. Course is definately in my top 10. A must stop for any disc golfer on vacation.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center