Orlando, FL 
Bill Frederick Park - Turkey Lake Share
Uploaded By: BennettUA Hole #8 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 247ft.   3 / 247ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket

Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Great views, great course, great start in FL

1    5/11/2015   7/2/2015
Review By: pmay5
Played: 57  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good concrete teepads on every hole, two per hole, baskets are in good shape, mostly isolated part of this large park. Bill Frederick Park is a large park right near the heart of Orlando on scenic Turkey Lake. Very clean course, you can tell the locals keep up with that aspect also.

There are many different activities at this park, and there is a walking path and camping near the course, but they only affect a couple of holes and can be mitigated pretty easily.

Great views of Turkey Lake, especially on the early morning I was the only one on the course, except for a few long legged cranes walking by as I putted. They stopped to see if I made the putt, I didn't.

The course is laid out on mostly open terrain, with the trees there to force you to shape your shots. Even though there is a lot of shoreline available, #5 is the only hole where you could splash a disc. But it is a hyzer drive for us righties, so it can be managed.

Another good hole is #13, downhill towards the lake, there is a straight line available, but you could fade left toward the lake. I threw a forhand to a more open path and it faded right back into the fairway. #10 was fun, short ace run over a sandy area, reminds you where you are. #18 was a surprise, tight tunnel shot through the trees, the only one on this course.
Cons: Biggest con I had was that opens at 8AM means opens at 8AM for this course. Large iron gates locked for the night, but they did open right at 8:00. I would have preferred a little earlier start.

The tees signs were a little dated, could use an update, but they are part of the history of this course. Not a huge problem, since you can see most of the baskets from the tee.
Other Thoughts: Speaking of history, I understand this was one of the first permanent courses in Florida. A nice start on my DG history cred. The attendant at the gates was helpful, $2 to play, but well worth it. They have discs to rent at the gate, I even left one I found on the course, I asked him to call the number, or add to the rentals.

Really glad I made this my one and only chance to play in Orlando.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Show

1    5/23/2015   5/23/2015
Review By: freddysez
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
This review was updated on 7/12/2015
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The layout and navigation flows splendidly, strategic trees around baskets add creativity for approaches, and the wind is a heck of a factor on several holes. I love hole 10 on a elevated tee to a slightly elevated basket heavily guarded by trees. It's a treat playing a course for the 1st time without having a tough time getting around on the course.
Cons: The park offers a lot for non disc players so naturally some folk aren't paying attention
Other Thoughts: Bathrooms are always a plus, let alone clean ones. So glad I went! Hey look 2 clowns with nothing better to do said this review wasn't helpful

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Thanks Bill!

1    4/25/2015   4/25/2015
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 52  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2015
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautifully manicured course that takes a nice walk on the terrain next to a beautiful lake. Holes 3-5 along the water are amongst the most picturesque that I have played anywhere.

Most holes are fairly open with strategically placed obstacles that allow the golfer to really pick their own line and try to hit it. Good throws tend to yield birdie throws, but bad ones may find the frequently placed OB as definied by the many roadways and paved bike trails.

Great tee boxes for both the front and back tees, as well as wonderful signs that help navigation, clearly mark OB, and usually have signposts to hang your bag.

A few holes really stuck out to me. 9 is a really nice tunnel shot that finishes next to the parking lot, so if you only have time to make a 9 hole loop, that is available. 13 by the water is also really beautiful.

This is Florida's oldest standing course which is in and of itself pretty cool.

Multiple practice baskets to warm up by the first hole. There is also a really nice kiosk which suggests proper tee boxes by estimated player rating.

Loads of other amenities in the park including multiple well-kept bathroom facilities are really nice.

It looked like there were some discs to buy or rent at the entrance to the park but I didn't stop for them.
Cons: Only a few here.

You have to pay to enter the park (but $2 is definitely worth it).

The holes by the lake really have a lot of bugs (nothing they can really do about that).

Hole 12 plays a bit close to the campground for comfort.

The trees and bushes on 18 tee could use a slight trimming to help clarify the line.
Other Thoughts: What a great park! And this course is only 1/2 of it. Make sure to check out T2 while you are here.

(there were 2 extra holes, 6A and 6B there when I played. I am told they were for an upcoming tournament. Im not sure they are absolutely necessary and the course flowed a bit better without them in my opinion)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

good course

2-4    7/17/2014   1/17/2015
Review By: boursin
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: challenging, short holes and longish holes, Great scenery,good pads good baskets. some elevation (for Florida). Nice locals who helped me find a couple of holes.
Cons: alcohol police, do not drink on the course because if you get caught you will be asked to leave the park.
Other Thoughts: Nice course with a variety of looks. Next time I will play T2. the lake is beautiful and the grounds are very well maintained.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

First Time on this course, Novice

2-4    2/1/2015   12/7/2014
Review By: Sorg67
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 2/2/2015
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very playable for novice player. There was enough foliage to require shot shaping, but shaping within the capability of a novice player. As a novice, I cannot speak for the appeal to a more advanced player.

Having played the other Turkey Lake course now, I will add that the original is completely different and provides an entirely different experience. I played them both today and enjoyed them both. They will help you develop your game in different ways.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: May be my new favorite course. Will definitely play here again.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

5+    5/6/2014   5/6/2014
Review By: edwardnaylon
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Amazing scenery on this course and lots of bird chances for higher skill levels. 2 tee boxes per hole.
Good signs, easy to navigate. Great for all skill levels. Well manicured at all times of the year.
Cons: If they moved the holes every now and then, that would make this course a fw rating points higher. But thats about it
Other Thoughts: I love this course and never get tired of playing it

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Turkey lake

5+    1/3/2014   4/24/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 103  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 21.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: More hills than most Florida courses. Not as busy as the free Gordon Barnett park due to the small enterance fee. Restrooms for the ladies by parking area & others along the course route. Long & short cement tees. baskets always in good shape.
Cons: I dare you to find some. Sometimes other park users in your way but that's not the courses fault.
Other Thoughts: If playing Orlando on the weekend you can avoid the crouds at the free Gordon Barnett park which is always busy.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

My Magical Kingdom

1    3/1/2014   3/1/2014
Review By: thrembo
Played: 93  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 40.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2014
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a truly fun and scenic course, with old trees, a large lake and featuring central Florida style rolling hills.

Two sets of tee pads on every hole that are large and grippy. Informative signs at each tee show hole layout and distance.

Very nice bag hangers.

Nice baskets.

Plenty of picnic tables, pavillions, benches, garbage cans and restrooms.

Very clean, and highly maintained course.

A well established league, that hosts some of the biggest tournaments in FL. Very friendly locals that I'm guessing are used to seeing out-of-towners.

Cons: There are a couple of minor navigation issues. Ask for the map/scorecard when you enter the park, it will help.

This is a multiuse park with many non-DGers wandering around and through the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is located in a spectacular park, that features another 18 hole DG course on site. Camping, fishing, a childrens farm area, and many other activities. I could easily bring the family here for a long weekend, to a week or so, and everyone, including the non DGers would have a blast.

I know that I might be in the minority here, but I prefer this course over the other one at this park (T-2). This course IMO is more scenic, and has more varied type holes. Its a little shorter and more open than its big brother, but also more fun. This is one of my personal favorite Florida courses!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Orlando Favorite

1    11/2/2013   11/3/2013
Review By: TeeRex
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Love the concrete pads. Signs at every hole make ID easy for first time at course. Nice layout, mild skill levels, opportunity for aces exist here. Plenty of facilities for rest room. Bag hangers at holes, some rest benches. They sell some discs at front entry office.
Cons: Just that it rained on us here, but hey, it is central Florida.
Other Thoughts: Have only been playing since May 2013. I was able to go 4 over par first time on course. Mostly a par-3 course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course.

5+    10/9/2013   10/9/2013
Review By: Charbachuk
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is located in a beautiful neighborhood and more importantly inside of Bill Fredrick Park.
- Tee-pads are all perfect size and in really good shape.
- Plenty of shot variation; every shot that you have in your bag will be used on this course.
- Rolling winds and elevation change really add an element to the game not often seen in Florida.
- Beautiful scenery and wildlife; the majority of holes run along the shores of Turkey Lake providing some great photo opportunities.
- Course can be difficult; depending on the wind, this course can be one of the harder courses in Florida in my opinion. With that being said, if you can keep your shots low and putt well it is very easy to score really well.
- Although this is a "longer course" it still has a few Ace Runs; Hole #4, #10 (I have an ace on this hole), and Hole #14.
- Signature hole in my opinion is #17; longer shot that moves up, then down and right to left to a landing zone made of beautiful Florida sand.
- Playing course from the short pads actually makes this a different course than playing from the long.
Cons: - Tee signs are old and from experience of playing a tournament here, not very accurate with distance.
- Course does not have a very efficient flow from hole to hole; if you are playing it for the first time get a map from the park office or play with a local.
- Lacks signature finishing hole; Hole #18 is a blind shot over a ditch up to a small fairway which leads to a tight shot to a guarded basket. No real shot for birdie, I've only seen one person birdie it and it was an amazing shot.
Other Thoughts: - This course ranks in the top ten in Florida for me; It has everything a disc golfer could want plus some more.

- This is definitely a course i would take a day trip to play; play T-2 and the Gordon Barnett courses, or just check out the Orlando night life.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.