Orlando, FL 
Bill Frederick Park - Turkey Lake Share
Uploaded By: BennettUA Hole #6 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 252ft.   3 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee: Basket underneath tree's canopy



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Good Show

1    5/23/2015   5/23/2015
Review By: freddysez
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The layout and navigation flows splendidly, strategic trees around baskets add creativity for approaches, and the wind is a heck of a factor on several holes. I love hole 10 on a elevated tee to a slightly elevated basket heavily guarded by trees. It's a treat playing a course for the 1st time without having a tough time getting around on the course.
Cons: The park offers a lot for non disc players so naturally some folk aren't paying attention
Other Thoughts: Bathrooms are always a plus, let alone clean ones. So glad I went!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Thanks Bill!

1    4/25/2015   4/25/2015
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2015
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautifully manicured course that takes a nice walk on the terrain next to a beautiful lake. Holes 3-5 along the water are amongst the most picturesque that I have played anywhere.

Most holes are fairly open with strategically placed obstacles that allow the golfer to really pick their own line and try to hit it. Good throws tend to yield birdie throws, but bad ones may find the frequently placed OB as definied by the many roadways and paved bike trails.

Great tee boxes for both the front and back tees, as well as wonderful signs that help navigation, clearly mark OB, and usually have signposts to hang your bag.

A few holes really stuck out to me. 9 is a really nice tunnel shot that finishes next to the parking lot, so if you only have time to make a 9 hole loop, that is available. 13 by the water is also really beautiful.

This is Florida's oldest standing course which is in and of itself pretty cool.

Multiple practice baskets to warm up by the first hole. There is also a really nice kiosk which suggests proper tee boxes by estimated player rating.

Loads of other amenities in the park including multiple well-kept bathroom facilities are really nice.

It looked like there were some discs to buy or rent at the entrance to the park but I didn't stop for them.
Cons: Only a few here.

You have to pay to enter the park (but $2 is definitely worth it).

The holes by the lake really have a lot of bugs (nothing they can really do about that).

Hole 12 plays a bit close to the campground for comfort.

The trees and bushes on 18 tee could use a slight trimming to help clarify the line.
Other Thoughts: What a great park! And this course is only 1/2 of it. Make sure to check out T2 while you are here.

(there were 2 extra holes, 6A and 6B there when I played. I am told they were for an upcoming tournament. Im not sure they are absolutely necessary and the course flowed a bit better without them in my opinion)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

good course

2-4    7/17/2014   1/17/2015
Review By: boursin
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: challenging, short holes and longish holes, Great scenery,good pads good baskets. some elevation (for Florida). Nice locals who helped me find a couple of holes.
Cons: alcohol police, do not drink on the course because if you get caught you will be asked to leave the park.
Other Thoughts: Nice course with a variety of looks. Next time I will play T2. the lake is beautiful and the grounds are very well maintained.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

First Time on this course, Novice

2-4    2/1/2015   12/7/2014
Review By: Sorg67
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 2/2/2015
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very playable for novice player. There was enough foliage to require shot shaping, but shaping within the capability of a novice player. As a novice, I cannot speak for the appeal to a more advanced player.

Having played the other Turkey Lake course now, I will add that the original is completely different and provides an entirely different experience. I played them both today and enjoyed them both. They will help you develop your game in different ways.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: May be my new favorite course. Will definitely play here again.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

5+    5/6/2014   5/6/2014
Review By: edwardnaylon
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Amazing scenery on this course and lots of bird chances for higher skill levels. 2 tee boxes per hole.
Good signs, easy to navigate. Great for all skill levels. Well manicured at all times of the year.
Cons: If they moved the holes every now and then, that would make this course a fw rating points higher. But thats about it
Other Thoughts: I love this course and never get tired of playing it

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Turkey lake

5+    1/3/2014   4/24/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 87  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 21 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: More hills than most Florida courses. Not as busy as the free Gordon Barnett park due to the small enterance fee. Restrooms for the ladies by parking area & others along the course route. Long & short cement tees. baskets always in good shape.
Cons: I dare you to find some. Sometimes other park users in your way but that's not the courses fault.
Other Thoughts: If playing Orlando on the weekend you can avoid the crouds at the free Gordon Barnett park which is always busy.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

My Magical Kingdom

1    3/1/2014   3/1/2014
Review By: thrembo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 40 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2014
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a truly fun and scenic course, with old trees, a large lake and featuring central Florida style rolling hills.

Two sets of tee pads on every hole that are large and grippy. Informative signs at each tee show hole layout and distance.

Very nice bag hangers.

Nice baskets.

Plenty of picnic tables, pavillions, benches, garbage cans and restrooms.

Very clean, and highly maintained course.

A well established league, that hosts some of the biggest tournaments in FL. Very friendly locals that I'm guessing are used to seeing out-of-towners.



Cons: There are a couple of minor navigation issues. Ask for the map/scorecard when you enter the park, it will help.

This is a multiuse park with many non-DGers wandering around and through the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is located in a spectacular park, that features another 18 hole DG course on site. Camping, fishing, a childrens farm area, and many other activities. I could easily bring the family here for a long weekend, to a week or so, and everyone, including the non DGers would have a blast.

I know that I might be in the minority here, but I prefer this course over the other one at this park (T-2). This course IMO is more scenic, and has more varied type holes. Its a little shorter and more open than its big brother, but also more fun. This is one of my personal favorite Florida courses!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Orlando Favorite

1    11/2/2013   11/3/2013
Review By: TeeRex
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Love the concrete pads. Signs at every hole make ID easy for first time at course. Nice layout, mild skill levels, opportunity for aces exist here. Plenty of facilities for rest room. Bag hangers at holes, some rest benches. They sell some discs at front entry office.
Cons: Just that it rained on us here, but hey, it is central Florida.
Other Thoughts: Have only been playing since May 2013. I was able to go 4 over par first time on course. Mostly a par-3 course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Course.

5+    10/9/2013   10/9/2013
Review By: Charbachuk
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is located in a beautiful neighborhood and more importantly inside of Bill Fredrick Park.
- Tee-pads are all perfect size and in really good shape.
- Plenty of shot variation; every shot that you have in your bag will be used on this course.
- Rolling winds and elevation change really add an element to the game not often seen in Florida.
- Beautiful scenery and wildlife; the majority of holes run along the shores of Turkey Lake providing some great photo opportunities.
- Course can be difficult; depending on the wind, this course can be one of the harder courses in Florida in my opinion. With that being said, if you can keep your shots low and putt well it is very easy to score really well.
- Although this is a "longer course" it still has a few Ace Runs; Hole #4, #10 (I have an ace on this hole), and Hole #14.
- Signature hole in my opinion is #17; longer shot that moves up, then down and right to left to a landing zone made of beautiful Florida sand.
- Playing course from the short pads actually makes this a different course than playing from the long.
Cons: - Tee signs are old and from experience of playing a tournament here, not very accurate with distance.
- Course does not have a very efficient flow from hole to hole; if you are playing it for the first time get a map from the park office or play with a local.
- Lacks signature finishing hole; Hole #18 is a blind shot over a ditch up to a small fairway which leads to a tight shot to a guarded basket. No real shot for birdie, I've only seen one person birdie it and it was an amazing shot.
Other Thoughts: - This course ranks in the top ten in Florida for me; It has everything a disc golfer could want plus some more.

- This is definitely a course i would take a day trip to play; play T-2 and the Gordon Barnett courses, or just check out the Orlando night life.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Original is Worth a Play

5+    8/10/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 228  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 3.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Naming the second course at Turkey Lake "T2: the Turkenator" was apt, though that moniker says more about the original course than anything else. Turkey Lake is much like the original Terminator. In relation to the big man on campus, it's low-budget. It lacks the big effects, the blow-your-pants-off moments. And maybe it's just a bit cheesy, and relies a bit on nostalgia. But it's still follows the same story as the big-money sequel. And it's well worth playing.

Like big bro, the course plays through a mix of fields and lighly wooded areas and comes close to its namesake lake on a few hole. There isn't a true water carry, but drives off 5 should hang out over the water for a while if you want to avoid the outcrop of woods. The lake is in view for a number of holes, but with the exception of 4 (where you would have to overshoot by about thirty feet to hit the lake) you are teeing off away from the water.

Still, there are a few really solid holes. 10 is a nice ace run, shooting over a gulley and towards a basket that hides behind a solitary tree, approachable from either right or left. 18 features a similar throw over a gulley, but instead of landing near the pin, a well placed drive leaves you on a narrow fairway leading to a guarded basket.

The signs are old but still in good condition and accurate for the most part, although a few baskets may have been moved. The par lables have faded, although that's just as well since they don't make too much sense. There is a par 3 that is considerably harder and longer than the par 4 which precedes it.

And there's a great flow. The front nine circle in a huge loop that descends to the lake and climbs back to the start. The back nine loops around the other way, into the woods and towards the highway.
Cons: So what's not to like? Well, there are a few tosses that interact with walkways. (3, 6) There are a few fairways that I've seen being used for other events. (8, 7)

There's not too much length and there's not a ton of difficulty. Too many holes don't require control and many fairways are just too wide.
Other Thoughts: I play this course about one out of every four visits to the park. It's a good, fun course. It's just not T2.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.