Orlando, FL 
Bill Frederick Park - Turkey Lake Share
Uploaded By: BennettUA Hole #8 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 247ft.   3 / 247ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Blue Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
scenic old school course

1    2/24/2016   4/22/2016
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 240  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -beautiful park overlooking Turkey Lake
-long and short tee pads
-tee signs and bag holders
-subtle rolling hills giving minor elevation changes on several holes
-scorecards w/ map
-practice basket
-pay to enter the park, no hoodrats
-locals and parks dept seem to get along and have the best for the courses in mind. a few people were out there managing changes and improvements being made to the courses when i started my round.
Cons: -needs a new map to reflect changes that have been made to some holes, finding hole 4 is tricky if you don't know the holes have changed, 6 & 7 aren't so bad since you can see them from the previous holes
-there are lots of similar shots: mostly wide open with one major tree to avoid in the fairway on the front 9 or wide corridors on the back 9. some of them are really fun but it's a lot of the same
-not a lot of memorable shots other than hole 5, which is actually pretty disappointing for "the water hole"
-very windy off the lake. i'm used to it living over in Texas but I'll bet a lot of vacationers taking a break from the magic kingdom are taken by surprise
Other Thoughts: The Turkey Lake course set in the pay-to-enter Bill Frederick Park is a fun track with an old school design. Apparently the oldest extant course in Florida, it's an interesting piece of history and a great draw since there is also a second set of 18 holes in the park (T-2 Turkeynator).

The front 9 plays a bit more open with usually one to a few trees to avoid in the fairway. I really like hole 1 which requires an accurate controlled tee shot to get to the green. Hole 5 is the water hole but it is really not much of a hazard for the RHBH player unless you're trying to hard and torque one over to the right. The last two holes on the front 9 offer a tighter tunnel shot with a low ceiling, a nice change of pace.

The back 9 has more trees but the fairways are mostly very wide corridors with a line of trees on either side and no obstacles in the middle of the fairway. Hole 14 is an exception with a super tight window off the box and hole 13 has a picturesque backdrop of the lake on a slightly downhill drive.

The course has changed over time and seems to be going through some further changes as well. It will be nice when the work is done and new signs and a new map can be made. I'm sure Orlando sees a lot of traveling golfers so an accurate map and accurate tee signs for the current layout really make a difference for first time players from out of town.

Overall, it's a fun round with great views but not a lot of memorable holes. The true advantage is having this style of course directly alongside the newer T-2 course with its more modern design. $2 a day for two courses without the riffraff is a great deal, even if there are quite a few pedestrians about in some places.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great views, great course, great start in FL

1    5/11/2015   7/2/2015
Review By: pmay5
Played: 81  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 13.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good concrete teepads on every hole, two per hole, baskets are in good shape, mostly isolated part of this large park. Bill Frederick Park is a large park right near the heart of Orlando on scenic Turkey Lake. Very clean course, you can tell the locals keep up with that aspect also.

There are many different activities at this park, and there is a walking path and camping near the course, but they only affect a couple of holes and can be mitigated pretty easily.

Great views of Turkey Lake, especially on the early morning I was the only one on the course, except for a few long legged cranes walking by as I putted. They stopped to see if I made the putt, I didn't.

The course is laid out on mostly open terrain, with the trees there to force you to shape your shots. Even though there is a lot of shoreline available, #5 is the only hole where you could splash a disc. But it is a hyzer drive for us righties, so it can be managed.

Another good hole is #13, downhill towards the lake, there is a straight line available, but you could fade left toward the lake. I threw a forhand to a more open path and it faded right back into the fairway. #10 was fun, short ace run over a sandy area, reminds you where you are. #18 was a surprise, tight tunnel shot through the trees, the only one on this course.
Cons: Biggest con I had was that opens at 8AM means opens at 8AM for this course. Large iron gates locked for the night, but they did open right at 8:00. I would have preferred a little earlier start.

The tees signs were a little dated, could use an update, but they are part of the history of this course. Not a huge problem, since you can see most of the baskets from the tee.
Other Thoughts: Speaking of history, I understand this was one of the first permanent courses in Florida. A nice start on my DG history cred. The attendant at the gates was helpful, $2 to play, but well worth it. They have discs to rent at the gate, I even left one I found on the course, I asked him to call the number, or add to the rentals.

Really glad I made this my one and only chance to play in Orlando.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good Show

1    5/23/2015   5/23/2015
Review By: freddysez
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16
This review was updated on 7/12/2015
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The layout and navigation flows splendidly, strategic trees around baskets add creativity for approaches, and the wind is a heck of a factor on several holes. I love hole 10 on a elevated tee to a slightly elevated basket heavily guarded by trees. It's a treat playing a course for the 1st time without having a tough time getting around on the course.
Cons: The park offers a lot for non disc players so naturally some folk aren't paying attention
Other Thoughts: Bathrooms are always a plus, let alone clean ones. So glad I went! Hey look 2 clowns with nothing better to do said this review wasn't helpful

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Thanks Bill!

1    4/25/2015   4/25/2015
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 58  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2015
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautifully manicured course that takes a nice walk on the terrain next to a beautiful lake. Holes 3-5 along the water are amongst the most picturesque that I have played anywhere.

Most holes are fairly open with strategically placed obstacles that allow the golfer to really pick their own line and try to hit it. Good throws tend to yield birdie throws, but bad ones may find the frequently placed OB as definied by the many roadways and paved bike trails.

Great tee boxes for both the front and back tees, as well as wonderful signs that help navigation, clearly mark OB, and usually have signposts to hang your bag.

A few holes really stuck out to me. 9 is a really nice tunnel shot that finishes next to the parking lot, so if you only have time to make a 9 hole loop, that is available. 13 by the water is also really beautiful.

This is Florida's oldest standing course which is in and of itself pretty cool.

Multiple practice baskets to warm up by the first hole. There is also a really nice kiosk which suggests proper tee boxes by estimated player rating.

Loads of other amenities in the park including multiple well-kept bathroom facilities are really nice.

It looked like there were some discs to buy or rent at the entrance to the park but I didn't stop for them.
Cons: Only a few here.

You have to pay to enter the park (but $2 is definitely worth it).

The holes by the lake really have a lot of bugs (nothing they can really do about that).

Hole 12 plays a bit close to the campground for comfort.

The trees and bushes on 18 tee could use a slight trimming to help clarify the line.
Other Thoughts: What a great park! And this course is only 1/2 of it. Make sure to check out T2 while you are here.

(there were 2 extra holes, 6A and 6B there when I played. I am told they were for an upcoming tournament. Im not sure they are absolutely necessary and the course flowed a bit better without them in my opinion)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

good course

2-4    7/17/2014   1/17/2015
Review By: boursin
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: challenging, short holes and longish holes, Great scenery,good pads good baskets. some elevation (for Florida). Nice locals who helped me find a couple of holes.
Cons: alcohol police, do not drink on the course because if you get caught you will be asked to leave the park.
Other Thoughts: Nice course with a variety of looks. Next time I will play T2. the lake is beautiful and the grounds are very well maintained.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

First Time on this course, Novice

2-4    2/1/2015   12/7/2014
Review By: Sorg67
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 2/2/2015
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very playable for novice player. There was enough foliage to require shot shaping, but shaping within the capability of a novice player. As a novice, I cannot speak for the appeal to a more advanced player.

Having played the other Turkey Lake course now, I will add that the original is completely different and provides an entirely different experience. I played them both today and enjoyed them both. They will help you develop your game in different ways.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: May be my new favorite course. Will definitely play here again.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    5/6/2014   5/6/2014
Review By: edwardnaylon
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Amazing scenery on this course and lots of bird chances for higher skill levels. 2 tee boxes per hole.
Good signs, easy to navigate. Great for all skill levels. Well manicured at all times of the year.
Cons: If they moved the holes every now and then, that would make this course a fw rating points higher. But thats about it
Other Thoughts: I love this course and never get tired of playing it

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Turkey lake

5+    1/3/2014   4/24/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 124  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 22.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: More hills than most Florida courses. Not as busy as the free Gordon Barnett park due to the small enterance fee. Restrooms for the ladies by parking area & others along the course route. Long & short cement tees. baskets always in good shape.
Cons: I dare you to find some. Sometimes other park users in your way but that's not the courses fault.
Other Thoughts: If playing Orlando on the weekend you can avoid the crouds at the free Gordon Barnett park which is always busy.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

My Magical Kingdom

1    3/1/2014   3/1/2014
Review By: thrembo
Played: 105  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 41.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2014
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a truly fun and scenic course, with old trees, a large lake and featuring central Florida style rolling hills.

Two sets of tee pads on every hole that are large and grippy. Informative signs at each tee show hole layout and distance.

Very nice bag hangers.

Nice baskets.

Plenty of picnic tables, pavillions, benches, garbage cans and restrooms.

Very clean, and highly maintained course.

A well established league, that hosts some of the biggest tournaments in FL. Very friendly locals that I'm guessing are used to seeing out-of-towners.



Cons: There are a couple of minor navigation issues. Ask for the map/scorecard when you enter the park, it will help.

This is a multiuse park with many non-DGers wandering around and through the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is located in a spectacular park, that features another 18 hole DG course on site. Camping, fishing, a childrens farm area, and many other activities. I could easily bring the family here for a long weekend, to a week or so, and everyone, including the non DGers would have a blast.

I know that I might be in the minority here, but I prefer this course over the other one at this park (T-2). This course IMO is more scenic, and has more varied type holes. Its a little shorter and more open than its big brother, but also more fun. This is one of my personal favorite Florida courses!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Orlando Favorite

1    11/2/2013   11/3/2013
Review By: TeeRex
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Love the concrete pads. Signs at every hole make ID easy for first time at course. Nice layout, mild skill levels, opportunity for aces exist here. Plenty of facilities for rest room. Bag hangers at holes, some rest benches. They sell some discs at front entry office.
Cons: Just that it rained on us here, but hey, it is central Florida.
Other Thoughts: Have only been playing since May 2013. I was able to go 4 over par first time on course. Mostly a par-3 course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.