Orlando, FL 
Bill Frederick Park - Turkey Lake Share
Uploaded By: BennettUA Hole #17 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 318ft.   3 / 385ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
First Time on this course, Novice

1    12/7/2014   12/7/2014
Review By: Sorg67
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very playable for novice player. There was enough foliage to require shot shaping, but shaping within the capability of a novice player.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: May be my new favorite course. Will definitely play here again.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

5+    5/6/2014   5/6/2014
Review By: edwardnaylon
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Amazing scenery on this course and lots of bird chances for higher skill levels. 2 tee boxes per hole.
Good signs, easy to navigate. Great for all skill levels. Well manicured at all times of the year.
Cons: If they moved the holes every now and then, that would make this course a fw rating points higher. But thats about it
Other Thoughts: I love this course and never get tired of playing it

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Turkey lake

5+    1/3/2014   4/24/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 81  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 20.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: More hills than most Florida courses. Not as busy as the free Gordon Barnett park due to the small enterance fee. Restrooms for the ladies by parking area & others along the course route. Long & short cement tees. baskets always in good shape.
Cons: I dare you to find some. Sometimes other park users in your way but that's not the courses fault.
Other Thoughts: If playing Orlando on the weekend you can avoid the crouds at the free Gordon Barnett park which is always busy.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

My Magical Kingdom

1    3/1/2014   3/1/2014
Review By: thrembo
Played: 85  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 39.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a truly fun and scenic course, with old trees, a large lake and featuring central Florida style rolling hills.

Two sets of tee pads on every hole that are large and grippy. Informative signs at each tee show hole layout and distance.

Very nice bag hangers.

Nice baskets.

Plenty of picnic tables, pavillions, benches, garbage cans and restrooms.

Very clean, and highly maintained course.

A well established league, that hosts some of the biggest tournaments in FL. Very friendly locals that I'm guessing are used to seeing out-of-towners.



Cons: There are a couple of minor navigation issues. Ask for the map/scorecard when you enter the park, it will help.

This is a multiuse park with many non-DGers wandering around and through the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is located in a spectacular park, that features another 18 hole DG course on site. Camping, fishing, a childrens farm area, and many other activities. I could easily bring the family here for a long weekend, to a week or so, and everyone, including the non DGers would have a blast.

I know that I might be in the minority here, but I prefer this course over the other one at this park (T-2). This course IMO is more scenic, and has more varied type holes. Its a little shorter and more open than its big brother, but also more fun. This is one of my personal favorite Florida courses!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Orlando Favorite

1    11/2/2013   11/3/2013
Review By: TeeRex
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Love the concrete pads. Signs at every hole make ID easy for first time at course. Nice layout, mild skill levels, opportunity for aces exist here. Plenty of facilities for rest room. Bag hangers at holes, some rest benches. They sell some discs at front entry office.
Cons: Just that it rained on us here, but hey, it is central Florida.
Other Thoughts: Have only been playing since May 2013. I was able to go 4 over par first time on course. Mostly a par-3 course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Course.

5+    10/9/2013   10/9/2013
Review By: Charbachuk
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is located in a beautiful neighborhood and more importantly inside of Bill Fredrick Park.
- Tee-pads are all perfect size and in really good shape.
- Plenty of shot variation; every shot that you have in your bag will be used on this course.
- Rolling winds and elevation change really add an element to the game not often seen in Florida.
- Beautiful scenery and wildlife; the majority of holes run along the shores of Turkey Lake providing some great photo opportunities.
- Course can be difficult; depending on the wind, this course can be one of the harder courses in Florida in my opinion. With that being said, if you can keep your shots low and putt well it is very easy to score really well.
- Although this is a "longer course" it still has a few Ace Runs; Hole #4, #10 (I have an ace on this hole), and Hole #14.
- Signature hole in my opinion is #17; longer shot that moves up, then down and right to left to a landing zone made of beautiful Florida sand.
- Playing course from the short pads actually makes this a different course than playing from the long.
Cons: - Tee signs are old and from experience of playing a tournament here, not very accurate with distance.
- Course does not have a very efficient flow from hole to hole; if you are playing it for the first time get a map from the park office or play with a local.
- Lacks signature finishing hole; Hole #18 is a blind shot over a ditch up to a small fairway which leads to a tight shot to a guarded basket. No real shot for birdie, I've only seen one person birdie it and it was an amazing shot.
Other Thoughts: - This course ranks in the top ten in Florida for me; It has everything a disc golfer could want plus some more.

- This is definitely a course i would take a day trip to play; play T-2 and the Gordon Barnett courses, or just check out the Orlando night life.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Original is Worth a Play

5+    8/10/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Naming the second course at Turkey Lake "T2: the Turkenator" was apt, though that moniker says more about the original course than anything else. Turkey Lake is much like the original Terminator. In relation to the big man on campus, it's low-budget. It lacks the big effects, the blow-your-pants-off moments. And maybe it's just a bit cheesy, and relies a bit on nostalgia. But it's still follows the same story as the big-money sequel. And it's well worth playing.

Like big bro, the course plays through a mix of fields and lighly wooded areas and comes close to its namesake lake on a few hole. There isn't a true water carry, but drives off 5 should hang out over the water for a while if you want to avoid the outcrop of woods. The lake is in view for a number of holes, but with the exception of 4 (where you would have to overshoot by about thirty feet to hit the lake) you are teeing off away from the water.

Still, there are a few really solid holes. 10 is a nice ace run, shooting over a gulley and towards a basket that hides behind a solitary tree, approachable from either right or left. 18 features a similar throw over a gulley, but instead of landing near the pin, a well placed drive leaves you on a narrow fairway leading to a guarded basket.

The signs are old but still in good condition and accurate for the most part, although a few baskets may have been moved. The par lables have faded, although that's just as well since they don't make too much sense. There is a par 3 that is considerably harder and longer than the par 4 which precedes it.

And there's a great flow. The front nine circle in a huge loop that descends to the lake and climbs back to the start. The back nine loops around the other way, into the woods and towards the highway.
Cons: So what's not to like? Well, there are a few tosses that interact with walkways. (3, 6) There are a few fairways that I've seen being used for other events. (8, 7)

There's not too much length and there's not a ton of difficulty. Too many holes don't require control and many fairways are just too wide.
Other Thoughts: I play this course about one out of every four visits to the park. It's a good, fun course. It's just not T2.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Gobble, gobble...

1    6/12/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course in the back of a large parge complex. Excellent concrete tee pads with multiple pads at most holes. Good signs offering length and basic hole shape. Navigation signs in the right places to keep you on track. Course and park are also very well maintained. There are bathrooms, plenty of parking and picnic areas/gazebos galore. Nice small lake with docks and other activities abound. Camping on site for campers, tents and even some small rental cottages. Really a very cool park.

Course has hole lengths from 219' to 420'. Most holes are open grass with mature trees shaping the shots that need to be made. Everything is pretty straight forward and nothing is so technical that it feels like a beat down. This course is probably best for beginners and intermediate players. It is not overly challenging, and could even be a good spot to work on different aspects of your game, Plenty of open space to keep those errant shots from being too punitive.

Cons: A shot or two over or very close to the paved walking path.

Not any super holes, or huge challenges.

No water carries on a course by a lake. I guess for some this could be a positve.

Other Thoughts: Just a very nice little course. While it doesn't play long or super technical there is just enough cool features to keep it from being too easy or boring. There are basket positions tucked behind or near trees. There is a slightly elevated basket. There is also some tight gaps off the tee and some low ceiling shots to prevent some short, open holes from be simple ace runs for all. Nothing too tough, but little features that make you hit the line.

13 was probably my favorite hole. It is a slightly down hill 290' hole with the lake in the background, and two ways to get to the basket. There is a fairly open RHBH anny line or a tighter RHBH line that would need to fade a tiny bit.

18 is a pretty cool blind shot that makes you throw a sweeping RHBH hyzer line to a well guarded basket. Had to walk the whole fairway to see the basket. I liked the look and feel of the hole, but would love to see the small tree right in front of the basket removed. That would make the basket visible from half way down the fairway, and not force people to throw an over hand shot or some other utility shot to go over the trees. Just my .02 I guess. Just no fairway there. Weird, but it does look cool.

Overall this course is defintely worth your time. It is not going to beat you up, but does offer some fun in a great setting. Plus there is another course right on site for that second round after you are all warmed up.


8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great intermediate course complements T2 Turkeynator

1    4/5/2013   4/11/2013
Review By: fictionfree
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Challenging design that utilizes what little elevation changes there are in this area
-Good use of trees to create tough drives and protected approaches
-Fast greens are great for optional roller shots
-Great design allows for good introductory/beginner-friendly course that is also fun and challenging for more experienced palyers
-Attractive with large open rolling greens and water backdrops - water rarely comes into play, but is a presence on a few holes
-Great complement to the other, bigger course in this park - T2
Cons: -Length of holes is pretty monotonous
-Hole length on signs doesn't seem right - holes generally seem longer than the signs say
-18 seems unfairly difficult (especially compared to the rest of the course) - maybe I just need to play it more but I see no possible way to consistently par this hole
Other Thoughts: I played this course, the original, first and then played T2 - as recommended by another reviewer and I loved it. I brought lots of water and took my time, and never felt tired - the original really is a great warm up for T2 - there is even a nice covered picnic table to take a break and have a mid-round snack.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great park!

1    1/16/2013   1/17/2013
Review By: larrod25
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenic park, nice views of lake. Mostly open par 3 course.
Cons: Tee signs seem to show incorrect distances on a number of holes. Not a lot of distance variety. Very few benches, and a fair amount of hills to climb.
Other Thoughts: This course is a nice compliment to the T2 course (also in same park). This one is called the 'Original layout' on the course map. Although it has a lower par and seems easier than T2, it is certainly challenging in its own right. It seems as though the original layout has been modified a bit, however, as many of the tee signs seemed to be a little off. This course has more views of Turkey lake, and several holes that play along it. It is much shorter than T2; I played T2 from the shorter Red tees, but played the OL from the longer Blue tees. The back nine is much tougher than the front, and there are some really tight gaps that punish severely if missed. I am sure this course would be much easier the second and third time around. Overall a nice experience. I am glad I played both courses rather than one of them twice. If you are travelling to Orlando, Bill Frederick Park at Turkey Lake is the place to play!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.