Orlando, FL 
Bill Frederick Park - Turkey Lake Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #1 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 342ft.   3 / 342ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Blue Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Gobble, gobble...

1    6/12/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course in the back of a large parge complex. Excellent concrete tee pads with multiple pads at most holes. Good signs offering length and basic hole shape. Navigation signs in the right places to keep you on track. Course and park are also very well maintained. There are bathrooms, plenty of parking and picnic areas/gazebos galore. Nice small lake with docks and other activities abound. Camping on site for campers, tents and even some small rental cottages. Really a very cool park.

Course has hole lengths from 219' to 420'. Most holes are open grass with mature trees shaping the shots that need to be made. Everything is pretty straight forward and nothing is so technical that it feels like a beat down. This course is probably best for beginners and intermediate players. It is not overly challenging, and could even be a good spot to work on different aspects of your game, Plenty of open space to keep those errant shots from being too punitive.

Cons: A shot or two over or very close to the paved walking path.

Not any super holes, or huge challenges.

No water carries on a course by a lake. I guess for some this could be a positve.

Other Thoughts: Just a very nice little course. While it doesn't play long or super technical there is just enough cool features to keep it from being too easy or boring. There are basket positions tucked behind or near trees. There is a slightly elevated basket. There is also some tight gaps off the tee and some low ceiling shots to prevent some short, open holes from be simple ace runs for all. Nothing too tough, but little features that make you hit the line.

13 was probably my favorite hole. It is a slightly down hill 290' hole with the lake in the background, and two ways to get to the basket. There is a fairly open RHBH anny line or a tighter RHBH line that would need to fade a tiny bit.

18 is a pretty cool blind shot that makes you throw a sweeping RHBH hyzer line to a well guarded basket. Had to walk the whole fairway to see the basket. I liked the look and feel of the hole, but would love to see the small tree right in front of the basket removed. That would make the basket visible from half way down the fairway, and not force people to throw an over hand shot or some other utility shot to go over the trees. Just my .02 I guess. Just no fairway there. Weird, but it does look cool.

Overall this course is defintely worth your time. It is not going to beat you up, but does offer some fun in a great setting. Plus there is another course right on site for that second round after you are all warmed up.


8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great intermediate course complements T2 Turkeynator

1    4/5/2013   4/11/2013
Review By: fictionfree
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Challenging design that utilizes what little elevation changes there are in this area
-Good use of trees to create tough drives and protected approaches
-Fast greens are great for optional roller shots
-Great design allows for good introductory/beginner-friendly course that is also fun and challenging for more experienced palyers
-Attractive with large open rolling greens and water backdrops - water rarely comes into play, but is a presence on a few holes
-Great complement to the other, bigger course in this park - T2
Cons: -Length of holes is pretty monotonous
-Hole length on signs doesn't seem right - holes generally seem longer than the signs say
-18 seems unfairly difficult (especially compared to the rest of the course) - maybe I just need to play it more but I see no possible way to consistently par this hole
Other Thoughts: I played this course, the original, first and then played T2 - as recommended by another reviewer and I loved it. I brought lots of water and took my time, and never felt tired - the original really is a great warm up for T2 - there is even a nice covered picnic table to take a break and have a mid-round snack.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great park!

1    1/16/2013   1/17/2013
Review By: larrod25
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenic park, nice views of lake. Mostly open par 3 course.
Cons: Tee signs seem to show incorrect distances on a number of holes. Not a lot of distance variety. Very few benches, and a fair amount of hills to climb.
Other Thoughts: This course is a nice compliment to the T2 course (also in same park). This one is called the 'Original layout' on the course map. Although it has a lower par and seems easier than T2, it is certainly challenging in its own right. It seems as though the original layout has been modified a bit, however, as many of the tee signs seemed to be a little off. This course has more views of Turkey lake, and several holes that play along it. It is much shorter than T2; I played T2 from the shorter Red tees, but played the OL from the longer Blue tees. The back nine is much tougher than the front, and there are some really tight gaps that punish severely if missed. I am sure this course would be much easier the second and third time around. Overall a nice experience. I am glad I played both courses rather than one of them twice. If you are travelling to Orlando, Bill Frederick Park at Turkey Lake is the place to play!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Yin of the Bill Frederick Courses

1    1/13/2013   1/13/2013
Review By: RussMB
Played: 108  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/3/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very Scenic and well maintained State Park ($2 per person/$4 per car to enter) Ask for a Map when you pay.

-Course has a rolling terrain, that plays near a very scenic lake *This is relative to where you are coming from. Most of the coastal Florida courses are Flat, so someone from Tampa would call this terrain Rolling. Someone from Tennessee would probably consider this flat.

-Close to Universal Studios, but Disney is a little bit of a drive. (In case you are vacationing)

-Concrete Tee's, Multiple Tee's locations, Bag holders, Tee signs with Maps & Distance.

-Beginner friendly/players of all levels can enjoy

-Is an Old School course, and definitely plays as such. This was a fun course to play!

-The original Turkey Lake Course and the T2 course start back to back.

-Good mix of Left, Right and Dog Leg pin locations.

-9 holes out and back to the parking lot, the back 9 starts right next to hole 1 and also finishes at the start. This allows for a nice stop at the vehicle and the bathrooms.

-Very nice restrooms at the start. Look for the big building on the right as you approach the teeing area through the parking lot.

-The course is mostly open, with some wooded shots. 18 is a rugged narrow dogleg that makes for a great finishing hole.

-The course is pretty much isolated, but it's not immune from Park goers & pedestrian traffic. The back 9 is more isolated than the front 9.

-It's not as challenging as T2, but it still offers a good time and a lot of fun.

FWIW
-There are a ton of activities here! If you have a spouse, friend or family member that is wants to watch your kids, then there are a bunch of activities they could do while you get to play a couple rounds here. From Playgrounds to a Farm, there is plenty to do here.

-Camping and Cabin rentals on site as well.
Cons: -There is a walking path through the front 9, not terribly in the way, just look before you throw.

-This course plays near some common areas and near a ballfield. Though pedestrians and park goers should be easy to spot, look before you throw. The campground on the back 9 is the same way.

-Some of the holes have been changed, which is not reflected in the maps. This makes navigation a little difficult. The one I remember was that the 4 tee is now down on the bank of the water. (Which is actually makes a very scenic tee)

-Depending on when you get here, allow for a longer commute time. Orlando has very congested roads and it can get brutal! TIP: Have quarters for ready for theToll Roads. They are exact change only and no bills. I learned they do accept pennies! Cleaned out my change cup! ;)

-This may be a factor for some, but the distances and shots may get redundant for some. I think it's great having one course designed for challenge and the other designed for casual fun. Yin of the Bill Frederick Yin Yang
Other Thoughts: Turkey Lake is definitely the easier of the two courses here. Beginners can play here as well as advanced players. Since there is a campground here, you may see a few Non-players trying their hand at throwing a disc. The walk around the lake alone is very enjoyable; being able to play Disc Golf around the lake is fantastic. The course was immaculate the day I played here! Clean, Sunny, and in the lower 60s! It's not terribly challenging, but it's fun to play and I had a great time. It plays up and down hills, and near plenty of water. (All of the water factors are lateral water hazards)

These two courses are well worth the cost of admission. This course also makes for a great warm up course for T2. I would recommend playing this one first before T2. You'll want your arm loosened up for it. I didn't see any gas stations in the immediate vicinity, but it's Orlando. There are plenty of restaurants within a few miles. Any type of shoes and shorts will be fine here. You may have to fight with some thorny weeds on the fringes of the back 9, but overall you should be fine. Plus, this is the kind of course you could bring someone that may not be a DG player. Perhaps some family and/or friends you are vacationing with.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/6/2012   12/6/2012
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 70  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 11.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. It reminded me a little of Taylor Park in Largo only without all the water. This is stress-free disc golf. Beautiful landscape with some elevation changes. There is plenty of opportunity to let it rip while still having to have accuracy. I appreciated some next tee, signs (just needed more of them). This is park is really, really well maintained. It is low traffic. You don't have to worry about pedestrians. I also like that it challenges every aspect of your game (especially between both courses...but even just on each of them individually). That brings up the next plus. This is a multi-course site with one fee to get in and play all you like! I liked the combination of open with enough trees to mess with you and then going into some holes (like hole 8) that were more closed off yet with length that made you really throw a laser in order to be low and long enough. Another great feature is that the course does allow you to get back to your car around hole 9-10. Love that they put the $ in to do it right and install multiple tees to give you a variety of options. I hope I can get back to this course sometime. I haven't played Barnett to compare but this course was so much fun!
Cons: My biggest complaint is that it is not always easy to find the next tee. Sometimes there are signs and other times there aren't. I got really confused after hole 3, trying to find hole 4. They really need a next tee sign unless I missed it. I am not really sure about restroom facilities. T2 did have a sign that said don't pee on the course. Thought that was interesting. Other than that...nothing but positives come to mind!
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area, come play these two courses! It is well worth it. Bring every shot you have. Come and enjoy challenging disc golf without having to worry about losing half your discs in the water.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course to practice all your shots

1    6/10/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: cesar32935
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple shots. Left/Right, and low/high ceilings. Also putting uphill/downhill a couple of times. I even had to throw a Roller once (first time in a live round). Short holes are not necesarily a "gimme" because they're usually guarded by tight shots.
If you're a Recreational, or Intermediate player, you will enjoy that you can still save par even if you hit a tree off your tee shot.
Cons: Water. In the summer months, it will be awesome if they had a few more water spots.
I was confused a couple of times between the distance on the score sheet, and the distance posted on the tee pads.
Other Thoughts: I wish I lived a little closer, the course will force me to become better at throwing "tight" drives.
The uphill/down hill puts don't have a lot of inclination, since this is FL and it is mostly flat, but it's a nice change of pace.
The park overall is pretty nice. My son and I enjoyed the other ammenities available during our visit.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Clean course

1    5/15/2012   5/15/2012
Review By: tfrank
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very clean and friendly. It is in FL so there are tons of little lizards and big birds and sand and swamp things. There isn't a ton of elevation, but the water and trees make up for it. The course map looks easy, but the tree and basket placement is difficult. Bring a variety of discs and arms because the course doesn't favor a right or left fade.
Cons: I can't think of any. FL is hot and humid in the summer. Duh. Bring water.
Other Thoughts: The $2 fee isn't really a con, because I have never seen a course with so little trash. I would pay a couple bucks to not have to play around tons of butts and bottles. This is a very well maintained course.
Also not a con, but when it is 90 and 90% humidity at sea level, your drivers fly differently. I didn't, but I would recommend playing the first few holes for practice to see how things fly. The trees actually saved me from being alligator bait twice when my drives wouldn't stop turning. I would add a number to the turn and subtract a number from the fade on your discs.
I played conservatively around the water because I took the warning signs seriously, but there are plenty of birdie opportunities for the confident player.
Update: I played again. 18 can be birdied. Instead of trying to follow the narrow tunnel to the basket, throw far right and really high and go around all of the trees. I was able to land two drives within 30'. Scout it out first though, it is tight.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/8/2011   4/14/2012
Review By: CDashMAN
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: great variety of shots and distances
complex has 2 18 hole courses that all start in the same general area
well marked holes and nice wide tees
Cons: not very beginner friendly
flow can be confusing in a few spots and there are some walks
Other Thoughts: The more challenging of the two courses here. The distance and trek make for a longer round.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Orlando

1    1/12/2012   1/14/2012
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is beautiful! It's super clean and scenic. Everyone has mentioned all the great thing that this course has to offer. Multiple tees. Holes that require the thrower to make many different shots. Some high risk-high reward. Overall, its just beautiful and anyone who throws it will see why. Not to mention it has another 18 holes.
Cons: Not even sure if it's a true con but the only thing I could see as some would squawk about would be that it cost $4 to get into the park. I never mind. Free golf is everywhere and they take incredible care of this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course in a Great Park

1    6/29/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 77  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bill Frederick Park @ Turkey Lake isn't hard to find. There are signs on the interstate and all over the area pointing you to its location. Once in the park, there is plenty of signage to direct you to the disc golf courses. The park and lake serve as a beautiful setting for disc golf.

The course features a good mix of open areas and wooded holes. While there isn't much elevation, the designers did the best with what they had and it works well. Hole #10 is a great example of the elevation and hardscaping with terraced steps down from the tee into a gulley and then terraced steps up to the basket and sand green. Additonal variety comes into play (and may factor into shot/disc selection) with the different playing surfaces, which included grass, leaves, dirt, wood chips, and sand. Risk and reward shows up on several holes with water coming into play, especially near the basket greens.

The multiple tees at this course are clutch. They allow a different playing experience for all skill levels and offer the opportunity to play this course several different ways.

The hand painted tee signs at Bill Frederick Park are a nice touch. Additionally directional arrows, signs, and other navigational aids are very helpful. The garbage cans positioned throughout the course help to minimize litter. Most of the baskets and tees are in great shape. Another conveinence at this park is the restroom, located next to the parking area near holes #1 and #10.
Cons: In a few cases, the baskets for one tee played a bit too close for comfort to other tees.

Specific to the course design and layout, several blind holes required some inspection before teeing off. There seem to be an excess of "point & shoot" straight fairways without much in the way of doglegs. The lengths of many of the fairways were on the shorter end of the spectrum.

There were a couple of instances where the navigation getting to the next tee is a little dicey. In additon, a few of the tee signs were misleading or confusing. This is especially the case for the hole that is missing its tee sign.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't classify this as a diffuclt course, but it is certainly enjoyable and presents players with serveral birdie opportunities and ace runs. It is probably a great primer for T2-The Turkeynator.

The limited hours of operation make it a bit less convenient than other courses, but the 9-11 hour window should give plenty of time to play more than a round or two.

I was really impressed with the socially/DG responsible signage throughout the course that promotoed responsile golfing (such as safety, garbage disposal, not urinating in the park, etc.) and demonstrated a "help us help you" type of message. If more courses had signs like this (and if more DGers followed this mantra), our sport might have a better reputation.

All things considered, this course sits between a 3.25 and a 3.5. But considering the dynamic nature of the multiple tees, the beautiful park, and how friendly the staff is, I have no problem rounding this up to a 3.5. I would recommend this course to anyone in the Orlando area and it's well worth the miniscule amount of money to play.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.