St. Petersburg, FL 
Tocobaga DGC Share
Uploaded By: wellsbranch250 Hole #16 (Taken 2/2017)
3 / 242ft.   3 / 352ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
New pads, new signs, great course

5+    12/26/2016   12/28/2016
Review By: fasteddy8170
Played: 28  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --New short and long cement pads as of 12/18/2016.
--New beautiful tee signs with correct lengths, holes numbers, and directions to next tee as of 12/24/2016.
--equal number of lefty and righty holes. Doesn't favor one side over the other.
--Scenic location.
--Usually not crowded.
--Nice facilities--bathrooms and water spigots in picnic area.
--nice mixture of long and short holes.
--easy to get to--right off the I-275. Course can seen from the highway.
Cons: --the only negative is that the course can eat discs due to the brush. It's best to play the course in a group so you can have spotters for holes such as 2, 7, 13, and 17. And frankly, if you lose a disc there, you hardly ever get it back--not sure who finds them and keeps them.
Other Thoughts: I love the course because it's going to test everything in your game from distance to control, hyzers and anhyzers. If you get on a run, the average player has a great chance to shoot under par. But if you're off, this course will put you into the 60's real fast.

My only hole in one is on this course: #9 with a Champion Leopard.

Favorite holes (I'm a lefty): 7, 8, and 9.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Accurately Beautiful

2-4    2/10/2017   8/11/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 95  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/11/2017
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: (3.278 Rating) **REVISED HIGHER** Major course face lift in Dec 2016. ---
A beautiful course that will test your accuracy.
- CHARACTER - Major upgrades were made in Dec 2016. Brand new and absolutely beautify signs designed by Jason Zahara. They have a pirate theme to them, which is fitting for the Tampa Bay Area with all its pirate festivals. See the designs for yourself under the media tab. In addition, it seems like more seating was added as it's on almost every hole now. In addition, you'll also find 7 extra hole sleeves, numerous bag holders, numerous tables, shelters, restrooms, a drinking fountain and a practice basket. After finishing (18), walk 200 west toward the water. There are three shelters with scores of picnic tables and beautiful views. A great way to end a round.
- CHAINS - The baskets are brand spanking new. Not my favorite style but nothing like banging some new chains.
- TEES - Brand new concrete tees as of Dec 2016. They are adequately long and wide. 15 of the holes have two tee pads and nearly all of them are shaded.
- CHALLENGING - Not the most challenging course in the Tampa Bay region, but if you can't throw very straight, you will be severely handicapped. The holes are fairly short from the back tees at around 5,100 feet. The front tees will subtract both a good amount of distance and difficulty. Advanced players should break par from the backs on a routine basis while intermediate players should break par on occasion.
- UNIQUENESS - The overall uniqueness is about average or a bit above your average 18 hole course. to start, the holes finish in a near even mix of all three ways, straight, left and right. There is a very challenging dog-leg par 3 on hole (14). Hole (2) is an over top play. There are numerous tight tunnel fairways, a few blind shots and a few mandos. Missing items include, elevation, par 4's and 5's, and a true open hole as there's only one or two good opportunities to let one rip as well. Note, there is water on a few holes (12), (13) and (18) but it really doesn't come into play on the first two, and on (18), if it hasn't rained in a while, the hole can be near dry. However if it has rained a lot, (18) can flood quite a bit.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - The overall course beauty is well above average. There are a couple holes that are less than to be desired like (3), (6) and (14), but the course more than makes up for it on a bunch of other holes. My personal favs for beauty are holes (11), (12) and (18). I've posted new pictures for the course, check them out under the media tab.
- CHILL AREAS - Lots of secluded areas along the layout and a bunch of picnic tables as well.
- LOCATION - Super easy to get to from I275. Literally like two minutes from exit 16 to the course.
- QUICK PLAY - A single could easily complete a full 18 in under 75 minutes. Groups of four would probably finish in about two and a half hours.

Cons: I have three concerns with Tocobaga, and the rest are just ticky-tack things.
- FORGIVENESS - This course will test the placement of your shots. Being off your mark by a few feet sometimes isn't good enough. In addition, if/when you a hit tree, the resulting punishment is sometimes more than one throw. I've had to make pitch-outs several times in a direction farther away from the basket. Also note, this course is littered with palms. They will steal your disc if you land on top.
- OVERGROWTH - Tocobaga has arguably the most dense vegetation in all of Tampa Bay. Couple that with tight fairways and grounds full of palmetto bushes, you can assume that you'll be looking for your disc at some point. Holes (2), (7) and (17) are especially bad and I advise using spotters on those holes.
- NAVIGATION - It will be tricky in a bunch of spots so I don't advise playing your first time here as a single. There is a map at tee (1), but it is not adequate. I added a map under the links tab, hopefully it will do a better job than the one at the community board. The course does generally do a good job with next tee arrows after you finish a hole, but there are gaps in directions, and a bunch of hole transitions are over 200 feet. I will say however that navigation has improved over pre December 2016
- SPACING - There are a couple of minor spacing issues. The walk to tee (5) crosses the middle of (18) fairway. On hole (6), the back tee is located about twenty feet past basket (5). Tee (8) and (9) is a double back condition where if you park your drive on (8), you can carry your bag 40 feet to tee (9).
- TIME WAITING - This course gets heavy use and has a bunch of walking paths and roads that will affect your play. Rarely will one play a round here and not have to stop and wait at some point.
- DRAINAGE - The course does not take to rain very well. During the rainy season "Summer and early Fall" the course will flood in spots. Holes (8) (9) and (18) will be especially bad.

Other Thoughts: A wonderful update during December 2016. My metrics rating of the course shot up quite a bit. For reference, it was 2.938 and is now 3.278. The course is not for everyone's tastes. If you like wide open courses id suggest checking out Azalea, a shorty course in St Pete, or 22nd Street, a long course in Tampa. I also don't recommend bringing beginners here. Way too many trees for arms not adjusted to a precise release point. As for recreational thru advanced players who like technical courses. Those players should very much enjoy this one.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Maximo to the max

1    11/20/2015   11/20/2015
Review By: Shermanator
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Had a bunch of fun playing this course. This is a course that will make you use your whole bag!
Cons:
-Course is not beginner friendly!

- Hard to navigate, i would try to link up with a local or a friend who has played a few time's.

- I loved almost every hole, but there were many spots that were worn, aged, and overgrown.

- Course could use a makeover

-You need a spotter on half of the holes if you don't want to lose your prized discs!

Other Thoughts: At the end of the day if you already are familiar with the sport that we all love! Then this is a course you should check out. But in my opinion this course is not worth a road trip.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Course Getting Betterish

5+    6/17/2016   10/9/2015
Review By: thrembo
Played: 124  Reviewed: 82  Exp: 41.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2016
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a course that is prized by its locals, and despised by one time visitors. I have never seen a course that is this polarizing before. I have held off on reviewing it myself because its a tough course to judge. It has your typical Florida style plants, and a woodsy jungle vibe to it, but some holes share areas with other park areas, like roads and such.

It can be fun, provided that you neutralize the cons.
Cons: OK, the big problems here, are the wonky navigation, the poor signage, and the possible misnumbered baskets, making this course brutal on 1st timers. GET A GUIDE, or try and hook up with a local for your first time through. They should also know which holes that you will need to spot on.
Other Thoughts: The course is fairly scenic, and with care, a fun round can be had here! This wouldn't be my first choice though, if visiting in the greater Tampa area. Taylor, Youth, or Cliff/Coachman might be better options, if in the St Pete/Clearwater side of the bay.

*UPDATE 6/18/2016: Next tee signs helping with navigation, but still a few issues after another of the seemingly endless course modifications (I heard that they had to change the course recently because of some Indian mounds). Hole 5 is over the bridge by 18's tee. The map on this site is wrong. The tee signs seem to have the right hole #'s on them, but layout and distances may be wrong. The tee signs are mostly faded and worn out anyway and could use replacement. Hole 11 sign missing? Hole 9 tee is worn out. Baskets all seem to be properly #'d now.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tough on First timers

1    9/6/2015   9/6/2015
Review By: Leftytemper
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very technical and challenging. While I have seen some people comment on the courses length and not being able to fire off bombs from the tee, that's not what this course is all about. Every disc will be utilized and you need to think strategy on each hole. Very few gimme holes, maybe hole number 2.
Cons: For a first timer this course is (to put it very politely) navigationally challenging. I was very frustrated trying to find baskets and the tee signs are ambiguous and outdated. This course reminds me of the original Gordon Barnett Park.
Other Thoughts: I look forward to playing this now that I know where the baskets are and the nuances of the course. It just needs a tweak of TLC on navigation and signage. Real good course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Happy brush hunting...

1    4/25/2015   4/25/2015
Review By: jnicola
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: If you're an amazing player with great long distance placement shots, this place could be enjoyable.
Cons: Poor signage. All very faded or damaged.

Plays near roadways and spaces occupied by people, making precision shots that much more difficult.

Lots of natural growth all over. Lost discs can be recovered, but... less than enjoyable.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely not worth the trip to. If there are other options in town, go check them out cause this isn't worth the trip.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not your everyday course

1    2/14/2015   2/24/2015
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 76  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - The course has a lot of beautiful tight lines, and it makes it a good challenge.
- Teepads are good quality and baskets are also good quality
- There is good variety of short and long holes
- Course requires hyzer and anhyzer lines. It makes you use your hole bag
- Course is very shaded and the sea breeze keeps things a little cooler
- Lots of friendly disc golfers and non golfers
- Even though it was tight and thick, discs were very findable
- Course had a high fun factor IF you are already familiar with disc golf. I would not say that it is beginner friendly.
Cons: The only really big con is the navigation. After holes 1 to 4, there is no guide to hole five. Turns out its to the right and over a bridge. But, you will not see this. There were several areas of confused navigation, and also wrong number baskets for different holes. The signs were helpful at times, and non existent at others. Since I enjoyed the course I tend to agree, however, there is a high level of first time frustration if you do not play with a person who has been there. Also another con is the bad tee signs. They were wrong and the distances were way off from the website.
Other Thoughts: Tocobaga has thick vegetation in spots, but rewards a good shot. It's just a decent course with a unique feel. Nothing as special as Cliff Stevens or Taylor Park. It's right near a densely populated area, but still feels super quiet. If you're making a trip to the Tampa area put this one on your play list.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Little Slice of Florida Paradise

5+    1/20/2015   1/22/2015
Review By: Shade Seeker
Played: 104  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Maximo park is a gorgeous setting for disc golf. The course design makes excellent use of the terrain. I've played other Florida courses that got repetitive because every hole is carved from the jungle. At Maximo, there's an even balance of jungle holes and park type holes. That variety is one of the best features of the course. In regard to lefty verses righty holes, I count 9 holes that call for straight drives, 6 holes that call for right turning drives and 3 that call for left turning drives. There are no elevation changes and water only comes into play on the last hole. Risk and reward has mostly to do with clumps of palmettos rather than baskets near water or on steep hillsides. There are two concrete tee pads (long and short) on every hole and two basket positions on most of them. There are plenty of benches and adequate signs.

One of my favorite characteristics of the course is that it forced me to use discs and shots I don't use much in the Midwest. In particular, I used a lot more sidearm shots, many of them on finesse type approach shots. I even used a few rollers.

No particular hole stands out as a signature hole. Some of my favorites were: #5, a tough journey through the jungle; #11, a long park-style hole where you can let your drive rip; #18, where a mossy lagoon forces you to choose between laying up and going for the basket.
Cons: As mentioned often by reviewers here, navigation is a major issue your first time through the course. The tee pads were too short for me. This especially caused me problems on #16. I didn't care for hole #14. You have to cross a road on your drive, but there are small pine trees lining the road that make crossing more a matter of luck than skill. Even if you carry the road, you are often lacking a path to approach the basket on your second shot.
Other Thoughts: I played Maximo over 20 times during the months of December and January. It's a great everyday course that continued to challenge me every time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Pinellas course!

1    11/20/2014   12/1/2014
Review By: jjw4ucm
Played: 32  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 3.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, this course is gorgeous! The setting is beautiful and the nature is a blast to play in. Palms and Spanish Moss everywhere, with a beach nearby and lots of other pretty flora and fauna.

Super easy to get to and in a pretty park right at the southern tip of Pinellas County.

I really liked the shot over the trees on hole 2, and appreciate the flag on top of the basket. I'd have had no idea where I was throwing without it.

Signage was very pretty and interesting; wooden signs are a new one for me and they were very attractive (more on them later!).

The brush and rough here was prevalent and more notable than a lot of the other courses I've played in Tampa Bay, but I wouldn't call it overwhelming. I didn't find it too horrible to play around and it was generally more fun than frustrating.

Bathrooms, trash facilities, and parking are readily accessible at the start of the course, always a plus. The neighborhood appeared to be pretty decent as well.

Park was well maintained when I got there. Fairways were mowed, rough was in control, and trash seemed picked up. Course felt very tidy for the most part. I should note I played in November, so standing water and crowds weren't as much of a concern.

This course had a certain "charm" about it that really does help to cover up at least some of its other flaws. It was a very different experience than many of the other courses around Tampa Bay that I've played and honestly, that alone was worth the stop, in spite of the following issues.
Cons: NAVIGATION! I never did find 5, 10, or 14, and the map at the start of the course was useless and appeared to be out of date. Generally I don't have a problem getting around even on some of the more navigationally-challenged courses, but the flow here was bizarre and the navigational aids that were present did nothing to help. I still thoroughly enjoyed my round but this is a glaring flaw that would be fairly easy to fix with an accurate, up-to-date map.

On several holes you are throwing directly at parking lots, near shelters, over roads, across walking paths, etc. I expect this to some extent at many parks, but it's taken to an extreme here and you have to be really careful to watch for pedestrians and cars, or you'll damage someone's property or hurt them.

Not a whole lot of long bomb opportunities here really, most of the holes seemed fairly short.

The wooden signs, although delightful, don't really show you much info and are somewhat worn. There are "NEXT TEE" signs scattered around, but they are also mostly unhelpful. The baskets also mostly have the wrong numbers on them.
Other Thoughts: I feel like you'll either love or hate this course. I fall in the "love" category, but I have to be objective and rate it as a disc golf course first, park second. Bottom line is, it's a pretty setting and has charm about it. However, the layout is not perfect, and navigation is downright horrendous.

If you can enjoy the nature and other factors that make this course fun, I would recommend it. If you'll get frustrated at having to hunt around for the next tee and at times spotty signage, skip it. Happy discing!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sabal Palms and a Unique Disc Golf Experience

1    3/6/2014   3/6/2014
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 144  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 7.9 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -This course just has an incredibly unique feel to it. It offers a unique set of challenges that you don't see often.
-There are several holes (2 and 7 are the primary ones) that throw over short Palm Tree-like vegetation that varies in height from 2-5ft. Although this can be a deterrent for some, it's a new/interesting challenge.
-The course feels secluded.
-Dual tees and extra pin placements on almost every hole.
-Carved wooden signs on every hole
-Good mix of distances. Holes range from 220-450 from the Blues and offers the white tees as an option for newer players.
-This course is amazing beautiful. I enjoyed walking around almost as much as the DG itself.
-In order to score well here you have to have a variety of shots mastered as Tocobaga places a premium on accuracy.
Cons: -The flow is somewhat off here. You definitely want a guide your first time out as there are some challenging transitions (Hole 4 to Hole 5 and Hole 13 to Hole 14).
-There are some rough spots where it may be easy to lose a disc.
-Impassable marsh on a couple of holes require you to walk a little bit off the beaten path to avoid it.
-Walking path runs through the course and may slow you down in spots.
-Tees could be a bit longer.
Other Thoughts: Tocobaga has thick vegetation in spots, but rewards a good shot it's just an overall amazing course with a unique feel. It's right near a densely populated area, but still feels isolated. If you're making a trip to the Tampa area put this one on your must-play list.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.