St. Petersburg, FL 
Tocobaga DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #8B (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 300ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice Scenery, but rough flow

1    4/1/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 205  Reviewed: 187  Exp: 7.1 Years
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some helpful tee signs (but navigation signs are needed).
Concrete tee pads
A good variety in challenge, distance (165ft-450ft depending upon tee), and foliage density.
Water in play on 3 holes.
Low canopy and palms add challenge and variety, course offers a chance to rip it and chances to practice specialty shots (average hole is 300ft on blue).
Bathrooms near tee one, and not too far from 17 if you need to go before you go.
Cons: Picnicers, other tee pads and busy walkways are occasionally in possible flight paths and can create a safety issue on the weekends.
Navigation was difficult especially with the numbered holes. 6a and 8b really hurt the flow of the game, but they were needed to keep it 18.
The locals said that we all lost out when hole 18 was moved and replaced with a mediocre replacement.
Hole 17 was surrounded by foul, putrid, swampy water that attracted all of Florida's helicopter sized bugs (half suck your blood and half are just there for the rancid smell. It is shallow water, but the ride home will be a bitch if you go disc diving. The discs you find will smell and the interior of your car will hold the odor, don't let the stories of tons of free plastic lure you into that water!
Other Thoughts: The level of challenge and the sharp foliage make this a less attractive option for new players.
Course is located just a few miles from Clearwater Disc Golf Store, which is a must stop destination! If you think Jrawk got excited about the bathrooms, you should hear him talk about the store!

Course was crowed, I had to play the course out of order in order to avoid long lines at certain tees, but the crowds of locals were all friendly and very helpful with the navigation issues.

If you have to choose between the 3 St. Pete area courses (Youth, Taylor and Tocobaga), this is your best bet.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/2/2010   4/13/2010
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 63  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course will force you to pull out every possible shot in your bag. There are holes that are best birdied by thumbers and rollers and others that just require a nice, straight shot. Several holes around 380-450 will challenge your arm. Several holes are very tight and technical. There are still a couple you can let rip. The locals are very nice and have regular events (handicaps and doubles) at the park.

The park is well maintained and typically pretty clean. It is a multi-use park with a nice walking trail (that interferes with DG every now and then), pavilions with grills, and a boat ramp. Be prepared to enjoy the beauty of this park right on the Gulf of Mexico.
Cons: Navigation/signage - due to local issues 2 of the holes have been moved. This has killed the flow of the course. Hole 5 has been removed and there is nothing really to tell you how to get from 4 to 6a. After 6a, there is nothing telling you the teepad for 6b is 25 feet from that pin on the path. People walk around aimlessly looking for these holes.

Hole 18 has also been removed. This was the signature hole that shot out to the edge of the beach. It was beautiful. Now there are two holes at hole 8 to replace hole 18. The navigation issue is a serious problem.

It also looks like some of the key trees are going to be removed from the course. If this happens, it will make some of the more technical, difficult holes much easier to birdie and will hurt this course.

Rough - Stay in the fairways. The rough is rough. It is very easy to lose discs here. This is especially true on holes 3, 7, & 9.

Water - hole 17 (now the last hole) has a nasty water pit in front of the pin. Don't go in that nasty stuff. You will want to rake out your disc. I pulled someone's putter out of there and it STANK. You can't hardly get the stink out of a disc that has been in there any length of time. So don't get in that.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/27/2009   2/27/2010
Review By: Bobby
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun course to play with a beautiful scenery. A lot of birdie shots. There was also a verity of holes
Cons: Missing two baskets and was kinda difficult to locate the tees for my first time. The tees came in all shapes and sizes.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Location, location, location!

1    1/2/2010   1/2/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Dual concrete tees on the entire course. (except 8B, just compacted shells, but plays just fine). Generally they are in good shape, and they are not too slippery despite all of the sand in the ground in this area.

2) Helpful teesigns, have pin locations marked, distances, hole #. Consistent design of tee signs, so it actually helps in finding the next tee. Signs were posted on top of a 2' telephone pole.

3) Challenge is ever present. There really is only one complete throwaway hole on this course and it is #8B. It obviously was not part of the original design, but for some reason #18 had to be removed and this took its place. Its a shame because #18 looked to be an incredible hole. Every hole challenges you to shape your shot and hit the right gap.

4) Sure there is little to no elevation change, but they use low spots and hollows and slight rises effectively because the top canopy can also pinch the gap that needs to be hit vertocally (I hope that makes sense. It may be a wide gap but only 6' tall).

5) Variety was increible on this course and it was evident in the design of the course. Shot shaping is required on most holes and it isn't just a simple hyzer, you have a lot of throws that need to be straight for a while ti hit the gaps or mandos, that may need to turn left or right.

6) Enough benches and garbage to be considered adequate. There also is at least one shelter that I remember by 10 and 13. Bathrooms at the first tee area, I didn't use them but from jrawks description maybe I would have enjoyed a nice visit before or after my round! Practice basket is always nice to have also.

7) Baskets are Chainstars and in good shape. All installed properly too.

8) Maintenance on the course seems to be adequate. I think there would be a lot of work needed to pick up all the palm fronds that continue to fall to the ground, and they can be heavy too if a tree loses a bunch at once.

9) Nice sandy soil in the woods with leaves and pine needles on the ground to give some cover. The open areas have adequate turf coverage. Generally the grass is a little thine, but I know the bermuda is dormant now, so in season it may be more full.

10) In general course is isolated from other park activities, except on a few ocassions. The danger of the road/paths in play is more of an issue than the other park uses.

11) Course has a good variety in hole length. Effective hole length also can change based on the hole. It is nice to be able to throw different discs from time to time.
Cons: 1) Tee signs could use some revamping. Many of them seemed to have plexiglass melted to themm making it difficult to see the diagram or read the info.

2) Wooded holes could get wet from time to time, especailly in the little hollows. WHen wet these areas could get slippery too.

3) Layout can be a little confusing because you are hitting 3 or 4 distinct areas of the park. 1, 2, 3 are all on one island of the course (surrounded by the entrance roads). 4, 6, 6B are on the same piece of land as hole #17, south of the entrance road. 7, 8, 8B, 9 are on another section, 10 - 16 are all in the same area, but it is broken up by a road or two and some walking paths. Tough for a beginner, fortunately I followed some locals so I could see where they were going generally.

4) Course crosses paths and roads and something is in play on hole #3, 4, 6, 6B, 10, 13, and I think again on 14, 15, 16, and you throw through the boardwalk area on #17. Dangerous and a nuisance, but couldnt have been avoided without hurting the design of the course. I could imagine how this would affect me if I playd it all the time, or when it was busy. Fortunately only about 10 other people on the course and a handful or two of other walkers.

5) Course is not beginner friendly because of all the vegetation. Sure the forward tees are helpful on the distance, but they do not change the foliage you need to be threading through, so beginners would be fristrated for sure.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. It is way better than the other Florida courses I have played to date. Sure it still has the Palmettos but it isnt an entire grove of them. You have to avoid a couple areas and finding a disc in this stuff can be difficult, but just keep your eyes peeled. It has plenty of challenge and an excellent variety. It is very scenic and is a nice walk through the property too (my wife walked along and just took pictures with her new camera, and she had a wonderful walk. It sits just on the north end of the Sunshine Skyway Bridge which is an awesome sight from a park (Fort Desoto Park) just 8 miles away, or beach area of the park.I highly recommend driving ove the bridge and having a look, but also seeing it from Fort Desoto is pretty cool. If you need some property in the area, let me know my Uncle is THE Realtor in the area and has been known as the realty resource for the area for a long long time. I even took him to the course today because he was inruiged by the sport. He also stood about 25' away on the third basket and I showed him how to putt . . . he made his first putt from 25' after I showed him the technique, and he said . . . that is the best it is going to be, so I am going to retire from the sport, but at least he gave it a try once.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Play it with a guide.

1    12/28/2009   12/29/2009
Review By: jrawk
Played: 81  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 1/2/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: For me, the best aspect of Tocabaga was its location. It is very conveniently located off of I-275 in one of the most beautiful parts of the country. We started our round at 3:30 and finished in time to watch the sunset over the gulf from the waters edge. Has the cleanest bathrooms i've ever been in at a disc golf park, but oddly enough, no hand soap.

Some unique holes early on, as previously mentioned in other reviews. Hole #2 was definately my favorite. Why there aren't more holes like this at other courses is beyond me. See ARock's review below. He describes the hole well. Also noteworthy was #7, a very tight S curve fairway with low palms on each side. I really wanted to replay this hole 3 or 4 times to try and zero in a disc for it. #8 is fun with many different fairway paths to the basket. All throwing techniques are viable options for this hole. You can hyzer around the tree clump or thumb/tamahawk over it, or try a roller around the right side of the fairway.
Cons: I really had a hard time navigating the front 9. And to me this is a big turn-off to this course. Hole 5 seemed to be closed and there was a tiny orange flag/marker with arrow pointing to 6b. We walked around for 10 minutes trying to figure it out, eventually finding the real 6's tee pad and playing. To get to it, we had to walk through thick mud underneath a boardwalk, walking past 17's tee pad and interupting another groups drives.

Many holes (2, 3, 13, 14) play on or across roads in the park, for both pedestrians and cars. It did not seem to be that big an issue, but i can see this being a problem on busy days.

After hole 7, the rest start to feel the same. The holes that open up into grass fields are nothing spectacular and the holes under palm canapies begin feeling repetative.

While 18 no longer exists, the replacement is 8b, and the park did a nice job seperating 8 from 8b, however 8b's tee pad is not concrete like the rest.

Hole 17 is just evil. A water hazard snakes through the course and is possible to lose a disk in it on nearly every throw. Luckily I didn't , but we did have to wait for the group in front of us to dig out the disc they lost (and found another in the process). I'm not from Florida and don't know if that stuff is suppose to smell like that or not, but it was horrid. Outside of tournement play, i think i'd skip it entirely.

Even tho the bathrooms were clean, the park was surprisingly dirty. I saw a lot of trash cans spread throughout the park but litter was everywhere. Not sure if this was because of the wind or not.
Other Thoughts: After playing at Youth Park DGC earlier in the day where all the locals were saying how great of a course Tocabaga is, i was so hyped to get there and play. Everything was great until I got lost finding hole 6. And my spirits were taken away from my round slightly. The park needs to do a better job marking the way from 4 to 5 to 6, or whatever the flow is supposed to be.

The locals also warned me i might lose a disc or two in the brush, but i didn't have a problem finding anything. Seemed like the park had recently trimmed the brush a bit. And there is enough foot paths through the heavy stuff from other players tracking through them.

I'm struggling to give this course a 3 rating, but i know my temper might have been detracting from the experience others have had. I try not to review a course unless i've played it twice, but since i don't think i'll be coming back to the area for a year or two, I am going to give it the benefit of the doubt.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Palm Trees make great obstacles!

1    12/22/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: ARock
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short palm trees make great obstacles for this gorgeous walk through the course. A nice mix of open and tight holes with creative course layout. I especially like #2 where you have to fly over some low lying brush and then land in a small area near the pin without flying over into the parking lot. For the most part, this course is pretty short (holes in the 300' range) but what makes it really interesting, and play longer than that, is the low lying canopy of palm trees. You have to keep your disc low to stay out of the trouble, so that adds distance that the distance markers don't do justice for. The 18th hole is a very interesting layout with a creek guarding both the front and the side of the basket with lots of trees in the fairway to cause problems. I played the short tees and really hope to get back there to play the big boy tees soon.
Cons: If you can throw a Roc straight for about 280-320', a few of the holes have the same exact feel. Parts of the course are poorly marked and we wandered around a bit trying to find teepads. Hole distances are only labeled for long tees, so when playing a short round, have to walk back to long tees to get distances.
Other Thoughts: Gorgeous scenery with the water visible (but out of play) on many holes. Would love to play this one again now that I better understand the course and where the OB's and mandos are. I think that would add another nice challenge that wasn't completely clearly the first time around.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Technical and Rewarding

5+    11/7/2009   11/19/2009
Review By: Greenleaf
Played: 29  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Creative hole placement, beautiful scenery, plenty of obstacles, challenging course.
Cons: Local homeowners assoc. is trying to remove the park. Can be very crowded on weekends in other areas of the park with picnics, and cars parked on fairways.
Other Thoughts: My home course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful, Technical, Challenging

1    8/9/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 28.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2010
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Absolutely beautiful park!!! Very clean and well maintained. Each hole is a unique challenge with a variety of shots needed to navigate the holes.

Concrete tee pads, good signage, benches at many tees. Brand New Chainstars that are awesome. Good flow and easy to navigate with markers to direct you to the next tee. Restrooms available near the parking lot/ hole #4.

The "Elite" course of Pinellas County. A most play if you're in the area
Cons: The teepads, although concrete, are just too short. If the course were a pitch and putt, they would be sufficient. But, a championship caliber course deserves teepads to accomidate the throws that are necessary to reach the holes. This was a very large con during my experience here. I just couldn't get my footwork right stepping up to short tees

Holes are well hidden which is fine, but the flora around holes tend to gobble up discs. You may find yourself scavenging for your disc longer than necessary, which is rather fustrating
Other Thoughts: I thourouhly enjoyed this course!! It was diffiicult on several holes, which is a huge plus.

Most the people we encountered there were very cool, so I assume the local scene is positive. I went out on a Saturday and hung out with the club members recently. Just a great group of people. Had a blast!!!!

If the teepads were longer I would give this course a 4 easily.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  Best course in St. Pete

5+    7/14/2009   7/14/2009
Review By: jsardinas
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty technical and challenging. Very nice surroundings. I think its one of the best courses in the area. If you down visiting, this course is a must to play. Will challenge anyones game.
Cons: saturdays and sundays can be difficult to play holes 1-4 due to parties and bbq's at the nearby pavilions.
Other Thoughts: Hole 18 has been removed due to historical and ecological reasons. Hole 5's pro tee has been closed for same reasons. Hole 8 has been transformed into an 8 and 8b to maintain an 18 hole course. For more info on the removal of 18 see below link. very interesting.
http://www.tampabay.com/news/...le1017479.ece

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 killer park

5+    5/27/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: Snowdog
Played: 25  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 21.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has variety from hole to hole. Tons of fun every time ,beautiful scenery, very well marked, clean, picnic tables at most launch pads, not your average throw in a straight line course, but you can use a power drive to most baskets, great place to develop a forehand throw
Cons: heavy palmetto palms,but very well groomed, more foliage in the summer than winter, might want a spotter on just a few holes until u learn the first few holes, some of the holes can be tight but just a few.
Other Thoughts: very tropical, incredible view., the Bay, Sailboats ,and Marina ,hole 17, and 18 you play along side the bay, 18 ends up on the end of the bay for an amazing 18th hole experience. many places to view and sit to watch the bay and sunset at the end of the day after you are done with hole 18. Dont pass up the chance to play Tocobaga DGC

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.