St. Petersburg, FL 
Tocobaga DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #10 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 370ft.   3 / 450ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Sabal Palms and a Unique Disc Golf Experience

1    3/6/2014   3/6/2014
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 86  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 5.5 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This course just has an incredibly unique feel to it. It offers a unique set of challenges that you don't see often.
-There are several holes (2 and 7 are the primary ones) that throw over short Palm Tree-like vegetation that varies in height from 2-5ft. Although this can be a deterrent for some, it's a new/interesting challenge.
-The course feels secluded.
-Dual tees and extra pin placements on almost every hole.
-Carved wooden signs on every hole
-Good mix of distances. Holes range from 220-450 from the Blues and offers the white tees as an option for newer players.
-This course is amazing beautiful. I enjoyed walking around almost as much as the DG itself.
-In order to score well here you have to have a variety of shots mastered as Tocobaga places a premium on accuracy.
Cons: -The flow is somewhat off here. You definitely want a guide your first time out as there are some challenging transitions (Hole 4 to Hole 5 and Hole 13 to Hole 14).
-There are some rough spots where it may be easy to lose a disc.
-Impassable marsh on a couple of holes require you to walk a little bit off the beaten path to avoid it.
-Walking path runs through the course and may slow you down in spots.
-Tees could be a bit longer.
Other Thoughts: Tocobaga has thick vegetation in spots, but rewards a good shot it's just an overall amazing course with a unique feel. It's right near a densely populated area, but still feels isolated. If you're making a trip to the Tampa area put this one on your must-play list.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


1    1/17/2014   1/21/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 204  Reviewed: 202  Exp: 3.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Short, quirky course with fun shots and great scenery. There's a great feel with a sort of jungle vibe going on for the inland shots and the bay looming in the background on more than a few. There's a ton of low scrub and the best holes here force you to throw over it. I'm thinking of sixteen in particular, where a long straight shot to the basket is interrupted by a significant clump of vegetation. They make for interesting challenges as the common at a few other Florida courses, they aren't the type of obstacles that make up most disc golf courses. They offer a unique type of risk/reward shots that sixteen, as mentioned above, typifies. That long straight shot can be played right up to the block. From there its a short approach shot over the scrub and to a now-visible basket for a fairly-easy three. But to go for birdie, the initial throw needs to go over that vegetation and into a small target area that can't be seen from the tee.

There's a bunch of cool shots that could be a good intermediate-level course if the issues were fixed up. For locals, most of them won't be a problem as it's the type of course that once memorized, plays a lot better. I could see it having strong, everyday-play quality as it isn't too taxing and there is a decent variety with hole sthat play to different lengths, lines and angles.
Cons: The cons aren't all related to the amenities. There are a few holes that are just no fun. I'm speaking particularly of 7. There is no fairway, just a narrow walkway. You essentially have to carry the scrub, but since its vegetation and not water, you can see where you are trying to land it. So its essentially a short carry to a small island but you have a blindfold on.

The other thing is that it doesn't really play to an ability level. It's not an advanced course, there is not much challenge here. At the same time, it's not really for beginner either with the really rough shule. Veterans will easily avoid the scrub and be left wanting more; new players will constantly end up searching for discs in the rough stuff.
Other Thoughts: Nice, fun, pleasant. High in potential. But for visitors, the flow and navigation keep it from being a must-play if time is at a premium.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice Florida feel!

1    12/3/2013   12/3/2013
Review By: Lucero 1
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course, just a minute off the highway, and very easy to get to!

Good parking, restrooms, and a nice playground and picnic area for the family.

As previously mentioned, this course offers a wide variety of shots. You can use your entire bag!

There are signs pointing to the next hole, which are highly needed, due to the big con listed below....
Cons: My biggest con: The signs (and even the baskets) aren't numbered correctly, which makes things confusing if you aren't playing with someone who has been there before.

The map at the beginning of the course doesn't appear to match the current layout.

Some of the hole signs don't show the distance, which make it difficult to know what disc to throw.
Other Thoughts: Despite the huge con, the course was very enjoyable to play, once you figure out where you're going.

This would be a tough course to play solo. There are a lot of blind throws, and the rough areas could certainly cause you to spend a lot of time searching for your discs!

If I didn't live 75 minutes away, or if I played this course regularly, I would invest a few dollars in those stick on numbers and at least label the hole and basket correctly!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    10/28/2013   10/28/2013
Review By: KMG365
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Concrete Tee Pads
Cons: VERY heavy brush!

Only a few signs telling you where the next hole is located. Some holes require you to backtrack.

A spotter is highly recomended.

Playes close to, and over, roads.

Tight fairways...? Try no fairways on a few holes. You throw right over the top of thick (and sharp) brush -- only way to get to the basket.
Other Thoughts: I was VERY disappointed with this course. You spend 49.5% of your time digging in the brush looking for your discs, 49.5% of your time wandering around looking for the next hole, and 1% of your time playing disc golf. Overall: a complete waste of a beautiful morning that could have been spent at another course enjoying a good round of DG.

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

1    6/30/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: blueblur
Played: 76  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 26.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of interesting holes. Many different lines needed to do well on this course. Some great looks that I haven't seen on other courses.

Most common theme for unusual holes is throwing over palmetto bushes to a small cleared green. This is used in design of at least 4 holes. There is another hole where you can throw over some taller trees and rough to get to the basket.

Park has some nice amenities and views over the bay. There is a very nice playground (about to reopen after renovation) if you have kids with you.
Cons: Dense underbrush and vines. On some of the holes you are throwing over rough to get to the green. I think this is a neat feature, but I have included it also in the cons because of the potential for lost discs. A spotter is a good idea.

Overall, it is a fairly short course. Apparently 2 holes used to be long but had to be changed due to construction of a new road.

Some previous reviews mention incorrect signage because of the hole changes. These have mostly been fixed. There is one hole that the sign says is over 500 ft from the long pads, but it is now about 300. Also, the next tee pad after that is painted on the sidewalk with no tee sign.

Tee signs don't indicate what is OB. There was quite a bit of water on the course and as a new player, it wasn't entirely clear what was casual and what was OB.

There are also quite a few holes with asphalt walkways. We assumed they weren't OB, but if you want more challenging play, you could certainly call them OB.
Other Thoughts: Mostly technical short to medium length holes, but a few (5?) where you can throw a full on drive with less accuracy required.

Hole 18 was my favorite. You throw a technical shot off the tee toward a basket tucked into a curve in a water filled (OB) ditch. Scary but fun.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A treasure

1    6/21/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * The course has hole after hole of beautiful tight lines. Makes for a great challenge.
* Teepads are good quality and baskets are very receptive.
* There is excellent distance variety. You'll need your whole bag.
* Course requires hyzer and anhyzer lines. It's a shotmakers area.
* Course is very shaded and the sea breeze keeps things a little less humid.
* Locals were very helpful with some of the course's challenges. (see below)
* Despite the tightness and palmettos, discs were very findable. (not much other ground cover)
* Course had a high fun factor IF you are already familiar with disc golf. I would not say that it is beginner friendly.
Cons: * After holes 1 to 4, there is no guide to hole five. Turns out its to the right and over a bridge. But, you will not see this. There were several areas of confused navigation, and also wrong number baskets for different holes. The signs were helpful at times, and non existent at others. One of the locals told me that it added to the experience. Since I enjoyed the course I tend to agree, however, there is a high level of first time frustration if you do not play with a person who has been there.
* The above is my only con. there was a lot of rough, but the fairways were well defined, and i liked the challenge. This was a 4 star course to me if the navigation issues are cleaned up.
Other Thoughts: I loved this course! Most holes required thoughtful shots, and accurate throws. The distance varied quite a bit and the course itself was beautiful. The park it was in, Maximo park, is a great area to fish for sea trout, have bbq, or relax by the beach. The actual facilities are great. If they get their signage/navigation issues cleaned up, this course will rise even higher. However now, it may not be easy for someone with a low frustration level. But, for those of you looking for a great course, this one should not be ignored. I loved it!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 1 of my top 2 local courses

5+    5/26/2013   6/5/2013
Review By: Blazingwebs
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Love the challenge of this course, it requires a multitude of different shots. The epitome of a FL course.
Cons: The regular (very large) Sunday group that plays here can be very rude (one of them claims to be the course "pro"), we do our best to avoid them.
Other Thoughts: It's been over 2 yrs since they were forced to change some of the holes here, it would be nice if new signage was implemented and the layout of hole 3 and the 8/9 combo were addressed. My group would be happy to donate time and money towards this goal.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

too woodsy for me

1    2/25/2012   1/25/2013
Review By: weatherbill
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: nice scenery. very peaceful
Cons: didn't like this course. Was too woodsy, easy to loose a disc and the breeze off the bay was hindering at times.
Other Thoughts: best to try another course if visiting. There are much better courses in the area

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Now called Maximo

2-4    11/26/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: KimBrennan
Played: 56  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 34.1 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Paved tees, signs indicating hole number. Rest rooms near the start/end of the course.
Cons: Tees are short.
Maps for holes are often damaged.
Often missing distance information.
"Rough" is thick and unforgiving.
Walking paths and roads are out of bounds, but frequently in play on the different holes.
Map at the beginning of the course is out of date, since hole 6 has been split in two and all other holes after that have changed number since the original 18 was eliminated.
Few benches on the course.
Transistions between some holes is not obvious, necessitating crossing other fairways.
Other Thoughts: Birdie opportunities seem to be on the front nine mostly, and not so much on the back nine. Many holes are blind shots over brush (and poor maps make this hard for a 1st time on the course.)

Limited fairway on 3 (open area being a road, which is out of bounds.) Holes 1 & 8 are essentially blind shots, with a cross your fingers and hope you can find your disc feel to them. 18 (the current 18) is thickly wooded with a water hazard (mud right now) in front of the basket.

I played in the dry season, so water was not an issue on 18.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    5/7/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: looking4owls
Played: 62  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.4 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great layout; flows nicely.
Incredible bright blue baskets.
Scenic play through what I consider beautiful Florida flora and fauna.
Wide variety of shots required; long, short, left, right.
Cons: Small tee pads.
Hole 18, before they removed it due to the Indian mounds, was easily the most scenic, beatiful hole in Florida. too bad it had to be moved.
Hole 5 used to be great too.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.