St. Petersburg, FL 
Tocobaga DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #12 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 290ft.   3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee

Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    10/28/2013   10/28/2013
Review By: KMG365
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.5 Years
3 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Concrete Tee Pads
Cons: VERY heavy brush!

Only a few signs telling you where the next hole is located. Some holes require you to backtrack.

A spotter is highly recomended.

Playes close to, and over, roads.

Tight fairways...? Try no fairways on a few holes. You throw right over the top of thick (and sharp) brush -- only way to get to the basket.
Other Thoughts: I was VERY disappointed with this course. You spend 49.5% of your time digging in the brush looking for your discs, 49.5% of your time wandering around looking for the next hole, and 1% of your time playing disc golf. Overall: a complete waste of a beautiful morning that could have been spent at another course enjoying a good round of DG.

3 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    6/30/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: blueblur
Played: 108  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 27.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety of interesting holes. Many different lines needed to do well on this course. Some great looks that I haven't seen on other courses.

Most common theme for unusual holes is throwing over palmetto bushes to a small cleared green. This is used in design of at least 4 holes. There is another hole where you can throw over some taller trees and rough to get to the basket.

Park has some nice amenities and views over the bay. There is a very nice playground (about to reopen after renovation) if you have kids with you.
Cons: Dense underbrush and vines. On some of the holes you are throwing over rough to get to the green. I think this is a neat feature, but I have included it also in the cons because of the potential for lost discs. A spotter is a good idea.

Overall, it is a fairly short course. Apparently 2 holes used to be long but had to be changed due to construction of a new road.

Some previous reviews mention incorrect signage because of the hole changes. These have mostly been fixed. There is one hole that the sign says is over 500 ft from the long pads, but it is now about 300. Also, the next tee pad after that is painted on the sidewalk with no tee sign.

Tee signs don't indicate what is OB. There was quite a bit of water on the course and as a new player, it wasn't entirely clear what was casual and what was OB.

There are also quite a few holes with asphalt walkways. We assumed they weren't OB, but if you want more challenging play, you could certainly call them OB.
Other Thoughts: Mostly technical short to medium length holes, but a few (5?) where you can throw a full on drive with less accuracy required.

Hole 18 was my favorite. You throw a technical shot off the tee toward a basket tucked into a curve in a water filled (OB) ditch. Scary but fun.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A treasure

1    6/21/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 3.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * The course has hole after hole of beautiful tight lines. Makes for a great challenge.
* Teepads are good quality and baskets are very receptive.
* There is excellent distance variety. You'll need your whole bag.
* Course requires hyzer and anhyzer lines. It's a shotmakers area.
* Course is very shaded and the sea breeze keeps things a little less humid.
* Locals were very helpful with some of the course's challenges. (see below)
* Despite the tightness and palmettos, discs were very findable. (not much other ground cover)
* Course had a high fun factor IF you are already familiar with disc golf. I would not say that it is beginner friendly.
Cons: * After holes 1 to 4, there is no guide to hole five. Turns out its to the right and over a bridge. But, you will not see this. There were several areas of confused navigation, and also wrong number baskets for different holes. The signs were helpful at times, and non existent at others. One of the locals told me that it added to the experience. Since I enjoyed the course I tend to agree, however, there is a high level of first time frustration if you do not play with a person who has been there.
* The above is my only con. there was a lot of rough, but the fairways were well defined, and i liked the challenge. This was a 4 star course to me if the navigation issues are cleaned up.
Other Thoughts: I loved this course! Most holes required thoughtful shots, and accurate throws. The distance varied quite a bit and the course itself was beautiful. The park it was in, Maximo park, is a great area to fish for sea trout, have bbq, or relax by the beach. The actual facilities are great. If they get their signage/navigation issues cleaned up, this course will rise even higher. However now, it may not be easy for someone with a low frustration level. But, for those of you looking for a great course, this one should not be ignored. I loved it!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  1 of my top 2 local courses

5+    5/26/2013   6/5/2013
Review By: Blazingwebs
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Love the challenge of this course, it requires a multitude of different shots. The epitome of a FL course.
Cons: The regular (very large) Sunday group that plays here can be very rude (one of them claims to be the course "pro"), we do our best to avoid them.
Other Thoughts: It's been over 2 yrs since they were forced to change some of the holes here, it would be nice if new signage was implemented and the layout of hole 3 and the 8/9 combo were addressed. My group would be happy to donate time and money towards this goal.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 too woodsy for me

1    2/25/2012   1/25/2013
Review By: weatherbill
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: nice scenery. very peaceful
Cons: didn't like this course. Was too woodsy, easy to loose a disc and the breeze off the bay was hindering at times.
Other Thoughts: best to try another course if visiting. There are much better courses in the area

2 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Now called Maximo

2-4    11/26/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: KimBrennan
Played: 72  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 35.2 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Paved tees, signs indicating hole number. Rest rooms near the start/end of the course.
Cons: Tees are short.
Maps for holes are often damaged.
Often missing distance information.
"Rough" is thick and unforgiving.
Walking paths and roads are out of bounds, but frequently in play on the different holes.
Map at the beginning of the course is out of date, since hole 6 has been split in two and all other holes after that have changed number since the original 18 was eliminated.
Few benches on the course.
Transistions between some holes is not obvious, necessitating crossing other fairways.
Other Thoughts: Birdie opportunities seem to be on the front nine mostly, and not so much on the back nine. Many holes are blind shots over brush (and poor maps make this hard for a 1st time on the course.)

Limited fairway on 3 (open area being a road, which is out of bounds.) Holes 1 & 8 are essentially blind shots, with a cross your fingers and hope you can find your disc feel to them. 18 (the current 18) is thickly wooded with a water hazard (mud right now) in front of the basket.

I played in the dry season, so water was not an issue on 18.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    5/7/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: looking4owls
Played: 64  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great layout; flows nicely.
Incredible bright blue baskets.
Scenic play through what I consider beautiful Florida flora and fauna.
Wide variety of shots required; long, short, left, right.
Cons: Small tee pads.
Hole 18, before they removed it due to the Indian mounds, was easily the most scenic, beatiful hole in Florida. too bad it had to be moved.
Hole 5 used to be great too.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Maximo Rules

5+    5/20/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: v0nn3gut
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 19.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is quite simply my favorite course in the bay area. It is very challenging but it also offers you some birdie chances on both the front and back nine. It requires a wide array of shots.
Cons: I hate the way 18 was removed. I studied anthropology as an undergrad so I get wanting to preserve something, but they're destroying the most beautiful hole on the course to preserve a mound of ancient garbage. By taking out 18 you're adding in a hole at 6 and it just feels forced the way it is now.
Other Thoughts: Had they not changed it it would be a 4, easily.


Definitely need high socks on this one. Very easy to find yourself in sabal palm jungle.

If you're tall keep eyes open for banana spider webs. I've walked into more than one on this course and my girlish shrieks are still echoing somewhere.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 First time frustrated, second time had a blast!

5+    5/18/2013   5/3/2012
Review By: RussMB
Played: 110  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2013
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Maximo is a beautiful Park located on the Tampa Bay. Playing under the canopy of the trees, the trees surrounding the course and the bay in the background made this a very enjoyable experience.

-Wooden Tee Signs, with the fairway carved out. The Tee signs have been painted over and now reflect the proper numbering of each fairway. Concrete tee's, Very sharp Mach series baskets,

-Practice Basket and Restrooms at the start, Shelter houses with picnic tables and benches throughout the course.

-Multiple Tee pads, with some Alternating pin placements

-The Pins are well balanced for RH & LH players. As well as a few straight forward shots.

-A few risk/reward holes. The brush is so dense, that it becomes a risky carry over some dense brush or. (A spotter can still be a good thing)

-Most of the holes will require a specific line and/or approach placement. A few fairways have a "Local Route" option you can throw.

-No two holes play the same. There is a lot of variety among the fairways. Some are tight, some are open, and others you have to select your line through the trees. Not to mention, there are numerous doglegs to work around. I think this is what defines Maximo as being the course that it is. There is a shot for everyone.
Tip: The Indian symbol looking signs are Mandos

-The rough here adds a nice touch to the Risk/Reward. The cabbage palms give the course the classic Floridian look, but don't let your disc land in the midst of them. You'll spend a lot of unnecessary time looking for your disc.

-Navigation flow is a little choppy, but most of the pin placements have excellent pin locations. The exception being 8 & 9, which are decent fairways, it's just that they start side by side. This is due to the redesign.

-Personally, I wouldn't recommend it to beginners, but I wouldn't say they couldn't. Those who lack control could get frustrated here. (Azalea Park is nearby, so there is a nice beginner course nearby)

-Boat Ramp
-Walking Trails
-Picnic area along the shoreline
Cons: -Navigation is #1. I realize they were forced to relocate some of the baskets due to some archaeological group that wanted exclusive rights to the Indian mounds.

-To get to #5, the path has you cross right through the middle of #18's fairway. There are no signs giving people the heads up.

-You will want a spotter on some holes, the cabbage palms can easily hide your disc. Every time I play here, I'll usually end up looking for a disc somewhere.

-The rough is so dense, that you could actually spend a lot of time searching for your disc. One time I sent 20 minutes looking for a disc that God only knows how many times I walked past it.

-You have to throw over the road and near sidewalks. On one hole, the fairway is the sidewalk.

-Park goers may interact and be an issue as well. Look before you throw.

-When you play 8, look to the left and you'll see 9's Teepad. When you finish, you'll have to walk back. Or just throw 9 after you throw 8. then hole out on 8,then hole out on 9. It'll save you a walk back.

-#14 long tee's require a hyzer sweep over an overflow parking lot. Short tees are on the other side of the lot, but it's only a matter of time before a car gets hit. May not be a factor during the week, but on a Saturday, that marina could be full!

-The 18 basket that used to be next to the shore line is no longer there. I had been looking forward to playing that hole, and I never got the chance to play it before it was moved.

REVIEWER NOTE: Scroll down to numbernine's review and take note of his course tips. If you are going to play here, then you will need some directions. He did a great job in notating all of the discrepancies.
Other Thoughts: I had been looking forward to playing here ever since I moved to Florida. Much to my chagrin, the shoreline #18 basket was removed due to a local citizen group. The first time I played here, there was much "First time frustration". The second time was much better! I played with someone that knows the course, plus I had already played, so I knew what to expect. Maximo is a big course, and there isn't a natural flow to the course. ...per say. Navigation is really the crux of what makes this course frustrating to play. The Tee Signs have been painted over and now have proper numbering for each hole. Even though that it alleviates some confusion, there are still some navigation issues. You'll still want a map to know where to go. Knowing that 8 & 9 play parallel to each other is going to be one thing to remember. I still recommend contacting a local to guide you through the course.

Now, should that stop you from playing here? Absolutely not! It is a beautiful park, its fun to play and it is well worth your time. For the seasoned Disc Golfer, this course could be a fun place to play. It's challenging and it requires shot shaping, strategy, and accuracy. Just make sure that you are prepared to play here, because that can make a big difference in your experience at Maximo.

I would recommend covered shoes and pants. Though I've seen worse, the brush can tear you up. I put my arm in something and I can still feel it itching! If you play here, just count on spending some time in the brush. There are not a lot of restaurants or gas stations nearby, so make sure you bring something with you. Definitely bring some liquids. There are some open field fairways, and it can get hot! If you are coming from the south, it costs 1$ to cross the skyway bridge.

Update addendum: Now that I live in Tampa and play here more often, I really want to bump this course to a 4 star course. In my book it's worthy of 4 stars. The problem is that I know 1st time players are going to have absolute fits if they don't know where to go. It's just that pesky navigation issue for road trippers and first timer's. It took me playing here 2 or 3 times before I had the navigation down. Now I love playing here! ...when I'm not buried in the brush!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Have a spotter

1    4/29/2012   5/3/2012
Review By: dan_b
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun, relatively easy course. I enjoyed the throwing lanes, and thought the foliage was beautiful.

Good challenge in terms of playing right and left. The bushes act a serious obstacles.
Cons: Had an extremely difficult time navigating the course. Some tees and baskets are mislabeled, and there needs to be map or some help to find the next basket. I went twice before I figured out where hole 6 was.

Flat. Coming from the north, it was odd playing a course with zero elevation change.
Other Thoughts: I would go back, but would rather try a new course in the area. The best part was ending a round at 7:30 with the sun setting on the water behind the 18 basket.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.