Orlando, FL
Bill Frederick Park - T2: The Turkeynator Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
3 / 290ft.   3 / 195ft.   3 / 390ft.   3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Blue Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Buckle Up!

1    3/1/2014   3/1/2014
Review By: thrembo
Played: 79  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 38.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a truly fun and scenic course, with old trees, a large lake and featuring central Florida style rolling hills.

Two sets of tee pads (three if you count the green set) that are large and grippy. Signs at each tee that show hole layout and distance. Very nice bag hangers.

Nice baskets.

Plenty of picnic tables, pavillions, benches, garbage cans and restrooms.

Very clean, and highly maintained course.

A well established league, that hosts some of the biggest tournaments in FL. Very friendly locals that I'm guessing are used to seeing out-of-towners on their courses.

A good mix of hole lengths, with some bombs for the big guns!
Cons: The navigation can be brutal. GET THE MAP/scorecard when you pay to enter the park. There are some long and somewhat tricky walks between some of the holes. There are some next tee signs that help, but they don't always seem to be in the spot where you need them. Prevents this from being a higher rated course IMO.

Watch out for non-DGers wandering around and through the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is set in a spectacular park, that features another 18 hole DG course on site, with camping, fishing, events, a childrens farm area, etc.

Both of the courses here are must plays, but I prefer the other course that's here myself. Its more scenic, funner to play, and is more refined IMO.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

One of the best courses in Florida.

5+    10/10/2013   10/10/2013
Review By: Charbachuk
Played: 25  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Located in a beautiful neighborhood and inside of Bill Fredrick Park in Orlando.
- Brand new Tee-signs really make each hole pop.
- Brand new baskets.
- Tee-pads are all brand new and in pristine condition.
- Plenty of shot variation. There will be some holes that will allow many types of throws to the basket, but each shot in your bag will be used.
- Beautiful scenery; located in Bill Fredrick Park and on the banks of Turkey Lake this is one of the more beautiful parks you will play in.
- Course is extremely difficult if played from the long pads; there are a few par 4's out there that are difficult to get a Birdie 3 on.
- The course is totally different from the short pads; most courses short pads are just shorter, the short pads here actually make it a completely different course.
- Course is very easy to follow with signage all over to prevent you from getting lost.
- Signature hole is most definitely #16; 350 feet over a section of Turkey Lake to a basket perched just feet away from the water, not a lefty friendly hole.
Cons: - Hole #18; I am really big on signature finishing holes, and for me this is probably one of the worst finishing holes out there. You get worked up on how awesome the course is from Hole #1- Hole #15, then Hole #16 is a beautiful shot across the water, Hole #17 is a huge uphill par 4 and then 18 is a 215 foot putter shot with almost no fairway? Very disappointing.
- There is a lot of walking on this course; I normally do not put this as a con but the distances between some holes is pretty large and when you are walking in mid-summer Orlando heat, not fun.
Other Thoughts: - This ranks in the Top 5 for difficulty and Top 5 overall in the state of Florida. This is the end all be all course. Couple that with the fact that The Original Course is right there and the Gordon Barnett Park Courses are a short drive away; it doesn't get any better than this.

- I would highly recommend taking a day trip to just play this one course. Play it from the longs in the morning, eat lunch, play it from the shorts in the Afternoon or play any of the other courses in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

A Test of Play

5+    8/24/2013   9/10/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 145  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 3.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The original Turkey Lake course should give you an idea of what to expect on the sequel. The terrain is the same. The same river flows on the perimeter. The same types of trees provide ceilings for your shots. But it won't truly prepare you for T2.

Shrink those fairways down to a quarter, a sixth or even a tenth of the size. Bring those trees in close, creating dense canopies. And lengthen, good lord lengthen. While there is variety in distance on T2, the shortest holes are the equivalent of he long holes on Turkey Lake.

The sequel also eliminates some of the problems that plague the original. Those holes that cross roadways and pathways? Non-existent. Fairways through potentially busy multi-use fields? Not here. Short, easy holes? Nope.

This is the big boy and while it doesn't use long holes just to add length, you are going to walk. You are going to walk fairways and you are going to walk between holes. It may not be immediately obvious where the next tees are, but if you follow the arrows, you will get there.

While I'm a huge fan of a lot of the holes here, I'll generalize about most of them. What you will see for the most part is a series of fairways carved through woods with light brush on either side. There is a really good mix of lines, with just about every angle and direction used at some point. For most of them you have to keep it low. Real low. Tree canopies keep you from reliably going over the top. Especially on 7 (ok fine, I'll mention a few holes) The tee is raised above most of the fairway, so you have to shoot lower than the branches that are about level with the tee.

The hole that I most dread/anticipate is 16. That's the water hole. The tricky thing about is that it presents three options, any of which can be appealing. A big arm can send it all the way across towards the pin. Risky but possibly rewarding. The most common method may be to cut across the shorter section of water, but that can leave you with a tough path to the pin. In the winter,(low foliage) the option to bomb it straight left to avoid both water and get a clear path to the pin is also available. What's a disc golfer to do?

Ok, anyways, the best part about T2 may be its ability to appeal to all ability levels. Unlike many difficult courses, it shouldn't be frustrating to beginners. They will rack up strokes, but they should still have fun. And it is difficult. Especially from the blue tees. They did an excellent job of making the two sets of tees represent a sizable gap in difficulty.
Cons: The tee colors can be confusing. There is a complete set of blue and red tees. Then occasionally there may be a gold, black, white or green tee. I've played blue here and I've played red. I will never play "the blues, with the gold on that one hole and the back on the other." This is really only a problem for newcomers who may decide to play white at the beginning and then realize there are no more white tees. Weird but easily ignorable feature.

The only other con is some of the long walks from basket to tee. Necessary to make for better holes, but I can see this frustrating people.
Other Thoughts: This is by far the superior of the two courses on site, but if you are planning on playing both, play the other one first. Turkey Lake is like an appetizer for T2: it's not a desert.

T2 is a long, grueling course, and after playing it, especially in the summer, (which is most of the year here) you will be exhausted. The original course will feel tacked on, if you're even up for it.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Long, hard course

5+    6/15/2013   6/19/2013
Review By: blueblur
Played: 63  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 25.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of distance on some holes. Good variety of holes. Two pads for most holes. Water is a major factor on one hole where you throw across part of a lake. 2 practice baskets. Nice restrooms and water fountain.
Cons: Lots of walking near low mph park roads with speed bumps. Throwing near some of these roads also, but not a major factor and low traffic. Pay to get into park. Lack of multiple pin positions somewhat reduces repeat enjoyment.
Other Thoughts: Most challenging course in the Orlando area.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did anybody see #8?

1    6/13/2013   6/13/2013
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 197  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 5.4 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 holes in a very nice large park with fishing, camping, playgrounds and lots of paved trails. Just a really nice place. 3 sets of tee for each hole, and signs at Blue and Red tee pads. Signs give distances and hole layout. There is also some signs to aid in navigation. More on that later.

Mostly technical course with tight lines and low ceilings. From the blue tees there is also some long holes and open fields. #5 plays to the tune of 876' from the blue. There are also holes in the low 200' range so hole length variety is pretty good.

This is course is the big brother, or mean step father of the other course on site. The landscape is similar for both, but T2 has thicker more punishing rough, tighter lines and more line shaping needed to succeed. This course should have enough challenge for the best of players.

T2 also utilizes the lake, and has a nice water carry on #16. From the blues the hole is 390' with a water carry that seems about 300'. From the red it makes it about a 100' shorter hole. The basket is then surrounded by a bunch of mature trees. Cool hole.
Cons: Navigation. Make sure you get a map from the booth when you pay. BUT, even with the map I never found hole 8! Heck, it wasn't even on the map. And I walked by 18 to get to 9. Just a strange, wandering layout to this course.

There were a few holes where I couldn't figure out an obvious line to the basket. Might be me, or my lack of FL playing experience. My only guess is that huge sky hyzers and OHs are big here. Probably more experience on the course would clear things up for me or other players.

It's Florida so there really isn't elevation to speak of.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. It hurt me in a few spots, but it had lots of great looking technical holes with cool tunnels and low ceilings. There might be a few too many low ceiling shots for some, but in the summer heat all that shade was welcomed. This course is definitely a must play if you are the Orlando area. With 2 courses on site and multiple tee pads on both there is just a lot of good golf here. The park is pristine, and there are also lots of other activities close by. $2 for the park entry fee is a no brainer for this type of facility.

And for the locals, I left a nice Opto River up in the tree behind the short pad on 5. That will be my small donation to the lucky person that walks by after a big storm or high winds. Enjoy.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Best course in Orlando area

2-4    4/5/2013   4/11/2013
Review By: fictionfree
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Really awesome design
-Challenging holes with "landing zones" that set you up for your second (sometimes third) shot
-Long course is a great workout for experienced players
-Good signage, trash cans and benches throughout
-Textured concrete tees
-Multiple tees
-Great balance of right, left, long, short, air and roller shots
-Most important - a fun course to play, that takes advantage of what little rolling terrain is available
Cons: -13, 14 and 15 are basically all the same hole (low-ceiling, straight shot with basket slightly to left) - in such close proximity, it gets monotonous (though I LOVE those low ceiling shots - moving the baskets around to mix it up would fix the monotony)
-$4 per car to get in the park might seem like a minus to some people, but honestly this course and its sister course are worth the money - plus there is a ton of other stuff to do here, fishing, farm for kids, camping, picnicking, trails, etc.
Other Thoughts: -Played this course several years ago and didn't enjoy it at all - long and monotonous - but just played a week ago and was veryimpressed with the changes - new baskets, new holes, deletion of some old lame holes, and addition of concrete tees and clear signage - don't miss this fun course in the greater MCO area!

-Not a con, but a warning - 16 blue tee is a long drive over the water - plan on losing a disc if you aren't on top of your drive - with my wet noodle arm, I play from the red tee

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nearly perfect!

1    1/17/2013   1/17/2013
Review By: larrod25
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tee pads for each hole, all concrete pads, Tee Signs on every hole. Benches and trashcans throughout. Amazingly clean, no trash/butts on course. Nice shot variety, open holes, tunnel shots, long holes, ace runs, even a couple of nice thumber holes.
Cons: This was my first time playing the course, and if I had looked at the course map closely, navigation would not have been difficult. There were a few holes where it was not immediately clear which trail to take from basket to next tee. There are lots of signs along the paths to point you in the right direction, but they could probably put a few more arrows around the actual baskets. I am being fairly picky here, as there were really no cons to speak of on this course.
Other Thoughts: I loved this course! From the red tees it was challenging and fun, requiring every type of shot. The designer made great use of the FL terrain, and it was just as much fun to walk as to play. If I lived here I would play this course every day!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Yang of the Bill Frederick Courses

1    12/28/2012   1/13/2013
Review By: RussMB
Played: 102  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2013
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very Scenic and well maintained State Park ($2 per person/$4 per car to enter) Ask for a Map when you pay.

-This course is a lot more challenging than the original course.

-Course has a rolling terrain that plays near a very scenic lake *This is relative to where you are coming from. Most of the coastal Florida courses are Flat, so someone from Tampa would call this terrain Rolling. Someone from Tennessee would probably consider this flat.

-Nice restrooms at the start. Look for the big building on the right as you approach the teeing area in the parking lot.

-Garbage cans and disc golf signs through out the park

-Close to Universal Studios, but Disney is a little bit of a drive. (In case you are vacationing)

-Colored (Blue, Red & Green) Concrete Tee's to address the multiple Tee locations, Tee signs with Maps & Distance.

-The original Turkey Lake Course and the T2 course start back to back.

-Narrow fairway shots, more use of the trees, terrain and canopies, also has a water carry.

-Fewer lines to choose from, but more finesse is require when it comes to shot shaping here.

-Fair mix of right/left handed shots. Turnover shots, and straight forward long distance shots. Some shots will require you to set up a second shot.

-The blue tees are more pro, while the reds are for the standard player. I wouldn't call this a beginner friendly course, but the green tees do cater to those with underdeveloped arms. Perhaps those wanting to take a swing at it after playing T1.

FWIW

-You are going to see some roped off areas for Gopher Tortoises! Very Cool!

-There are a ton of activities here! If you have a spouse, friend or family member that is wants to watch your kids, then there are a bunch of activities they could do while you get to play a couple rounds here. From Playgrounds to a Farm, there is plenty to do here.

-Camping and Cabin rentals on site as well.
Cons: -Though there are signs, sometimes it's easy to get turned around. Which leads to my next points…

-The course flow is broken between 3 & 4 and 7&8. You'll want to pay attention to where you are going. I walked the wrong way to get to 4, and ended up finding 4's basket before I found the tee.

- I also got turned around looking for 8. It wasn't listed on the park's map. It's listed, but there is no number and I wandered around a bit looking for it. It is, however, listed on the map on this site, you may want to check it for reference if you can.

-9 is a stretch from the parking lot, it's close but not convenient. It is also a long walk to the parking lot from 18. (These are really small things, and it is what it is. After playing two courses, you tend to notice it)

-You have to play along a fenced in area of an RV Campground. It may be a pain to have to retrieve your disc if it goes over.

-There is a walking trails that run throughout the course. You'll want to look before you through!
Other Thoughts: T2 definitely exceeded my expectations! When you can honestly say you had a great time while getting frustrated, then the course has done its job. This course is definitely the Yang of the two courses. It's challenging, but not obnoxious. It requires more specific lines and will push you to be more controlled. You'll work around trees and bushes, as well as fence lines. Add in a few terrain changes, and the challenge becomes more demanding. All that and a 350ft water carry (from the blues) at 16. (240ft from the reds) The layout is definitely well thought out and specific. It's definitely worth your time to stop and play if you are in the area. Just set aside some time so you can take it all in.

These two courses are well worth the cost of admission. I played both courses in about 3.5 hours. This one took me about an hour and a half, playing solo. If you are going to play both, then I would recommend playing the original course first. It'll help get your arm loosened up. I didn't see any gas stations in the immediate vicinity, but it is Orlando. There are plenty of restaurants within a few miles. Any type of shoes and shorts will be fine here. You may have to fight with some thorny weeds on the fringes, but overall you should be fine.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

T1’s Bigger, Better Brother

1    3/14/2012   4/30/2012
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 73  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 5.6 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I feel this course had more to offer and was designed by one of Florida's best designers. Elevation change is much more apparent here than on T1. There is a really good amount of woods that come into play but you also have a good amount of open holes. You also can't forget the tricky water shot. There is a good amount of ace runs from the intermediate tees and long bombs from the longs. All three sets of tees (when there aren't just two)have great signs and pads. The longs have cement tees and the reds are dyed red; although a little narrow they do the trick. The baskets catch well! The course itself might not be overly challenging but there are defiantly some hard holes and challenging shots. The navigation is pretty easy, we only had an issue once or twice when we had to double back. Next hole signs are on almost every hole and pretty easy to follow.
There is an RV Park and lake with a fishing dock on it. There are bathrooms on site, a function hall, picnic tables and a water fountain. There is of course all of the other things that the park has to offer including horse riding. Not too shabby.
There are also Gopher Tortoise's and their protected dens throughout the course.
Cons: There are a million ant hills! There are a few spots where it is easy to get turned around your first time to the course. Hole 18's tee sign says 13 and it turned me around for a minute. The basket is extremely close to the edge of the water on hole 16 and with any flooding it would be easy to lose your disc. The bathroom isn't very clean.
Other Thoughts: Very few cons here. I had a great time the day before I left for Haiti. I will defiantly be coming back.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Tunnel Shots!

1    2/19/2012   2/20/2012
Review By: Valet
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.5 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'm not from the Orlando area and am/was in the area for the week so I decided to check out a course. I ended up at The Turkeynator II, partly because of the name, but mostly because of the good ratings/reviews that it has received. I found the course to be in great shape. The locals that I spoke with were pleasant and helpful. I played the red tees. The tee signs were great and made the course easy to navigate. The tee pads were color coated and made it easy to find which one was "red". The baskets were logically placed and there were not any "gimmes". This course forced me to keep all of my shots down. It seemed like every shot was a tunnel shot, which I welcomed. That made it very challenging. Water came into play on one hole and I would call this the signature hole of the course. Precision is a must on this course. Parking was right there at the tee for hole 1 and basket for 18. Restrooms were available there as well. Park was well maintained and used by a lot of people although the disc golf course rarely came close to people using the park for other reasons.
Cons: A couple of the baskets could have used a bit of help. Hole 17 was a bit difficult to find the tee pad. The course was very flat. I know there isn't much that you can do w/ this when designing a course, but thought I'd point that out.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this course to anyone who is in the area. I think the designer used the land and vegitation very well. While it isn't extremely difficult, it will test your accuracy off the tee, particularly your ability to keep your drives down. Enjoy!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.