Orlando, FL 
Bill Frederick Park - T2: The Turkeynator Share
Uploaded By: 405Frolfer Hole #6 (Taken 2/2014)
3 / 235ft.   3 / 235ft.   3 / 317ft.   3 / 317ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
big brother

1    2/24/2016   4/23/2016
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 253  Reviewed: 190  Exp: 9.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -beautiful park next to Turkey Lake
-lots of challenging shots, par 4's, and a good water carry
-long and short tee pads, plus some rec and gold tees
-tee signs and bag holders
-subtle rolling hills giving minor elevation changes on several holes
-scorecards w/ map
-navigational aids (next tee signs) periodically
-practice basket
-pay to enter the park, no hoodrats
-locals and parks dept seem to get along and have the best for the courses in mind. a few people were out there managing changes and improvements being made to the courses when i started my round.
Cons: -some of the tees are natural and uneven
-some of the tee signs are missing
-more next tee signs would be great but navigation is actually pretty clear, tape on the baskets is really helpful
-many of the holes are very similar, especially 12-15
-there are some tight holes where luck seems a large factor
-when the two courses are done renovating they need a new map and signs
Other Thoughts: T-2: The Turkeynator is set in the pay-to-enter Bill Frederick Park alongside the original Turkey Lake course, the oldest extant course in Florida. The two courses complement each other well and make for a nice full day of golf. At $2 to enter the park, it is well worth the price of admission.

I have to quote Nevets4433 whose review below perfectly describes the course: "This is a very nice compliment to the original course on site. But whereas the original defaults to a lot of player's choice and wider lines, T2 requires a very different set of shots. Most holes have a very reasonable but narrowly defined shotline. Lots of scrub bushes and lowlying palms along with old-growth trees make for a lot of challenging tunnel shots."

T-2 is a more modern course design than its older brother but this younger brother is the big boy. It has lots of distance and lots of obstacles. There are legit par 4 holes that require a placement shot off the tee (1, 11, 17), a big par 5 (pretty easy for a 5), and a great water carry on hole 16 (with bail out options and shorter tees). The variety of tee choices makes it a pretty fair challenge for almost any level player.

It seems that new pin positions, new tee locations, and all kinds of things have been happening here, which is cool to see. However, until it is all finalize with a new map and tee signs the course is sometimes unfriendly to the first time player.

The course is very challenging but like it's companion course, I thought it felt a bit repetitive and unmemorable. I really liked holes 1, 16, 17 but the rest of it either ran together (2-3, 9-10, 12-15) or just kind of seemed to be there because that was where the flow leads the course (6-8). Hole 18 feels like an afterthought and still leaves you a good ways from the parking area.

Despite my grievances, T-2 is a fun course and makes for a great day of golf with it's companion course. It's a great place to take a break from the magic kingdom for the vacationing disc golfer and with all the other stuff in the park you can bring the family too.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Almost great

1    3/21/2016   3/22/2016
Review By: RJRendleman
Played: 54  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great park
-Ample parking
-multiple tees
-clean/no trash
Cons: -outdated signage/needs more directional signage(on hole 5 I had to walk 250' up the fairway to short tee to figure out where the basket was
-no basket variation (non elevated, no roll away potential etc)
-most holes too easy to par with a bad drive
Other Thoughts: This course provided a fun round that could have been a GREAT round. I played the blues and for the most part left feeling like it could have been so much better. I thought the holes didn't offer much score separation. Most birdies required great shots but pars were extremely easy to attain even with bad drives and during my round I par'd 14 holes and birdied 4 (1,8,11,17). There were some excellent holes like 5,9,16 but holes like 1, 17, 18 left me scratching my head. Where's the mando on hole 1? The RHBH hyzer kills the cool tight fairway it has. 17-18 was a huge letdown to finish off the course with after coming off hole 16. I just felt like it ended with 2 dud holes. Enough with the negative part though. This course provided a woods golf feel in Florida. I like the added difficulty of low ceiling shots and the requirement to hit your lines. Sidearm, backhand and thumber are all needed to successfully play this course. New signage and some redesigned holes could take this course to a 4.5 easily.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Family vacation Dad and Son DG day

1    8/10/2015   8/11/2015
Review By: Jparker230814
Played: 73  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Shaded almost the entire play of the course.
-Variety of T boxes to suit many levels.
-Nice park setting w/ lake, trails, restrooms.
-An updated map should be posted on the site.
-Challenging but not overly difficult.
Cons: I usually do not bother throwing out cons because everyone has an opinion. The course plays well so enjoy DG.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Good Compliment to the Original

1    4/25/2015   4/25/2015
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 58  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2015
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very nice compliment to the original course on site. But whereas the original defaults to a lot of player's choice and wider lines, T2 requires a very different set of shots. Most holes have a very reasonable but narrowly defined shotline. Lots of scrub bushes and lowlying palms along with old-growth trees make for a lot of challenging tunnel shots.

I felt challenged by this course. It seemed to require a very wide variety of shots. Right to left, left to right, up and down. All through some difficult foliage. I really appreciated the tight lines expected by this course, but also the reward offered by a good throw. All of the lines were navigable by a good throw and could reward a birdie. Bad throws could leave a tough but fair scramble for par.

A very good effort at signage (although unfortunately a few are missing). I really appreciate all the extra signs that direct players from hole to hole, and the tape on the baskets that points you in the right direction. Many of the signs have tee pegs to show which one of the basket locations is being used that day

As with the original course, this park offers great amenities. Bathrooms on site. Kiosk shows the layout with a very nice map and suggests the proper tee for a player based upon player rating.

Holes 13-15 along the lake are really picturesque and alone are worth a visit.

It is really nice to see a bit more length variety on this course with some nice par 4s and even a fun par 5.
Cons: Pay to enter the park (the $2 is well worth it).

A seemingly disproportionate part of this layout is not very RHFH friendly.

Tee boxes are a bit inconsistent. Most reds and blues are concrete, but others are very uneven. Navigation to the other layouts is a bit inconsistent.

Hole 17 is a bit odd, it goes about 200 feet out to the right, then goes about 90 degrees up to the left. All of the other holes have a clear layout, this one is just a bit goofy.

Unfortunately a few of the tee signs are missing.
Other Thoughts: This is a great compliment to the original course on site. Longer at times, often more narrow, and usually a bit more technical. Both courses are unique and have a very different feel to them. Whereas the original is open, this is tight and technical, almost akin to a Lowcountry course. Come play and enjoy both!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tunnel Shots!

1    2/19/2012   2/20/2012
Review By: Valet
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.1 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'm not from the Orlando area and am/was in the area for the week so I decided to check out a course. I ended up at The Turkeynator II, partly because of the name, but mostly because of the good ratings/reviews that it has received. I found the course to be in great shape. The locals that I spoke with were pleasant and helpful. I played the red tees. The tee signs were great and made the course easy to navigate. The tee pads were color coated and made it easy to find which one was "red". The baskets were logically placed and there were not any "gimmes". This course forced me to keep all of my shots down. It seemed like every shot was a tunnel shot, which I welcomed. That made it very challenging. Water came into play on one hole and I would call this the signature hole of the course. Precision is a must on this course. Parking was right there at the tee for hole 1 and basket for 18. Restrooms were available there as well. Park was well maintained and used by a lot of people although the disc golf course rarely came close to people using the park for other reasons.
Cons: A couple of the baskets could have used a bit of help. Hole 17 was a bit difficult to find the tee pad. The course was very flat. I know there isn't much that you can do w/ this when designing a course, but thought I'd point that out.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this course to anyone who is in the area. I think the designer used the land and vegitation very well. While it isn't extremely difficult, it will test your accuracy off the tee, particularly your ability to keep your drives down. Enjoy!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/23/2011   11/5/2011
Review By: jeffreyjeanshorts
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 26.6 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Florida weather is hard to beat. Well mantained course.
Cons: Pay to play. The money is put to good use as seen in quality of park and facilities.
Other Thoughts: Played for first time in orlando open. Great time! Join orlando disc golf club.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the drive

1    5/4/2011   5/4/2011
Review By: thisdoesfine
Played: 21  Reviewed: 10
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variety. Bring all of your shots with you, you will be tested on all. Good length to the course, although I'm used to a 24 hole course, this 18 is long enough without being overwhelming. There are usually 3 tee's enabling all levels of players to get something out of the course. I enjoy big arms shots, although not many here, my arm did get tested. Scenery is nice, quite a bit of shade to help in the hot florida weather. There were bathrooms @ the beginning, always a plus. I did not have to go mid course but I do believe there were some, we were near campers a couple times. At the entrance to the park we asked where to go to find the course as it's in a park with many things to do. The help was very nice and even gave us a map of the courses (there are two here) when we mentioned playing disc golf. This map did help a couple of times when the sign for next tee was missing or we couldn't find it. On the back of the map there was even a scorecard to those that would like it. Although I mentioned this course is in a park setting, interruption due to campers etc was only a possible issue on one hole. Another plus, the bugs weren't bad at all. My home course is here in Florida and the no see ums or gnats or whatever you want to call them are horrible this time of year. Very pleasantly surprised they weren't near as bad here.
Cons: You have to pay to play. Water. I'm never a fan of losing discs to water hazards, I'm not rich. Perhaps if it wasn't Florida and the body of water wasn't home to the lovely alligator, I wouldn't mind so much. There was only one hole where water came into play. You have to throw a couple hundred feet over the edge of the lake to get to the basket. The 5 minutes I sat there contemplating which disc was ok to lose was not the best time spent. Now, I always play from the furthest away tee and there were two other options on this hole. One was a bit less of water to throw over but grass directly in front of the tee standing over 6' tall. The closest tee did not involve water unless you overshot or had a very bad angle but was really close to the basket. Luckily on this hole I brought my A game and landed within 10 feet of the basket for an easy 2. Next time I play the course I do believe I will be shooting this one from the closest tee. Other than the water hazard, a few holes were a bit hard to find, a couple of the signs weren't as clear as they could be about where the basket was.
Other Thoughts: Great course. I will definitely play it again. We drove about an hour and a half to play the course and it was well worth it. As I mentioned in the cons, the water is a negative but again, you don't have to throw over the water if you don't want to. I would highly suggest bringing something to drink with you just as any Florida course you should. Oh, and on your first time here, don't forget to ask about disc golf @ the gate to get your map.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The place to play in O-Town

1    10/8/2006   5/8/2008
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 162  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 18.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2011
19 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One of the best courses in Florida. Requires real golf course management. Hitting lines, shaping shots, and placing the disc to set up second shots take a higher priority than pure crush.

Mulitple sets of tees appeal to a wide-variety of skill sets.

Some of the best holes you'll find anywhere.

Although initially rough with heavy schule, this course is rapidly becoming a beautiful gem.

Course pro and former world champ Gregg Hosfeld is very accesible and friendly for beginners and out-of-town visitors.

The park is beautiful and camping is available. No safety concerns, unlike Barnett Park.

Home to the new Orlando Area Disc Golf Club.
Cons: The ground is quite sandy throughout much of this course. The forced carry over the water on hole 16 is a bit much for some players.

The park closes fairly early in the evening.
Other Thoughts: Don't be a dirty discer. Leave the course cleaner than you found it!

19 of 21 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.