Orlando, FL
Bill Frederick Park - T2: The Turkeynator Share
Uploaded By: 405Frolfer Hole #5 (Taken 2/2014)
5 / 580ft.   5 / 360ft.   5 / 876ft.   5 / 876ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
One of the best courses in Florida.

5+    10/10/2013   10/10/2013
Review By: Charbachuk
Played: 25  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Located in a beautiful neighborhood and inside of Bill Fredrick Park in Orlando.
- Brand new Tee-signs really make each hole pop.
- Brand new baskets.
- Tee-pads are all brand new and in pristine condition.
- Plenty of shot variation. There will be some holes that will allow many types of throws to the basket, but each shot in your bag will be used.
- Beautiful scenery; located in Bill Fredrick Park and on the banks of Turkey Lake this is one of the more beautiful parks you will play in.
- Course is extremely difficult if played from the long pads; there are a few par 4's out there that are difficult to get a Birdie 3 on.
- The course is totally different from the short pads; most courses short pads are just shorter, the short pads here actually make it a completely different course.
- Course is very easy to follow with signage all over to prevent you from getting lost.
- Signature hole is most definitely #16; 350 feet over a section of Turkey Lake to a basket perched just feet away from the water, not a lefty friendly hole.
Cons: - Hole #18; I am really big on signature finishing holes, and for me this is probably one of the worst finishing holes out there. You get worked up on how awesome the course is from Hole #1- Hole #15, then Hole #16 is a beautiful shot across the water, Hole #17 is a huge uphill par 4 and then 18 is a 215 foot putter shot with almost no fairway? Very disappointing.
- There is a lot of walking on this course; I normally do not put this as a con but the distances between some holes is pretty large and when you are walking in mid-summer Orlando heat, not fun.
Other Thoughts: - This ranks in the Top 5 for difficulty and Top 5 overall in the state of Florida. This is the end all be all course. Couple that with the fact that The Original Course is right there and the Gordon Barnett Park Courses are a short drive away; it doesn't get any better than this.

- I would highly recommend taking a day trip to just play this one course. Play it from the longs in the morning, eat lunch, play it from the shorts in the Afternoon or play any of the other courses in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

A Test of Play

5+    8/24/2013   9/10/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 145  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 3.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The original Turkey Lake course should give you an idea of what to expect on the sequel. The terrain is the same. The same river flows on the perimeter. The same types of trees provide ceilings for your shots. But it won't truly prepare you for T2.

Shrink those fairways down to a quarter, a sixth or even a tenth of the size. Bring those trees in close, creating dense canopies. And lengthen, good lord lengthen. While there is variety in distance on T2, the shortest holes are the equivalent of he long holes on Turkey Lake.

The sequel also eliminates some of the problems that plague the original. Those holes that cross roadways and pathways? Non-existent. Fairways through potentially busy multi-use fields? Not here. Short, easy holes? Nope.

This is the big boy and while it doesn't use long holes just to add length, you are going to walk. You are going to walk fairways and you are going to walk between holes. It may not be immediately obvious where the next tees are, but if you follow the arrows, you will get there.

While I'm a huge fan of a lot of the holes here, I'll generalize about most of them. What you will see for the most part is a series of fairways carved through woods with light brush on either side. There is a really good mix of lines, with just about every angle and direction used at some point. For most of them you have to keep it low. Real low. Tree canopies keep you from reliably going over the top. Especially on 7 (ok fine, I'll mention a few holes) The tee is raised above most of the fairway, so you have to shoot lower than the branches that are about level with the tee.

The hole that I most dread/anticipate is 16. That's the water hole. The tricky thing about is that it presents three options, any of which can be appealing. A big arm can send it all the way across towards the pin. Risky but possibly rewarding. The most common method may be to cut across the shorter section of water, but that can leave you with a tough path to the pin. In the winter,(low foliage) the option to bomb it straight left to avoid both water and get a clear path to the pin is also available. What's a disc golfer to do?

Ok, anyways, the best part about T2 may be its ability to appeal to all ability levels. Unlike many difficult courses, it shouldn't be frustrating to beginners. They will rack up strokes, but they should still have fun. And it is difficult. Especially from the blue tees. They did an excellent job of making the two sets of tees represent a sizable gap in difficulty.
Cons: The tee colors can be confusing. There is a complete set of blue and red tees. Then occasionally there may be a gold, black, white or green tee. I've played blue here and I've played red. I will never play "the blues, with the gold on that one hole and the back on the other." This is really only a problem for newcomers who may decide to play white at the beginning and then realize there are no more white tees. Weird but easily ignorable feature.

The only other con is some of the long walks from basket to tee. Necessary to make for better holes, but I can see this frustrating people.
Other Thoughts: This is by far the superior of the two courses on site, but if you are planning on playing both, play the other one first. Turkey Lake is like an appetizer for T2: it's not a desert.

T2 is a long, grueling course, and after playing it, especially in the summer, (which is most of the year here) you will be exhausted. The original course will feel tacked on, if you're even up for it.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Nearly perfect!

1    1/17/2013   1/17/2013
Review By: larrod25
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tee pads for each hole, all concrete pads, Tee Signs on every hole. Benches and trashcans throughout. Amazingly clean, no trash/butts on course. Nice shot variety, open holes, tunnel shots, long holes, ace runs, even a couple of nice thumber holes.
Cons: This was my first time playing the course, and if I had looked at the course map closely, navigation would not have been difficult. There were a few holes where it was not immediately clear which trail to take from basket to next tee. There are lots of signs along the paths to point you in the right direction, but they could probably put a few more arrows around the actual baskets. I am being fairly picky here, as there were really no cons to speak of on this course.
Other Thoughts: I loved this course! From the red tees it was challenging and fun, requiring every type of shot. The designer made great use of the FL terrain, and it was just as much fun to walk as to play. If I lived here I would play this course every day!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

T1ís Bigger, Better Brother

1    3/14/2012   4/30/2012
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 73  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 5.6 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I feel this course had more to offer and was designed by one of Florida's best designers. Elevation change is much more apparent here than on T1. There is a really good amount of woods that come into play but you also have a good amount of open holes. You also can't forget the tricky water shot. There is a good amount of ace runs from the intermediate tees and long bombs from the longs. All three sets of tees (when there aren't just two)have great signs and pads. The longs have cement tees and the reds are dyed red; although a little narrow they do the trick. The baskets catch well! The course itself might not be overly challenging but there are defiantly some hard holes and challenging shots. The navigation is pretty easy, we only had an issue once or twice when we had to double back. Next hole signs are on almost every hole and pretty easy to follow.
There is an RV Park and lake with a fishing dock on it. There are bathrooms on site, a function hall, picnic tables and a water fountain. There is of course all of the other things that the park has to offer including horse riding. Not too shabby.
There are also Gopher Tortoise's and their protected dens throughout the course.
Cons: There are a million ant hills! There are a few spots where it is easy to get turned around your first time to the course. Hole 18's tee sign says 13 and it turned me around for a minute. The basket is extremely close to the edge of the water on hole 16 and with any flooding it would be easy to lose your disc. The bathroom isn't very clean.
Other Thoughts: Very few cons here. I had a great time the day before I left for Haiti. I will defiantly be coming back.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Incredible

1    1/12/2012   1/14/2012
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Amazing layout
Multiple tees
Calls for every shot in your bag and probably a few that you don't have.
Fun and winding-great use of land and water.
It is the cleanest course I have ever played.
Manicured by park staff.
Great baskets
Steps up and down when required
Cons: None that I could see
Other Thoughts: I love this course and no I'm not a local. It was beautiful and the terrain made it that much nicer. If you drive even close by-stop in and bring a friend.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Trip

1    10/28/2011   12/15/2011
Review By: ManU
Played: 29  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very well signed both on the tee pads and on the way between holes. The tape on the basket pointing to the next hole is very helpful. There are plenty of benches and places to hang your bag.
There are washrooms and a water fountain at the parking lot.
The course flows well and has a good mix of longer and shorter holes. The plant life makes the course challenging and you do have to hit lines and landing zones or you will be punished. If you get off the fairway you will be punished. When I say punished I mean that you will be adding a stroke and in some places perhaps 2.

This is not a pitch and putt type course.

It was nice to see the endangered tortoises.
Cons: Like others have said there really aren't any cons to this course.
We were there in a weekday afternoon and virtually had the entire place to ourselves...this may be a con if you are on your own and wanted to tag along with people.
Other Thoughts: Go as a car full of people rather than individually. I can't quite remember now but I think it was $4 for the car full of us (4) but if we had shown up individually it would have been $2 per person.
When I went to Florida I was looking forward to playing Cliff Stephens in Clearwater. T2 is so much more course.
I really wish I had been able to play it more than just the once. I would really like to come back and play here again.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Fun in the Sun

5+    3/16/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: Dave_Townsend
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.9 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great terrain, well maintained. Gregg did a great job with this one!!
Cons: The only con I have about this course is one of the plam trees ate my Roc!! Hahahaha
Other Thoughts: If you're in the Orlando vicinity this is a MUST play course. If you're lucky enough you will run into the designer Gregg Hosfeld, and get to hear some GREAT jokes from him and play a round with a World Champ!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Worth every penny---and then some

1    1/15/2009   7/15/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 114  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 18.8 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The newer of 2 courses in a great park. You have to pay to get in, but it's gated, which limits the number of people. Park has plenty of amenities and is on a beautiful lake.

This course is much more challenging than the original, with some very creative holes. This includes some long holes with placement areas and lots of fairway management involved. It is mostly in a less-developed park of the park, with more natural Florida terrain, and less contact with non-golfers.

I'd rate the course alone only 4.0, but it's paired with the original course in the same park. Both have front-9 and back-9 loops to the same parking lot, so you can mix-&-match any of the 4 loops, or play all 36!

Navigation was very easy, without a map.
Cons: The park closes early, before dark, and they mean it.
Other Thoughts: A fine course and park on its own, but if you're vacationing in Orlando and need relief from the hectic tourism, it's fantastic. Great holes, plus peace & quiet.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 love it

2-4    3/22/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: DarrenFL
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: My favorite course!! 3 different tees at each hole for the different player skill. very challenging!! only an hour drive for me. next to all theme parks also if you happen to be there and want to play some awesome disc golf!
Cons: red tee on the water hole really needs to have the grass cut in front of it. It is impossible to throw low and on a windy day it is a little tough to get it to go where u want it to on that hole.
Other Thoughts: Favorite course!!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Championship Caliber?

1    12/1/2007   12/7/2007
Review By: DiscGolfCenter.com
Played: 76  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/11/2013
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Orlando's most challenging course. It's not for beginners, but is suitable for intermediate players that would like a challenge. The course features holes that require multiple shot shapes. It rewards accuracy, but also has some holes that allow a big arm to take advantage of their skills. It is a challenging layout that will test your game. It has excellent amenities (though I don't factor that in my rating.) It requires a variety of shots.

It has excellent signage and you can ask for a map at the front gate. There is a small fee $2 to play but the money goes back into the course and there are two courses to play.
Cons: Not beginner friendly, but that's ok as the Lakeside course that is shares the park with is very beginner friendly. There are shorter tees for intermediate play. Look out for ant hills.
Other Thoughts: Home to www.OrlandoDiscGolfClub.com. Designed by Hall of Famer Gregg Hosfeld.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.