Orlando, FL 
Bill Frederick Park - T2: The Turkeynator Share
Uploaded By: 405Frolfer Hole #3 (Taken 2/2014)
3 / 303ft.   3 / 303ft.   3 / 345ft.   3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 A Rare, Raw Treat

2-4    6/20/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 28.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: REALLY UNIQUE!! Completely natural, Floridian terrain! Set in a nature reserve.

Very challenging. Unique lay-out with doglegs (has 3 4's and a 5). Mostly tight shots, with a few rips (on the 4's and 5). Very well shaded to beat the heat. Holes are really clean and seem to be static, but 3 Tee placements on most holes add different shots/ challenge at each

Restrooms/ trashcans throughout. At the gate they have some discs. Real good signage with accurate info. Never crowded and seems to be disc golf exclusive. Park is kept very clean, and we should always do our best to help keep it that way

Another 18 hole course is set up here as well!!!
Cons: Teepads are mostly carpet, but it seems they are trying to get in some nice, long concrete units in. With the teepads installed, I would rate this course a 4.5 easily

The flow sucks!! There were a few hikes between holes, although the scenery didn't suck(I play cuz I like to walk too). You need a local to really get through it, although GPS and the course map will do... ;) Only a few elevation changes

You gotta pay $2 to park there. Not really a con in my book. Park closes early at times and you gotta beat feet to get out before getting locked in
Other Thoughts: Just a totally different experience that I am used to in the park courses. Gives you a real sense of the natural enviroment in Florida. There is a freakin' Tortoise Preserve on the course!! Amazing bird watching (I saw Cardinals, Blue Jays, Herons, Egrets, and various raptors)

Favorite Hole, #16. Surprise, it is a water hole!!! 270+' right to left. Easy hyzer for a righty, sweet for me to show my Anhyzer skills. HIGH RISK, HIGH REWARD, just like I like it...I love water!!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 love it

2-4    3/22/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: DarrenFL
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: My favorite course!! 3 different tees at each hole for the different player skill. very challenging!! only an hour drive for me. next to all theme parks also if you happen to be there and want to play some awesome disc golf!
Cons: red tee on the water hole really needs to have the grass cut in front of it. It is impossible to throw low and on a windy day it is a little tough to get it to go where u want it to on that hole.
Other Thoughts: Favorite course!!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good stuff

1    2/7/2009   2/7/2009
Review By: johnt1969
Played: 166  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 31.5 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've never been a huge fan of Florida courses but this course was thoroughly enjoyable.

For such a pancake flat state, the Turkeynator has a surprising amount of elevation change. Now... for all you northerners, don't read in to this that there are real hills all over the place. It's not like that. But there are plenty of holes with 10-20 feet of elevation change.

The tees and pins are all in very good condition. There are multiple tee pads for almost every hole and there is even a second set of pins that they are trying out right now.

The course is very well marked. We had a map with us that was given to us at the front gate but we never had to pull it out to find our way. There is very good flow, excellent tee signs for each set of tees on every hole and good signage between the holes that points you in the correct direction for the next hole. I also likes the nice hangers for your disc bag that are on almost every tee.

The general condition of the park is very good. There are restrooms at the beginning of the course. There are also plenty of trash cans throughout the course. I did not see any trash on the course which speaks volumes for the respect of the locals and the parks department.

The course plays tough from the short tees but not so tough that you can not bring a beginner. Decent pros will be shooting under par from the short tees but will probably card a bogey or two during the round. It's not a gimme course from the shorts. On the other hand, the long tees are very difficult.

The design of the course is solid and challenges the player to make good shots. You can't just chuck it and walk. There are low lines, high lines and even opportunities for rollers.

There is a nice lake that comes in to play on one hole and I would call it the signature hole for myself. It's a beautiful shot that probably requires close to a 330 ft (guessing) carry over the water from the long tee.
Cons: It's hard to find cons with this course that are not a bit nit picky but I'll nit pick a little bit.

The ground all over the course is typical of Florida. It's very sandy.

The course is in a multi use park and there are some walking paths and picnic tables that could come in to play if you have bad shots. The design is very solid and minimizes this risk but you should definitely watch for other park patrons just in case.

There are a few of the long tee pads that are not concrete. They are a carpet type of tee pad. These aren't my favorite thing but they work pretty well. Other than those couple little things I can't remember anything that bugged me.

Oh wait... fire ants. Watch for those.
Other Thoughts: I was really surprised at how much I enjoyed this course. If you're in the area you should definitely give it a try. You won't be disappointed.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 The place to play in O-Town

1    10/8/2006   5/8/2008
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2011
19 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One of the best courses in Florida. Requires real golf course management. Hitting lines, shaping shots, and placing the disc to set up second shots take a higher priority than pure crush.

Mulitple sets of tees appeal to a wide-variety of skill sets.

Some of the best holes you'll find anywhere.

Although initially rough with heavy schule, this course is rapidly becoming a beautiful gem.

Course pro and former world champ Gregg Hosfeld is very accesible and friendly for beginners and out-of-town visitors.

The park is beautiful and camping is available. No safety concerns, unlike Barnett Park.

Home to the new Orlando Area Disc Golf Club.
Cons: The ground is quite sandy throughout much of this course. The forced carry over the water on hole 16 is a bit much for some players.

The park closes fairly early in the evening.
Other Thoughts: Don't be a dirty discer. Leave the course cleaner than you found it!

19 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem in the Magic Kingdom

2-4    3/7/2010   3/7/2008
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/12/2010
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety, length, amenities, landscape.
Other Thoughts: Turkey Lake Park is set right on one of the largest lakes (among many) in the Orlando area and features cabins, camping, a variety of sports fields, boating, stables, and two distinct and challenging disc golf courses. Both courses are very well maintained and well laid out, and feature a good mix of woods and open holes, and have at least a couple of holes within view of the lake. The original course, known locally as the "old" course I believe, is a varied and pretty par 56 or so course that's more open than not and not too long. The newer course, known as "T2," is par 60-62 I'd say, tighter overall, and features a few truly long holes. Either course alone would be well worth visiting, but put together they create probably one of the best disc golf attractions in all of Florida.

T2 Course - This course is a Florida gem. The first four holes play very similarly to the old course, but feature concrete color-coded pro and am teepads, the best signs I think I've ever seen at a disc golf course, and some holes even feature poles for hanging your bag. Then hole #5 starts to really set this course apart; 876' from the pro tee requiring a multi-curve fairway that winds through some thick stands of classic Florida foliage. Heading onward, other standouts include #7, a par 3 but a slight downhill shot into a low grove of beautiful trees, a 506' hard right turn for #11, and the one true water hole of the complex, #16. While most of the hole are still par 3, they all demand varied approaches and punish errant shots harshly, and most impress with their natural beauty, even when the lake is not in sight. Overall, I'm sure T2 at Turkey Lake ranks as one of the best courses in Florida; I certainly consider it a classic Florida experience.

Both courses are easy to follow even if you don't have a map. The old course has next tee signs where needed, and the T2 course goes further than any other course I've been to to make sure you don't get lost, with multiple next tee signs at most every hole. This is a true blessing, because without these signs T2 would be very difficult to follow; in addition to the length of the course, the distance from basket to next tee adds up to a good bit of walking on T2. Overall, I've played longer courses, and I've played prettier courses, but T2 in particular is longer than most, prettier than most, and has better teepads and signs than any course I've played. You should definitely work this park and both of its course into your Florida itinerary if you get the chance.

Favorite hole - T2 #7 - downhill shot into picture perfect grove of low overhanging trees.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Championship Caliber?

1    12/1/2007   12/7/2007
Review By: DiscGolfCenter.com
Played: 86  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/11/2013
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Orlando's most challenging course. It's not for beginners, but is suitable for intermediate players that would like a challenge. The course features holes that require multiple shot shapes. It rewards accuracy, but also has some holes that allow a big arm to take advantage of their skills. It is a challenging layout that will test your game. It has excellent amenities (though I don't factor that in my rating.) It requires a variety of shots.

It has excellent signage and you can ask for a map at the front gate. There is a small fee $2 to play but the money goes back into the course and there are two courses to play.
Cons: Not beginner friendly, but that's ok as the Lakeside course that is shares the park with is very beginner friendly. There are shorter tees for intermediate play. Look out for ant hills.
Other Thoughts: Home to www.OrlandoDiscGolfClub.com. Designed by Hall of Famer Gregg Hosfeld.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.