Orlando, FL 
Bill Frederick Park - T2: The Turkeynator Share
Uploaded By: 405Frolfer Hole #13 (Taken 2/2014)
3 / 260ft.   3 / 260ft.   3 / 315ft.   3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Great Course

2-4    9/13/2016   12/1/2016
Review By: galluni
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5
Pros: I played this course when visiting Florida, and I loved it. Great variety of holes and shots. Beautiful forests and fields. Challenging without being unfair.
Cons: Some inconsistency with tee boxes -- not all holes have all colors.
Other Thoughts: I hope to play it again someday.

big brother

1    2/24/2016   4/23/2016
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 253  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 9.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -beautiful park next to Turkey Lake
-lots of challenging shots, par 4's, and a good water carry
-long and short tee pads, plus some rec and gold tees
-tee signs and bag holders
-subtle rolling hills giving minor elevation changes on several holes
-scorecards w/ map
-navigational aids (next tee signs) periodically
-practice basket
-pay to enter the park, no hoodrats
-locals and parks dept seem to get along and have the best for the courses in mind. a few people were out there managing changes and improvements being made to the courses when i started my round.
Cons: -some of the tees are natural and uneven
-some of the tee signs are missing
-more next tee signs would be great but navigation is actually pretty clear, tape on the baskets is really helpful
-many of the holes are very similar, especially 12-15
-there are some tight holes where luck seems a large factor
-when the two courses are done renovating they need a new map and signs
Other Thoughts: T-2: The Turkeynator is set in the pay-to-enter Bill Frederick Park alongside the original Turkey Lake course, the oldest extant course in Florida. The two courses complement each other well and make for a nice full day of golf. At $2 to enter the park, it is well worth the price of admission.

I have to quote Nevets4433 whose review below perfectly describes the course: "This is a very nice compliment to the original course on site. But whereas the original defaults to a lot of player's choice and wider lines, T2 requires a very different set of shots. Most holes have a very reasonable but narrowly defined shotline. Lots of scrub bushes and lowlying palms along with old-growth trees make for a lot of challenging tunnel shots."

T-2 is a more modern course design than its older brother but this younger brother is the big boy. It has lots of distance and lots of obstacles. There are legit par 4 holes that require a placement shot off the tee (1, 11, 17), a big par 5 (pretty easy for a 5), and a great water carry on hole 16 (with bail out options and shorter tees). The variety of tee choices makes it a pretty fair challenge for almost any level player.

It seems that new pin positions, new tee locations, and all kinds of things have been happening here, which is cool to see. However, until it is all finalize with a new map and tee signs the course is sometimes unfriendly to the first time player.

The course is very challenging but like it's companion course, I thought it felt a bit repetitive and unmemorable. I really liked holes 1, 16, 17 but the rest of it either ran together (2-3, 9-10, 12-15) or just kind of seemed to be there because that was where the flow leads the course (6-8). Hole 18 feels like an afterthought and still leaves you a good ways from the parking area.

Despite my grievances, T-2 is a fun course and makes for a great day of golf with it's companion course. It's a great place to take a break from the magic kingdom for the vacationing disc golfer and with all the other stuff in the park you can bring the family too.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Almost great

1    3/21/2016   3/22/2016
Review By: RJRendleman
Played: 54  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great park
-Ample parking
-multiple tees
-clean/no trash
Cons: -outdated signage/needs more directional signage(on hole 5 I had to walk 250' up the fairway to short tee to figure out where the basket was
-no basket variation (non elevated, no roll away potential etc)
-most holes too easy to par with a bad drive
Other Thoughts: This course provided a fun round that could have been a GREAT round. I played the blues and for the most part left feeling like it could have been so much better. I thought the holes didn't offer much score separation. Most birdies required great shots but pars were extremely easy to attain even with bad drives and during my round I par'd 14 holes and birdied 4 (1,8,11,17). There were some excellent holes like 5,9,16 but holes like 1, 17, 18 left me scratching my head. Where's the mando on hole 1? The RHBH hyzer kills the cool tight fairway it has. 17-18 was a huge letdown to finish off the course with after coming off hole 16. I just felt like it ended with 2 dud holes. Enough with the negative part though. This course provided a woods golf feel in Florida. I like the added difficulty of low ceiling shots and the requirement to hit your lines. Sidearm, backhand and thumber are all needed to successfully play this course. New signage and some redesigned holes could take this course to a 4.5 easily.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Family vacation Dad and Son DG day

1    8/10/2015   8/11/2015
Review By: Jparker230814
Played: 73  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Shaded almost the entire play of the course.
-Variety of T boxes to suit many levels.
-Nice park setting w/ lake, trails, restrooms.
-An updated map should be posted on the site.
-Challenging but not overly difficult.
Cons: I usually do not bother throwing out cons because everyone has an opinion. The course plays well so enjoy DG.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Great Add on and Compliment

1    5/23/2015   5/23/2015
Review By: freddysez
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has it all; skillful holes in the woods that reward placement without being impossible, some length, the par 5 may be the toughest length hole I've ever played, and the wind can change holes and shots in the blink of an eye
Cons: We played the wrong hole on 5 and ended up playing 8 twice, but fixed it and replayed. I think stating other cons is a stretch.
Other Thoughts: The designers did it right and didn't try to over analyze their vision and kept this a true destination course just like the original

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Good Compliment to the Original

1    4/25/2015   4/25/2015
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 58  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2015
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very nice compliment to the original course on site. But whereas the original defaults to a lot of player's choice and wider lines, T2 requires a very different set of shots. Most holes have a very reasonable but narrowly defined shotline. Lots of scrub bushes and lowlying palms along with old-growth trees make for a lot of challenging tunnel shots.

I felt challenged by this course. It seemed to require a very wide variety of shots. Right to left, left to right, up and down. All through some difficult foliage. I really appreciated the tight lines expected by this course, but also the reward offered by a good throw. All of the lines were navigable by a good throw and could reward a birdie. Bad throws could leave a tough but fair scramble for par.

A very good effort at signage (although unfortunately a few are missing). I really appreciate all the extra signs that direct players from hole to hole, and the tape on the baskets that points you in the right direction. Many of the signs have tee pegs to show which one of the basket locations is being used that day

As with the original course, this park offers great amenities. Bathrooms on site. Kiosk shows the layout with a very nice map and suggests the proper tee for a player based upon player rating.

Holes 13-15 along the lake are really picturesque and alone are worth a visit.

It is really nice to see a bit more length variety on this course with some nice par 4s and even a fun par 5.
Cons: Pay to enter the park (the $2 is well worth it).

A seemingly disproportionate part of this layout is not very RHFH friendly.

Tee boxes are a bit inconsistent. Most reds and blues are concrete, but others are very uneven. Navigation to the other layouts is a bit inconsistent.

Hole 17 is a bit odd, it goes about 200 feet out to the right, then goes about 90 degrees up to the left. All of the other holes have a clear layout, this one is just a bit goofy.

Unfortunately a few of the tee signs are missing.
Other Thoughts: This is a great compliment to the original course on site. Longer at times, often more narrow, and usually a bit more technical. Both courses are unique and have a very different feel to them. Whereas the original is open, this is tight and technical, almost akin to a Lowcountry course. Come play and enjoy both!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Novice First Impression

1    2/1/2015   2/1/2015
Review By: Sorg67
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I am a novice player and have avoided T2 based on my impression that my game is not ready for this course. That is probably true, but I was surprised at how much I enjoyed the course despite not having the shots necessary to play it well. I played from the shortest tees (Green where available, Red for the others). These tees were more playable than I expected. Many of the holes are very short, but interesting nonetheless. I three a lot of putters and mid-ranges from the tees. This course requires precision, something I could use more of. Playing this course will make me better. I think I will stick with the short tees for now. This is a nice complement to the original. I played both today and they provided completely different experiences.

Novices who want to improve their shot making and course management should give this course a try. Novices who just want drive and putt should stick with the original.

I am looking forward to playing this course again.
Cons: Navigation requires paying attention, but is not difficult as long as you understand that the tape on the basket directs you to the next tee. Head in that direction and you will find the next tee.
Other Thoughts: Minimal risk of losing discs except for the 16th hole. I played it from the Green tees which avoids playing over the water. I spent almost no time looking for discs, my least favorite activity.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Love this park

5+    3/20/2014   10/20/2014
Review By: Apsey
Played: 60  Reviewed: 11
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Beautiful park
-Offers par 4's and a par 5
-Requires placement shots
-Some elevation Changes
-Park works with club to keep the courses in great shape
-Camping and cabins available on site
-Two different courses to play on site
-Great tee pads
-Nice Baskets
-Offers variety of short and long pads
Cons: -Gets pretty crazy stagnant hot in the summer time
-If you're a beginner this course may beat you up pretty good
-Costs a couple bucks to get into the park (only like a dollar or two I think)
Other Thoughts: Always enjoy playing this course as well as T1. If you play this course a lot you will become a better player for sure. Looking forward to my next round there.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Constantly improving !

5+    5/4/2014   5/11/2014
Review By: The Miniac
Played: 300  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 40.5 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bill Frederick Park at Turkey Lake is the home of TWO wonderful disc golf courses. (4 loops of 9 !) The "Original" is now Florida's longest-standing disc golf course and goes off to the left of the parking area. T2 is one of Florida's most challenging courses and goes off to the Right of the parking area.
Since Disc Golf Course Review disc-ourages reviews by a course's designer, I will attempt to provide factual and/or helpful information with a bit of history, which might serve to explain certain features or qualities of the course.

Pros: Multiple tees.
Green = Beginner/Junior.
Red = Amateur
White = (in progress) Advanced
Blue = Pro
Gold = Championship

There are dedicated Red & Blue tees on EVERY fairway of T2.
The shorter Green tees are on the multi-shot, par 4 or 5 holes and par 3 water hole (#1,5, 7, 11, 16, 17). Otherwise, Green-level players should throw from the red tees on the rest.
No Bones about it, T2 was designed around the Blue-level tees.

At the time of the T2 design phase, the Original course played (mostly) to the "White" level. So T2 was designed to play tougher from the Blues and easier from the Reds, in order to address all levels of play at the park. I've noticed that the bulk of avid players at BFP@TL are 'White-level' (Advanced) players. Which is why several of the existing tees will share designation as "White" and a few new tees, specifically geared toward White level are in the works.

Gold level tees were designed into a select few holes on the course, but are not widely advertised, since they cater to a very small demographic in the game.

Multiple pin positions: Alternate pin positions were added to BOTH courses in April of 2014. Some shorter (A position), some longer (B position), some roughly the same length (varies according to difficulty)
The A's & B's on the front 9 end up being very balanced. The back 9 can favor the lefty or flick, but not overtly. Sprinkler Valve Covers were added to all 72 pin locations to protect the locks when in use and the sleeves when not in use.

Tee signs: In 2013, The "Original" replaced the archaic DGA signs with top-of-the-line 'green' signs, made from 100% recycled materials. The plans are to do the same with T2 after the alternates and new tees are firmly in place.

Navigation: Unlike the "Original", T2 traverses several different patches of land, which can make navigation tricky. There are quite a few "Nex-T" signs along the way, and each basket has color-coded tape on the bucket spokes to point you in the right direction. It's fairly easy to navigate, if one pays attention to these indicators. Navigational arrows under each basket are also under-way.

Restrooms & water: The Carter Center provides restrooms and water for the beginning of BOTH courses, as well as holes 9 & 10 for BOTH courses. T2 also has restrooms & water fountains left of basket #4 & left of the #16 fairway.

Variety: Aside from the ability to mix & match loops of 9 from the "Original" & "T2", there is the option to play different tees. (Green tees play closer to par 3, on par 4s, for advanced & above players.) There are some shorter holes (but no 'gimme's) and longer holes (but pretty fair for the for the intended color-coded user). There are quite a few tunnel shots that don't give the power-player an advantage, but other holes that allow them to air-it-out.

Challenge: This is NOT a course you will figure out on your first round. T2 was designed to 'force' a player to demonstrate control and employ strategically placed shots to set up for their upshots. Care was taken to provide "fair-ways" on EVERY fairway, many with multiple flight-line options. I feel that the Blue, Red and Green tees adequately address the length & difficulty level for THOSE levels of play. White tees are being added on some holes in order to provide commensurate challenges for Advanced-level players.
Cons: Cons:
Limited hours. Despite being a pay-to-play venue, the park closes at 7pm during Daylight Savings Time and 5pm in Standard Time. Only campers and pre-arranged groups can stay beyond closing time. Blowin' Birdies disc golf club runs a Friday night Flights glow golf league during standard-time months.

NO ALCOHOL! This is a SERIOUS issue. People caught drinking alcohol (without a permit) will be asked to leave the park immediately! Several years ago, all disc golf related activities were banned for EIGHT YEARS due to ALCOHOL consumption.
DON'T BE THAT GUY! And don't allow anyone else to spoil it for the rest of us.
The parks people have been incredibly tolerant, knowing that it is primarily the recreational player (not the club members & active movers & shakers) that drink beer & litter.
If you must... pack out the container (no GLASS...PLEASE) or put it in a water bottle.

Walking paths CAN come into play on errant throws but care was taken to provide fairways that do not cross ANY walkways.

There are some longer walks, due to segmented chunks of land. I opted for more interesting holes, rather than extremely easy navigation. If one pays attention to the tape on the buckets and Nex-T signs, navigation isn't nearly as challenging as playing the course.

Entrance Fee: Actually, I see this as a +, because it allows to the park to track disc golf usage and gives them incentive to invest back into the courses to provide a quality venue. Aaaand, it also helps to keep out some of the 'riff-raff' who fail to respect the courses and those who labor so hard to continually improve upon them.
Other Thoughts: Absolutely Ha-Yuge Kudos go to Bill Girard (pk mgr) and the park staff for their constant attention to keeping this park pristine. Big thanks to the locals who go out of their way to pick up trash, fallen branches, etc. Your entry park entry fees have shown the park system that disc golf IS a viable park activity. "Disc golf is the #1 revenue generating activity in the park."

T2 #01 is one of my favorite holes on the course, but it probably plays as the most difficult, to set the tone for the round. Welcome to T2!
Due to the difficulty level of this (and #11...both par 4s), plans are to make the current Red tees the White tees and the Red will move forward.

#05 is the only par 5 on the course, which provides a chance to bomb an opening bid, but requires more finesse on the latter half of the fairway.
Advanced level players call the Red tee a par 4. But, since it's not designed for their level of play... they are getting a White-level tee on that hole.

#07 I refer to this as a 'gift' par 4, because all tee placements require a couple of fairly easy throws to get the birdie-3. In order to provide the correct challenge level on this (AND #17), the Blue tee will become the White tee and a new, longer Blue tee will be placed.

#16 is the only hole where water comes fully into play. Depending on the flight angle, the water carry is 300'-320' from the Blue tee. Less so if one chooses to bail out left early.
Blue tee drop zone is the Red tee. Red tee drop zone is the Green tee.

If you haven't played T2 in a couple of years, I invite you back to see the progress that has been made. If you've reviewed the course in the past, I invite you to re-assess T2 and EDIT your previous review accordingly. I firmly believe that Bill Frederick park at Turkey Lake is Florida's premier multi-course facility.
But, don't believe me !! Come see for yourself!!

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing

5+    5/6/2014   5/6/2014
Review By: edwardnaylon
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes.
It has a bit of everything.
Some tough tunnel shots, some nice open shots. Signature hole 16 is over the lake. Challenging, but can bail out if you dont want to go for the hole
Cons: Only con i can think of is getting from a few holes to another, you must cross the roads , but if you have a map, not an issue
Other Thoughts: This is a must play if your in the orlando area. One of the best i have played

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.