Disc Golf Center
Orlando, FL 
Bill Frederick Park - T2: The Turkeynator Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
4 / 340ft.   4 / 220ft.   4 / 425ft.   4 / 555ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Red Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
A Great Add on and Compliment

1    5/23/2015   5/23/2015
Review By: freddysez
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
Pros: This course has it all; skillful holes in the woods that reward placement without being impossible, some length, the par 5 may be the toughest length hole I've ever played, and the wind can change holes and shots in the blink of an eye
Cons: We played the wrong hole on 5 and ended up playing 8 twice, but fixed it and replayed. I think stating other cons is a stretch.
Other Thoughts: The designers did it right and didn't try to over analyze their vision and kept this a true destination course just like the original

A Good Compliment to the Original

1    4/25/2015   4/25/2015
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2015
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very nice compliment to the original course on site. But whereas the original defaults to a lot of player's choice and wider lines, T2 requires a very different set of shots. Most holes have a very reasonable but narrowly defined shotline. Lots of scrub bushes and lowlying palms along with old-growth trees make for a lot of challenging tunnel shots.

I felt challenged by this course. It seemed to require a very wide variety of shots. Right to left, left to right, up and down. All through some difficult foliage. I really appreciated the tight lines expected by this course, but also the reward offered by a good throw. All of the lines were navigable by a good throw and could reward a birdie. Bad throws could leave a tough but fair scramble for par.

A very good effort at signage (although unfortunately a few are missing). I really appreciate all the extra signs that direct players from hole to hole, and the tape on the baskets that points you in the right direction. Many of the signs have tee pegs to show which one of the basket locations is being used that day

As with the original course, this park offers great amenities. Bathrooms on site. Kiosk shows the layout with a very nice map and suggests the proper tee for a player based upon player rating.

Holes 13-15 along the lake are really picturesque and alone are worth a visit.

It is really nice to see a bit more length variety on this course with some nice par 4s and even a fun par 5.
Cons: Pay to enter the park (the $2 is well worth it).

A seemingly disproportionate part of this layout is not very RHFH friendly.

Tee boxes are a bit inconsistent. Most reds and blues are concrete, but others are very uneven. Navigation to the other layouts is a bit inconsistent.

Hole 17 is a bit odd, it goes about 200 feet out to the right, then goes about 90 degrees up to the left. All of the other holes have a clear layout, this one is just a bit goofy.

Unfortunately a few of the tee signs are missing.
Other Thoughts: This is a great compliment to the original course on site. Longer at times, often more narrow, and usually a bit more technical. Both courses are unique and have a very different feel to them. Whereas the original is open, this is tight and technical, almost akin to a Lowcountry course. Come play and enjoy both!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Novice First Impression

1    2/1/2015   2/1/2015
Review By: Sorg67
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I am a novice player and have avoided T2 based on my impression that my game is not ready for this course. That is probably true, but I was surprised at how much I enjoyed the course despite not having the shots necessary to play it well. I played from the shortest tees (Green where available, Red for the others). These tees were more playable than I expected. Many of the holes are very short, but interesting nonetheless. I three a lot of putters and mid-ranges from the tees. This course requires precision, something I could use more of. Playing this course will make me better. I think I will stick with the short tees for now. This is a nice complement to the original. I played both today and they provided completely different experiences.

Novices who want to improve their shot making and course management should give this course a try. Novices who just want drive and putt should stick with the original.

I am looking forward to playing this course again.
Cons: Navigation requires paying attention, but is not difficult as long as you understand that the tape on the basket directs you to the next tee. Head in that direction and you will find the next tee.
Other Thoughts: Minimal risk of losing discs except for the 16th hole. I played it from the Green tees which avoids playing over the water. I spent almost no time looking for discs, my least favorite activity.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Love this park

5+    3/20/2014   10/20/2014
Review By: Apsey
Played: 47  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Beautiful park
-Offers par 4's and a par 5
-Requires placement shots
-Some elevation Changes
-Park works with club to keep the courses in great shape
-Camping and cabins available on site
-Two different courses to play on site
-Great tee pads
-Nice Baskets
-Offers variety of short and long pads
Cons: -Gets pretty crazy stagnant hot in the summer time
-If you're a beginner this course may beat you up pretty good
-Costs a couple bucks to get into the park (only like a dollar or two I think)
Other Thoughts: Always enjoy playing this course as well as T1. If you play this course a lot you will become a better player for sure. Looking forward to my next round there.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Constantly improving !

5+    5/4/2014   5/11/2014
Review By: The Miniac
Played: 285  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 39 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bill Frederick Park at Turkey Lake is the home of TWO wonderful disc golf courses. (4 loops of 9 !) The "Original" is now Florida's longest-standing disc golf course and goes off to the left of the parking area. T2 is one of Florida's most challenging courses and goes off to the Right of the parking area.
Since Disc Golf Course Review disc-ourages reviews by a course's designer, I will attempt to provide factual and/or helpful information with a bit of history, which might serve to explain certain features or qualities of the course.

Pros: Multiple tees.
Green = Beginner/Junior.
Red = Amateur
White = (in progress) Advanced
Blue = Pro
Gold = Championship

There are dedicated Red & Blue tees on EVERY fairway of T2.
The shorter Green tees are on the multi-shot, par 4 or 5 holes and par 3 water hole (#1,5, 7, 11, 16, 17). Otherwise, Green-level players should throw from the red tees on the rest.
No Bones about it, T2 was designed around the Blue-level tees.

At the time of the T2 design phase, the Original course played (mostly) to the "White" level. So T2 was designed to play tougher from the Blues and easier from the Reds, in order to address all levels of play at the park. I've noticed that the bulk of avid players at BFP@TL are 'White-level' (Advanced) players. Which is why several of the existing tees will share designation as "White" and a few new tees, specifically geared toward White level are in the works.

Gold level tees were designed into a select few holes on the course, but are not widely advertised, since they cater to a very small demographic in the game.

Multiple pin positions: Alternate pin positions were added to BOTH courses in April of 2014. Some shorter (A position), some longer (B position), some roughly the same length (varies according to difficulty)
The A's & B's on the front 9 end up being very balanced. The back 9 can favor the lefty or flick, but not overtly. Sprinkler Valve Covers were added to all 72 pin locations to protect the locks when in use and the sleeves when not in use.

Tee signs: In 2013, The "Original" replaced the archaic DGA signs with top-of-the-line 'green' signs, made from 100% recycled materials. The plans are to do the same with T2 after the alternates and new tees are firmly in place.

Navigation: Unlike the "Original", T2 traverses several different patches of land, which can make navigation tricky. There are quite a few "Nex-T" signs along the way, and each basket has color-coded tape on the bucket spokes to point you in the right direction. It's fairly easy to navigate, if one pays attention to these indicators. Navigational arrows under each basket are also under-way.

Restrooms & water: The Carter Center provides restrooms and water for the beginning of BOTH courses, as well as holes 9 & 10 for BOTH courses. T2 also has restrooms & water fountains left of basket #4 & left of the #16 fairway.

Variety: Aside from the ability to mix & match loops of 9 from the "Original" & "T2", there is the option to play different tees. (Green tees play closer to par 3, on par 4s, for advanced & above players.) There are some shorter holes (but no 'gimme's) and longer holes (but pretty fair for the for the intended color-coded user). There are quite a few tunnel shots that don't give the power-player an advantage, but other holes that allow them to air-it-out.

Challenge: This is NOT a course you will figure out on your first round. T2 was designed to 'force' a player to demonstrate control and employ strategically placed shots to set up for their upshots. Care was taken to provide "fair-ways" on EVERY fairway, many with multiple flight-line options. I feel that the Blue, Red and Green tees adequately address the length & difficulty level for THOSE levels of play. White tees are being added on some holes in order to provide commensurate challenges for Advanced-level players.
Cons: Cons:
Limited hours. Despite being a pay-to-play venue, the park closes at 7pm during Daylight Savings Time and 5pm in Standard Time. Only campers and pre-arranged groups can stay beyond closing time. Blowin' Birdies disc golf club runs a Friday night Flights glow golf league during standard-time months.

NO ALCOHOL! This is a SERIOUS issue. People caught drinking alcohol (without a permit) will be asked to leave the park immediately! Several years ago, all disc golf related activities were banned for EIGHT YEARS due to ALCOHOL consumption.
DON'T BE THAT GUY! And don't allow anyone else to spoil it for the rest of us.
The parks people have been incredibly tolerant, knowing that it is primarily the recreational player (not the club members & active movers & shakers) that drink beer & litter.
If you must… pack out the container (no GLASS…PLEASE) or put it in a water bottle.

Walking paths CAN come into play on errant throws but care was taken to provide fairways that do not cross ANY walkways.

There are some longer walks, due to segmented chunks of land. I opted for more interesting holes, rather than extremely easy navigation. If one pays attention to the tape on the buckets and Nex-T signs, navigation isn't nearly as challenging as playing the course.

Entrance Fee: Actually, I see this as a +, because it allows to the park to track disc golf usage and gives them incentive to invest back into the courses to provide a quality venue. Aaaand, it also helps to keep out some of the 'riff-raff' who fail to respect the courses and those who labor so hard to continually improve upon them.
Other Thoughts: Absolutely Ha-Yuge Kudos go to Bill Girard (pk mgr) and the park staff for their constant attention to keeping this park pristine. Big thanks to the locals who go out of their way to pick up trash, fallen branches, etc. Your entry park entry fees have shown the park system that disc golf IS a viable park activity. "Disc golf is the #1 revenue generating activity in the park."

T2 #01 is one of my favorite holes on the course, but it probably plays as the most difficult, to set the tone for the round. Welcome to T2!
Due to the difficulty level of this (and #11…both par 4s), plans are to make the current Red tees the White tees and the Red will move forward.

#05 is the only par 5 on the course, which provides a chance to bomb an opening bid, but requires more finesse on the latter half of the fairway.
Advanced level players call the Red tee a par 4. But, since it's not designed for their level of play… they are getting a White-level tee on that hole.

#07 I refer to this as a 'gift' par 4, because all tee placements require a couple of fairly easy throws to get the birdie-3. In order to provide the correct challenge level on this (AND #17), the Blue tee will become the White tee and a new, longer Blue tee will be placed.

#16 is the only hole where water comes fully into play. Depending on the flight angle, the water carry is 300'-320' from the Blue tee. Less so if one chooses to bail out left early.
Blue tee drop zone is the Red tee. Red tee drop zone is the Green tee.

If you haven't played T2 in a couple of years, I invite you back to see the progress that has been made. If you've reviewed the course in the past, I invite you to re-assess T2 and EDIT your previous review accordingly. I firmly believe that Bill Frederick park at Turkey Lake is Florida's premier multi-course facility.
But, don't believe me !! Come see for yourself!!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

5+    5/6/2014   5/6/2014
Review By: edwardnaylon
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes.
It has a bit of everything.
Some tough tunnel shots, some nice open shots. Signature hole 16 is over the lake. Challenging, but can bail out if you dont want to go for the hole
Cons: Only con i can think of is getting from a few holes to another, you must cross the roads , but if you have a map, not an issue
Other Thoughts: This is a must play if your in the orlando area. One of the best i have played

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I love T2!

5+    1/15/2014   4/24/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 86  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 21 Years
This review was updated on 3/5/2015
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: More hills than most Florida courses. Not as busy as the free Gordon Barnett park due to the small enterance fee. Long distance holes to air it out. However, also a good mix of lightly wooded holes. Cement tee pads for all skill levels red - gold. Restrooms for the ladies by parking area.
Cons: Sometimes other park users in your way but that's not the courses fault.
Other Thoughts: Best hole "The Long and Winding Road. 700'+ Try a roller.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Buckle Up!

1    3/1/2014   3/1/2014
Review By: thrembo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 40 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2014
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a truly fun and scenic course, with old trees, a large lake and featuring central Florida style rolling hills.

Two sets of tee pads (three if you count the green set) that are large and grippy. Signs at each tee that show hole layout and distance. Very nice bag hangers.

Nice baskets.

Plenty of picnic tables, pavillions, benches, garbage cans and restrooms.

Very clean, and highly maintained course.

A well established league, that hosts some of the biggest tournaments in FL. Very friendly locals that I'm guessing are used to seeing out-of-towners on their courses.

A good mix of hole lengths, with some bombs for the big guns!
Cons: The navigation can be a little trickey. GET THE MAP/scorecard when you pay to enter the park. There are some long walks between some of the holes.

Watch out for non-DGers wandering around and through the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is set in a spectacular park, that features another 18 hole DG course on site, with camping, fishing, events, a childrens farm area, etc.

Both of the courses at Turkey Lake are must plays and some of the best in Florida, but I prefer the original course here myself. Its more scenic, funner to play, and is more refined IMO.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

One of the best courses in Florida.

5+    10/10/2013   10/10/2013
Review By: Charbachuk
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Located in a beautiful neighborhood and inside of Bill Fredrick Park in Orlando.
- Brand new Tee-signs really make each hole pop.
- Brand new baskets.
- Tee-pads are all brand new and in pristine condition.
- Plenty of shot variation. There will be some holes that will allow many types of throws to the basket, but each shot in your bag will be used.
- Beautiful scenery; located in Bill Fredrick Park and on the banks of Turkey Lake this is one of the more beautiful parks you will play in.
- Course is extremely difficult if played from the long pads; there are a few par 4's out there that are difficult to get a Birdie 3 on.
- The course is totally different from the short pads; most courses short pads are just shorter, the short pads here actually make it a completely different course.
- Course is very easy to follow with signage all over to prevent you from getting lost.
- Signature hole is most definitely #16; 350 feet over a section of Turkey Lake to a basket perched just feet away from the water, not a lefty friendly hole.
Cons: - Hole #18; I am really big on signature finishing holes, and for me this is probably one of the worst finishing holes out there. You get worked up on how awesome the course is from Hole #1- Hole #15, then Hole #16 is a beautiful shot across the water, Hole #17 is a huge uphill par 4 and then 18 is a 215 foot putter shot with almost no fairway? Very disappointing.
- There is a lot of walking on this course; I normally do not put this as a con but the distances between some holes is pretty large and when you are walking in mid-summer Orlando heat, not fun.
Other Thoughts: - This ranks in the Top 5 for difficulty and Top 5 overall in the state of Florida. This is the end all be all course. Couple that with the fact that The Original Course is right there and the Gordon Barnett Park Courses are a short drive away; it doesn't get any better than this.

- I would highly recommend taking a day trip to just play this one course. Play it from the longs in the morning, eat lunch, play it from the shorts in the Afternoon or play any of the other courses in the area.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

A Test of Play

5+    8/24/2013   9/10/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 228  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 3.9 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The original Turkey Lake course should give you an idea of what to expect on the sequel. The terrain is the same. The same river flows on the perimeter. The same types of trees provide ceilings for your shots. But it won't truly prepare you for T2.

Shrink those fairways down to a quarter, a sixth or even a tenth of the size. Bring those trees in close, creating dense canopies. And lengthen, good lord lengthen. While there is variety in distance on T2, the shortest holes are the equivalent of he long holes on Turkey Lake.

The sequel also eliminates some of the problems that plague the original. Those holes that cross roadways and pathways? Non-existent. Fairways through potentially busy multi-use fields? Not here. Short, easy holes? Nope.

This is the big boy and while it doesn't use long holes just to add length, you are going to walk. You are going to walk fairways and you are going to walk between holes. It may not be immediately obvious where the next tees are, but if you follow the arrows, you will get there.

While I'm a huge fan of a lot of the holes here, I'll generalize about most of them. What you will see for the most part is a series of fairways carved through woods with light brush on either side. There is a really good mix of lines, with just about every angle and direction used at some point. For most of them you have to keep it low. Real low. Tree canopies keep you from reliably going over the top. Especially on 7 (ok fine, I'll mention a few holes) The tee is raised above most of the fairway, so you have to shoot lower than the branches that are about level with the tee.

The hole that I most dread/anticipate is 16. That's the water hole. The tricky thing about is that it presents three options, any of which can be appealing. A big arm can send it all the way across towards the pin. Risky but possibly rewarding. The most common method may be to cut across the shorter section of water, but that can leave you with a tough path to the pin. In the winter,(low foliage) the option to bomb it straight left to avoid both water and get a clear path to the pin is also available. What's a disc golfer to do?

Ok, anyways, the best part about T2 may be its ability to appeal to all ability levels. Unlike many difficult courses, it shouldn't be frustrating to beginners. They will rack up strokes, but they should still have fun. And it is difficult. Especially from the blue tees. They did an excellent job of making the two sets of tees represent a sizable gap in difficulty.
Cons: The tee colors can be confusing. There is a complete set of blue and red tees. Then occasionally there may be a gold, black, white or green tee. I've played blue here and I've played red. I will never play "the blues, with the gold on that one hole and the back on the other." This is really only a problem for newcomers who may decide to play white at the beginning and then realize there are no more white tees. Weird but easily ignorable feature.

The only other con is some of the long walks from basket to tee. Necessary to make for better holes, but I can see this frustrating people.
Other Thoughts: This is by far the superior of the two courses on site, but if you are planning on playing both, play the other one first. Turkey Lake is like an appetizer for T2: it's not a desert.

T2 is a long, grueling course, and after playing it, especially in the summer, (which is most of the year here) you will be exhausted. The original course will feel tacked on, if you're even up for it.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.