Charleston (John's Island), SC 
Trophy Lakes Share
Uploaded By: DavidSauls Hole #6 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 222ft.   4 / 546ft.   4 / 590ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Blue Tee: Basket WAY down the shore



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Clear the water and you will be fine

5+    6/30/2015   7/27/2015
Review By: jamesdevin
Played: 51  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 3 different sets of tee pads
Lots of water in play
some longer holes
some pins very close to water
hanging/buried basket hole is pretty cool
risk/reward shots on many holes
Cons: very flat
6$ a day to play with no annual pass available
may have to wait for zip liners
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a nice course but I couldn't give it 4 stars because of the fee to play is too high. I guess you get a free round after you pay for 10 rounds but that's 60$ which is well more than any park pass I've ever heard of. In Michigan there are many different parks in which you have to pay to enter the park, but nothing near that much. I love the holes where you have to clear 300+ feet of water to find the fairway, and there are more than a couple. I recommend playing this course if you don't mind paying every time you play.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Lives up to the Name

1    5/25/2015   6/26/2015
Review By: Jiggy202
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Three sets of tees designed perfectly to challenge the beginner, intermediate, and advanced players respectively.
-Tee signs at every teebox with all possible of information you would need for the hole.
-Pretty easy to navigate even without a map. If you can find any teebox for the next hole, the info to find the correct teebox is on every sign.
-Decent disc golf shop with a pretty good selection of new discs.
-The risk/reward factor was mixed in really well, offering a wide variety of challenges for players of all skill levels and throwing styles.
Cons: -Course is pretty flat, but that's just the way it is around this area.
-A ton of water hazards in play... 10/18 holes. Some baskets were very close to the water. This course lives up to its name for sure. Very high chance your disc will end up in the water at some point.
-Holes 11-13 had some overlap that could cause issues on busy days.
-#16 plays a blind shot over the main entrance road, it's not a busy road but it could cause problems
Other Thoughts: This course is absolutely worth the $5 dollar fee to play. I would definitely come back and play this course again if I am in the area. I found it a really enjoyable round. The course kept me wondering what possibly could be coming up next. Yep, it truly lives up to its name. The course offers a challenge to all players and tests your skills and decision making with many risk/reward shots. I really enjoyed the sunken and hanging basket on 13. The flow between holes was a little funky in a few spots but it was manageable. This course has quite a few positives and only a few negatives. In my opinion it's the best course in the Charleston area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Underwhelmed

1    4/20/2015   5/27/2015
Review By: SpatialT
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 29.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Multiple tees for each hole
Relatively Easy to navigate
Disc golf shop on site
Good mix of power and accuracy needed, especially from the long tees
Funky holes (elevated and sunken baskets)
Cons: If it is windy, which it was when I played, it can be tough, especially the holes with baskets near the lake.
Pay to play
discs in the lake are likely to occur.
Some shots cross the entrance road. That could be reworked..
Other Thoughts: I am surprised by the high rating. i felt the course was more of an after thought to the water sports on the lake. The funky holes and disc golf shop on site make it a nice place to play but it was a bit boring, to be honest. I played three courses on a recent visit (fire swamp and park circle) and this was the best, but not by much. I am used to hilly, forested courses so the flat courses tend to be less interesting for me..but I was lucky enough to have someone practicing their wakeboarding using the automated pully system rigged over the lake..now, where else can you get video of that while getting prepped to drop a deuce on the lake's edge?

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Top Notch course

1    5/19/2015   5/20/2015
Review By: devil2RVA
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course offered a solid variety of shots. Some over water (very difficult water), yet some just long, some with a funny mando, and even a sunk basket! THe best part is with three tee pads, it is really designed with the level of player in mind. Red is really for a beginner, and takes the water aspect out of it. White is for an intermediate player who is ready to start testing the water shots. And Blue is for advanced / tournament.
Cons: It ate three of my discs. I'll miss you guys!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Surprisingly Good!

1    5/13/2015   5/14/2015
Review By: DougCrawford
Played: 28  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 5/15/2015
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained, grass and trees/bushes were well trimmed

Excellent signage, detailed distances that helped judge the water carries and landing zones for drives

Great use of water. 7 shots over the water, and several more risky baskets next to it.

Multiple teepads that offered a pretty big variety in difficulty. I only had time to play the longs(blue), but could see that reds were still appropriate for beginners, as they eliminated most of the water carries, and were usually significantly shorter.

Good risk vs. reward on many shots. I felt like this was a course where you could decide how difficult it was going to be. On the holes that played along the water you could choose how much of the fairway you wanted to bite off, and on the water carries it was pretty easy to see if you had to lay up or try to clear it.

Variety of fairway shapes. right to left, left to right, straight- a little bit of everything.

I putted with a roller. :)

Cons: Flat. theres some artificial elevation with baskets on hills, but all the fairways are flat, but it is the beach, theres not really much to work with.

Automatic wakeboard machine runs in between several holes. Didnt bother me much, but if you are the type that needs quiet during your throw, the sound of the machine and the people enjoying the wakeboard could be pretty distracting.

Other Thoughts: After seeing the rating of this course, I was pleasantly surprised. I usually play in/around Charlotte on courses that have higher ratings and would take this over a couple of them easily.

This course is one you could play over time and improve, and it would still be interesting. Gaining accuracy and distance open up opportunities that arent just maybe making it a little farther down the fairway. 10 and 11 are good examples- on 11 its about 185 to the edge of the water, but 330 to clear the water, and few options for a flat shot. 330 is my average long controlled drive, but a 330 ft. hyzer over the water in the wind was a tad uncomfortable at that time for me.

This could be a pro for some and a con for some- other than the water, bad throws werent punished too much. Recovery from hitting a tree or shanking your drive was fairly easy. I saved par on several holes by making a not too difficult upshot after a bad drive.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Well worth the $5

2-4    7/7/2014   7/10/2014
Review By: Timeetyo
Played: 38  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 1.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete tee pads on long & mid (blue & white) in good shape.
- Nice tee signs showing not only the normal info - but also info such as water carry - distance to water, etc as needed.
- 3 sets of well marked tees with varying difficulty and water risk. Blue has lots of water in play and some longer carries (250 is longest if you lay up on a hole or 2). White has a few shorter carries. Red has no carries but a few with water close by.
- Nice pro shop on site with a great selection.
- They pond dive for your discs and you can buy them back for a few $
- Good variety of golf shots required (outside of the water). Some are fairly tight - a few quite open - and one long bomber (over 1000' par 5).
- Hole 13. Tight double mando off the tee - and it opens up to either ~295 raised haning basket (blue) or 282' to a sunken basket (white). Bonus as I managed to ace the sunken basket with a nice hyzer flip. :)
Cons: - Not really a con to me - but $5 to play is worth the mention. (note - it was well worth the $5)
- Hole 16 crosses the road (twice). Although the road is not busy you can't see anything coming as you throw from the blue tee.
- Course flow got a bit awkward in a few spots and had me wandering a bit to find the next tee.
Other Thoughts: I have played both the blue & white tees and enjoyed them both (even though blue handed me my lunch...and stole my bandit RIP). I also brought along a beginner who had a good day with no lost discs from the reds. It is well worth the $5 to play and is the best of the courses that I was able to bag while in Charleston for a few days. This course has so much going for it with very few drawbacks. I just wish it was close to home so I could play it more often.

Great course!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/24/2014   7/4/2014
Review By: Blazemedown
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Beautifully kept tees/course with extraordinarily unique looks/holes. Great pro shop (great selection) with helpful staff (I recovered a disc I didn't even know I lost thanks to them).
Challenging course with crystal clear salt water coming into play on many holes.
Good mix of long open droves with some technical shots.
Cons: There's a lot of water- i could see how others might be frustrated after a bad round at this course and misrepresent the incredibly unique merits of this course with reviews
Other Thoughts: After 2 consecutive days at this course I managed to only lose 2 discs. From what my friends have told me, that was an accomplishment- many of those I've talked to faired much worse.
Regardless, it's a beautifully kept + totally unique course that is as challenging as it is spectacular.
Don't be fooled by the 4.x rating; it is one ofmthe best courses I've ever played

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Love, Love, LOVE this course!

5+    5/25/2014   5/29/2014
Review By: Apsey
Played: 49  Reviewed: 10
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-Challenging
-Well maintained
-great tee pads
-Blue, White, and Red Tees
-Pro shop on location
-low traffic / pedestrian interference
Cons:
- it's 35 minutes from my house
- it's $5 pay to play (with frequent players card you get 10th round free though)
Other Thoughts: If you couldn't tell by the subject line, I LOVE this course. I love courses that can kick my butt and have me return home with my tail between my legs, and from the Blue tee's, Trophy Lakes can do that. There is a lot of water on the course, but fortunately it is on private property and there are divers that go out and retrieve discs periodically. When you go in the pro shop to pay for your round there is a book at the counter that will list by name (provided you put your name on your disc) and the type of disc found. You can pay either $2 or $3 to get your disc back.

The thing that I really like about the Blue tees is that the water trouble isn't always right in front of you. It could be 3/4 of the way down the fairway which calls for a well thrown placement shot. Lots of risk reward shots out there. There is also a hole that breaks the 1,000 foot barrier. It's a par 5, but even that can be tough if you end up anywhere on the left side of the fairway.

The White tees are much easier, but still really fun to play. The water is still in play from the whites, but it's a lot less likely you'll find water compared to the blues. Some of the par 4's and 5's are fairly easy to pick up birdies on from the whites as well.

The property is a Wake boarding and Disc golf facility, so from time to time you will have to wait on your tee shot for a wakeboarder to go by on the cable pull, but that's generally really fast and not bothersome at all. I actually enjoy watching them while playing.

In my opinion, this course is a must play if you're in the Charleston area!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great Course For All Skill Levels!

1    4/9/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: thecoasterman589
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course will fit pretty much any player's skill level depending on which tee they play from because of the increasing amount of water from each tee (red tees don't really have many water hazards, while the blue tees have many water hazards). In addition, there was a ton of variation in hole design. For example, About half of the holes had some kind of water to worry about and half didn't. Also, some holes were heavily wooded and some were relatively open. The signage was good too. Each tee sign had the distances from each tee and a map of the hole. The course is well maintained and manicured and all of the tee pads, baskets, and signs seem in top-notch condition. There is also a great pro shop that sells many discs.
Cons: There is a $5 fee to play which can be a pain, but it is well worth the price! Also, on nice days, there will be wakeboarders practicing on the lakes right next to the holes. They are very loud and might even splash you a bit while you are putting (if you are close enough to the water). There is a ton of water, so losing a disc is very possible, but you could always purchase a new disc in the pro shop.
Other Thoughts: If you want a great day of fun, go to Trophy Lakes and bring $5, a golden retriever and some discs. It is one of the best DG experiences you can get in SC!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Wow.

1    4/9/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2014
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: -Three different tee pads
-Awesome Tee signs
-Pro shop to buy discs
-Very well maintained
-Practice basket
-On hole thirteen, there is a funnel basket and a hanging basket
-A nice challenge for people

Cons: -Some holes are too hard for starters; they can lose a disc
- Red tees have no tee boxes
-Hole 16 crosses a road
Other Thoughts: It is definitely worth $5 and I would come back to play here if I could.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.