Charleston (John's Island), SC
Trophy Lakes Share
Uploaded By: DavidSauls Hole #11 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 233ft.   4 / 427ft.   4 / 600ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Blue Tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Great Course For All Skill Levels!

1    4/9/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: thecoasterman589
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course will fit pretty much any player's skill level depending on which tee they play from because of the increasing amount of water from each tee (red tees don't really have many water hazards, while the blue tees have many water hazards). In addition, there was a ton of variation in hole design. For example, About half of the holes had some kind of water to worry about and half didn't. Also, some holes were heavily wooded and some were relatively open. The signage was good too. Each tee sign had the distances from each tee and a map of the hole. The course is well maintained and manicured and all of the tee pads, baskets, and signs seem in top-notch condition. There is also a great pro shop that sells many discs.
Cons: There is a $5 fee to play which can be a pain, but it is well worth the price! Also, on nice days, there will be wakeboarders practicing on the lakes right next to the holes. They are very loud and might even splash you a bit while you are putting (if you are close enough to the water). There is a ton of water, so losing a disc is very possible, but you could always purchase a new disc in the pro shop.
Other Thoughts: If you want a great day of fun, go to Trophy Lakes and bring $5, a golden retriever and some discs. It is one of the best DG experiences you can get in SC!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wow.

1    4/9/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 20  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 0.7 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Three different tee pads
-Awesome Tee signs
-Pro shop to buy discs
-Watersports for after disc golf
-Very well maintained
-Practice basket
-On hole thirteen, there is a funnel basket and a hanging basket
-A nice challenge for people

Cons: -Some holes are too hard for starters; they can lose a disc
- Red tees have no tee boxes
-Hole 16 crosses a road
Other Thoughts: It is definitely worth $5 and I would come back to play here if I could.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good times

1    12/4/2013   12/17/2013
Review By: Chainsgoching
Played: 47  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I thoroughly enjoyed myself. I thought they used the lay of the land very well, the course was very well manicured and had a great mix of long, challenging and short holes with multiple tees on each hole, making it challenging for all skill levels. I see a lot of reviewers complaing about water hazards, but I also enjoyed them as well. It made things exciting. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone
Cons: The $5 to play, while worth the price, is a little steep. If I lived in the area it would suck to have to pay $5 everytime I wanted to play, as I typically play 2-4 times a week. Other than that....no gripes
Other Thoughts: Keep it up Trophy Lakes.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for Charleston area!

5+    7/28/2013   8/7/2013
Review By: JLloydlongputt
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is a pro styled course, that offers a lot of variety and difficulty. With that being said the beginner or "Rec" tees are perfect for those still in their learning curve. There's plenty of water hazards to keep you on your toes as you make your way around the lakes. The layout caters to every skill level, and its very well maintained.
Cons: Overlapping of some holes on the back nine would be the main complaint here. Water hazards can be a headache but more concerned players can avoid it from the red tees. Dodging the wakeboard cable on tee 12 can be frustrating as well.
Other Thoughts: This is a great all around course and is well worth the trip. Anyone who lives in the area has to feel lucky to have TL near by, I sure do!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Water, Water, Everywhere

1    7/28/2013   8/3/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 145  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 3.8 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I think it was around hole thirteen when I found myself questioning the existence of dry land. From six on, there will not be a hole in which water is not impacting your toss. There are many crossings, though only a couple of significant length. When you aren't throwing over water, you are usually throwing parallel to it.

I like courses that have an identity and Trophy Lakes certainly has that. It's not perfect but the exploring fingers of water create several memorable holes. Holes like eight, which backs you up into the woods, to throw onto a narrow stretch of land between an extremity of the lake and row of planted trees. The green is on a cairn with water on two sides. Or twelve, which allows a long layup before the crossing, unless you dare to try and make the 400 feet from tee to the far side of the water in one go.

It's a course you will have to let go to play. You will hit water at some point. Accept it. Throw floaters because you will likely get them back. The water at Trophy Lakes is better than on most courses. If you're there in the summer, you will see people swimming in it just around the bend.

There are three tee locations, and they provide a wide variety of difficulties. The short tees are almost too easy, with some very short holes, and none of the water crossings that make this course worth playing. The far tees are very difficult, often adding length before a crossing. The middles are the best designed though, and those are the ones that give the purest vision of Trophy Lakes.
Cons: You'll get to make a some interesting throws here, yes, but you won't throw much is anything going right. This will likely be a frustrating course for most RHFH or LHBH players. There are many situations will realize that their favored style throw will put them in the water.

You will also find quite a few uninspired holes, in particular the first few. With zero elevation, its hard to make that many distinct holes, and when Trophy Lakes ventures away from the water, that shows. Hole one throws at a tent area. Hole eighteen throws along the parking area: row of cars is not an interesting obstacle. Another hole requires you to throw over an area of water where people will be wakeboarding.

The worst part of Trophy Lakes, by far, is the flowage. The navigation between holes is terrible, even for the standard tees. There's a lot of backtracking and wandering about looking for tees. The signs are good, so the basket can be easily found from the tee. It's just that the tee is often in a terrible location considering the position of the previous pin.
Other Thoughts: Good solid course, that I'd go back to when in Charleston, but it's neither a course that I would want to play a lot, or a true destination course.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Great course!

5+    7/27/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: diskchucker
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2013
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The atmosphere here is great. Lots of water all around. Shade and sun. Unique pin placements. Three levels of tee boxes. The red tee's take the water completely out of play. There is a 5 dollar fee but definatley worth it. Challenging with a wide variety of holes. Woods to open, open to woods, Flows well. Pro shop with a big selection of discs.
Cons: Did I mention there is lots of water everywhere? Well don't let your ego make you loose a disc trying to throw from the blue tee's if you are not a pro stick to the white and red tee's. The staff is somewhat friendly, but there is room for improvement. The water is a huge factor on lots of holes so bring a floater or throw something that you do not care that much for.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a must play if you are in the Charleston area. If you like the challenge of water shots and you have floating disc's this is a fun course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/23/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: Leahy
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really great course, some difficult holes. I think it's a perfect course for newcomers and pros alike because of the different tee boxes. Overall it's a really fun course to play with friends or challenging to play by yourself. I like that many holes involve the water also it's nice having the water skiers going by as we'll. it's even a fun course to watch as a spectator. Lastly a great course if you want to bring your four legged friend.
Cons: As most of the course in the low country, is susceptible to flooding with rain. Not much cane be done just be aware if its rained the past few days your going to have to walk through some puddles. Also I agree with what others have said there is a chance of losing a disc so come prepared to either skip holes or lose a couple, they do however provide a great lost and found for discs lost in the water or woods.
Other Thoughts: I think this is the best course in the Charleston area because of the difficulty, the interesting design and also has a great pro shop with (most) employees really knowing there stuff.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorites

1    11/28/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: lukejones
Played: 43  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 1.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course seems to be professional caliber. It has everything you want from a well thought out course layout around a ski lake to plenty of trees, multiple tee locations for beginner, amateur and professional skill levels, some very demanding par 4's and 5's and some fun and even unique basket locations, such as the basket in the ground on hole 13.
Cons: None on the course come to mind, but I could see where the ski lake could become distracting
Other Thoughts: My wife and I played this course on a trip late November. We're fairly new to the sport, however, based on the reviews, we decided to give this course a try. I was very pleased with my 1 over round from the am tees. I definitely recommend having a disc or 2 that either floats or you don't care about on some of the water holes. Somehow I managed to not lose a disc, but this involved some amount of luck!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Trophy Lakes takes gold!

1    8/14/2012   11/17/2012
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 179  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -WATER, WATER, WATER!!
-good variety of distances
-decent mix of open, semi-open, somewhat wooded holes
-fun & challenging greens and basket placements
-several legit multi-throw holes for most arms
-3 tee levels, all with concrete
-great new signs with all the new tee info
-next tee signs and maps on the scorecard, navigation is easy
-practice basket
-benches, trashcans, restrooms, pro shop
-awesome watersports on the lakes
-pay to play (yes, i think it's a good thing)
Cons: -mostly flat terrain, but what can you do
-only 2 kinda wooded holes
-hole 11 has to walk through 12's fairway. tee 13 is in 12's fairway
-16 plays over the main road, watch for cars
-18 plays near the overflow parking
-inevitable lost discs in the water, but it's so worth it. the pucker factor adds to the fun factor! also, there is a lost and found in the pro shop.

Other Thoughts: This course is totally awesome! I had such a great time playing here. The course plays around a couple of small lakes that are open for watersports. There are six potential water carries plus many baskets near the water's edge.

Many of the holes play into or out of the edge of the trees surrounding the course area but there are really only 2 holes that are more or less wooded. The lack of some true wooded holes and any real elevation are my only nitpicking complains about this course but the design does the best it can with what is available.

There is great variety in the distances between holes, especially with 3 different tee levels. They are appropriate for different skill levels but the water is still present and challenging on all the tee levels. The blues are a real beast with 8 holes over 500' and the new red (family) tees are great for the on-vacation golfer with the family in tow.

The fun factor is high here. I love all the water hazards and risk/reward involved. It may be frustrating for newer players, or anyone who loses some plastic in the drink, but experienced players will appreciate the challenge. The sunken basket on 13 and the hanging basket nearby are cool touches. I should also note that the wakeboarding pulley system is awesome but it does make a bit of noise. You won't get that secluded out in nature feeling but the park is beautiful.

I talked to the owner and I could tell he took a lot of pride in the course. It also showed in the level of maintenance. I'm glad the $5 is going to good use. Definitely the best course in the Charleston area and my favorite course that I have played in South Carolina.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Awesome watersports park, hard DG course

1    8/25/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 2.2 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Huge, sprawling park allows for a wide variety in hole types. Having long holes along with short narrow ones makes for a fun course to play.

Practice basket out back.

The hanging basket next to the 13th basket is a really fun diversion in the middle of the course.

The pro shop is really well stocked and has scorecards and pencils

Awesome waterpark around...its entartining just to watch.

Park is awesomely manicured.

The green complexes here are really neat. Some are elevated on hills, others raised above ground level by small earthworks, and hole 13 has the unique "sunken basket".

Great use of available lake space. Water comes into play but is usually fair.

Best tee pads in the area! Good signage.

3 sets of tee pads is great to balance hole length with player ability.
Cons: Course can be very difficult!

Lots of opportunities for disc loss.

$5 to play.

I'm undecided if the "sunken basket" is fun, a gimmick, or both.

Lots of backtracking to get to the next tee, layout could be a bit more efficient.

Hole 8 isn't the best design...its really narrow and the tee position doesn't really allow for a bailout.

16 is also a bit of a mess...it plays down the entrance road...not always the smartest plan.

18 also involves the overflow parking area and was blocked by a band stage when I was there.
Other Thoughts: Definitely the nicest and most technical course in the Charleston area, but it is also very difficult and can be frustrating to the newer player.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.