Charleston (John's Island), SC 
Trophy Lakes Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #15 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 203ft.   3 / 253ft.   3 / 301ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Blue Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Top Notch course

1    5/19/2015   5/20/2015
Review By: devil2RVA
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course offered a solid variety of shots. Some over water (very difficult water), yet some just long, some with a funny mando, and even a sunk basket! THe best part is with three tee pads, it is really designed with the level of player in mind. Red is really for a beginner, and takes the water aspect out of it. White is for an intermediate player who is ready to start testing the water shots. And Blue is for advanced / tournament.
Cons: It ate three of my discs. I'll miss you guys!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Surprisingly Good!

1    5/13/2015   5/14/2015
Review By: DougCrawford
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 5/15/2015
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained, grass and trees/bushes were well trimmed

Excellent signage, detailed distances that helped judge the water carries and landing zones for drives

Great use of water. 7 shots over the water, and several more risky baskets next to it.

Multiple teepads that offered a pretty big variety in difficulty. I only had time to play the longs(blue), but could see that reds were still appropriate for beginners, as they eliminated most of the water carries, and were usually significantly shorter.

Good risk vs. reward on many shots. I felt like this was a course where you could decide how difficult it was going to be. On the holes that played along the water you could choose how much of the fairway you wanted to bite off, and on the water carries it was pretty easy to see if you had to lay up or try to clear it.

Variety of fairway shapes. right to left, left to right, straight- a little bit of everything.

I putted with a roller. :)

Cons: Flat. theres some artificial elevation with baskets on hills, but all the fairways are flat, but it is the beach, theres not really much to work with.

Automatic wakeboard machine runs in between several holes. Didnt bother me much, but if you are the type that needs quiet during your throw, the sound of the machine and the people enjoying the wakeboard could be pretty distracting.

Other Thoughts: After seeing the rating of this course, I was pleasantly surprised. I usually play in/around Charlotte on courses that have higher ratings and would take this over a couple of them easily.

This course is one you could play over time and improve, and it would still be interesting. Gaining accuracy and distance open up opportunities that arent just maybe making it a little farther down the fairway. 10 and 11 are good examples- on 11 its about 185 to the edge of the water, but 330 to clear the water, and few options for a flat shot. 330 is my average long controlled drive, but a 330 ft. hyzer over the water in the wind was a tad uncomfortable at that time for me.

This could be a pro for some and a con for some- other than the water, bad throws werent punished too much. Recovery from hitting a tree or shanking your drive was fairly easy. I saved par on several holes by making a not too difficult upshot after a bad drive.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Well worth the $5

2-4    7/7/2014   7/10/2014
Review By: Timeetyo
Played: 34  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 1.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete tee pads on long & mid (blue & white) in good shape.
- Nice tee signs showing not only the normal info - but also info such as water carry - distance to water, etc as needed.
- 3 sets of well marked tees with varying difficulty and water risk. Blue has lots of water in play and some longer carries (250 is longest if you lay up on a hole or 2). White has a few shorter carries. Red has no carries but a few with water close by.
- Nice pro shop on site with a great selection.
- They pond dive for your discs and you can buy them back for a few $
- Good variety of golf shots required (outside of the water). Some are fairly tight - a few quite open - and one long bomber (over 1000' par 5).
- Hole 13. Tight double mando off the tee - and it opens up to either ~295 raised haning basket (blue) or 282' to a sunken basket (white). Bonus as I managed to ace the sunken basket with a nice hyzer flip. :)
Cons: - Not really a con to me - but $5 to play is worth the mention. (note - it was well worth the $5)
- Hole 16 crosses the road (twice). Although the road is not busy you can't see anything coming as you throw from the blue tee.
- Course flow got a bit awkward in a few spots and had me wandering a bit to find the next tee.
Other Thoughts: I have played both the blue & white tees and enjoyed them both (even though blue handed me my lunch...and stole my bandit RIP). I also brought along a beginner who had a good day with no lost discs from the reds. It is well worth the $5 to play and is the best of the courses that I was able to bag while in Charleston for a few days. This course has so much going for it with very few drawbacks. I just wish it was close to home so I could play it more often.

Great course!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/24/2014   7/4/2014
Review By: Blazemedown
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.7 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Beautifully kept tees/course with extraordinarily unique looks/holes. Great pro shop (great selection) with helpful staff (I recovered a disc I didn't even know I lost thanks to them).
Challenging course with crystal clear salt water coming into play on many holes.
Good mix of long open droves with some technical shots.
Cons: There's a lot of water- i could see how others might be frustrated after a bad round at this course and misrepresent the incredibly unique merits of this course with reviews
Other Thoughts: After 2 consecutive days at this course I managed to only lose 2 discs. From what my friends have told me, that was an accomplishment- many of those I've talked to faired much worse.
Regardless, it's a beautifully kept + totally unique course that is as challenging as it is spectacular.
Don't be fooled by the 4.x rating; it is one ofmthe best courses I've ever played

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Love, Love, LOVE this course!

5+    5/25/2014   5/29/2014
Review By: Apsey
Played: 47  Reviewed: 8
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-Challenging
-Well maintained
-great tee pads
-Blue, White, and Red Tees
-Pro shop on location
-low traffic / pedestrian interference
Cons:
- it's 35 minutes from my house
- it's $5 pay to play (with frequent players card you get 10th round free though)
Other Thoughts: If you couldn't tell by the subject line, I LOVE this course. I love courses that can kick my butt and have me return home with my tail between my legs, and from the Blue tee's, Trophy Lakes can do that. There is a lot of water on the course, but fortunately it is on private property and there are divers that go out and retrieve discs periodically. When you go in the pro shop to pay for your round there is a book at the counter that will list by name (provided you put your name on your disc) and the type of disc found. You can pay either $2 or $3 to get your disc back.

The thing that I really like about the Blue tees is that the water trouble isn't always right in front of you. It could be 3/4 of the way down the fairway which calls for a well thrown placement shot. Lots of risk reward shots out there. There is also a hole that breaks the 1,000 foot barrier. It's a par 5, but even that can be tough if you end up anywhere on the left side of the fairway.

The White tees are much easier, but still really fun to play. The water is still in play from the whites, but it's a lot less likely you'll find water compared to the blues. Some of the par 4's and 5's are fairly easy to pick up birdies on from the whites as well.

The property is a Wake boarding and Disc golf facility, so from time to time you will have to wait on your tee shot for a wakeboarder to go by on the cable pull, but that's generally really fast and not bothersome at all. I actually enjoy watching them while playing.

In my opinion, this course is a must play if you're in the Charleston area!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great Course For All Skill Levels!

1    4/9/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: thecoasterman589
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course will fit pretty much any player's skill level depending on which tee they play from because of the increasing amount of water from each tee (red tees don't really have many water hazards, while the blue tees have many water hazards). In addition, there was a ton of variation in hole design. For example, About half of the holes had some kind of water to worry about and half didn't. Also, some holes were heavily wooded and some were relatively open. The signage was good too. Each tee sign had the distances from each tee and a map of the hole. The course is well maintained and manicured and all of the tee pads, baskets, and signs seem in top-notch condition. There is also a great pro shop that sells many discs.
Cons: There is a $5 fee to play which can be a pain, but it is well worth the price! Also, on nice days, there will be wakeboarders practicing on the lakes right next to the holes. They are very loud and might even splash you a bit while you are putting (if you are close enough to the water). There is a ton of water, so losing a disc is very possible, but you could always purchase a new disc in the pro shop.
Other Thoughts: If you want a great day of fun, go to Trophy Lakes and bring $5, a golden retriever and some discs. It is one of the best DG experiences you can get in SC!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Wow.

1    4/9/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 46  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 1.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2014
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: -Three different tee pads
-Awesome Tee signs
-Pro shop to buy discs
-Very well maintained
-Practice basket
-On hole thirteen, there is a funnel basket and a hanging basket
-A nice challenge for people

Cons: -Some holes are too hard for starters; they can lose a disc
- Red tees have no tee boxes
-Hole 16 crosses a road
Other Thoughts: It is definitely worth $5 and I would come back to play here if I could.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good times

1    12/4/2013   12/17/2013
Review By: Chainsgoching
Played: 62  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2014
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I thoroughly enjoyed myself. I thought they used the lay of the land very well, the course was very well manicured and had a great mix of long, challenging and short holes with multiple tees on each hole, making it challenging for all skill levels. I see a lot of reviewers complaing about water hazards, but I also enjoyed them as well. It made things exciting. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone
Cons: The $5 to play, while worth the price, is a little steep. If I lived in the area it would suck to have to pay $5 everytime I wanted to play, as I typically play 2-4 times a week. Other than that....no gripes
Other Thoughts: Keep it up Trophy Lakes.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for Charleston area!

5+    7/28/2013   8/7/2013
Review By: JLloydlongputt
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This is a pro styled course, that offers a lot of variety and difficulty. With that being said the beginner or "Rec" tees are perfect for those still in their learning curve. There's plenty of water hazards to keep you on your toes as you make your way around the lakes. The layout caters to every skill level, and its very well maintained.
Cons: Overlapping of some holes on the back nine would be the main complaint here. Water hazards can be a headache but more concerned players can avoid it from the red tees. Dodging the wakeboard cable on tee 12 can be frustrating as well.
Other Thoughts: This is a great all around course and is well worth the trip. Anyone who lives in the area has to feel lucky to have TL near by, I sure do!

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Water, Water, Everywhere

1    7/28/2013   8/3/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 228  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 3.9 Years
13 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I think it was around hole thirteen when I found myself questioning the existence of dry land. From six on, there will not be a hole in which water is not impacting your toss. There are many crossings, though only a couple of significant length. When you aren't throwing over water, you are usually throwing parallel to it.

I like courses that have an identity and Trophy Lakes certainly has that. It's not perfect but the exploring fingers of water create several memorable holes. Holes like eight, which backs you up into the woods, to throw onto a narrow stretch of land between an extremity of the lake and row of planted trees. The green is on a cairn with water on two sides. Or twelve, which allows a long layup before the crossing, unless you dare to try and make the 400 feet from tee to the far side of the water in one go.

It's a course you will have to let go to play. You will hit water at some point. Accept it. Throw floaters because you will likely get them back. The water at Trophy Lakes is better than on most courses. If you're there in the summer, you will see people swimming in it just around the bend.

There are three tee locations, and they provide a wide variety of difficulties. The short tees are almost too easy, with some very short holes, and none of the water crossings that make this course worth playing. The far tees are very difficult, often adding length before a crossing. The middles are the best designed though, and those are the ones that give the purest vision of Trophy Lakes.
Cons: You'll get to make a some interesting throws here, yes, but you won't throw much is anything going right. This will likely be a frustrating course for most RHFH or LHBH players. There are many situations will realize that their favored style throw will put them in the water.

You will also find quite a few uninspired holes, in particular the first few. With zero elevation, its hard to make that many distinct holes, and when Trophy Lakes ventures away from the water, that shows. Hole one throws at a tent area. Hole eighteen throws along the parking area: row of cars is not an interesting obstacle. Another hole requires you to throw over an area of water where people will be wakeboarding.

The worst part of Trophy Lakes, by far, is the flowage. The navigation between holes is terrible, even for the standard tees. There's a lot of backtracking and wandering about looking for tees. The signs are good, so the basket can be easily found from the tee. It's just that the tee is often in a terrible location considering the position of the previous pin.
Other Thoughts: Good solid course, that I'd go back to when in Charleston, but it's neither a course that I would want to play a lot, or a true destination course.

13 of 16 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.