Charleston (John's Island), SC 
Trophy Lakes Share
Uploaded By: DavidSauls Hole #18 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 272ft.   3 / 456ft.   3 / 680ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Go big or go home

2-4    1/19/2011   2/1/2012
Review By: widespreadpanic
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.9 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Private park means you can drink beer while you play!
Pro store with decent disc varaiety.
Nice bathrooms.
Beautiful layout with extreme shots across water.
Cons: You're gonna lose a disc if you go big.
Other Thoughts: This course is a total mind f__k. The sheer amount of over the water shots questions your confidence in yourself. They say a diver retrieves the discs and you can pick them up at the shop, but if you don't live in the area, it doesn't do much good.

Overall a must see course. Worth the $5 price of admission. I'll be back next time I'm on vacation in the area.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Sphinchter Tingler!

2-4    10/28/2011   11/18/2011
Review By: Toro71
Played: 67  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -well maintained. A course that looks like it recieves a lot of traffic, but I've never seen more than 3-4 other groups of golfers out there. That means this course is somebody's baby, and it shows.
-"Rasta Corner," the bench on #4 tee, hilarious.
-design. Best use of water I've ever seen on a course. I'm from Charlotte, where we have 15 courses, and maybe 4 water shots. Enough water that the lack of elevation isn't missed at all. Quite a few "signature" holes here, despite the relatively boring topography. Somewhat open, and as I said, flat, so the wind is also a big challenge factor. the two sets of tees are great. The short Reds are fun and reasonably tough, the longer Blues offer some of the toughest risk/reward desicions you'll ever face off the tee, especially if you're right around the 300-325 ft range in D.
-Some people don't like pay-to-play, but it's only a fiver (free if you buy two discs, which you probably will after your round,) and that plus the relative difficulty mean that unless there's a tourney going on, it's usually just a few groups of serious golfers out there.
-the on-site pro shop is a crucial plus, since even the most accomplished golfer can get greedy on some of the holes out here, and toss plastic into the drink. Not to mention, the pro shop is usually "manned" by a hottie in a bathing suit (male or female,) which can offer pre-round inspiration for even the most hard-hearted hucker.
-John's Island park, about 1.5 miles away, has a decent 9-holer next to a soccer field, perfect for warm-up rounds/bombs.
-at 6' 3", I'm a big fan of tee pads of adequate length, particularly on holes where i'm asked to throw as far as I can.
-Water-ski facility, so (I assume) no 'gators!
Cons: I love this layout, but anyone can nitpick, yes?

-can be tough to find the place if you don't know where you're going
-first time through, navigation/basket location can be a tad dodgy. You may need to scout a couple of holes, since the map and tee signs are wrong on a hole or two. (Lookin at you, 14!)
-they don't sell drinks at the pro-shop, meaing water, etc, and the heat can be brutal with a capital B out there, and the course is flat, but long and pretty open (sunny.) So, bring as much water (and towels, etc) as you ever carry, unless it's winter. Bug spray, too, probably.
-If you're still a beginner-stage player, this course will be frustrating, especially from the Blues.
-Holes 2 and 3, and the early part of the back 9, kind of mush together, both in a design sense (275 ft shots through loose stands of small-bore trees,) and on the back 9, in a lay-out sense (on a busy day, groups can throw into each other.) They do a passable job of making these holes unique from each other, but not 100% great on that. Like the hole with the Red basket buried up to the top of the tray, and the Blue basket hanging from a tree 15 ft off the ground...mmmm, OK.
Other Thoughts: Like I said, I'm from Charlotte, and spoiled course-wise, but we don't have anything like the 'Lakes, and since my old man has a place in the area, I try to spend a day out there whenever I'm in town. This is a great course, the best risk/reward course I've ever palyed, creatively designed and a blast to play. Bring water, and your very best mental game.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the price of admission

1    5/21/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: lxdawg25
Played: 32  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a really cool course. It has a bunch of interesting changes that make it a very fun course. Located on private property around two water ski runs it was a really interesting property. There were two tees for every hole. I played the blues mostly but did go to the reds on a few holes. A pro shop on site with some good friendly people is also a huge plus. I bought a Wahoo pre round and they sent the boat down to pick it out of the water for me when it got stuck in the middle.

Hole 6 - Blue tee is a long drive out over the water, it was fun proving that I could shoot it.

Hole 10 - I liked this hole because it had multiple ways to play it. I played it down the opposite shore than crossed the water. Others in my group just followed the shore to the basket.

Hole 13 - The sunken basket. I think this hole would be more fun without the mando off the tee box but the sunken basket is a nice gimmick that makes this hole memorable.

Hole 14 - 1000 feet. What more can I say, not really open enough to bomb it but definitly a great hole for those wanting a challenge.

Hole 15 - A great risk reward hole. An over the water drive with a tree filled island sitting in the middle of it. You can go the long safe route, but for a real thrill try to thread the needle on the island for an easy 3.
Cons: This course is not beginner friendly. I know it has the red tees but I went with family and they were all dragging by the end. There was a lot of frustration with all of the water shots and the long routes around the shore. I personally would have preferred a course that felt a bit more cohesive and "serious". It was fun but I just think it had a feel of a gimmick course to it not a true championship style course. Maybe I'll feel differently if I go back and play but it just felt a bit over the top.

Hole 16 - I just really think this hole could be scrapped. It really ruined the round. Before driving I had to walk the entire hole to find the basket. A drive, then a lay up across the road which is OB than another layup back across the road, then a long putt. It just had a very pointless feel to it and was very frustrating, which brings me to my next point which not all would consider a con.

- Absolutely no swimming. I threw a drive in on 16. I'll never get to see that disc again. I get they don't want folks swimming while they're running customers on the ski runs but that only happened twice the whole time we were out there, I just wish I could have asked for permission or something because that was one of my favorite discs and the water was crystal, I just couldn't go get it, and I doubt they will ever get it either.
Other Thoughts: It was a fun course but the heat was very very brutal. I personally don't know if I'd go there again but it is an hour + drive from my folks place and to drive that far and pay was a bit rough for the quality of the course. If I was in Charleston this may be a much different story. I'd much rather go play some of the courses in Columbia though they are mostly free and much more enjoyable design wise.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Throw over lakes

1    5/5/2011   5/24/2011
Review By: DWill
Played: 232  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 37.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In a very well maintained piece of property, that is dedicated to just disc golf, so no wandering pedestrians to watch out for. The course is fairly easy to navigate, in a clockwise direction around one of the lakes. It starts and stops at a well stocked pro shop, with plenty of parking and on-site bathrooms. There are also other water sport activities that non disc golfing family members can partake in, while you are playing a round or two.

There are two tee pads on most holes, with tee signs and concrete pads. The shorter pads are great for beginners up to high intermediate players, while the long pads are challenging even for the top pros. There is a good mix of distance variety, from some makeable deuces to reasonable par 4s.

The course plays over, around and near a long lake, that requires you to make good decisions and execution of your shots. Whether it's throwing over the water or parallel to it, very few mistakes will go unpunished.
Cons: The map seemed out of sync with the course. An example, hole 14s basket was much farther than what the map indicated.

Chance of losing a disc here is pretty high, with all the water, especially from the longer tees.

Tee pads 2 and 6, are a little too close for my liking. Also, fairways 12 to 14 are parallel to each other and errant throws may intrude on one another.
Other Thoughts: It is a pay for play course. Some players think that is a pro, some think it is a con, I will let you decide for yourself.

The course is very flat, with little to no elevation changes. That is how it is in this part of the country, so I'm not going to count that against it. If it had elevation that it didn't use, then I would call that a con.

There is a sunken basket (#13), that I wasn't really a big fan of. In my opinion, it's a little easier to get it in, since you can never be too low.

The jewel of Charleston, this course offers the best disc golfing experience in the area. It is difficult and challenging, but in a beautiful surrounding.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite course to date

1    5/14/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: Christianlamb
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Private course that really makes great use of the space provided. Two long and fairly wide lakes make great water shots that take your breath away at times. Plenty of long par 4's and some par 5's that will allow all players to test their arms. Plenty of variety here as well. Some hard left and right turns w/ some baskets that are somewhat elevated. One basket was in the ground, which I had never played. Signs were clearly marked that lead to the next tee. Concrete was well laid for tees as well.

The course also had a good pro shop w/ some friendly staff.
Cons: Baskets were not marked w/ numbers and many of the tees had faded pictures that did not show where to throw for the basket. One basket was moved from original location and I could not find it until I played the next hole. If you are not already a skilled player that has a handle on your drive then be prepared to lose more than one disc in the lakes.
Other Thoughts: Even though there were more than a couple cons for this course I still mark this as my favorite 18 holes to date. To put this in perspective I have only played 6 courses, but I have played some good ones.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Hometown go-to course

5+    2/22/2011   2/25/2011
Review By: Beachwail
Played: 80  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2011
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variety of open and wooded, long and short holes completely flat no real elevation changes at all.
Some picturesque baskets! Very well groomed and maintained. Top notch.
Ability to work short game and long game, nice variety of shots. 9 holes are under 300 feet. Red tees are fun and challenging, and Blue tees are pro-level and very challenging.
Secluded from public, very tranquil and private feeling.
Good pro shop, nice folks. Discraft and Innova great selection. Used discs for $5 each, some recovered from the lakes so you can get great plastic here if your timing is right!
Holes are very well marked, all Blue and Red tees are concrete and indicate distance.
No extreme woods here at all. Underbrush is minimal and lost discs are typically only due to water. Lots of open throws, lots of tree obstacles as well. Good mix.
Cons: Tee Maps are outdated/hard to follow.
Lots of water, some long water throws= lost discs.
Water is very deep at the edges, so often even 3 feet into the water is a goner disc.
3 baskets are within 15 feet of water's edge.
Championship watersports (water skiing, boating, etc) are weaving through the lakes during the warm season, can be distracting at times.
Other Thoughts: We play this course at least once a week and it never gets old! My dog comes out sometimes and walks the 2+miles per round, sloshes around in the lakes amidst the occasional white herons and orange sunsets. A beautiful place to play and get away from the hustle-bustle. Not a lot of noobs play here because it's intimidating with all the water. Everyone seems very respectful and nice. Looking forward to constant improvement in my game thanks to this course!
I play the Reds mostly. Here's my recap:
1. 260ft. Pretty wide open "upshot" with a tree in the center of the fairway. Choose anhyzer or hyzer and go for your ace run :)
2. 225ft. Throw a laser into a group of pines and oaks surrounding the basket. Another ace run opportunity.
3. 225ft. Heavier woods, tight fairway with a Discraft sign smack in the middle. Short hole with a few options from the tee--pick left, center, or right :)
4. 225ft. The tunnel shot of the course, not a super-tight one. Just fling your putter or mid straight as an arrow for an ace run. Elevated tee sits on a 5ft mound of dirt creating a difficult putting situation. Lay up for par or go for the risky birdie?
5. 275ft. Wide open fairway with heavy woods lining the left side. Some trees guarding the basket on its right side, but a straight shot works great.
(this is the end of "birdie row" as we call it...if you're throwing well the first 5 holes are easy birdies.)
6. 546ft. Par 4. Your drive has to span about 240ft over the lake. It's intimidating especially with winds whipping in your face! Then your 'long' upshot goes thru a forest of oaks and pines that allows for many lines. Water hazard along the right of the fairway.
7. 260ft. A technical shot that doglegs right around trees and the basket sits only 10 feet from water's edge, sloping down!!! Fairway is wide open, great flick shot.
8. 280ish?? Straight shot out of the woods edge, over water and the basket sits 15 feet from water's edge. Fairway is the "beach" where water is on the right. Very dangerous water here, mature large trees on the left.
9. 243ft. A bunch of pines in the fairway makes for some line selection on this shorter hole. Find your hole and you have an ace run. Basket sits in moderately dense woods edge.
10. 324ft. Signature Hole! Throw 300+ over water and land on the elevated basket perch. Very picturesque. Very dangerous too, basket has water on the right and behind! Straight or hyzer shot is wide open, just throw long and land on dirt!
11. 415ft. Par 4. Throw over about 150ft of water and into a bunch of trees. Large lake on right side of fairway as well. Big hyzer drive over the lake can get your eagle opp. Otherwise pick your lines thru the trees.
12. 380ft. Small arms needs to "lay up" because water starts about 200ft. up and you need to throw 300+ to span the water. Lines of trees prevent you from ripping your drive...has to be a well-placed shot to make it through. Mando on the right side.
13. 282ft. Signature hole. Two Mando's are 5 feet in front of the tee-box. they are about 4 feet apart and distracting!! Throw straight through them and down the tight fairway to the sunken basket, it only sticks about 1-2 feet out of the ground!!
14. 750ft. "The par 5". Follow the dirt road down the wide open fairway, 2 good drives and you're looking at easy birdie. End up in the woods on either side and it's trouble.
15. 260ft. Ace run. Wide open with one tree in the fairway and some water to about 150ft. Gentle RHBH hyzer/fade.
16. 450ft. Crazy out of bounds here, the hedges/posts hold a thick rope lining the road. You pretty much have to lay up in the fairway before the road and then weave your upshot next to the elevated basket. This is the basket you see when driving in to Trophy Lakes' entrance.
17. 273ft. Well-placed pines make for a tricky line, the rope/hedges on the right are OB. The blue tees have 300+ of water off the box!!
18. 380??? Water lines the right side of the fairway, OB road on the left side. Dense trees down the center...drive up on the beach near the water's edge for an easy upshot.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Plan to play all day

5+    11/20/2005   2/6/2011
Review By: filobedo
Played: 195  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 11/20/2012
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Private course and well maintained by Joe to the E and members of the CDGC and a challenge from the beginner tees, medium and long tees. Pro shop on site. Course has a mix of par 3s, 4s and a 5. The course continues to evolve throughout each year just as Stoney Hill does. The most recent addition is the elevated tee pad that took numerous man hours to build by a few CDGC members and the new benches next to teepads spearheaded by Mikey T and the great signs by Plays It Forward during the Fall of 2012. The course is pay to play which is the future of the sport. To keep this course in the ground, pay, $5 at the Pro Shop or put in the mailbox next to the door if closed. With this course being private they can pull it at anytime so please pay if you plan to play.
Cons: People that do not pay to play! Nothing is more frustrating than seeing people getting out of vehicles and heading to hole #1 without paying!
Other Thoughts: The gem in Charleston, SC!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Wow!!

2-4    12/28/2010   12/30/2010
Review By: N8malibu
Played: 43  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Certainly in my top 3 favorite courses! A great second round may be partly why I enjoyed this course so much. Not super technical but the water hazards make for a very interesting day, great layout and use of terrain. Staff at the pro shop was friendly and helpful, bought and Innova beer coozie and a mini.
Cons: Signage didn't have pars listed for the reds. There's no bar on the course
Other Thoughts: Local turned me on to CharlestonDGC.com where I found a score card that had the pars and info on other local courses.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 wet and wild spot

1    8/11/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: oki40484
Played: 31  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.1 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: skiers put on a great show compared to the discgetwet show i was putting on.
they got their own pro shop, lose your favorate disc they have you one waiting
Cons: we were the only ones camping

water is deep in spots, anti disc retrievable spots.
some reason i cannot putt when beutiful girls are out doin tricks on skis and wake boards.
Other Thoughts: don't try to ski like them girls, you will only get your feeling hurt.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 40th course

1    7/18/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 87  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 8.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Where to start? This course is friggin' awesome. The campground it's in rocks, and the landscape is just about as perfect as you can get. The upkeep is outstanding, and I love the personal touches that are strewn throughout the course. Let's cover the basics:

Great mix of shots - the front nine is a bit more techincal than the back, where bombs abound. Wooded holes placed in between water shots for a nice blend. Believe it or not, the wood shots will hurt your score more than the water; there are some tight gaps to thread through. Keep your shots low (if you can) for the best results. The water shots are breathtaking both in their beauty and menace. I was fortunate enough not to lose anything in the drink, although I'm sure many have.

All the pro tee pads (blue) are concrete. While the ams (red) are not, they do have something down over the dirt, whether it's a rubber pad or a persian area rug (awesome!). The variation in tee placement is great, offering not only more distance from the pro tees but different angles and lines from the ams.

Every hole (and almost every tee) has a sign with hole number and diagram. No vandalism here. There are also "next tee" directional signs between almost every hole that direct you to not only the next hole but to each coloured tee (a very big plus).

The professionalism put into this course blew me away. I'm not sure if I played on the tail-end of a tournament weekend or what, but I've never seen anything like this. Discraft banners up everywhere, logoed flags on top of every basket - "greens" were even created with spraypaint around the pins! Amazing.
Cons: My God I am hard-pressed to find anything wrong with this course. I can't really knock the lack of elevation because it's in Lowcountry. The only thing that irked me was that there weren't any distances listed on the tee signs. It had diagrams and everything which was great, but on hole 14 I had no idea how FAR the basket was. It was impossible to tell on the diagram. It was like a 900' hole, but the diagram made me think it was only 300' or 400'. I hate throwing vaguely in a generalized direction. However, this was the only hole in which I really felt lack of distance on the signs disrupted the round. If you think I'm nitpicking, you try to find something wrong with the course!
Other Thoughts: I am uploading a few new pictures, so check those out!

Love the hilltop basket on #4 and the sunken pin on #13. The thought and care put into this course is apparent.

The back nine is BRUTAL. I was unprepared for the length after the shorter front half, and I paid for it in my final score. But I don't care. What an experience - I highly recommend playing this course if you're in the area and even making it a travel destination.

I played hella early so the pro shop wasn't open, but it looked sweet from what I could tell. If it's closed, please put your five bucks in the drop box by the door. You won't regret it.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.