North Garden, VA 
Walnut Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #2 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 130ft.   3 / 205ft.   3 / 232ft.   3 / 307ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great, but confusing

1    4/25/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: chillumz
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pretty good variety

Elevation changes make shots interesting

Some open, some wooded

Very pretty park with a pavilion and little beach

Cons: The course was really fun to play and I enjoyed the moderately challenging holes, but the layout is just plain confusing at times. The markings are not very clear between holes and the hole maps at each tee are very basic.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

great course

2-4    9/23/2012   12/19/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/17/2013
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Layout - From a strict layout perspective this course is amazing. It gives you a little bit of everything and different looks within each hole.

It starts with two permanent set of pins and two pads on almost every hole. This gives you four ways to play each hole which ranges from beginner to advanced in difficulty.

This course will really make you work the disc in a number of ways; using different shots on a variety of terrains. This course gives you everything from open to wooded, up and downhill, fast greens and more than one brush with water.

The mixture of terrain is paired with holes that really force you to combine your technical game with the ability to bomb. There's open shots here but you'll need to be accurate and when the course gets tight it gets hairy.

This course has some really awesome holes that couple layout with beauty. 16-18 is one of the best 3 hole stretches of disc golf I've seen so far.

Equipment - The pads are large and provide plenty of room. There are bathrooms on the premise.

Atmosphere - Gorgeous park, rolling hills with tons of elevation change. It's a hike to do all 18. It's relatively low traffic in terms of other park users being in your way. The course is built next to a beautiful lake.
Cons: Layout - Not much to complain about here. A lot of the short pad to short basket holes are boring but are suited for beginners. Even with the multiple configurations there are a few holes that are solid but boring and bring down the awesomeness of the rest of the course.

The flow of the course can be confusing due to some baskets being farther from the next pad. There's a few spots where it's hard to tell which basket you are throwing to because they're all out in a field. Bring a map.

Equipment - Probably the biggest con to the course is here. The pads are large but astroturf and not in the best of shape.

Tee signs with a map showing the hole and both basket locations would be a huge help.

The baskets are older and not the best, they weren't horrible but worth mentioning. I could also see a few places where an extra bridge or set of steps can make the course safer.

Atmosphere - You do play close to a road a couple times, not that big of a problem because it's a park road. You also have to pay to get in the park at some times, also not that big of a problem cuz it's worth it.
Other Thoughts: This course is a really good one. What stops it from being great is a few filler holes coupled with some equipment problems I mentioned. I'll say again that this place is gorgeous and 16-18 really is an amazing stretch of disc golf. I highly recommend coming here just to play those three... and try to park the 18 long basket off the short tee, I did.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the visit

1    8/14/2011   2/19/2012
Review By: crystal haze
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 20.2 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Similar to others:
Nice variety, scenery, mix of woods and open, some long holes.
Great hike as well as golf round.
Cons: Signage could be clearer and indicate where baskets are.
Sign from parking lot to tee 1.
Other Thoughts: Great course for anyone in the C'ville area. I've taken to visiting whenever I'm down there.Looks like it would be a nice park to do other activities as well, like canoe, swim, walk.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Superb course for all levels of play

1    7/17/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.2 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course with a variety of elevation, distances, and directions. Multiple tee locations were often very different. Some holes played like 4 unique holes.
Magnet system in the kiosk to show which pin locations are in.
Course is set up in 2 nine hole loops incase you need to take a break or refill your water bottle.
clear gravel boxed in tees with tee signs.
Bathroom under the large pavilion by the pool.
Water in play on a few holes, but little risk of disc loss if you choose the safer basket. Hole 18 far pin was really the only hole were I thought I could lose a disc. I suppose you could shank it in the water on hole 17 and flub a shot on hole 2, but the risk is really not high.
This is an attractive tournament quality course and is a must play for anyone in the area. It ranks up with many of Virginia's finest courses.
Cons: Some tee pads were overgrown and in rough shape, many others were uneven and tough to throw from.
No sign to find hole 1.
Some navigational issues. Hole 3's tee looks up the hill to 6, but the real basket is in the woods. Hole 13's map appears as if you play striaght through the tight trees, when the baskets are really a sharp right.
Baskets were tough to see in the woods, yellow number plates like White Bank has installed would be perfect.
You have to write down which holes had long baskets, some had 2 baskets, others only had one in place.
Other Thoughts: This course is physically tough. The elevation combined with lack of shade gave this course a spot in the top 10 physically demanding courses I have played.
If every hole had both baskets in position I would have stayed all day taking occasional breaks to cool off in the water.

If you arrive before the pool opens up they do not charge. They began charging at 11 the day I played.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

walnut creek

5+    6/26/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: bnbanbury
Played: 36  Reviewed: 15
This review was updated on 9/12/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Multiple tees and pins keep the course fresh, and the longs make for a challenging round.
-well designed pin locations require a full range of shots
-beautiful woooded setting, it would be a nice walk in the woods here even if you weren't throwing discs
-great use of water and elevation to add challenge and wow factor to several tees
-finishes with a bang, as 16, 17, and 18 are three awesome and memorable holes
-good signs at every tee box
Cons: -signage between tees could be improved as the trails can be a little confusing
- i personally didnt have a problem with the crushed gravel tees, but concrete would still be an improvement
Other Thoughts: what a great day of disc golf! while the case can certaily be made for some other VA courses like the grange and new quarter being more technically demanding, i have never had a more enjoyable overall experience playing a round of golf. both the course and park are beautiful and well maintained and the layout it challenging without being laborious. worth making a trip to play here for sure.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Walnut Creek

1    4/29/2011   4/30/2011
Review By: Kent18
Played: 121  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Great flow to the course when you figure out where it goes.
2) Beautiful park setting with lake
3) All baskets were in great condition
4) Most holes have two pins and two teepads for variety
5) Good mix of anhyzer and hyzer holes
6) Lots of elevation use
7) Loved hole 17 and 18
Cons: 1) No firm teepads, they are all made of loose gravel
2) Some signage missing on holes and in traversing to the next hole
3) Ticks are present
4) Can be hard to find the next teepad due to lack of sinage
Other Thoughts: This course was so much fun to play but at the same time I was sad that a course of this caliber has not invested in concrete or rubber tee pads yet. By adding a more stable tee pad solution here and fixing some signage issues this course could be a top 25 course. This course would make my top 3 if it had a better tee pad situation. There are alot of blind shots here if its your first time so allow more time if you want to shoot well. The longer tee pads present a much harder challenge to reach par which I like, its almost a completely different course. Definitely worth the trip but be prepared for teepads that could be wet and are warped. In terms of natural beauty this course is near the top and stands alone among many other courses out there as is.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

One of Virginia's best

2-4    10/16/2010   10/23/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2012
11 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun, hilly course that winds through a beautiful park. Some challenging holes and amazing views.
- Walnut Creek is mainly a wooded course, but there's even variety that everyone should holes they both love & hate. Course features some extreme elevations, both up & down. some holes with not-so much elevation, or none at all. Some doglegs, open holes, and, of course, plenty of wooded holes.
- Dual tee pads and/or baskets on just about every hole. With the long tees, you get some layouts that are completely different layouts that the short tees. #2 & 7, for example, play different depending on which tee you're throwing from.
- Every hole also has a long & short basket location. The kiosk in the parking lot lets you know which position the baskets are in. This is very helpful with so many blind tee shots.
- Major love for the tee signs showing the distance to clear the water (on water holes, obviously.) It's one thing to guess the distance (it looks like 200 - 250 to throw over the water); it's another to have it on a sign and remove the doubt.
- The park itself is amazing. Huge plot of land (enough for a second 18 maybe??) that really puts you out in nature. There are vey few courses I've played when you don't hear cars/traffic in the distance. I loved the views of the lake from holes #2,3 & 5.
- This is a great course for all skill levels. I saw many people carrying 1 or 2 discs and other casual players on the course when I played.
- Plenty of benches throughout course. You'll need them as you walk up and down the hills.
Cons: I noticed several reasonable issues during my time at the course that could pose problems.
- Course signage could be improved. During a stretch on the front 9, you can see 5 baskets (for 4 different holes), along with several tee pads. On other holes, you see the basket for a different hole than the one your playing. On multiple holes, I had to walk almost the entire way to the basket before I could spot it. I understand doing that on blind tee shots, but on #7, it's almost a straight shot, but the basket blends into the shadows. A big help for both of these problems would be yellow baskets with numbers on them.
- A bigger issue with signage is the transition between holes. The problem here is the bike trails that wind through the woods, often near, and/or crossing holes. On at least one occasion I started walking down a path only to realize I'd been on a bike trail. Even with a map, it's easy to get lost. There was only signage on several holes, such as from #16 basket to #17 tee. More of these signs would be extremely helpful for first-time players.
- The course intertwines a little too closely with the bike trails at times. Not only did I get confused between disc golf fairways/paths & bike trails, but so did bikers. I had some pedal up a fairway just as I was about to tee off, at which time they realized they'd gotten lost. You really need to use extreme caution when throwing.
- I was surprised at the lack of restrooms & water fountains. It appeared (from my out-of-town perspective) that the real bathrooms are only open during the summer, when the waterfront is open. Playing in October, when the waterfront was closed, I only saw 1 port-a-jon for the entire park.
- This course has huge "lost disc potential." In a weird way, the biggest risk for losing a disc in the water, isn't on a true water hole (#2, 17 & 18), but on #1. This is a dogleg right, with the fairway sloping down to the left, to the water. It'd be easy to have a disc sail or roll right into the water if you're not careful, or unlucky.
- The other, bigger threat for losing discs is the combination of blind tee shots, and elevation changes. Throwing around a corner with a steep drop-off equals problems if you're not careful. My buddy & I passed a group of 3 guys on #16 (a blind tee shot, dogleg right hole) who were searching for a lost disc. Nothing out of the ordinary there. The problem was the disc had sailed off to the left, down the slope, and they were searching from about a third of the way down the fairway to about 100 feet past the basket, about a 300 foot-span going up and down the hill. I felt that easily could have been us, on about half a dozen holes.
Other Thoughts: I think the several negatives about the course were more prevalent than normal because Walnut Creek is so close to being great. Even with the concern of losing a disc, or walking around an extra 30 minutes, this course is in "must play" list.
- Be prepared for a slow round your first time here. Between find the holes & baskets and taking in all the sights and sounds, it's a slow go. The first time we played, it took two of us more than 2 hours to finish a round. The second time through, we knocked off about 45 minutes, finishing in less than an hour and a half.
- I was a let down by #17, by most accounts, the course's signature hole. The scenery is great, watching your disc sail forever is cool, but it's actually a relatively easy hole. The first time through I missed an easy putt for 3, the second time I had a longer putt for 2, and had a tap-in 3. The lake on the right should never come in to play. You're much more likely to land in the small creek near the basket than the lake. At least you get your exercise walking up the hills.
- For natural course beauty, this ranks right up there with High Country in Jefferson, NC as the best I've played. The view from the fairway of #5 to the tee, with the lake in the background is simply amazing. Playing the hole with the leaves changing colors was picturesque. Trust me, the pics on here don't do justice for the view. And there are other great views throughout the course as well.
- This is definitely a must play for anyone within several hours. If you live in Virginia and don't make a trip here, you're doing an injustice. It'd be nice if there were another course within 30 minutes, but it's good enough by itself.

11 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Wow...

2-4    6/10/2010   1/14/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/10/2011
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The best piece of land I have seen for disc golf. A bunch of wooded hills on the side of a cool little lake. All set in a nice little park. There is also some some creeks running through the course. A perfect location for a course. Multiple tees and basket positions. Signs indicating basket positions, distances and next tee pad. Great variety. Course does not favor forehand or backhand players. I had to use a little bit of everything to complete a round. Great use of the available land. Not one basket position that I didn't like. The few straight shots had either trees guarding the basket or elevation so the shot played to a blind basket. Both woods and water are used to add difficulty on almost every shot. Several shots that must go over or near the lake. Great risk/reward opportunities. Hole #2 is the first chance to go over the lake. You must throw out of the woods and over a small bay. Fairly easy from the white tees, but the blues add distance and more water. Hole #17 has got to be the signature hole. A beautiful bomb of 460' off of a hill overlooking the lake. The throw must go over the dam and end up down the hill on the baskside. But a turnover would go right into the lake and a poorly placed shot could go down the hill and into the dam overflow pool. The basket sits right next to the overflow and creek. Just a great hole. Bring your camera. Hole 18 plays back across the dam or over the lake. Basket is located on a small hill side next to a small point of the water.
Cons: Gravel tee pads. No concrete. Uneven and not great for winter play. Hate to sound old but almost a safety hazard when they have some snow and ice on them. It just about makes it not worth playing in bad weather. Navigation and signage could use some improvement. Either there were some baskets I couldn't find, or some in the long positions were missing. I am not realy sure. Hard to tell from tee pad where the basket was. Some holes had 1 basket and some had 2. Or I missed something. Either way, it could use a tweak. There are also trails throughout the course that are for bikers, hikers or walkers. Make sure it is clear before you throw.
UPDATE
After playing for the second time I still had some issues understanding which baskets are for what holes, but it was a little more clear. After a few rounds this probably becomes a non-issue. Bette signs and some indication on the baskets would really help.
Other Thoughts: This is the toughest review I have done. I absolutely love the course, but disliked the tee pads so much I had to downgrade the overall grade. Right now I'd really give it a 3.75 if that was an option. It is just a great place for a course. It is almost a crime that it doesn't have concrete pads. If they add that and make the navigation a little better I could easily give this course a 4.5. Add a pro shop, restaurant and bar and it would be my first 5. In good weather I would definitely consider this a destination course, worthy of a good road trip. In the winter it's probably not worth it.
UPDATE
After playing this course in good weather, if 95+ is considered good, I still like this course a lot for it's good qualities, and the natural pads play much better in the summer. Without ice and snow I had no issues with footing. Scenery and basket positions are so good at this course, that they overshadow the few faults that exist. With a little more work this course would be one of the very best. Just a real fun and challenging place to play a round.

I also saw one of the largest snakes I've ever seen outside of a zoo. It had to be about an 8' black snake working its way down a creek bed. Scared the hell out of me!

It's a little out of the way, but if you're anywhere close make sure you get to this course. You'll be happy you did.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 its not missin' much

2-4    4/9/2008   7/2/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 407  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.3 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -dual tees
-lots of elevation
-very well kept park
-easy to follow
-very challenging
-not crowded
-nice restroom facilities nearby
-maps & scorecards available on the billboard near tee 1
-lots of water and very pretty views, and the course is on a lake, so if you play on a hot day you can take a dip afterwards (hopefully its not to get a disc back!)
-all types of hole imaginable
-its a very pretty drive to get to the course on curvy Shenandoah mountain roads
-pretty easy to follow because the paths are well worn in
Cons: -dirt tees. a course of this caliber should have cement pads.
-poor tee signs
-many of the fairways in the woods have lots of little pieces of debris and roots and twigs that will affect the flight path of what you think should be a well thrown disc. these should be cleaned up.
-tees are only marked with colored blocks and aren't always labeled well on the signs, so they can occasionally be a little hard to find your first time here
Other Thoughts: its only an hour drive from Richmond, so its not that far away from anything major, just make a day trip out of it. Its also very close to UVA, so I'm surprised that more college students don't come here to play. Someone from the Charlottesville area should do some recruiting on campus and get some more people into the sport. Walnut Creek would be a great place for someone to learn and their skills would develop very fast.

This course is easily in my top 50, and is the best course in Western Virginia

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful, Majestic course

5+    7/27/2008   3/8/2009
Review By: DiscChick
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.4 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The setting is absolutely beautiful.

A wide variety of holes. Open fields and wooded areas. Challenging water hazards.
Multiple tee & pin placements allow many variations on the course.
Maps & scorecards available on-line. I highly recommend the map. Some holes are better marked than others.

The view from the 17th tee takes my breath away every time.

Picnic areas and a beach. Fishing.
Bathrooms (changing rooms), water fountains and vending machines
Cons: Multiple pin placements may cause some confusion

Natural tees can be treacherous
Other Thoughts: I will never get over the stunning beauty of this course. It's a must if you are in the Charlottesville area. For a good throw and a good hike.

Bring your swimsuit and take a dip in the lake after throwing on a hot day.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.