North Garden, VA
Walnut Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #11 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 185ft.   3 / 12325ft.   3 / 216ft.   3 / 263ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Very rewarding

1    1/5/2013   1/5/2013
Review By: blackmamba5490
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: great elevation change
multiple tees/pads
BEAUTIFUL scenery
challenging course!
nice tee pads for both tees
Heck of a workout
17th hole is INCREDIBLE
Cons:
A tad hard to navigate w/0 a map
Other Thoughts: Took a 2 hour road trip to play this place and it was worth it. Really enjoyed this course and hole 17 was the most amazing hole iv ever played!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Night, Johnny Boy

2-4    9/11/2011   9/17/2011
Review By: Stud Muffin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2011
4 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: >Challenging, mostly wooded course, with multiple tees and baskets.

>Beautiful scenery.

>A few stand out holes.
Cons: >Confusing.
*First, without telling someone, just try to find the first basket.

*The multiple Tees were not confusing, green carpet=white, blue carpet=blue. What was confusing is 2 baskets standing on each hole, so while playing in a match, if you do not determine which basket you are playing to before you throw, you will always find yourself in a argument with which basket to play, since we always want to play with what worked best with our tee shot..
Other Thoughts: A enjoyable experience.
Could be a 5 rated course (in my book) with a few simple little corrections like:

*Put up a sign on a tree near the Pavilion that says "Tee #1 This Way".
*Only have 1 basket up at a time, rotate their positions.
*Signs to next tees when it is not obvious.

But the biggest downfall to this course is it's location. You have to be either a toothless, or buck tooth hillbilly to live near this course.

...hope you like curvy roads. :D

4 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/18/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: stsiler
Played: 23  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Very beautiful, very scenic course. A quiet, serene experience.
- A must-visit for anyone playing in Virginia. Centrally located in the state, it is well worth even a two or three hour drive.
- Four different tee/basket combinations available, on most holes.
- Tee/basket combinations range from moderately difficult to very difficult.
- Course has a wide variety of hole types including wooded and open with varying elevation changes.
- Great use of water hazards on several holes.
Cons: - Course can be difficult to navigate without a map, at least for first-timers.
- Not all of the holes have the long baskets in place. This can be very confusing for those trying to play the long baskets, but who are unfamiliar with the course.
Other Thoughts:
Score Breakdown:
Variety:5 Balance:4 Strategy:5 Character:5 Fun:4 Avg: 4.6

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Phenomenal Fun Factor

1    5/30/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 114  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Large, scenic and located off the beaten path in the Blue Mountains, Walnut Creek Park is the quintessential destination course. The park itself is multi-use, has amenities and is well maintained.

The World Class layout includes:

Pro/Am tees (labeled blue/white respectively) for each hole with multiple baskets on some and alternate pin positions on others which equates to a variety of options for multiple skill levels.

Elevation change on practically every hole - from the gradually mild to the greatly extreme!

A well balanced mix of right/left/straight throws, open, semi-open and woods holes, uphill/downhill, risk/reward, fast greens, elevated tees, blind holes, water hazards, etc - basically most of the characteristics found in top rated, championship quality courses.

The tee signs are descriptive, the gravel tee boxes presented no footing issues and the baskets were in good shape. The course is well broken in and devoid of excessively thick, disc eating brush which reduces frustrating searches and disc loss possibilities (with the exception of the water hazards of course!).

The design and flow was flawless - while most certainly created with physical and mental challenge in mind, it registers highest on what I feel is the most important aspect of a course: Fun Factor!
Cons: Since its pay-to-play, I'll nit-pick here a bit.

While I did not have difficulty with the gravel/natural tee pads, some players may and honestly, rubber or concrete would be ideal but not necessary. Additionally, some of the blue tees were only marked with blue blocks rather than being carved out boxes with a wood defined border (as the majority were). I'd prefer there were tee signs at all the tee boxes as well. Navigation could be improved some with more directional arrows, etc (I had a map, did not have an issue but sense it could be a concern). In a perfect world this would be a disc golf only area. However it is not and DGers should be aware and mindful as there are mountain bikers, fisherman, and other park goers nearby/passing through the course (not a problem when I played).
Other Thoughts: I played from the Blue Tees; while it was tough both mentally & physically and challenged my game, I felt it was extraordinarily fair. None of the annoyances to detract from enjoying a round were to be found here (such as tedious navigation issues, excessively long walks between holes, flow or design flaws, overcrowding, etc). Therefore I could concentrate on my game which is a necessity if you want to play well here.

The flow was just perfect. It felt like the balance and sequence of hole types was always kept 'in check' and never seemed repetitive. The anticipation grew on each hole as the course unfolded which is a tell tale sign of a top notch course.

Most reviewers mention the last two holes as some of the best finishing holes anywhere. While that's true, I felt as if #16 (from the blue tee) needs to be included in this sequence. It's an elevated tee through a nearly 400 ft, tight wooded fairway sloping down into a ravine with the basket uphill at the edge of the woods. After playing this hole and stepping out to the majestic view of the lake, all I can say is 'wow, these may be the best THREE finishing holes I've ever played'.

Walnut Creek Park is pure disc golf delight which I'd recommend as a must play destination for any serious disc golfer.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Fantasic Finish

1    3/19/2010   4/6/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/18/2010
12 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: World Class layout employs every element to test your game...employs elevation, fast greens, tight woods, open air wind holes, doglegs,water , and length to challenge your game and your psyche. Plenty of treats here that you will remember:
#1 has a constructed elevated basket
#2 is a reachable throw across the pond if you can negotiate the tight off the tee trouble
#3,5,6 are elevation shift open bombs
#7 is a down and up over a ravine dogleg L that is quite fun finishes uphill to a fast green
#8 is quite a thrill..it's a downhill tight drive that L Hyzers back uphill like a J but all along the R side of the fairway theres a drop into steeper woods and stream...misplay here and you are in all kinds of trouble...challenging fun.
#11 has a crazy fast clay green that can cause havoc
#15 is another down and up dogleg but this one fades R uphill.
This all brings you to the greatest Tri-fecta of holes I have encountered in Disc Golf:
#16 shoots from atop a wooded hillside and you must throw straight a great distance through a fair but punishing gauntlet of trees over a valley to a basket perched on a hillside across the valley. Just pure wooded perfection here..the view of the lake from the basket and the lookback to the tee are amazing. (did I really just make that drive)
#17 is the funnest hole I have played to date...the signature hole that tees from 45 feet above the dam and the lake and then drops another 40 to the basket..which is placed just 10 feet from a 20 by 30 ft healthy deep pond. Oh it is a glorious view and best of all it's a glorious drive...you have to actually throw over the dam..often my discs would turn over the water in a terrifying way before fading hard down the steep sloped green grass of the dam. I parked my drive and missed the putt for birdie here...damn! Has got to be amongst the best holes ever made..makes a great course elite and a must play.
#18 Got balls how about a tee that shoots 250ish over water to a peninsula and then from that placement it's another 250ish to the basket over the lake again..oh and the basket is tucked on a hillside guarded by trees that might doink you into the drink. It's possible 4 here but also possible to double circle triple bogey as well. It's also a very pretty hole that will scare the hell out of you at the same time your taking in the view.
Overall not a bad hole here....not one bad hole..just some more epic than others. Multiple tees and a few multiple baskets here and there. Immediately makes my top 20. Water available near hole 1 and 9. Kiosk and plenty of parking.
Cons: Natural tees...not a problem for me but many want perfection and the luxury of perfect tees. Lots of sunbathers and mountain bikers for such a secluded park. I doubt they ever get too overwhelming but the public was nearby.
Other Thoughts: I love this place and the anticipation builds as you come to the finish...Play the long tees for a bigger thrill...many of the pics and video are from the shorts and these are not nearly as dramatic. Designed for the serious DGer and not for families and newcomers. Simply an amazing and beautiful while challenging and unique experience.

12 of 16 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/20/2009   1/13/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 102  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/22/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Scenic! Great for experienced players but less experienced players will still have a good time.
There is a nice variety of holes using elevation, water hazards, and obstacles. Multiple tee and basket placements are always a plus. Course wasn't crowded while I was there.

*Edit (4/12): The natural tees are gone and turf tees are in. Green turf for short tees and blue turf for long tees.
Cons:
Navigation can be an issue for first timers.
The first tee is tricky to find, from the parking area go towards the beach then to the right.

Bringing a map will help.
Other Thoughts: The fee is to get into the park during the summer season. Bring the family because there is plenty for them to do if they aren't disc golfers. I enjoyed a swim after my round. You get a great view on #17 where you may want to slow down and take it all in, maybe bring a camera too. This is one of my favorites to play!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Relentless Challenge

1    10/12/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 327  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Two tee positions, two basket positions per hole. Some holes - 4,7,16,18 come to mind - had two baskets. The map and scorecard available online made the course easy to follow/play. Beautiful park, an especially good play during the middle of October-November when the foliage is at its colourful peak.
Cons:
Stone/gravel teepads less than ideal. No current basket position indicator at teepad. (There was a current-location list at the welcome sign, but half of them were wrong).
Other Thoughts:
This course had tremendous variety. Some holes have very significant elevation changes, both downhill and uphill, a few are flat, but most have some minor change in elevation. A few wide open holes, a few completely wooded holes with challenging-but-fair throwing lanes, a few holes where you start in the open/woods finishing in the other, a few with broad fairways defined by woods/brush, a few across-the-meadow holes. A couple dead-straight initial drives, but most require some type of turn, with left/right in relatively equal balance. The sharpness of the turns vary - some near 90-degrees, others short-n-shallow, others requiring very long, continuous arcing shots, some fishhook/J-shaped!. Many tough pin positions - some elevated on mounds, others with sharp drop-offs or water nearby. Water potentially comes into play on four holes, with #18 requiring the player to make an accurate assessment of his abilities - throwing, or swimming, as the case may be! :-)

Favourite hole: #17-long, the obvious choice. Long, major downhill bomb with water on the right (R.I.P. Destroyer), with a left-turn and more downhill to reach the basket - with a small amount of water near the basket, too.

To-date, I've played 81 courses, 17 of them in Virginia, and this course easily makes it into my top five - certainly a must-play if anywhere near the area. The variety of the holes is fantastic, and playing from the long tees could pose a tremendous challenge - my round from the short tees was plenty tough for me.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  A great welcome back!

1    10/8/2009   10/9/2009
Review By: Hearty Discus
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very challenging, even from the the whites. Tons of elevation changes. Beautiful scenery all around. Interesting basket placements. A lot of thought went into the design of the course.
Cons: Tee boxes could be a little better. Course can be a bit confusing for someone who has never played it. Signage could be improved. Cement pads and improved signage would make this course just about perfect.
Other Thoughts: Just a great course to play after a 10-year hiatus from disc golf. It's really a shame there aren't more courses in the area, but I doubt I'll get tired of this Walnut Creek for a while.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 As good as it gets?

1    6/30/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.9 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is amazing. The views offered here are like nothing I'd ever seen on a disc golf course before. A picturesque lake is visible from many of the holes, and you throw over small parts of it twice. This is easily the most scenic course I have ever played - I would recommend bringing along a camera if you have room in your bag. In addition to the beauty of the lake, there is also a designated swimming area that provides a nice chance to cool off after a few rounds on a hot day.

Awesome views aside, the course itself is great. It has to be the best mix of open and wooded shots, uphill and downhill shots, doglegs, blind shots, etc. that I have ever seen. The course makes great use of the land - the open shots all feature different types of hills and slopes, and the wooded shots are varied between straight tunnel shots and sharp doglegs. The course is also very well marked, with quality signs at every tee and signs marking the trails to the next hole.

Like most other reviewers mentioned, the highlight of the course is easily Hole 17. The view from here is as good as it gets, with the winding lake to your right surrounded by tree-covered hills. The fairway is insane - the first 1/3 is a very steep hill, which briefly flattens out, followed by another steep hill that slopes off to the left of the fairway. The basket is 460 ft away next to a creek. This hole alone makes the course worth checking out.
Cons: I really don't think that there are many negatives here, but that's just me. If you prefer shorter courses that require less hiking, this is not the course for you. The tees here are all natural, but most of them were nice and flat without any roots so it wasn't really a big deal. The trails between the wooded holes are well-established, and most of them have bridges built where needed, but there is one or two places where the bridges are broken and you have to do a little exploring to find your way around. None of these factors really take away from the overall quality of this course, though.
Other Thoughts: The 4.5/5 rating that I'm giving this course is the highest I've ever given. Aside from a few small things like the natural tees and a broken bridge, this course is close to perfect. I'm hesitant to give out a 5/5, but I can't imagine a course being any closer to one than this.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Beauty in Virginia

5+    11/26/2008   6/8/2009
Review By: john501
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very pretty park with a lake in the middle. Rolling, heavily wooded hills offer challenging elevation changes. Course is on the long side, but there are several easy birdie opportunities. Multiple tees for many of the holes make for interesting variety.
Cons: Costs a few bucks to get into the park during swimming season. Not a course for beginners.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course only a half-dozen times. I have never played it particularly well, but it remains one of my favorite parks nonetheless. Challenging, beautiful, and quiet when you go early in the day.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.