North Garden, VA 
Walnut Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #14 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 198ft.   3 / 256ft.   3 / 238ft.   3 / 296ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Worth the visit

1    8/14/2011   2/19/2012
Review By: crystal haze
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 20.5 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Similar to others:
Nice variety, scenery, mix of woods and open, some long holes.
Great hike as well as golf round.
Cons: Signage could be clearer and indicate where baskets are.
Sign from parking lot to tee 1.
Other Thoughts: Great course for anyone in the C'ville area. I've taken to visiting whenever I'm down there.Looks like it would be a nice park to do other activities as well, like canoe, swim, walk.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good Night, Johnny Boy

2-4    9/11/2011   9/17/2011
Review By: Stud Muffin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2011
4 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: >Challenging, mostly wooded course, with multiple tees and baskets.

>Beautiful scenery.

>A few stand out holes.
Cons: >Confusing.
*First, without telling someone, just try to find the first basket.

*The multiple Tees were not confusing, green carpet=white, blue carpet=blue. What was confusing is 2 baskets standing on each hole, so while playing in a match, if you do not determine which basket you are playing to before you throw, you will always find yourself in a argument with which basket to play, since we always want to play with what worked best with our tee shot..
Other Thoughts: A enjoyable experience.
Could be a 5 rated course (in my book) with a few simple little corrections like:

*Put up a sign on a tree near the Pavilion that says "Tee #1 This Way".
*Only have 1 basket up at a time, rotate their positions.
*Signs to next tees when it is not obvious.

But the biggest downfall to this course is it's location. You have to be either a toothless, or buck tooth hillbilly to live near this course.

...hope you like curvy roads. :D

4 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Superb course for all levels of play

1    7/17/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.5 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course with a variety of elevation, distances, and directions. Multiple tee locations were often very different. Some holes played like 4 unique holes.
Magnet system in the kiosk to show which pin locations are in.
Course is set up in 2 nine hole loops incase you need to take a break or refill your water bottle.
clear gravel boxed in tees with tee signs.
Bathroom under the large pavilion by the pool.
Water in play on a few holes, but little risk of disc loss if you choose the safer basket. Hole 18 far pin was really the only hole were I thought I could lose a disc. I suppose you could shank it in the water on hole 17 and flub a shot on hole 2, but the risk is really not high.
This is an attractive tournament quality course and is a must play for anyone in the area. It ranks up with many of Virginia's finest courses.
Cons: Some tee pads were overgrown and in rough shape, many others were uneven and tough to throw from.
No sign to find hole 1.
Some navigational issues. Hole 3's tee looks up the hill to 6, but the real basket is in the woods. Hole 13's map appears as if you play striaght through the tight trees, when the baskets are really a sharp right.
Baskets were tough to see in the woods, yellow number plates like White Bank has installed would be perfect.
You have to write down which holes had long baskets, some had 2 baskets, others only had one in place.
Other Thoughts: This course is physically tough. The elevation combined with lack of shade gave this course a spot in the top 10 physically demanding courses I have played.
If every hole had both baskets in position I would have stayed all day taking occasional breaks to cool off in the water.

If you arrive before the pool opens up they do not charge. They began charging at 11 the day I played.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

walnut creek

5+    6/26/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: bnbanbury
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16
This review was updated on 9/12/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Multiple tees and pins keep the course fresh, and the longs make for a challenging round.
-well designed pin locations require a full range of shots
-beautiful woooded setting, it would be a nice walk in the woods here even if you weren't throwing discs
-great use of water and elevation to add challenge and wow factor to several tees
-finishes with a bang, as 16, 17, and 18 are three awesome and memorable holes
-good signs at every tee box
Cons: -signage between tees could be improved as the trails can be a little confusing
- i personally didnt have a problem with the crushed gravel tees, but concrete would still be an improvement
Other Thoughts: what a great day of disc golf! while the case can certaily be made for some other VA courses like the grange and new quarter being more technically demanding, i have never had a more enjoyable overall experience playing a round of golf. both the course and park are beautiful and well maintained and the layout it challenging without being laborious. worth making a trip to play here for sure.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Nice Drive in the Country

2-4    5/29/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 181  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 22.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2013
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Set out in the rolling wooded hills along a lakeside beach, this course is 15 minutes from the college town of Charlottesville. You can play a round and then go swimmIng in the lake when you are finished.

Many options are afforded as you have two permanent tees per hole and 2 (alternating) pins per hole (there are a few missing short pins due to theft). You will be working through grassy fields and thick woods, uphill, downhill and over water in a couple of occasions.

You will quickly arrive at a signature hole on #2, which is an elevated pin that goes over water to a pin out in the open grass. This is a great way to start, and you will find yourself finishing in this fashion on hole 17!
This course with be most suitable to most player skills, though some pros may find the lack of really long (par 4 & 5) holes a bit below their level. The woodsy holes are more about finesse and skill than power.
The course is really challenging and enjoyable, but I found the beauty and seclusion a big part of my experience.

Watch for the signs on the white (short) tees, this will confirm which hole you're and show the layout.
Cons: Tee pads are astro turf which I find to be decent, but are uneven. They are certainly an improvement from the natural tee pads that I played last time.

There was one spot where it was uncertain as to where the next tee pad was. You must backtrack up part of the 14th fairway to get to the 15th tee.

The pins were really hard to see, even when I knew the general area in which to look - flags, flourescent ribbons or bright paint on the baskets would help indeed.
Other Thoughts: The short tees to the short pins seemed as if almost half of them were right- turning from the tee. I am a RHFH thrower, and this is my strength, so why complain? Well, variety is important.

Most of the park-goers were picnicking and NOT playing disc on a gorgeous Sunday on Memorial Day weekend. I only saw two others playing besides myself, so I was amazed to find this place so quiet!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Walnut Creek

1    4/29/2011   4/30/2011
Review By: Kent18
Played: 122  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Great flow to the course when you figure out where it goes.
2) Beautiful park setting with lake
3) All baskets were in great condition
4) Most holes have two pins and two teepads for variety
5) Good mix of anhyzer and hyzer holes
6) Lots of elevation use
7) Loved hole 17 and 18
Cons: 1) No firm teepads, they are all made of loose gravel
2) Some signage missing on holes and in traversing to the next hole
3) Ticks are present
4) Can be hard to find the next teepad due to lack of sinage
Other Thoughts: This course was so much fun to play but at the same time I was sad that a course of this caliber has not invested in concrete or rubber tee pads yet. By adding a more stable tee pad solution here and fixing some signage issues this course could be a top 25 course. This course would make my top 3 if it had a better tee pad situation. There are alot of blind shots here if its your first time so allow more time if you want to shoot well. The longer tee pads present a much harder challenge to reach par which I like, its almost a completely different course. Definitely worth the trip but be prepared for teepads that could be wet and are warped. In terms of natural beauty this course is near the top and stands alone among many other courses out there as is.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 walnut creek oh my!! :)

1    4/11/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: Senorpinchy
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 25.7 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Layout challenge and diversity of throws
Cons: poor marking and addressing direction to hole or next hole
Other Thoughts: spent too much time trying to find how to get to next hole...played 17,18 then 15,16 in that order. due to poor direction

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 One of Virginia's best

2-4    10/16/2010   10/23/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 176  Reviewed: 171  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2012
11 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun, hilly course that winds through a beautiful park. Some challenging holes and amazing views.
- Walnut Creek is mainly a wooded course, but there's even variety that everyone should holes they both love & hate. Course features some extreme elevations, both up & down. some holes with not-so much elevation, or none at all. Some doglegs, open holes, and, of course, plenty of wooded holes.
- Dual tee pads and/or baskets on just about every hole. With the long tees, you get some layouts that are completely different layouts that the short tees. #2 & 7, for example, play different depending on which tee you're throwing from.
- Every hole also has a long & short basket location. The kiosk in the parking lot lets you know which position the baskets are in. This is very helpful with so many blind tee shots.
- Major love for the tee signs showing the distance to clear the water (on water holes, obviously.) It's one thing to guess the distance (it looks like 200 - 250 to throw over the water); it's another to have it on a sign and remove the doubt.
- The park itself is amazing. Huge plot of land (enough for a second 18 maybe??) that really puts you out in nature. There are vey few courses I've played when you don't hear cars/traffic in the distance. I loved the views of the lake from holes #2,3 & 5.
- This is a great course for all skill levels. I saw many people carrying 1 or 2 discs and other casual players on the course when I played.
- Plenty of benches throughout course. You'll need them as you walk up and down the hills.
Cons: I noticed several reasonable issues during my time at the course that could pose problems.
- Course signage could be improved. During a stretch on the front 9, you can see 5 baskets (for 4 different holes), along with several tee pads. On other holes, you see the basket for a different hole than the one your playing. On multiple holes, I had to walk almost the entire way to the basket before I could spot it. I understand doing that on blind tee shots, but on #7, it's almost a straight shot, but the basket blends into the shadows. A big help for both of these problems would be yellow baskets with numbers on them.
- A bigger issue with signage is the transition between holes. The problem here is the bike trails that wind through the woods, often near, and/or crossing holes. On at least one occasion I started walking down a path only to realize I'd been on a bike trail. Even with a map, it's easy to get lost. There was only signage on several holes, such as from #16 basket to #17 tee. More of these signs would be extremely helpful for first-time players.
- The course intertwines a little too closely with the bike trails at times. Not only did I get confused between disc golf fairways/paths & bike trails, but so did bikers. I had some pedal up a fairway just as I was about to tee off, at which time they realized they'd gotten lost. You really need to use extreme caution when throwing.
- I was surprised at the lack of restrooms & water fountains. It appeared (from my out-of-town perspective) that the real bathrooms are only open during the summer, when the waterfront is open. Playing in October, when the waterfront was closed, I only saw 1 port-a-jon for the entire park.
- This course has huge "lost disc potential." In a weird way, the biggest risk for losing a disc in the water, isn't on a true water hole (#2, 17 & 18), but on #1. This is a dogleg right, with the fairway sloping down to the left, to the water. It'd be easy to have a disc sail or roll right into the water if you're not careful, or unlucky.
- The other, bigger threat for losing discs is the combination of blind tee shots, and elevation changes. Throwing around a corner with a steep drop-off equals problems if you're not careful. My buddy & I passed a group of 3 guys on #16 (a blind tee shot, dogleg right hole) who were searching for a lost disc. Nothing out of the ordinary there. The problem was the disc had sailed off to the left, down the slope, and they were searching from about a third of the way down the fairway to about 100 feet past the basket, about a 300 foot-span going up and down the hill. I felt that easily could have been us, on about half a dozen holes.
Other Thoughts: I think the several negatives about the course were more prevalent than normal because Walnut Creek is so close to being great. Even with the concern of losing a disc, or walking around an extra 30 minutes, this course is in "must play" list.
- Be prepared for a slow round your first time here. Between find the holes & baskets and taking in all the sights and sounds, it's a slow go. The first time we played, it took two of us more than 2 hours to finish a round. The second time through, we knocked off about 45 minutes, finishing in less than an hour and a half.
- I was a let down by #17, by most accounts, the course's signature hole. The scenery is great, watching your disc sail forever is cool, but it's actually a relatively easy hole. The first time through I missed an easy putt for 3, the second time I had a longer putt for 2, and had a tap-in 3. The lake on the right should never come in to play. You're much more likely to land in the small creek near the basket than the lake. At least you get your exercise walking up the hills.
- For natural course beauty, this ranks right up there with High Country in Jefferson, NC as the best I've played. The view from the fairway of #5 to the tee, with the lake in the background is simply amazing. Playing the hole with the leaves changing colors was picturesque. Trust me, the pics on here don't do justice for the view. And there are other great views throughout the course as well.
- This is definitely a must play for anyone within several hours. If you live in Virginia and don't make a trip here, you're doing an injustice. It'd be nice if there were another course within 30 minutes, but it's good enough by itself.

11 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/18/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: stsiler
Played: 26  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Very beautiful, very scenic course. A quiet, serene experience.
- A must-visit for anyone playing in Virginia. Centrally located in the state, it is well worth even a two or three hour drive.
- Four different tee/basket combinations available, on most holes.
- Tee/basket combinations range from moderately difficult to very difficult.
- Course has a wide variety of hole types including wooded and open with varying elevation changes.
- Great use of water hazards on several holes.
Cons: - Course can be difficult to navigate without a map, at least for first-timers.
- Not all of the holes have the long baskets in place. This can be very confusing for those trying to play the long baskets, but who are unfamiliar with the course.
Other Thoughts:
Score Breakdown:
Variety:5 Balance:4 Strategy:5 Character:5 Fun:4 Avg: 4.6

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  My Favorite

5+    8/9/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: VTPharaoh
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Beautiful views and scenery. Especially around sunset.
-Challenging
-Great layout. Starts and ends near parking area, but you never throw over another fairway.
-Well maintained and kept clean.
-Multiple baskets on some holes, and they move the others regularly to change it up.
Cons: -Pay to play before 6 pm Memorial to Labor Day
-Some people complain about gravel T-Pads but I like them. They can get soggy after a hard rain though.
- You will have to wait for the occasional biker to get out of the way.
Other Thoughts: I've played quite a few courses around the country including the one in Connifer, CO which is rated one of the highest on this site and I think Walnut Creek is just as good if not better. It's is a difficult course for beginners, but you only get better by playing harder courses. My game has improved dramatically playing here.

It has an excellent layout with a nice mix of open and wooded, distance and technical, and just all around fun holes. There is nothing I would change about this course. I know we're not supposed to comment on other people's posts, but svens06 post has a lot of exaggeration. There are only 3 holes (2 17 and 18) that you could possibly hit water unless you have HORRIBLE throws on other ones. I play around 2-3 times a week here and I rarely loose a disc anymore. The majority of holes are NOT on a hillside, however if you overshoot some there may be a hill behind it...make your puts and you shouldn't have a problem!

All in all I think this should be one of the top courses on this site. That's why I gave it a 5. It's not easy, so don't be discouraged if you don't shoot well. That doesn't mean it deserves a lower rating.

I hope to see you out there! I'm usually one of the only ones wearing a VT hat at a park in Charlottesville!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.