North Garden, VA 
Walnut Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChick Hole #10 (Taken 6/2008)
3 / 200ft.   4 / 278ft.   3 / 260ft.   4 / 338ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 White Tee: Straight, tight fairway



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
One of my favs around

5+    8/16/2014   8/25/2014
Review By: HannibalRex
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice course, great layout, many options between alternate pins and pads. Good distance and some nice short ones. Technical throughout, but playable for pro to rookie. Beautiful trails along the lake, and beautiful views.
Cons: Signs could use a little work, pads are probably going to need attention before long. All in all I can't say much negative about this course. There's a few spots where it can be difficult to find the next pad if you're new to the park, but print a guide and you'll be fine.
Other Thoughts: Coast-to-coast this is in my top 10. It's peacful, fun, nice mix of up and down, short and long, tight and technical, with some nice open distance thrown in. Depending on the time of year some of the foliage is a little thick, but I've never had too much problem. Never too busy, not littered and messed up, very nice place. If you go during the summer season you have to pay the park entrance fee, I think $3 or $3.50, but totally worth it. #17 is my fav, very long, and from way up the hill, it's pretty cool, just make sure you don't use an over stable disc and break hard right toward the lake - yes, I shot a disc into the water like a meteor from there...

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

First time playing, will return

1    8/23/2014   8/23/2014
Review By: YoBerger
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Really liked the combinations of tees and holes. Some beautiful views and well layed out to take advantage of lake, fields, and woods.
Cons: Some of the signs are damaged and unreadable.
Other Thoughts: Played this after heavy rains, but not too muddy. Brought my 10 yr old son along and we were able to play together off the same tees and then white baskets for him and blues for me. Worked out well.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Walnut Firecracker!

1    6/14/2014   6/15/2014
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dual color coded boxed astroturf tees and dual color coded baskets on just about every hole provide multiple playing options. Phenomenal use of the available elevation and terrain and dam. Challenges include white and blue level par 3s and 4s with every variety of elevation changes, lengths, water, hardwoods and line shaping. Fun factor here is also great. Two loops of 9 holes back to parking lot is very much appreciated on a course with this much hiking elevation and distance. Navigation and signage is pretty good now, kiosk in parking lot with sign describing how to get to hole 1. Well maintained and very little underbrush. Bathrooms, water fountain, pavilion, beach, swimming, fishing, mountain biking, hiking, beautiful views overlooking the lake.
Cons: Very minor things. No Gold level layout. Short basket on hole 10 is right in the path of the long basket. A few holes play a little too close to the next hole. Could use signs on both tees and numbers on baskets but it's really not hard to figure out. Decent chance to lose a disc in water. High slope = roll aways. Hiking trail near a few holes, other people around the park, but doesn't seem to interfere with holes much. Could use some benches. Biting flies in summer, found tick on leg after round.

Not really a con, $3/day to play in the summer, well worth it. Might be too hard for rank beginners and people that aren't physically able to hike the elevation.
Other Thoughts: Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains near Charlottesville, Walnut Creek is one of the most B-E-A-utiful courses I've played and it might be the best blue or advanced level course I've ever played. This course should be rated much higher than it is. The previous low rated reviews can be ignored since the major navigational and signage issues have been addressed by the local club for the most part, I only had to refer to the map to figure out which baskets were on hole 5 vs 6, and after hole 12 you backtrack instead of following the path to 16. Hole 2 sports a sign about the legend of Stud Muffin's review on here, lol.

Hole 2 reminds me of Deer Lakes signature hole 15 over the pond. Hole 3 is open bomb sloping uphill to a basket slightly tucked into the woods. Hole 5 is a par 4 with elevated tee across the street and the basket on a downslope and the lake behind it, reminds me of Moraine's signature hole 15 with the Lake in the backdrop. Hole 6 is then a monster par 4 back uphill. The next 7 holes takes you through a gauntlet of heavily lined wooded fairways and ravines. Hole 13 is a flat par 4 bomber hole with a little trouble right off the tee, then mostly open middle section and then the basket tucked 100' back through some hardwoods. Holes 14 and 15 test your U-turn skillz in the opposite directions.

Then comes the crescendo of perhaps the greatest 3 finishing holes. Hole 16 has an elevated tee with slight hyzer wooded fairway and ravine to the basket on a very fast sloping green. Hole 17 is probably the signature hole here, it's one of the most unique and memorable holes I've played as it drops almost 100' vertically with ob water to the right of the dam and ob mini waterfall left of the basket and fast right to left slope to the basket. What a hole, but hold the phone, there's still number 18! Hole 18 features a drive to a peninsula green to the short basket or landing area to the long basket, if shooting to the long basket you then have a water carry to a fast sloping island green.

So with all that said, I'm tempted to throw a 5 Disc Rating at Walnut Creek. It's one of the easiest 4.5's I've given. I put Walnut Creek in a similar category to Moraine, Deer Lakes and Nockamixon, but the main difference is that those have gold level layouts and Walnut Creek is only a white and blue level course so it's a little shorter, but also a little more fun. It would be nice if there was another high quality course in the area to make this more of a destination, but at any rate I still highly recommend anyone play this course, it's Virginia's finest public course!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    5/27/2014   5/27/2014
Review By: jeffm22458
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well thought out course 2 tees and 2 baskets extremely beautiful park.water elevation and a dam shot. Everything you could dream of in one course. Also very nicely kept.
Cons: Didnt see any!
Other Thoughts: Everyone said it would be hard to navigate, but after finding hole one,(looked on map by parking lot) it was extremely easy to follow. Once you find the long basket to each hole you arnt far away from the next 2 holes. Dont let other reviews stop you from coming here. Well worth a many hour drive.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great, but confusing

1    4/25/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: chillumz
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pretty good variety

Elevation changes make shots interesting

Some open, some wooded

Very pretty park with a pavilion and little beach

Cons: The course was really fun to play and I enjoyed the moderately challenging holes, but the layout is just plain confusing at times. The markings are not very clear between holes and the hole maps at each tee are very basic.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Play with a local

2-4    8/20/2012   3/16/2013
Review By: rar6nm
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2013
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: = Wide variety of shots. Good use of elevation change, woods, open. Perfect mix of it all

= Signs and tee pads are new to me (usually play at Bryan park), so it was a wonderful surprise.

= Beautiful scenery, very easy to enjoy the park itself, even if you're having a bad round
Cons: = The layout. Every hole has at least one blind shot (usually the drive). This adds to the difficulty and destroys fun factor if playing alone. I advise never going unless you have plenty of experience with the course or are playing with locals.

There are also multiple baskets for every hole. This doesn't seem like a con till you get to the main field that has 4 holes on it and you're not sure which one to aim for. This course would benefit greatly if they just went to a single basket with two tee pads

= Not much of a con here, but I wish the tee pad on the monster hole from the long tees (not sure which one) was a little bit longer. Can't get much of a run up which limits my power
Other Thoughts: Final thoughts, a good place to play only if you're familiar with the layout.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Very rewarding

1    1/5/2013   1/5/2013
Review By: blackmamba5490
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: great elevation change
multiple tees/pads
BEAUTIFUL scenery
challenging course!
nice tee pads for both tees
Heck of a workout
17th hole is INCREDIBLE
Cons:
A tad hard to navigate w/0 a map
Other Thoughts: Took a 2 hour road trip to play this place and it was worth it. Really enjoyed this course and hole 17 was the most amazing hole iv ever played!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

great course

2-4    9/23/2012   12/19/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/17/2013
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Layout - From a strict layout perspective this course is amazing. It gives you a little bit of everything and different looks within each hole.

It starts with two permanent set of pins and two pads on almost every hole. This gives you four ways to play each hole which ranges from beginner to advanced in difficulty.

This course will really make you work the disc in a number of ways; using different shots on a variety of terrains. This course gives you everything from open to wooded, up and downhill, fast greens and more than one brush with water.

The mixture of terrain is paired with holes that really force you to combine your technical game with the ability to bomb. There's open shots here but you'll need to be accurate and when the course gets tight it gets hairy.

This course has some really awesome holes that couple layout with beauty. 16-18 is one of the best 3 hole stretches of disc golf I've seen so far.

Equipment - The pads are large and provide plenty of room. There are bathrooms on the premise.

Atmosphere - Gorgeous park, rolling hills with tons of elevation change. It's a hike to do all 18. It's relatively low traffic in terms of other park users being in your way. The course is built next to a beautiful lake.
Cons: Layout - Not much to complain about here. A lot of the short pad to short basket holes are boring but are suited for beginners. Even with the multiple configurations there are a few holes that are solid but boring and bring down the awesomeness of the rest of the course.

The flow of the course can be confusing due to some baskets being farther from the next pad. There's a few spots where it's hard to tell which basket you are throwing to because they're all out in a field. Bring a map.

Equipment - Probably the biggest con to the course is here. The pads are large but astroturf and not in the best of shape.

Tee signs with a map showing the hole and both basket locations would be a huge help.

The baskets are older and not the best, they weren't horrible but worth mentioning. I could also see a few places where an extra bridge or set of steps can make the course safer.

Atmosphere - You do play close to a road a couple times, not that big of a problem because it's a park road. You also have to pay to get in the park at some times, also not that big of a problem cuz it's worth it.
Other Thoughts: This course is a really good one. What stops it from being great is a few filler holes coupled with some equipment problems I mentioned. I'll say again that this place is gorgeous and 16-18 really is an amazing stretch of disc golf. I highly recommend coming here just to play those three... and try to park the 18 long basket off the short tee, I did.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful DG Course

1    10/9/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: speerbolte
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. A couple of really neat signature holes that make this park worth the trip.
Cons: Multiple basket placement and lack of signage makes this a VERY difficult park to play if you're not familiar with the layout.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the trip. Just see about hooking up with a local to show you the ropes.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the visit

1    8/14/2011   2/19/2012
Review By: crystal haze
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 20.3 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Similar to others:
Nice variety, scenery, mix of woods and open, some long holes.
Great hike as well as golf round.
Cons: Signage could be clearer and indicate where baskets are.
Sign from parking lot to tee 1.
Other Thoughts: Great course for anyone in the C'ville area. I've taken to visiting whenever I'm down there.Looks like it would be a nice park to do other activities as well, like canoe, swim, walk.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.