North Garden, VA
Walnut Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: optidiscic Hole #17
4 / 460ft.   4 / 460ft.   4 / 480ft.   4 / 480ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Blue Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Play with a local

2-4    8/20/2012   3/16/2013
Review By: rar6nm
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2013
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: = Wide variety of shots. Good use of elevation change, woods, open. Perfect mix of it all

= Signs and tee pads are new to me (usually play at Bryan park), so it was a wonderful surprise.

= Beautiful scenery, very easy to enjoy the park itself, even if you're having a bad round
Cons: = The layout. Every hole has at least one blind shot (usually the drive). This adds to the difficulty and destroys fun factor if playing alone. I advise never going unless you have plenty of experience with the course or are playing with locals.

There are also multiple baskets for every hole. This doesn't seem like a con till you get to the main field that has 4 holes on it and you're not sure which one to aim for. This course would benefit greatly if they just went to a single basket with two tee pads

= Not much of a con here, but I wish the tee pad on the monster hole from the long tees (not sure which one) was a little bit longer. Can't get much of a run up which limits my power
Other Thoughts: Final thoughts, a good place to play only if you're familiar with the layout.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Very rewarding

1    1/5/2013   1/5/2013
Review By: blackmamba5490
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: great elevation change
multiple tees/pads
BEAUTIFUL scenery
challenging course!
nice tee pads for both tees
Heck of a workout
17th hole is INCREDIBLE
Cons:
A tad hard to navigate w/0 a map
Other Thoughts: Took a 2 hour road trip to play this place and it was worth it. Really enjoyed this course and hole 17 was the most amazing hole iv ever played!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

great course

2-4    9/23/2012   12/19/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 121  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/17/2013
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Layout - From a strict layout perspective this course is amazing. It gives you a little bit of everything and different looks within each hole.

It starts with two permanent set of pins and two pads on almost every hole. This gives you four ways to play each hole which ranges from beginner to advanced in difficulty.

This course will really make you work the disc in a number of ways; using different shots on a variety of terrains. This course gives you everything from open to wooded, up and downhill, fast greens and more than one brush with water.

The mixture of terrain is paired with holes that really force you to combine your technical game with the ability to bomb. There's open shots here but you'll need to be accurate and when the course gets tight it gets hairy.

This course has some really awesome holes that couple layout with beauty. 16-18 is one of the best 3 hole stretches of disc golf I've seen so far.

Equipment - The pads are large and provide plenty of room. There are bathrooms on the premise.

Atmosphere - Gorgeous park, rolling hills with tons of elevation change. It's a hike to do all 18. It's relatively low traffic in terms of other park users being in your way. The course is built next to a beautiful lake.
Cons: Layout - Not much to complain about here. A lot of the short pad to short basket holes are boring but are suited for beginners. Even with the multiple configurations there are a few holes that are solid but boring and bring down the awesomeness of the rest of the course.

The flow of the course can be confusing due to some baskets being farther from the next pad. There's a few spots where it's hard to tell which basket you are throwing to because they're all out in a field. Bring a map.

Equipment - Probably the biggest con to the course is here. The pads are large but astroturf and not in the best of shape.

Tee signs with a map showing the hole and both basket locations would be a huge help.

The baskets are older and not the best, they weren't horrible but worth mentioning. I could also see a few places where an extra bridge or set of steps can make the course safer.

Atmosphere - You do play close to a road a couple times, not that big of a problem because it's a park road. You also have to pay to get in the park at some times, also not that big of a problem cuz it's worth it.
Other Thoughts: This course is a really good one. What stops it from being great is a few filler holes coupled with some equipment problems I mentioned. I'll say again that this place is gorgeous and 16-18 really is an amazing stretch of disc golf. I highly recommend coming here just to play those three... and try to park the 18 long basket off the short tee, I did.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful DG Course

1    10/9/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: speerbolte
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. A couple of really neat signature holes that make this park worth the trip.
Cons: Multiple basket placement and lack of signage makes this a VERY difficult park to play if you're not familiar with the layout.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the trip. Just see about hooking up with a local to show you the ropes.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the visit

1    8/14/2011   2/19/2012
Review By: crystal haze
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 19.9 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Similar to others:
Nice variety, scenery, mix of woods and open, some long holes.
Great hike as well as golf round.
Cons: Signage could be clearer and indicate where baskets are.
Sign from parking lot to tee 1.
Other Thoughts: Great course for anyone in the C'ville area. I've taken to visiting whenever I'm down there.Looks like it would be a nice park to do other activities as well, like canoe, swim, walk.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good Night, Johnny Boy

2-4    9/11/2011   9/17/2011
Review By: Stud Muffin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2011
4 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: >Challenging, mostly wooded course, with multiple tees and baskets.

>Beautiful scenery.

>A few stand out holes.
Cons: >Confusing.
*First, without telling someone, just try to find the first basket.

*The multiple Tees were not confusing, green carpet=white, blue carpet=blue. What was confusing is 2 baskets standing on each hole, so while playing in a match, if you do not determine which basket you are playing to before you throw, you will always find yourself in a argument with which basket to play, since we always want to play with what worked best with our tee shot..
Other Thoughts: A enjoyable experience.
Could be a 5 rated course (in my book) with a few simple little corrections like:

*Put up a sign on a tree near the Pavilion that says "Tee #1 This Way".
*Only have 1 basket up at a time, rotate their positions.
*Signs to next tees when it is not obvious.

But the biggest downfall to this course is it's location. You have to be either a toothless, or buck tooth hillbilly to live near this course.

...hope you like curvy roads. :D

4 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Superb course for all levels of play

1    7/17/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course with a variety of elevation, distances, and directions. Multiple tee locations were often very different. Some holes played like 4 unique holes.
Magnet system in the kiosk to show which pin locations are in.
Course is set up in 2 nine hole loops incase you need to take a break or refill your water bottle.
clear gravel boxed in tees with tee signs.
Bathroom under the large pavilion by the pool.
Water in play on a few holes, but little risk of disc loss if you choose the safer basket. Hole 18 far pin was really the only hole were I thought I could lose a disc. I suppose you could shank it in the water on hole 17 and flub a shot on hole 2, but the risk is really not high.
This is an attractive tournament quality course and is a must play for anyone in the area. It ranks up with many of Virginia's finest courses.
Cons: Some tee pads were overgrown and in rough shape, many others were uneven and tough to throw from.
No sign to find hole 1.
Some navigational issues. Hole 3's tee looks up the hill to 6, but the real basket is in the woods. Hole 13's map appears as if you play striaght through the tight trees, when the baskets are really a sharp right.
Baskets were tough to see in the woods, yellow number plates like White Bank has installed would be perfect.
You have to write down which holes had long baskets, some had 2 baskets, others only had one in place.
Other Thoughts: This course is physically tough. The elevation combined with lack of shade gave this course a spot in the top 10 physically demanding courses I have played.
If every hole had both baskets in position I would have stayed all day taking occasional breaks to cool off in the water.

If you arrive before the pool opens up they do not charge. They began charging at 11 the day I played.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

walnut creek

5+    6/26/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: bnbanbury
Played: 36  Reviewed: 15
This review was updated on 9/12/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Multiple tees and pins keep the course fresh, and the longs make for a challenging round.
-well designed pin locations require a full range of shots
-beautiful woooded setting, it would be a nice walk in the woods here even if you weren't throwing discs
-great use of water and elevation to add challenge and wow factor to several tees
-finishes with a bang, as 16, 17, and 18 are three awesome and memorable holes
-good signs at every tee box
Cons: -signage between tees could be improved as the trails can be a little confusing
- i personally didnt have a problem with the crushed gravel tees, but concrete would still be an improvement
Other Thoughts: what a great day of disc golf! while the case can certaily be made for some other VA courses like the grange and new quarter being more technically demanding, i have never had a more enjoyable overall experience playing a round of golf. both the course and park are beautiful and well maintained and the layout it challenging without being laborious. worth making a trip to play here for sure.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Nice Drive in the Country

2-4    5/29/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 174  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 21.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2013
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Set out in the rolling wooded hills along a lakeside beach, this course is 15 minutes from the college town of Charlottesville. You can play a round and then go swimmIng in the lake when you are finished.

Many options are afforded as you have two permanent tees per hole and 2 (alternating) pins per hole (there are a few missing short pins due to theft). You will be working through grassy fields and thick woods, uphill, downhill and over water in a couple of occasions.

You will quickly arrive at a signature hole on #2, which is an elevated pin that goes over water to a pin out in the open grass. This is a great way to start, and you will find yourself finishing in this fashion on hole 17!
This course with be most suitable to most player skills, though some pros may find the lack of really long (par 4 & 5) holes a bit below their level. The woodsy holes are more about finesse and skill than power.
The course is really challenging and enjoyable, but I found the beauty and seclusion a big part of my experience.

Watch for the signs on the white (short) tees, this will confirm which hole you're and show the layout.
Cons: Tee pads are astro turf which I find to be decent, but are uneven. They are certainly an improvement from the natural tee pads that I played last time.

There was one spot where it was uncertain as to where the next tee pad was. You must backtrack up part of the 14th fairway to get to the 15th tee.

The pins were really hard to see, even when I knew the general area in which to look - flags, flourescent ribbons or bright paint on the baskets would help indeed.
Other Thoughts: The short tees to the short pins seemed as if almost half of them were right- turning from the tee. I am a RHFH thrower, and this is my strength, so why complain? Well, variety is important.

Most of the park-goers were picnicking and NOT playing disc on a gorgeous Sunday on Memorial Day weekend. I only saw two others playing besides myself, so I was amazed to find this place so quiet!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Walnut Creek

1    4/29/2011   4/30/2011
Review By: Kent18
Played: 114  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Great flow to the course when you figure out where it goes.
2) Beautiful park setting with lake
3) All baskets were in great condition
4) Most holes have two pins and two teepads for variety
5) Good mix of anhyzer and hyzer holes
6) Lots of elevation use
7) Loved hole 17 and 18
Cons: 1) No firm teepads, they are all made of loose gravel
2) Some signage missing on holes and in traversing to the next hole
3) Ticks are present
4) Can be hard to find the next teepad due to lack of sinage
Other Thoughts: This course was so much fun to play but at the same time I was sad that a course of this caliber has not invested in concrete or rubber tee pads yet. By adding a more stable tee pad solution here and fixing some signage issues this course could be a top 25 course. This course would make my top 3 if it had a better tee pad situation. There are alot of blind shots here if its your first time so allow more time if you want to shoot well. The longer tee pads present a much harder challenge to reach par which I like, its almost a completely different course. Definitely worth the trip but be prepared for teepads that could be wet and are warped. In terms of natural beauty this course is near the top and stands alone among many other courses out there as is.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.