North Garden, VA
Walnut Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #14 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 198ft.   3 / 256ft.   3 / 238ft.   3 / 296ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Blue Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  walnut creek oh my!! :)

1    4/11/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: Senorpinchy
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 25.1 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Layout challenge and diversity of throws
Cons: poor marking and addressing direction to hole or next hole
Other Thoughts: spent too much time trying to find how to get to next hole...played 17,18 then 15,16 in that order. due to poor direction

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

One of Virginia's best

2-4    10/16/2010   10/23/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 148  Reviewed: 144  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2012
11 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun, hilly course that winds through a beautiful park. Some challenging holes and amazing views.
- Walnut Creek is mainly a wooded course, but there's even variety that everyone should holes they both love & hate. Course features some extreme elevations, both up & down. some holes with not-so much elevation, or none at all. Some doglegs, open holes, and, of course, plenty of wooded holes.
- Dual tee pads and/or baskets on just about every hole. With the long tees, you get some layouts that are completely different layouts that the short tees. #2 & 7, for example, play different depending on which tee you're throwing from.
- Every hole also has a long & short basket location. The kiosk in the parking lot lets you know which position the baskets are in. This is very helpful with so many blind tee shots.
- Major love for the tee signs showing the distance to clear the water (on water holes, obviously.) It's one thing to guess the distance (it looks like 200 - 250 to throw over the water); it's another to have it on a sign and remove the doubt.
- The park itself is amazing. Huge plot of land (enough for a second 18 maybe??) that really puts you out in nature. There are vey few courses I've played when you don't hear cars/traffic in the distance. I loved the views of the lake from holes #2,3 & 5.
- This is a great course for all skill levels. I saw many people carrying 1 or 2 discs and other casual players on the course when I played.
- Plenty of benches throughout course. You'll need them as you walk up and down the hills.
Cons: I noticed several reasonable issues during my time at the course that could pose problems.
- Course signage could be improved. During a stretch on the front 9, you can see 5 baskets (for 4 different holes), along with several tee pads. On other holes, you see the basket for a different hole than the one your playing. On multiple holes, I had to walk almost the entire way to the basket before I could spot it. I understand doing that on blind tee shots, but on #7, it's almost a straight shot, but the basket blends into the shadows. A big help for both of these problems would be yellow baskets with numbers on them.
- A bigger issue with signage is the transition between holes. The problem here is the bike trails that wind through the woods, often near, and/or crossing holes. On at least one occasion I started walking down a path only to realize I'd been on a bike trail. Even with a map, it's easy to get lost. There was only signage on several holes, such as from #16 basket to #17 tee. More of these signs would be extremely helpful for first-time players.
- The course intertwines a little too closely with the bike trails at times. Not only did I get confused between disc golf fairways/paths & bike trails, but so did bikers. I had some pedal up a fairway just as I was about to tee off, at which time they realized they'd gotten lost. You really need to use extreme caution when throwing.
- I was surprised at the lack of restrooms & water fountains. It appeared (from my out-of-town perspective) that the real bathrooms are only open during the summer, when the waterfront is open. Playing in October, when the waterfront was closed, I only saw 1 port-a-jon for the entire park.
- This course has huge "lost disc potential." In a weird way, the biggest risk for losing a disc in the water, isn't on a true water hole (#2, 17 & 18), but on #1. This is a dogleg right, with the fairway sloping down to the left, to the water. It'd be easy to have a disc sail or roll right into the water if you're not careful, or unlucky.
- The other, bigger threat for losing discs is the combination of blind tee shots, and elevation changes. Throwing around a corner with a steep drop-off equals problems if you're not careful. My buddy & I passed a group of 3 guys on #16 (a blind tee shot, dogleg right hole) who were searching for a lost disc. Nothing out of the ordinary there. The problem was the disc had sailed off to the left, down the slope, and they were searching from about a third of the way down the fairway to about 100 feet past the basket, about a 300 foot-span going up and down the hill. I felt that easily could have been us, on about half a dozen holes.
Other Thoughts: I think the several negatives about the course were more prevalent than normal because Walnut Creek is so close to being great. Even with the concern of losing a disc, or walking around an extra 30 minutes, this course is in "must play" list.
- Be prepared for a slow round your first time here. Between find the holes & baskets and taking in all the sights and sounds, it's a slow go. The first time we played, it took two of us more than 2 hours to finish a round. The second time through, we knocked off about 45 minutes, finishing in less than an hour and a half.
- I was a let down by #17, by most accounts, the course's signature hole. The scenery is great, watching your disc sail forever is cool, but it's actually a relatively easy hole. The first time through I missed an easy putt for 3, the second time I had a longer putt for 2, and had a tap-in 3. The lake on the right should never come in to play. You're much more likely to land in the small creek near the basket than the lake. At least you get your exercise walking up the hills.
- For natural course beauty, this ranks right up there with High Country in Jefferson, NC as the best I've played. The view from the fairway of #5 to the tee, with the lake in the background is simply amazing. Playing the hole with the leaves changing colors was picturesque. Trust me, the pics on here don't do justice for the view. And there are other great views throughout the course as well.
- This is definitely a must play for anyone within several hours. If you live in Virginia and don't make a trip here, you're doing an injustice. It'd be nice if there were another course within 30 minutes, but it's good enough by itself.

11 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/18/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: stsiler
Played: 24  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Very beautiful, very scenic course. A quiet, serene experience.
- A must-visit for anyone playing in Virginia. Centrally located in the state, it is well worth even a two or three hour drive.
- Four different tee/basket combinations available, on most holes.
- Tee/basket combinations range from moderately difficult to very difficult.
- Course has a wide variety of hole types including wooded and open with varying elevation changes.
- Great use of water hazards on several holes.
Cons: - Course can be difficult to navigate without a map, at least for first-timers.
- Not all of the holes have the long baskets in place. This can be very confusing for those trying to play the long baskets, but who are unfamiliar with the course.
Other Thoughts:
Score Breakdown:
Variety:5 Balance:4 Strategy:5 Character:5 Fun:4 Avg: 4.6

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  My Favorite

5+    8/9/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: VTPharaoh
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Beautiful views and scenery. Especially around sunset.
-Challenging
-Great layout. Starts and ends near parking area, but you never throw over another fairway.
-Well maintained and kept clean.
-Multiple baskets on some holes, and they move the others regularly to change it up.
Cons: -Pay to play before 6 pm Memorial to Labor Day
-Some people complain about gravel T-Pads but I like them. They can get soggy after a hard rain though.
- You will have to wait for the occasional biker to get out of the way.
Other Thoughts: I've played quite a few courses around the country including the one in Connifer, CO which is rated one of the highest on this site and I think Walnut Creek is just as good if not better. It's is a difficult course for beginners, but you only get better by playing harder courses. My game has improved dramatically playing here.

It has an excellent layout with a nice mix of open and wooded, distance and technical, and just all around fun holes. There is nothing I would change about this course. I know we're not supposed to comment on other people's posts, but svens06 post has a lot of exaggeration. There are only 3 holes (2 17 and 18) that you could possibly hit water unless you have HORRIBLE throws on other ones. I play around 2-3 times a week here and I rarely loose a disc anymore. The majority of holes are NOT on a hillside, however if you overshoot some there may be a hill behind it...make your puts and you shouldn't have a problem!

All in all I think this should be one of the top courses on this site. That's why I gave it a 5. It's not easy, so don't be discouraged if you don't shoot well. That doesn't mean it deserves a lower rating.

I hope to see you out there! I'm usually one of the only ones wearing a VT hat at a park in Charlottesville!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Phenomenal Fun Factor

1    5/30/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 115  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Large, scenic and located off the beaten path in the Blue Mountains, Walnut Creek Park is the quintessential destination course. The park itself is multi-use, has amenities and is well maintained.

The World Class layout includes:

Pro/Am tees (labeled blue/white respectively) for each hole with multiple baskets on some and alternate pin positions on others which equates to a variety of options for multiple skill levels.

Elevation change on practically every hole - from the gradually mild to the greatly extreme!

A well balanced mix of right/left/straight throws, open, semi-open and woods holes, uphill/downhill, risk/reward, fast greens, elevated tees, blind holes, water hazards, etc - basically most of the characteristics found in top rated, championship quality courses.

The tee signs are descriptive, the gravel tee boxes presented no footing issues and the baskets were in good shape. The course is well broken in and devoid of excessively thick, disc eating brush which reduces frustrating searches and disc loss possibilities (with the exception of the water hazards of course!).

The design and flow was flawless - while most certainly created with physical and mental challenge in mind, it registers highest on what I feel is the most important aspect of a course: Fun Factor!
Cons: Since its pay-to-play, I'll nit-pick here a bit.

While I did not have difficulty with the gravel/natural tee pads, some players may and honestly, rubber or concrete would be ideal but not necessary. Additionally, some of the blue tees were only marked with blue blocks rather than being carved out boxes with a wood defined border (as the majority were). I'd prefer there were tee signs at all the tee boxes as well. Navigation could be improved some with more directional arrows, etc (I had a map, did not have an issue but sense it could be a concern). In a perfect world this would be a disc golf only area. However it is not and DGers should be aware and mindful as there are mountain bikers, fisherman, and other park goers nearby/passing through the course (not a problem when I played).
Other Thoughts: I played from the Blue Tees; while it was tough both mentally & physically and challenged my game, I felt it was extraordinarily fair. None of the annoyances to detract from enjoying a round were to be found here (such as tedious navigation issues, excessively long walks between holes, flow or design flaws, overcrowding, etc). Therefore I could concentrate on my game which is a necessity if you want to play well here.

The flow was just perfect. It felt like the balance and sequence of hole types was always kept 'in check' and never seemed repetitive. The anticipation grew on each hole as the course unfolded which is a tell tale sign of a top notch course.

Most reviewers mention the last two holes as some of the best finishing holes anywhere. While that's true, I felt as if #16 (from the blue tee) needs to be included in this sequence. It's an elevated tee through a nearly 400 ft, tight wooded fairway sloping down into a ravine with the basket uphill at the edge of the woods. After playing this hole and stepping out to the majestic view of the lake, all I can say is 'wow, these may be the best THREE finishing holes I've ever played'.

Walnut Creek Park is pure disc golf delight which I'd recommend as a must play destination for any serious disc golfer.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Fantasic Finish

1    3/19/2010   4/6/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/18/2010
12 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: World Class layout employs every element to test your game...employs elevation, fast greens, tight woods, open air wind holes, doglegs,water , and length to challenge your game and your psyche. Plenty of treats here that you will remember:
#1 has a constructed elevated basket
#2 is a reachable throw across the pond if you can negotiate the tight off the tee trouble
#3,5,6 are elevation shift open bombs
#7 is a down and up over a ravine dogleg L that is quite fun finishes uphill to a fast green
#8 is quite a thrill..it's a downhill tight drive that L Hyzers back uphill like a J but all along the R side of the fairway theres a drop into steeper woods and stream...misplay here and you are in all kinds of trouble...challenging fun.
#11 has a crazy fast clay green that can cause havoc
#15 is another down and up dogleg but this one fades R uphill.
This all brings you to the greatest Tri-fecta of holes I have encountered in Disc Golf:
#16 shoots from atop a wooded hillside and you must throw straight a great distance through a fair but punishing gauntlet of trees over a valley to a basket perched on a hillside across the valley. Just pure wooded perfection here..the view of the lake from the basket and the lookback to the tee are amazing. (did I really just make that drive)
#17 is the funnest hole I have played to date...the signature hole that tees from 45 feet above the dam and the lake and then drops another 40 to the basket..which is placed just 10 feet from a 20 by 30 ft healthy deep pond. Oh it is a glorious view and best of all it's a glorious drive...you have to actually throw over the dam..often my discs would turn over the water in a terrifying way before fading hard down the steep sloped green grass of the dam. I parked my drive and missed the putt for birdie here...damn! Has got to be amongst the best holes ever made..makes a great course elite and a must play.
#18 Got balls how about a tee that shoots 250ish over water to a peninsula and then from that placement it's another 250ish to the basket over the lake again..oh and the basket is tucked on a hillside guarded by trees that might doink you into the drink. It's possible 4 here but also possible to double circle triple bogey as well. It's also a very pretty hole that will scare the hell out of you at the same time your taking in the view.
Overall not a bad hole here....not one bad hole..just some more epic than others. Multiple tees and a few multiple baskets here and there. Immediately makes my top 20. Water available near hole 1 and 9. Kiosk and plenty of parking.
Cons: Natural tees...not a problem for me but many want perfection and the luxury of perfect tees. Lots of sunbathers and mountain bikers for such a secluded park. I doubt they ever get too overwhelming but the public was nearby.
Other Thoughts: I love this place and the anticipation builds as you come to the finish...Play the long tees for a bigger thrill...many of the pics and video are from the shorts and these are not nearly as dramatic. Designed for the serious DGer and not for families and newcomers. Simply an amazing and beautiful while challenging and unique experience.

12 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 nice park

1    3/29/2010   3/30/2010
Review By: svens06
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: the park is VERY nice and clean.

baskets are in good shape, Tee boxes are much better than most.

two tee boxes on most holes, they have not just a longer throw, but they provide different angles to the hole.

on a few holes you will be able to throw ur disc without being nervous where its going to end up.

If you keep ur eyes open you will find discs b/c they will be lost here.

Lynchburg rd is worth the drive, very cool rd with a fun car.

Cons: layout: when a disc hits the side of a hill they will roll far far away. Call me old fashion, but i dont think a bike path cut out on the side of a hill is a fairway.

This course is challenging, but when you have to worry about your disc either flying/rolling into the water on just about every hole it takes the fun out of chucking a disc.

The one hole is +150' throw over water to get to a basket (which isnt the bad part), the clearing however, after the tee box is a joke, you are basically guaranteeing a lost disc.

every single hole is on the side of a hill, so even when you have a good throw its going to roll uncontrollably to some far brush or like i mentioned, water.

I cant tell you how many times i would hit the disc RIGHT next to a basket and i would literally roll to where i had to use a fairway driver.

trying to find your way around for the first time is a scavenger hunt for sure. I think i would be able to navigate it easily a second time though.



Other Thoughts: i wish i brought my mountain bike b/c i would have had more fun than bringing discs on this course

I might try this course again, maybe it'll change my mind.

Kiwanis DGC in Staunton is definitely better.

2 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Wow...

2-4    6/10/2010   1/14/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 197  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/10/2011
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The best piece of land I have seen for disc golf. A bunch of wooded hills on the side of a cool little lake. All set in a nice little park. There is also some some creeks running through the course. A perfect location for a course. Multiple tees and basket positions. Signs indicating basket positions, distances and next tee pad. Great variety. Course does not favor forehand or backhand players. I had to use a little bit of everything to complete a round. Great use of the available land. Not one basket position that I didn't like. The few straight shots had either trees guarding the basket or elevation so the shot played to a blind basket. Both woods and water are used to add difficulty on almost every shot. Several shots that must go over or near the lake. Great risk/reward opportunities. Hole #2 is the first chance to go over the lake. You must throw out of the woods and over a small bay. Fairly easy from the white tees, but the blues add distance and more water. Hole #17 has got to be the signature hole. A beautiful bomb of 460' off of a hill overlooking the lake. The throw must go over the dam and end up down the hill on the baskside. But a turnover would go right into the lake and a poorly placed shot could go down the hill and into the dam overflow pool. The basket sits right next to the overflow and creek. Just a great hole. Bring your camera. Hole 18 plays back across the dam or over the lake. Basket is located on a small hill side next to a small point of the water.
Cons: Gravel tee pads. No concrete. Uneven and not great for winter play. Hate to sound old but almost a safety hazard when they have some snow and ice on them. It just about makes it not worth playing in bad weather. Navigation and signage could use some improvement. Either there were some baskets I couldn't find, or some in the long positions were missing. I am not realy sure. Hard to tell from tee pad where the basket was. Some holes had 1 basket and some had 2. Or I missed something. Either way, it could use a tweak. There are also trails throughout the course that are for bikers, hikers or walkers. Make sure it is clear before you throw.
UPDATE
After playing for the second time I still had some issues understanding which baskets are for what holes, but it was a little more clear. After a few rounds this probably becomes a non-issue. Bette signs and some indication on the baskets would really help.
Other Thoughts: This is the toughest review I have done. I absolutely love the course, but disliked the tee pads so much I had to downgrade the overall grade. Right now I'd really give it a 3.75 if that was an option. It is just a great place for a course. It is almost a crime that it doesn't have concrete pads. If they add that and make the navigation a little better I could easily give this course a 4.5. Add a pro shop, restaurant and bar and it would be my first 5. In good weather I would definitely consider this a destination course, worthy of a good road trip. In the winter it's probably not worth it.
UPDATE
After playing this course in good weather, if 95+ is considered good, I still like this course a lot for it's good qualities, and the natural pads play much better in the summer. Without ice and snow I had no issues with footing. Scenery and basket positions are so good at this course, that they overshadow the few faults that exist. With a little more work this course would be one of the very best. Just a real fun and challenging place to play a round.

I also saw one of the largest snakes I've ever seen outside of a zoo. It had to be about an 8' black snake working its way down a creek bed. Scared the hell out of me!

It's a little out of the way, but if you're anywhere close make sure you get to this course. You'll be happy you did.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/20/2009   1/13/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 102  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/22/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Scenic! Great for experienced players but less experienced players will still have a good time.
There is a nice variety of holes using elevation, water hazards, and obstacles. Multiple tee and basket placements are always a plus. Course wasn't crowded while I was there.

*Edit (4/12): The natural tees are gone and turf tees are in. Green turf for short tees and blue turf for long tees.
Cons:
Navigation can be an issue for first timers.
The first tee is tricky to find, from the parking area go towards the beach then to the right.

Bringing a map will help.
Other Thoughts: The fee is to get into the park during the summer season. Bring the family because there is plenty for them to do if they aren't disc golfers. I enjoyed a swim after my round. You get a great view on #17 where you may want to slow down and take it all in, maybe bring a camera too. This is one of my favorites to play!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Relentless Challenge

1    10/12/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 327  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Two tee positions, two basket positions per hole. Some holes - 4,7,16,18 come to mind - had two baskets. The map and scorecard available online made the course easy to follow/play. Beautiful park, an especially good play during the middle of October-November when the foliage is at its colourful peak.
Cons:
Stone/gravel teepads less than ideal. No current basket position indicator at teepad. (There was a current-location list at the welcome sign, but half of them were wrong).
Other Thoughts:
This course had tremendous variety. Some holes have very significant elevation changes, both downhill and uphill, a few are flat, but most have some minor change in elevation. A few wide open holes, a few completely wooded holes with challenging-but-fair throwing lanes, a few holes where you start in the open/woods finishing in the other, a few with broad fairways defined by woods/brush, a few across-the-meadow holes. A couple dead-straight initial drives, but most require some type of turn, with left/right in relatively equal balance. The sharpness of the turns vary - some near 90-degrees, others short-n-shallow, others requiring very long, continuous arcing shots, some fishhook/J-shaped!. Many tough pin positions - some elevated on mounds, others with sharp drop-offs or water nearby. Water potentially comes into play on four holes, with #18 requiring the player to make an accurate assessment of his abilities - throwing, or swimming, as the case may be! :-)

Favourite hole: #17-long, the obvious choice. Long, major downhill bomb with water on the right (R.I.P. Destroyer), with a left-turn and more downhill to reach the basket - with a small amount of water near the basket, too.

To-date, I've played 81 courses, 17 of them in Virginia, and this course easily makes it into my top five - certainly a must-play if anywhere near the area. The variety of the holes is fantastic, and playing from the long tees could pose a tremendous challenge - my round from the short tees was plenty tough for me.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.