North Garden, VA
Walnut Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #1 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 269ft.   4 / 346ft.   3 / 293ft.   4 / 370ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  A great welcome back!

1    10/8/2009   10/9/2009
Review By: Hearty Discus
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very challenging, even from the the whites. Tons of elevation changes. Beautiful scenery all around. Interesting basket placements. A lot of thought went into the design of the course.
Cons: Tee boxes could be a little better. Course can be a bit confusing for someone who has never played it. Signage could be improved. Cement pads and improved signage would make this course just about perfect.
Other Thoughts: Just a great course to play after a 10-year hiatus from disc golf. It's really a shame there aren't more courses in the area, but I doubt I'll get tired of this Walnut Creek for a while.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 its not missin' much

2-4    4/9/2008   7/2/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 407  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -dual tees
-lots of elevation
-very well kept park
-easy to follow
-very challenging
-not crowded
-nice restroom facilities nearby
-maps & scorecards available on the billboard near tee 1
-lots of water and very pretty views, and the course is on a lake, so if you play on a hot day you can take a dip afterwards (hopefully its not to get a disc back!)
-all types of hole imaginable
-its a very pretty drive to get to the course on curvy Shenandoah mountain roads
-pretty easy to follow because the paths are well worn in
Cons: -dirt tees. a course of this caliber should have cement pads.
-poor tee signs
-many of the fairways in the woods have lots of little pieces of debris and roots and twigs that will affect the flight path of what you think should be a well thrown disc. these should be cleaned up.
-tees are only marked with colored blocks and aren't always labeled well on the signs, so they can occasionally be a little hard to find your first time here
Other Thoughts: its only an hour drive from Richmond, so its not that far away from anything major, just make a day trip out of it. Its also very close to UVA, so I'm surprised that more college students don't come here to play. Someone from the Charlottesville area should do some recruiting on campus and get some more people into the sport. Walnut Creek would be a great place for someone to learn and their skills would develop very fast.

This course is easily in my top 50, and is the best course in Western Virginia

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 As good as it gets?

1    6/30/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.9 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is amazing. The views offered here are like nothing I'd ever seen on a disc golf course before. A picturesque lake is visible from many of the holes, and you throw over small parts of it twice. This is easily the most scenic course I have ever played - I would recommend bringing along a camera if you have room in your bag. In addition to the beauty of the lake, there is also a designated swimming area that provides a nice chance to cool off after a few rounds on a hot day.

Awesome views aside, the course itself is great. It has to be the best mix of open and wooded shots, uphill and downhill shots, doglegs, blind shots, etc. that I have ever seen. The course makes great use of the land - the open shots all feature different types of hills and slopes, and the wooded shots are varied between straight tunnel shots and sharp doglegs. The course is also very well marked, with quality signs at every tee and signs marking the trails to the next hole.

Like most other reviewers mentioned, the highlight of the course is easily Hole 17. The view from here is as good as it gets, with the winding lake to your right surrounded by tree-covered hills. The fairway is insane - the first 1/3 is a very steep hill, which briefly flattens out, followed by another steep hill that slopes off to the left of the fairway. The basket is 460 ft away next to a creek. This hole alone makes the course worth checking out.
Cons: I really don't think that there are many negatives here, but that's just me. If you prefer shorter courses that require less hiking, this is not the course for you. The tees here are all natural, but most of them were nice and flat without any roots so it wasn't really a big deal. The trails between the wooded holes are well-established, and most of them have bridges built where needed, but there is one or two places where the bridges are broken and you have to do a little exploring to find your way around. None of these factors really take away from the overall quality of this course, though.
Other Thoughts: The 4.5/5 rating that I'm giving this course is the highest I've ever given. Aside from a few small things like the natural tees and a broken bridge, this course is close to perfect. I'm hesitant to give out a 5/5, but I can't imagine a course being any closer to one than this.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Beauty in Virginia

5+    11/26/2008   6/8/2009
Review By: john501
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very pretty park with a lake in the middle. Rolling, heavily wooded hills offer challenging elevation changes. Course is on the long side, but there are several easy birdie opportunities. Multiple tees for many of the holes make for interesting variety.
Cons: Costs a few bucks to get into the park during swimming season. Not a course for beginners.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course only a half-dozen times. I have never played it particularly well, but it remains one of my favorite parks nonetheless. Challenging, beautiful, and quiet when you go early in the day.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/14/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: reallybadputter
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/13/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Awesome views... empty your bag on hole #17...Plays through a wooded county park with an idyllic lake that comes into play on 4 holes.

For a mid to advanced player, one of the best tests of golf in central Virginia. Multiple pin positions and tees on most holes. Holes 4, 5, 7, 12, 16, and 18 have baskets in both pin positions... pick your poison...

As varied as a course without many true par 4s can be. Variation in holes from "must deuce" to "real tough 3" holes.



Cons: Memorial-Labor Day $3 for county residents/$4.50 non residents to enter park ($2/$3 for children)
27 of 35 (white/blue) teeboxes have stone, others are natural, but only bad after heavy rain.
Other Thoughts: A real fun course that keeps getting better as the local club adds pin positions and builds more tee boxes each year.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 has it all

1    3/31/2007   4/11/2009
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 30.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: In hindsight, I can't really think of why this course doesn't desrve a 5. The previous reviews reminded me of the dirt tees so I'll use that to justify the .5 off. Just a beautiful mix of holes, uphill, downhill, sidehill through some gorgeous woods and wrapped around a lake. The course probably has the two best finishing holes of any (near 100) that I've played.
Cons: natural tees, too darn far away
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to get back here. Hope #17 is in long when you play it. The water hazard on the right is obvious but don't overshoot the pin to the left either (not as obvious from the tee). Make sure you've got enough arm if you decide to go for the pin on #18, they mark the distance to clear the water (as well as the D to the pin) on the tee sign. Don't miss this course if you're in the area.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful, Majestic course

5+    7/27/2008   3/8/2009
Review By: DiscChick
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.1 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The setting is absolutely beautiful.

A wide variety of holes. Open fields and wooded areas. Challenging water hazards.
Multiple tee & pin placements allow many variations on the course.
Maps & scorecards available on-line. I highly recommend the map. Some holes are better marked than others.

The view from the 17th tee takes my breath away every time.

Picnic areas and a beach. Fishing.
Bathrooms (changing rooms), water fountains and vending machines
Cons: Multiple pin placements may cause some confusion

Natural tees can be treacherous
Other Thoughts: I will never get over the stunning beauty of this course. It's a must if you are in the Charlottesville area. For a good throw and a good hike.

Bring your swimsuit and take a dip in the lake after throwing on a hot day.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Majestic, with caution!!!

1    2/12/2009   2/14/2009
Review By: Ragmagnet
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In the foothills of Charlottesville, this course has it all. It is the perfect example of challenging. Most shot aren't easy. You will go through trees, cross lakes, brave the wind, and walk up steep hills.
Cons: It's signature charm is also it's fault. Depending on your skill level, you may get annoyed with the intense obstacles. Experienced players will eat this course up, while beginners may struggle. Make sure you have a decent disc inventory and some good traction shoes.
Other Thoughts: So I need to say what I learned at this park. It's terrain is majestic, but though it never occurs to us disc golfers, it can in fact be dangerous. My experience at Walnut Creek was cut short. I was in the woods on hole 7. There were dry leaves that covered a mud slick. It was the perfect "natural boobie trap". While trying to retrieve a disc I slipped and took a nasty fall into a steep ditch. I sprained my knee and ankle. I was playing alone, so I had no one around to help me up, not a good scene. I had to crawl on my hand and knees to get out of the slippery sink hole, and then I had to limp back to my car. So, unless you are extremely saavy in these types of situations (not many people are), or it is your first time at this course, be sure to bring a friend just in case the majestic terrain decides to claim you. This course was laid out my some intense minded players, boy scouts possibly. Remember the age old rule your mother taught you and BE CAREFUL. Once my injury heels, I intend to return to Walnut Park, WITH A FRIEND THIS TIME, and finish what I started. This course is too beautiful NOT to conquer.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course in a beautiful park

5+    11/1/2009   1/5/2008
Review By: Chutney
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 12/31/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nice quiet setting for some great disc golf. The first hole is a great indicator of the beauty this course holds. Anything from a deuce to a double bogey (if you find the water) is possible from the first tee. Each hole has character. Requires shots that fly straight, right, left, high, and low.

Update: Several holes now have both short and long baskets in place. This makes for some great two shot holes and variety. Also, more teepads have been constructed in the last few months. These changes bump up the course to a 4.5.
Cons: Not much. Occasionally you will have to wait for bikers to pass by since some of the holes play near the trails.
Other Thoughts: I love the design. Throwing from open into the woods, woods into the open, over water, beside water, etc...

Favorite hole: Hole 18 short to long. Almost 400 feet of carry over water if you want the deuce. Layup area to the right if you want to play it safe.

Hole 17 always deserves mention as one the best holes you'll see. Huge downhill shot to a basket guarded by water and trees. The extreme right to left slope of the fairway on the way down will cause shots that fade early to carry well off line. If you happen to land short off the tee, the approach shot is really tricky.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One of my Top 5 Favorite courses

5+    2/20/2010   12/23/2007
Review By: Olorin
Played: 295  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 34.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/28/2010
24 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: My Score = 9.6 out of 10
It's currently my #4 Favorite of all the courses I've played.
If I could, I'd rate the course 4.8

After a scenic drive in the VA countryside your anticipation builds as you drive up to the lake, and you're not disappointed because this course has it all. The terrain is fantastic! The lake is in play on 4 holes and in view on several more. On hole 1 you see the lake on your left with a side sloped fairway that sucks discs down to the water. Hole 2, from the Blue tees, has a fantastic and somewhat risky drive through the trees over a finger of the lake. Hole 17 has the lake on the right, an 82 ft elevation drop, and a creek next to the basket. Hole 18 with the basket in the long position is a majestic hole! From the Blue tee only the very longest throwers will risk driving straight at the basket; the rest of us mortals will have to avoid the lake on the left with our drive, then throw over an inlet of the lake again to get to the green. The majority of the rest of the holes play in the serene and beautiful woods which are filled with old growth trees. You're really out in nature and totally away from the cares of the world. There are a few more open bomber shots as well, though, for good variety. There are also lots of big up and down elevation changes making for some cool shots. There's a good mix of left, right, and straight shots too. Holes 16-18 from the Blue tees may be the best finishing holes I've ever played. With 2 sets of tees and 2 basket positions per hole, there is great variety that caters to many skill levels. Six holes also have 2 permanent baskets (4, 5, 7, 12, 16, 18). The tee signs are first class with detailed maps of the tees and basket positions. There is an excellent map and score card available online, and a good message board at the course. Make sure to check there for the current basket positions. With the multiplicity of layouts this is a very helpful feature.
Cons: -The tees are the biggest area needing improvement. Most tees are dirt or grass, but a few have crushed gravel. Some of the dirt tees can get very muddy and slippery when it rains or when the ground thaws. This is my only real disappointment with the course, so I think that concrete tees would be the most important improvement they could make.
-Because of the terrain 11 of the baskets were hard to see from the tee, so make sure to bring the course map.
-The baskets are mixed between shorts and longs, so it can be hard to figure out where you're aiming. I'd suggest that you make sure to mark down the current basket positions from the message board so that you can know where to throw.
Other Thoughts: *Course Level: White-Short = White level; White-Long and Blue tees = Blue level.
*With 2 tees and 2 basket positions there are endless possible combinations. My personal preference is that, at least occasionally, the baskets be set up in either all Long or all Short positions, but others like the tremendous variety available by mixing them up.
*Favorite hole = 18, Blue tee to long basket, par 4. It's a gorgeous hole with the lake all along the left side of the fairway and manicured grass on the right. There's plenty of risk vs. reward trying to decide where to go across the lake. Do you play it safe and stay to the right, or should you try to get your disc closer with the increased risk of going in the water? Then your second shot has to get across still more water. What a fantastic finishing hole!

With it's beautiful, peaceful terrain, water holes, challenge, variety, and elevation changes Walnut Creek is one of my Top 10 favorite courses! I always enjoy the course and I play it every time I have a chance. I consider this a destination course that is worth even a long trip to play. Walnut Creek is on my short list of "Must Play" courses, so make sure to play it!

You can find even more thorough review notes and hole by hole rating information at the Yahoo Group "DG Course Reviews", http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...ourseReviews/

24 of 26 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.