North Garden, VA 
Walnut Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #11 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 185ft.   3 / 12325ft.   3 / 216ft.   3 / 263ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Wow...

2-4    6/10/2010   1/14/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/10/2011
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The best piece of land I have seen for disc golf. A bunch of wooded hills on the side of a cool little lake. All set in a nice little park. There is also some some creeks running through the course. A perfect location for a course. Multiple tees and basket positions. Signs indicating basket positions, distances and next tee pad. Great variety. Course does not favor forehand or backhand players. I had to use a little bit of everything to complete a round. Great use of the available land. Not one basket position that I didn't like. The few straight shots had either trees guarding the basket or elevation so the shot played to a blind basket. Both woods and water are used to add difficulty on almost every shot. Several shots that must go over or near the lake. Great risk/reward opportunities. Hole #2 is the first chance to go over the lake. You must throw out of the woods and over a small bay. Fairly easy from the white tees, but the blues add distance and more water. Hole #17 has got to be the signature hole. A beautiful bomb of 460' off of a hill overlooking the lake. The throw must go over the dam and end up down the hill on the baskside. But a turnover would go right into the lake and a poorly placed shot could go down the hill and into the dam overflow pool. The basket sits right next to the overflow and creek. Just a great hole. Bring your camera. Hole 18 plays back across the dam or over the lake. Basket is located on a small hill side next to a small point of the water.
Cons: Gravel tee pads. No concrete. Uneven and not great for winter play. Hate to sound old but almost a safety hazard when they have some snow and ice on them. It just about makes it not worth playing in bad weather. Navigation and signage could use some improvement. Either there were some baskets I couldn't find, or some in the long positions were missing. I am not realy sure. Hard to tell from tee pad where the basket was. Some holes had 1 basket and some had 2. Or I missed something. Either way, it could use a tweak. There are also trails throughout the course that are for bikers, hikers or walkers. Make sure it is clear before you throw.
UPDATE
After playing for the second time I still had some issues understanding which baskets are for what holes, but it was a little more clear. After a few rounds this probably becomes a non-issue. Bette signs and some indication on the baskets would really help.
Other Thoughts: This is the toughest review I have done. I absolutely love the course, but disliked the tee pads so much I had to downgrade the overall grade. Right now I'd really give it a 3.75 if that was an option. It is just a great place for a course. It is almost a crime that it doesn't have concrete pads. If they add that and make the navigation a little better I could easily give this course a 4.5. Add a pro shop, restaurant and bar and it would be my first 5. In good weather I would definitely consider this a destination course, worthy of a good road trip. In the winter it's probably not worth it.
UPDATE
After playing this course in good weather, if 95+ is considered good, I still like this course a lot for it's good qualities, and the natural pads play much better in the summer. Without ice and snow I had no issues with footing. Scenery and basket positions are so good at this course, that they overshadow the few faults that exist. With a little more work this course would be one of the very best. Just a real fun and challenging place to play a round.

I also saw one of the largest snakes I've ever seen outside of a zoo. It had to be about an 8' black snake working its way down a creek bed. Scared the hell out of me!

It's a little out of the way, but if you're anywhere close make sure you get to this course. You'll be happy you did.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/20/2009   1/13/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/22/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Scenic! Great for experienced players but less experienced players will still have a good time.
There is a nice variety of holes using elevation, water hazards, and obstacles. Multiple tee and basket placements are always a plus. Course wasn't crowded while I was there.

*Edit (4/12): The natural tees are gone and turf tees are in. Green turf for short tees and blue turf for long tees.
Cons:
Navigation can be an issue for first timers.
The first tee is tricky to find, from the parking area go towards the beach then to the right.

Bringing a map will help.
Other Thoughts: The fee is to get into the park during the summer season. Bring the family because there is plenty for them to do if they aren't disc golfers. I enjoyed a swim after my round. You get a great view on #17 where you may want to slow down and take it all in, maybe bring a camera too. This is one of my favorites to play!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Relentless Challenge

1    10/12/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Two tee positions, two basket positions per hole. Some holes - 4,7,16,18 come to mind - had two baskets. The map and scorecard available online made the course easy to follow/play. Beautiful park, an especially good play during the middle of October-November when the foliage is at its colourful peak.
Cons:
Stone/gravel teepads less than ideal. No current basket position indicator at teepad. (There was a current-location list at the welcome sign, but half of them were wrong).
Other Thoughts:
This course had tremendous variety. Some holes have very significant elevation changes, both downhill and uphill, a few are flat, but most have some minor change in elevation. A few wide open holes, a few completely wooded holes with challenging-but-fair throwing lanes, a few holes where you start in the open/woods finishing in the other, a few with broad fairways defined by woods/brush, a few across-the-meadow holes. A couple dead-straight initial drives, but most require some type of turn, with left/right in relatively equal balance. The sharpness of the turns vary - some near 90-degrees, others short-n-shallow, others requiring very long, continuous arcing shots, some fishhook/J-shaped!. Many tough pin positions - some elevated on mounds, others with sharp drop-offs or water nearby. Water potentially comes into play on four holes, with #18 requiring the player to make an accurate assessment of his abilities - throwing, or swimming, as the case may be! :-)

Favourite hole: #17-long, the obvious choice. Long, major downhill bomb with water on the right (R.I.P. Destroyer), with a left-turn and more downhill to reach the basket - with a small amount of water near the basket, too.

To-date, I've played 81 courses, 17 of them in Virginia, and this course easily makes it into my top five - certainly a must-play if anywhere near the area. The variety of the holes is fantastic, and playing from the long tees could pose a tremendous challenge - my round from the short tees was plenty tough for me.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  A great welcome back!

1    10/8/2009   10/9/2009
Review By: Hearty Discus
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very challenging, even from the the whites. Tons of elevation changes. Beautiful scenery all around. Interesting basket placements. A lot of thought went into the design of the course.
Cons: Tee boxes could be a little better. Course can be a bit confusing for someone who has never played it. Signage could be improved. Cement pads and improved signage would make this course just about perfect.
Other Thoughts: Just a great course to play after a 10-year hiatus from disc golf. It's really a shame there aren't more courses in the area, but I doubt I'll get tired of this Walnut Creek for a while.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 its not missin' much

2-4    4/9/2008   7/2/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 407  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.3 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -dual tees
-lots of elevation
-very well kept park
-easy to follow
-very challenging
-not crowded
-nice restroom facilities nearby
-maps & scorecards available on the billboard near tee 1
-lots of water and very pretty views, and the course is on a lake, so if you play on a hot day you can take a dip afterwards (hopefully its not to get a disc back!)
-all types of hole imaginable
-its a very pretty drive to get to the course on curvy Shenandoah mountain roads
-pretty easy to follow because the paths are well worn in
Cons: -dirt tees. a course of this caliber should have cement pads.
-poor tee signs
-many of the fairways in the woods have lots of little pieces of debris and roots and twigs that will affect the flight path of what you think should be a well thrown disc. these should be cleaned up.
-tees are only marked with colored blocks and aren't always labeled well on the signs, so they can occasionally be a little hard to find your first time here
Other Thoughts: its only an hour drive from Richmond, so its not that far away from anything major, just make a day trip out of it. Its also very close to UVA, so I'm surprised that more college students don't come here to play. Someone from the Charlottesville area should do some recruiting on campus and get some more people into the sport. Walnut Creek would be a great place for someone to learn and their skills would develop very fast.

This course is easily in my top 50, and is the best course in Western Virginia

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 As good as it gets?

1    6/30/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is amazing. The views offered here are like nothing I'd ever seen on a disc golf course before. A picturesque lake is visible from many of the holes, and you throw over small parts of it twice. This is easily the most scenic course I have ever played - I would recommend bringing along a camera if you have room in your bag. In addition to the beauty of the lake, there is also a designated swimming area that provides a nice chance to cool off after a few rounds on a hot day.

Awesome views aside, the course itself is great. It has to be the best mix of open and wooded shots, uphill and downhill shots, doglegs, blind shots, etc. that I have ever seen. The course makes great use of the land - the open shots all feature different types of hills and slopes, and the wooded shots are varied between straight tunnel shots and sharp doglegs. The course is also very well marked, with quality signs at every tee and signs marking the trails to the next hole.

Like most other reviewers mentioned, the highlight of the course is easily Hole 17. The view from here is as good as it gets, with the winding lake to your right surrounded by tree-covered hills. The fairway is insane - the first 1/3 is a very steep hill, which briefly flattens out, followed by another steep hill that slopes off to the left of the fairway. The basket is 460 ft away next to a creek. This hole alone makes the course worth checking out.
Cons: I really don't think that there are many negatives here, but that's just me. If you prefer shorter courses that require less hiking, this is not the course for you. The tees here are all natural, but most of them were nice and flat without any roots so it wasn't really a big deal. The trails between the wooded holes are well-established, and most of them have bridges built where needed, but there is one or two places where the bridges are broken and you have to do a little exploring to find your way around. None of these factors really take away from the overall quality of this course, though.
Other Thoughts: The 4.5/5 rating that I'm giving this course is the highest I've ever given. Aside from a few small things like the natural tees and a broken bridge, this course is close to perfect. I'm hesitant to give out a 5/5, but I can't imagine a course being any closer to one than this.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Beauty in Virginia

5+    11/26/2008   6/8/2009
Review By: john501
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very pretty park with a lake in the middle. Rolling, heavily wooded hills offer challenging elevation changes. Course is on the long side, but there are several easy birdie opportunities. Multiple tees for many of the holes make for interesting variety.
Cons: Costs a few bucks to get into the park during swimming season. Not a course for beginners.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course only a half-dozen times. I have never played it particularly well, but it remains one of my favorite parks nonetheless. Challenging, beautiful, and quiet when you go early in the day.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/14/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: reallybadputter
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/13/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Awesome views... empty your bag on hole #17...Plays through a wooded county park with an idyllic lake that comes into play on 4 holes.

For a mid to advanced player, one of the best tests of golf in central Virginia. Multiple pin positions and tees on most holes. Holes 4, 5, 7, 12, 16, and 18 have baskets in both pin positions... pick your poison...

As varied as a course without many true par 4s can be. Variation in holes from "must deuce" to "real tough 3" holes.



Cons: Memorial-Labor Day $3 for county residents/$4.50 non residents to enter park ($2/$3 for children)
27 of 35 (white/blue) teeboxes have stone, others are natural, but only bad after heavy rain.
Other Thoughts: A real fun course that keeps getting better as the local club adds pin positions and builds more tee boxes each year.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 has it all

1    3/31/2007   4/11/2009
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 31.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: In hindsight, I can't really think of why this course doesn't desrve a 5. The previous reviews reminded me of the dirt tees so I'll use that to justify the .5 off. Just a beautiful mix of holes, uphill, downhill, sidehill through some gorgeous woods and wrapped around a lake. The course probably has the two best finishing holes of any (near 100) that I've played.
Cons: natural tees, too darn far away
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to get back here. Hope #17 is in long when you play it. The water hazard on the right is obvious but don't overshoot the pin to the left either (not as obvious from the tee). Make sure you've got enough arm if you decide to go for the pin on #18, they mark the distance to clear the water (as well as the D to the pin) on the tee sign. Don't miss this course if you're in the area.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful, Majestic course

5+    7/27/2008   3/8/2009
Review By: DiscChick
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.3 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The setting is absolutely beautiful.

A wide variety of holes. Open fields and wooded areas. Challenging water hazards.
Multiple tee & pin placements allow many variations on the course.
Maps & scorecards available on-line. I highly recommend the map. Some holes are better marked than others.

The view from the 17th tee takes my breath away every time.

Picnic areas and a beach. Fishing.
Bathrooms (changing rooms), water fountains and vending machines
Cons: Multiple pin placements may cause some confusion

Natural tees can be treacherous
Other Thoughts: I will never get over the stunning beauty of this course. It's a must if you are in the Charlottesville area. For a good throw and a good hike.

Bring your swimsuit and take a dip in the lake after throwing on a hot day.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.