Disc Golf Center
North Garden, VA 
Walnut Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #15 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 245ft.   4 / 303ft.   3 / 302ft.   4 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Blue Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 has it all

1    3/31/2007   4/11/2009
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 31.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: In hindsight, I can't really think of why this course doesn't desrve a 5. The previous reviews reminded me of the dirt tees so I'll use that to justify the .5 off. Just a beautiful mix of holes, uphill, downhill, sidehill through some gorgeous woods and wrapped around a lake. The course probably has the two best finishing holes of any (near 100) that I've played.
Cons: natural tees, too darn far away
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to get back here. Hope #17 is in long when you play it. The water hazard on the right is obvious but don't overshoot the pin to the left either (not as obvious from the tee). Make sure you've got enough arm if you decide to go for the pin on #18, they mark the distance to clear the water (as well as the D to the pin) on the tee sign. Don't miss this course if you're in the area.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful, Majestic course

5+    7/27/2008   3/8/2009
Review By: DiscChick
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.5 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The setting is absolutely beautiful.

A wide variety of holes. Open fields and wooded areas. Challenging water hazards.
Multiple tee & pin placements allow many variations on the course.
Maps & scorecards available on-line. I highly recommend the map. Some holes are better marked than others.

The view from the 17th tee takes my breath away every time.

Picnic areas and a beach. Fishing.
Bathrooms (changing rooms), water fountains and vending machines
Cons: Multiple pin placements may cause some confusion

Natural tees can be treacherous
Other Thoughts: I will never get over the stunning beauty of this course. It's a must if you are in the Charlottesville area. For a good throw and a good hike.

Bring your swimsuit and take a dip in the lake after throwing on a hot day.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Majestic, with caution!!!

1    2/12/2009   2/14/2009
Review By: Ragmagnet
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In the foothills of Charlottesville, this course has it all. It is the perfect example of challenging. Most shot aren't easy. You will go through trees, cross lakes, brave the wind, and walk up steep hills.
Cons: It's signature charm is also it's fault. Depending on your skill level, you may get annoyed with the intense obstacles. Experienced players will eat this course up, while beginners may struggle. Make sure you have a decent disc inventory and some good traction shoes.
Other Thoughts: So I need to say what I learned at this park. It's terrain is majestic, but though it never occurs to us disc golfers, it can in fact be dangerous. My experience at Walnut Creek was cut short. I was in the woods on hole 7. There were dry leaves that covered a mud slick. It was the perfect "natural boobie trap". While trying to retrieve a disc I slipped and took a nasty fall into a steep ditch. I sprained my knee and ankle. I was playing alone, so I had no one around to help me up, not a good scene. I had to crawl on my hand and knees to get out of the slippery sink hole, and then I had to limp back to my car. So, unless you are extremely saavy in these types of situations (not many people are), or it is your first time at this course, be sure to bring a friend just in case the majestic terrain decides to claim you. This course was laid out my some intense minded players, boy scouts possibly. Remember the age old rule your mother taught you and BE CAREFUL. Once my injury heels, I intend to return to Walnut Park, WITH A FRIEND THIS TIME, and finish what I started. This course is too beautiful NOT to conquer.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course in a beautiful park

5+    11/1/2009   1/5/2008
Review By: Chutney
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/31/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nice quiet setting for some great disc golf. The first hole is a great indicator of the beauty this course holds. Anything from a deuce to a double bogey (if you find the water) is possible from the first tee. Each hole has character. Requires shots that fly straight, right, left, high, and low.

Update: Several holes now have both short and long baskets in place. This makes for some great two shot holes and variety. Also, more teepads have been constructed in the last few months. These changes bump up the course to a 4.5.
Cons: Not much. Occasionally you will have to wait for bikers to pass by since some of the holes play near the trails.
Other Thoughts: I love the design. Throwing from open into the woods, woods into the open, over water, beside water, etc...

Favorite hole: Hole 18 short to long. Almost 400 feet of carry over water if you want the deuce. Layup area to the right if you want to play it safe.

Hole 17 always deserves mention as one the best holes you'll see. Huge downhill shot to a basket guarded by water and trees. The extreme right to left slope of the fairway on the way down will cause shots that fade early to carry well off line. If you happen to land short off the tee, the approach shot is really tricky.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One of my Top 5 Favorite courses

5+    2/20/2010   12/23/2007
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/28/2010
24 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: My Score = 9.6 out of 10
It's currently my #4 Favorite of all the courses I've played.
If I could, I'd rate the course 4.8

After a scenic drive in the VA countryside your anticipation builds as you drive up to the lake, and you're not disappointed because this course has it all. The terrain is fantastic! The lake is in play on 4 holes and in view on several more. On hole 1 you see the lake on your left with a side sloped fairway that sucks discs down to the water. Hole 2, from the Blue tees, has a fantastic and somewhat risky drive through the trees over a finger of the lake. Hole 17 has the lake on the right, an 82 ft elevation drop, and a creek next to the basket. Hole 18 with the basket in the long position is a majestic hole! From the Blue tee only the very longest throwers will risk driving straight at the basket; the rest of us mortals will have to avoid the lake on the left with our drive, then throw over an inlet of the lake again to get to the green. The majority of the rest of the holes play in the serene and beautiful woods which are filled with old growth trees. You're really out in nature and totally away from the cares of the world. There are a few more open bomber shots as well, though, for good variety. There are also lots of big up and down elevation changes making for some cool shots. There's a good mix of left, right, and straight shots too. Holes 16-18 from the Blue tees may be the best finishing holes I've ever played. With 2 sets of tees and 2 basket positions per hole, there is great variety that caters to many skill levels. Six holes also have 2 permanent baskets (4, 5, 7, 12, 16, 18). The tee signs are first class with detailed maps of the tees and basket positions. There is an excellent map and score card available online, and a good message board at the course. Make sure to check there for the current basket positions. With the multiplicity of layouts this is a very helpful feature.
Cons: -The tees are the biggest area needing improvement. Most tees are dirt or grass, but a few have crushed gravel. Some of the dirt tees can get very muddy and slippery when it rains or when the ground thaws. This is my only real disappointment with the course, so I think that concrete tees would be the most important improvement they could make.
-Because of the terrain 11 of the baskets were hard to see from the tee, so make sure to bring the course map.
-The baskets are mixed between shorts and longs, so it can be hard to figure out where you're aiming. I'd suggest that you make sure to mark down the current basket positions from the message board so that you can know where to throw.
Other Thoughts: *Course Level: White-Short = White level; White-Long and Blue tees = Blue level.
*With 2 tees and 2 basket positions there are endless possible combinations. My personal preference is that, at least occasionally, the baskets be set up in either all Long or all Short positions, but others like the tremendous variety available by mixing them up.
*Favorite hole = 18, Blue tee to long basket, par 4. It's a gorgeous hole with the lake all along the left side of the fairway and manicured grass on the right. There's plenty of risk vs. reward trying to decide where to go across the lake. Do you play it safe and stay to the right, or should you try to get your disc closer with the increased risk of going in the water? Then your second shot has to get across still more water. What a fantastic finishing hole!

With it's beautiful, peaceful terrain, water holes, challenge, variety, and elevation changes Walnut Creek is one of my Top 10 favorite courses! I always enjoy the course and I play it every time I have a chance. I consider this a destination course that is worth even a long trip to play. Walnut Creek is on my short list of "Must Play" courses, so make sure to play it!

You can find even more thorough review notes and hole by hole rating information at the Yahoo Group "DG Course Reviews", http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...ourseReviews/

24 of 26 people found this review helpful.

 Great review above

8/15/2006   11/15/2007
Review By: JoePublic
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17
1 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: See the review above. I also really enjoyed myself here. Plan a day of biking, fishing and discin'.

1 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Picture Perfect Mountain Course

5+    10/13/2010   9/12/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/15/2011
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Landscape, setting, varied challenges per hole
Other Thoughts: Located a few miles south of Charlottesville in rural Albemarle County, Walnut Creek is among the most scenic disc golf courses I've played. The course is wonderfully laid out and takes full advantage of its natural setting, and requires the full range of disc golf skills. The course is also rough around the edges and unforgiving, with thick, punishing rough on many holes. So bring your camera, some spare discs, and bug spray, and enjoy this beautiful course.

Walnut Creek is a mostly woods course set among the beautiful Central Virginia foothills and overlooking a picturesque resevoir. The layout of the course is well considered, with a good variety of longer holes interspersed with holes requiring left or right hook, or up or downhill shots, or a combination of all. Extensive work has obviously gone into clearing the fairways, which are challenging without being unreasonable. Watch out if you veer off the fairways, though; the woods are thick and unforgiving, and nasty thorns add an extra penalty on some holes Even when you don't have a view of the lake, which is most of the time, the woods are exceptionally beautiful and serene, however, with lots of established hardwoods. This is also one of the hilliest courses I've played, with lots of steep up and down. The finish of the course is the best, with an interesting hole 16 requiring a shot down into a gully along the side of a steep incline followed by the steep hike up to the tee for 17, one of the best holes I've ever seen, with perfect view of the lake, beach, and foothills, and a long, significantly downhill shot to a basket nestled against a mountain stream and the treeline. This hole is actually comparable to #27 at DeLaveaga - the hill is just as steep, nearly as high, the hole is almost as long, just the view isn't as expansive, but I think it's just about as beautiful. #18 comes back across the edge of the lake and requires precision and features a great view too.

With no teepads or even flattened tee areas, Walnut Creek does have room for improvement. But with the excellent variety of holes, wonderful landscape, and great views, Walnut Creek has to be one of the better courses in the region, if not the country.

Favorite Hole - #17 - Tee on top of a steep, steep hill with a beautful view of lake and surrounding foothills. Wide open shot across field to basket protected nestled against a mountain stream and the treeline.

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.