Disc Golf Store
Harrisonburg, VA 
Westover Park Share
Uploaded By: devious_imp Hole #7 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 310ft.   4 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Westover Stopover

1    6/14/2014   6/15/2014
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tees(holes 19-21 are carpet), nice tee signs, bag hooks, and Discatcher baskets with 2 pin locations. Great slope of elevation to play over and is designed into the course nicely. Small creek comes into play on 20 and 21. Kiosk by hole 1, navigation is fairly easy without a map. Very well maintained and clean course, no underbrush to lose a disc in. Great for beginners and more experienced players. Nice pavilions, bathrooms and pool.
Cons: Not much to complain about. The close proximity of holes to each other and some other areas of the park create some safety issues. The repetitiveness of the low ceiling cedar shots. No indication of pin location.
Other Thoughts: Westover is a quick and fun stopover off I-81 in Harrisonburg/JMU. The GPS coordinates took me to the back of the park by hole 15 so I started there. The course is obviously loved by the maintenance crew and local players.

This course will really test your vertical control as well as the horizontal playing through all the cedar trees, but more so tests your vertical control because you can miss your horizontal line and get lucky on most holes, but too high and you will get knocked down trees and too low in you are hitting the ground. The elevation slope combined with the low ceiling is often the change of the challenge of your line, so you have to hit your 20 degree uphill line or downhill line on holes. You would think the roller would be a prevalent shot here, but the ceiling is often too low off the tee. Once you get to the back 9-21 things open up a little bit and the last few holes have a couple intermediate level more open par 4s. There are a few ace runs as the course is relatively on the short side. The back half were my favorite on the course. There is not much that will really wow you here, but if you are looking for a nice fun quick course to stop and play on I-81 this is an excellent choice.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    3/28/2014   4/6/2014
Review By: SMontgomery
Played: 42  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variety of shots. Trees force you be accurate and on your game.
Cons: Muddy after a rain

Other Thoughts: This course had a little bit of everything. No holes where you could let one fly because there were trees everywhere. I like the tight and technical.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disc in Harrisonfordspielberg

1    11/9/2013   11/14/2013
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 177  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 22.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located in an immaculately maintained city park. Just imagine park grass and LOTS of skinny trees on a hill that slopes from one side of the park to the other. You play mostly heavily treed fairways for 18 holes, then play 3 holes on (relatively) flat ground with far less trees so you can finally unwind once you are warmed up. The land is well utilized, using the hilly terrain - the only thing missing would be a hole that goes cross-slope. Finesse is required on all holes, even the longer ones. This is a great place to bring beginners, as poor shots are not punished severely (recovery is usually from mowed grass- there is very little "rough")

The amenities are great - it has mowed grass, and very little underbrush - really no chance to lose a disc here. The tee pads are very grippy, and the signs are excellent, and help you find your way.

Hole #21 really sticks in my head as unique and fun. You tee from an elevated position across a grassy field with an OB fence on the right. There are no obstacles until the last 100' (or so) where there is a hallway of large trees with the pin at the end. A creek is about 15-20' behind the pin. You can throw a flick to the left of the hallway of trees to sneak around or a backhand hyzer over the OB to the right (hoping the tree branches don't catch you and drop you OB). Or you can go straight down the pipe. I like holes that give you choices!
Cons:
Safety factor - somewhat dangerous - many of the holes are crammed way too close to one another, such that there are too many opportunities for players to get hit with stray shots. Holes that collide are in the zone of #8-14. I would recommend they trim a few holes to alleviate this (there are 21 now, so there's certainly room to breathe.)

As another reviewer said, the course starts with 3 uphill holes which is a bit repetitive, and not the most enjoyable way to start a round. All courses need uphill shots, but many find them to be the least fun to play.
Other Thoughts: I found playing here enjoyable. I think the thing to take it to the next level would be to improve to safety factor by eliminating/changing a few holes in the middle. Less is more, in my humble opinion. Even if it means less than 18 holes.

Be aware that the tee to hole #12 is at 7:00 from pin #11. I got confused by seeing the tee for hole #13 straight ahead, which seemed obvious to be the next tee.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    6/29/2013   6/29/2013
Review By: roadtrip
Played: 189  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 19.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Close to the highway. Close to scenic/fun downtown Harrisonburg. Feels safe parking/walking the course solo (even with a packed car, even with hobos hanging out in the park). Great tee pads and signs on 1-18. Carpet tees on 19-21 (pretty nice carpet, pleasantly surprised). Bag hooks on the signs.

Many of the holes are dotted with moderate sized cedars. Grassy fairways (no rocks, poison ivy, snakes). Nice moderate elevation and variety of shots. With these trees you need to shape your lines under 10 feet high. That can be fun with the uphills and downhills. Mostly easy to find each tee and each basket. Beautiful mountain views.

Pretty impressive public pool on the property, playing 80s classic rock (may be a con for some). They fit as many holes as possible on this course. Very well laid out. Also - very friendly/inviting locals. And several fun ace runs.
Cons: No benches or trash cans and no open bombs. A few 400+ but the cedar scrubs block an open bomb. Holes can be congested. 19-21 aren't well-marked. Hobos hanging out in the picnic areas (they were nice, but my mostly-good drive almost pegged them). Twice I threw at the wrong basket. May feel repetitive throwing through cedars.
Other Thoughts: Supposedly they redesigned the course a few years ago. I'd played the old layout and avoided it on subsequent road trips. Now it's back among the tops of my I-81 courses. Harrisonburg is a cool little stop too. Plenty to occupy a family while you throw. Plenty of places for beer/food after a round. Lots of the holes are shoot-and-pray - trees without a tunnel. Sucks when you miss your line but cool that you have to pick a line when the terrain doesn't give you an obvious choice. That's an added challenge.

Highly recommended among the I-81 courses.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/17/2013   12/3/2012
Review By: KimBrennan
Played: 53  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 33.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Paved tees (except on 20, 21). Good transition between holes. Baskets marked with the hole number (usually visible from the tee). Fairways are mostly grassy, with little underbrush. Benches or bag hangers at most holes. Community center has indoor bathrooms, water fountain, vending machine.

Update: Hole #2 now has an alternate location which is very tight. Hole #13 has an alternate location which is not as far up hill. A recent reviewer commented about carpets for the tees on #20, and #21. That was temporary for the Rocktowne Classic tournament.
Cons: No alternate tees. No permanent alternate baskets. Outdoor bathrooms locked in winter months. No outdoor water fountains. 19 is "non-playable" if children are present (safety issue).

19, 20, 21 do not have permanent signs, pads, or benches/hangers.
Other Thoughts: First few holes are up hill shots and give a negative first impression of the difficulty level of the course. Most holes are relatively short, through wooded fairways. Make it through the trees on your tee shot and you have a lot of birdie attempts.

The tee pads for 19 (formerly the last parking space in the lot) are now more clearly indicated on the foot path. "Short" basket location on 19 is close to the road (OB). "Long" is a nasty right dog leg.

The more I play this course the more I like it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 1st time playing in VA

1    5/29/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: JGraham83
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenary on many holes. Great workout going up and down on the mountain. 1st time I have ever seen a course with 21 holes.
Cons: Hole 19 (I think it's 19) doesn't have a pad and the signs seem to change daily showing where to throw from. I wish there was something more permanent there.
Other Thoughts: Right next to the rec center with a nice pool, waterslides, basketball courts, and a skate park. Fun for the whole family.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Tee Pads & Cider trees.

5+    7/7/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: ljs48069
Played: 47  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Fresh new tee pads make Westover much more enjoyable (no concrete pads on 19-21) . And safer!
-New tee signs/post with an overhead view of the hole with tee pad & pin location(s) with distances.
-An abundance of cedar trees provide shade year round and make for a challenge (one I appreciate). Even if you shank a drive off the tee there are still lines to the basket.
-Although there are many trees the grass is kept up and cut.
-The park also provides shelters with tables, restrooms, playgrounds, skate park, pools, and an indoor recreational center.
-The addition of 3 new holes loops the course much closer to the putting basket and provides players that like to air it out a chance to rip it.
-Most holes have an alternate pin location to give it a change up.
Cons: -The low ceiling from the trees make it tough so be ready to keep it low.
-The park is used by the whole community so there are some holes more than other that do have other park goers on them.
-Not many trash cans on the later holes so throw trash away early (you can always carry your trash out too :)).
Other Thoughts: Overall the course is surely one to play. There are one or two holes that you have to walk back from the pin to get to like hole #2 pad is along the fence line to the right of #1 - #6 is back to the right from #5 (I think the other flow easy enough to find). The course club is also growing and always welcomes new faces.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 New & Improved

1    6/17/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: FredVegasDGC
Played: 88  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 28.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a nice community park. Large patio area & picnic tables are near the course. Park benches are very near all through the front 12 or so.

One thing about this course is keep it low. It is an unusual challenge for players used to open courses. It can be a little tight and an errant disc may come close but I don't see it as a problem. Great elevation changes (#1 & #2 are uphill and a good workout) The flow of the course is ok, I had no problem finding the next tee. Concrete tee pads are in good shape.

Since my last time here the local club have added new tee signs with bag holders. Also there are 3 new holes that are in the open part of the park that the guys with big arms are going to enjoy.
Cons: Not many cons for me. I have the feeling that some players won't like the low ceiling of the front 9 and the heavily wooded nature of most of the course. But is't a unique challenge.
Other Thoughts: I like this course. I even had a few birdie opportunities. If you are a control player you will like this course.

The addition of 19, 20 & 21 were created for the guys that like to air it out.

If you haven't played here in a while it would be a fun day to stop by and play it again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed Feelings

1    4/3/2012   4/3/2012
Review By: Edgar Allan Bro
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First thing that I enjoyed about this course is the nice grass and park feel. There are no bushes, no brush, and no thorns. It's all trees that have no limbs below ~6 1/2 feet.

There is a practice basket at the entrance of the park, very close to the first tee pad. There is also a bulletin board that has a giant map of the course, score cards, and flyers about events and such.

The tees are concrete and level.

There are pavilions all around the course that have benches incase you get tired.

There are uphill, downhill, and flat holes, 90% of which have low ceilings (~10 feet or less) which requires power, precision, and control.

There is a shopping center near by (less than half a mile) that you can purchase drinks at if you forgot to bring them.
Cons: The bulletin board had score cards, but it did not have pencils or pens.

It is easy to get confused on the course because it is so cramped (I'll get to that) so print a map. It will come in handy...

A few holes (I think it was 14-17) have very wet mud and puddles from rain that happened a week ago. This is the type of mud you step in and slip/slide, not the type that makes you feel "stuck."

There are many playgrounds and pavilions scattered throughout the park. Children are running around and parents aren't always watching. Don't be surprised if someone is between you and the hole...

Joggers/walkers are in the way. One guy single handedly made us wait for a total accrued time of about 10 minutes. He tried to jog past the holes we were on, he was actually quite respectful, but he was always in the way because of the next course flaw..

The holes play over on themselves worse then I have ever seen. My brother and I were caught between one guy who was ahead of us (he was two holes ahead and still in danger of getting hit/our disc getting in his way) and a group behind us. The course is far too cramped to enjoy on a busy evening, I'm sure... This was almost a problem on a Monday evening.

The signage is also a con because it lists the distance and Hole number. There is no par, no overhead view/idea of where you are going, nothing.

Some people may not like the noise of the park. There is a skate park and water slide/pool area directly beside some of the latter holes. There is a fence separating the course from the pool, but with how windy it was, my disc almost got taken over the fence.

UPDATE: I added .5 back and deleted my bad experiences with a group of locals. Every course has their bad batch after much thought, I cannot take away from the course as a whole because of one event.
Other Thoughts: If you can throw powerfully and straight, uphill with a low ceiling this is a birdie run waiting to happen. Many holes are ace runs, actually. If you cannot get the balance between low, accurate, and powerful, this course might get a little irritating. I won't say frustrating because no matter what you do you are never in any real trouble, there is always at least one line to get you to the hole, and with the majority of the holes being 200-350 you aren't very far off usually.

All in all if you take away the social aspect of the park this is a 3.5 course. But adding in the almost inevitable joggers and children coupled with poor signage and it should be a 3.

On a side note, they were putting in 3 more holes (one of which cannot be played if there are children on the church playground right beside the hole -- there is a sign that says this).
These three holes are almost wide open and look nice, but one of them (20) finishes with the basket ~5 feet from the road and the tee is beside the basket throwing almost directly to the tee pad before (more of the course playing on top of itself).

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Trees

5+    3/20/2012   3/25/2012
Review By: Henryjaydunn
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Great tee pads
-challenging lines
-clean park
-very hard to lose a disc
Cons: -Few open drives
-park goers can get in the way
Other Thoughts: -Up and down hill shots
-signs at the holes coming soon
-This course will make you hate trees

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.