Harrisonburg, VA 
Westover Park Share
Uploaded By: devious_imp Hole #6 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 291ft.   3 / 291ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee

Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 New & Improved

1    6/17/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: FredVegasDGC
Played: 89  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 29.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a nice community park. Large patio area & picnic tables are near the course. Park benches are very near all through the front 12 or so.

One thing about this course is keep it low. It is an unusual challenge for players used to open courses. It can be a little tight and an errant disc may come close but I don't see it as a problem. Great elevation changes (#1 & #2 are uphill and a good workout) The flow of the course is ok, I had no problem finding the next tee. Concrete tee pads are in good shape.

Since my last time here the local club have added new tee signs with bag holders. Also there are 3 new holes that are in the open part of the park that the guys with big arms are going to enjoy.
Cons: Not many cons for me. I have the feeling that some players won't like the low ceiling of the front 9 and the heavily wooded nature of most of the course. But is't a unique challenge.
Other Thoughts: I like this course. I even had a few birdie opportunities. If you are a control player you will like this course.

The addition of 19, 20 & 21 were created for the guys that like to air it out.

If you haven't played here in a while it would be a fun day to stop by and play it again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed Feelings

1    4/3/2012   4/3/2012
Review By: Edgar Allan Bro
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First thing that I enjoyed about this course is the nice grass and park feel. There are no bushes, no brush, and no thorns. It's all trees that have no limbs below ~6 1/2 feet.

There is a practice basket at the entrance of the park, very close to the first tee pad. There is also a bulletin board that has a giant map of the course, score cards, and flyers about events and such.

The tees are concrete and level.

There are pavilions all around the course that have benches incase you get tired.

There are uphill, downhill, and flat holes, 90% of which have low ceilings (~10 feet or less) which requires power, precision, and control.

There is a shopping center near by (less than half a mile) that you can purchase drinks at if you forgot to bring them.
Cons: The bulletin board had score cards, but it did not have pencils or pens.

It is easy to get confused on the course because it is so cramped (I'll get to that) so print a map. It will come in handy...

A few holes (I think it was 14-17) have very wet mud and puddles from rain that happened a week ago. This is the type of mud you step in and slip/slide, not the type that makes you feel "stuck."

There are many playgrounds and pavilions scattered throughout the park. Children are running around and parents aren't always watching. Don't be surprised if someone is between you and the hole...

Joggers/walkers are in the way. One guy single handedly made us wait for a total accrued time of about 10 minutes. He tried to jog past the holes we were on, he was actually quite respectful, but he was always in the way because of the next course flaw..

The holes play over on themselves worse then I have ever seen. My brother and I were caught between one guy who was ahead of us (he was two holes ahead and still in danger of getting hit/our disc getting in his way) and a group behind us. The course is far too cramped to enjoy on a busy evening, I'm sure... This was almost a problem on a Monday evening.

The signage is also a con because it lists the distance and Hole number. There is no par, no overhead view/idea of where you are going, nothing.

Some people may not like the noise of the park. There is a skate park and water slide/pool area directly beside some of the latter holes. There is a fence separating the course from the pool, but with how windy it was, my disc almost got taken over the fence.

UPDATE: I added .5 back and deleted my bad experiences with a group of locals. Every course has their bad batch after much thought, I cannot take away from the course as a whole because of one event.
Other Thoughts: If you can throw powerfully and straight, uphill with a low ceiling this is a birdie run waiting to happen. Many holes are ace runs, actually. If you cannot get the balance between low, accurate, and powerful, this course might get a little irritating. I won't say frustrating because no matter what you do you are never in any real trouble, there is always at least one line to get you to the hole, and with the majority of the holes being 200-350 you aren't very far off usually.

All in all if you take away the social aspect of the park this is a 3.5 course. But adding in the almost inevitable joggers and children coupled with poor signage and it should be a 3.

On a side note, they were putting in 3 more holes (one of which cannot be played if there are children on the church playground right beside the hole -- there is a sign that says this).
These three holes are almost wide open and look nice, but one of them (20) finishes with the basket ~5 feet from the road and the tee is beside the basket throwing almost directly to the tee pad before (more of the course playing on top of itself).

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/20/2012   3/25/2012
Review By: Henryjaydunn
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Great tee pads
-challenging lines
-clean park
-very hard to lose a disc
Cons: -Few open drives
-park goers can get in the way
Other Thoughts: -Up and down hill shots
-signs at the holes coming soon
-This course will make you hate trees

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/27/2012   2/27/2012
Review By: JeCroisQue
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 5/12/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 21 holes of disc golf.
- Concrete tee pads on 18/21 holes
- Challenging lines and fairways to hit.
- A variety of holes, about half are densely wooded, a quarter are slightly wooded, and the rest are fairly open.
- In a park so it is very well maintained by maintenance crews.
- all but a few holes have 2 pin placements that are changed every month or so.
Cons: - If you're having a bad day I can see getting frustrated easily. The first few holes are uphill with a very low ceiling which makes for a very difficult shot. (not really a con, just forces you to throw good shots)

- The last three holes do not have concrete tee pads. I think there are talks about adding them in the near future.
Other Thoughts: - This is my home course, so I play it almost every day.
- Challenging course that rewards well placed shots.
-You don't necessarily need to throw far, just accurately, especially on the first 8 holes.
- Most holes offer a wide range of lines to play and forces you to be able to throw several different shots (Hyzers, Stable, Anny's, even some Overheads, skips, and rollers are the only way to get birdie looks on some holes).

All in all a good course, nothing will blow you away or make you think this is an upper echelon course. Just 21 holes of good, challenging, free disc golf.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    11/12/2011   11/13/2011
Review By: xcrunner134life
Played: 74  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging.
Not only did you have to hit the gaps, but you had to also throw up and down the hill while hitting the gaps.
Tee boxes seemed new and the course was very clean.
If you like your disc to skip (I know I do), BOY, you can get some serious skips out there.
Two pin placements is awesome. At the time of my round, all pins were set to long.
Cons: The signs that were posted were from the tournament they had just finished playing. Otherwise, there were no signs at the tees.
The course folds back on itself (example: a stray throw on hole 2 could land near or on hole 3 tee box). If you've got players that aren't as skilled, it might cause some problems.
Other Thoughts: Wish I would have known there was a tournament here yesterday, I would have played in it. It seems as though the course is going through some changes and improvements, all for the better.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/1/2011   10/12/2011
Review By: bradharris
Played: 84  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 12.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the cleanest courses I've played. It plays through a park that is kept in very nice shape. The grass is all mowed and there is very little trash.

The overall length of the course caters well to a wide range of skill levels. There are some shorter holes that are reachable for beginners and provide some nice ace runs for more advanced players. A few longer holes give the bigger arms a chance to air it out but aren't so long that weaker players will be intimidated.

The baskets are periodically moved to alernate locations to give regular players a little variety.

Navigation is intuitive and easy to follow.
Cons: There's not much excitement to this course. Almost every tee shot has a clear look at the basket. There are enough trees to provide a few obstacles, but it's hard to really get in trouble anywhere on the course. While this may be a pro for some, it really takes away an interesting aspect of the game. There are no real risk/reward shots and very little strategizing required. You can give your mental game a break here.

No signs. This isn't a huge con for me because of the nature of the course. The baskets are easy to see and distances are provided on the scorecards. However, it would be nice to see some sort of basic signage. If nothing else, it would give other park visitors a better idea of what those wierd cages are all about.

Speaking of bystanders, there is a risk here of having other park users impede play. The front nine plays past a series of shelters. On nice days when these are being used for picnics, there may be large gatherings of people who visit the park rarely and don't realize that the tree they're using as a hide-and-seek base is actually in the middle of a fairway.
Other Thoughts: I chose not to comment on the teepads for this review. The last time I played it they were in the process of replacing the gravel tees with new concrete tee pads.

This was the course that I learned the game on. This is a perfect use of the course. It is great for learning the basics without the added stress of trying to shape precise lines and hit specific landing zones. However, more advanced players will be bored here.

It's certainly not a course to go out of your way to play, but a good option for a quick round if you're in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 practice course

2-4    8/7/2011   9/14/2011
Review By: VaDGer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice layout. Easy walk through the park. Good practice course. Makes you keep your drives low low.
Cons: Not much variety. Mast everything through trees. All the holes started to look alike after the first few.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of positives, not a lot of space

5+    9/11/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: Dudly
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -varied and well thought out design that fits 18 holes into a small park without feeling cramped.
-Different than most courses in that it plays through an up-kept park that is almost entirely covered by a tree-canopy. Lots of different lanes to approach a hole from, just don't go high, you won't get anywhere.
-Course is completely mowed, no poison ivy/oak and you'd have to be fairly lazy to lose a disc.
-Lot's of elevation changes
-3 minute drive or 10 minute walk from downtown Harrisonburg. 10 minutes off I-81 if you're driving through, very convenient
-Challenging course but not super long, if you have an hour, you can fit a round in.
-Multiple basket placements on more than half of the holes, moved fairly regularly.
-Bathrooms inside at the rec center, I believe they have discs to loan for new players as well.
Cons: -tee boxes are crushed gravel and not in good repair, it's never bothered me but I know it's a big deal to some. Apparently, there are plans to put in concrete boxes in the next month or two.
-Only one set of tee boxes due to space.
-No signs, if the rec center is open they have maps and can give directions
-lots of ware around some of the baskets, especially the ones that don't have alternates.
-Some tee-boxes and baskets can get pretty muddy after rain.
-you might have to wait to tee off on #10 if there is a group teeing off on #12.
-The public uses this park quite a bit and you can run into some friendly folks who are very excited to return you're disc to you after a throw.
Other Thoughts: I learned how to play at Westover Park and I'm glad I did. The tree canopy forces you to learn how to throw low and accurately and to do so even when elevation changes are a factor. I believe it's helped me significantly as start to travel and play other courses more. I have met out of towners who absolutely hate this course because it forces you too keep your disc low, I don't think it's a skill that will ever be a detriment though.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course, Tight Windows

2-4    7/22/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: All23Ways
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2011
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Free, Decent Layout, Good mix of elevation
Cons: Lots of low ceilings & tight windows, gravel tee boxes, unclear navigation between holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a solid course. The starting 9 can be tough as you're forced to throw low and maintain tight lines. Elevation comes into play on a significant number of holes (as well as some property fences and a playground) but throw a good one and you will be rewarded. I recorded my first & only HIO on #16 so this course will always be on my "favorites" list.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Home course

5+    4/17/2010   5/1/2010
Review By: unknown2no1
Played: 102  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.6 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I've played this course more than any other and learned to play on this course so I may be a bit biased. However it is well laid out with a good mix of holes, elevation change, and length.
Cons: Gravel tee pads need work, needs tee signs for visiting players, low ceiling on a lot of holes.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy playing this course and am very happy to name it as my home course, it provides a different challenge than most other courses i've played and its uniqueness is what i love about it.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.