Harrisonburg, VA 
Westover Park Share
Uploaded By: devious_imp Hole #7 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 310ft.   4 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Trees

5+    3/20/2012   3/25/2012
Review By: Henryjaydunn
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Great tee pads
-challenging lines
-clean park
-very hard to lose a disc
Cons: -Few open drives
-park goers can get in the way
Other Thoughts: -Up and down hill shots
-signs at the holes coming soon
-This course will make you hate trees

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/27/2012   2/27/2012
Review By: JeCroisQue
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 5/12/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 21 holes of disc golf.
- Concrete tee pads on 18/21 holes
- Challenging lines and fairways to hit.
- A variety of holes, about half are densely wooded, a quarter are slightly wooded, and the rest are fairly open.
- In a park so it is very well maintained by maintenance crews.
- all but a few holes have 2 pin placements that are changed every month or so.
Cons: - If you're having a bad day I can see getting frustrated easily. The first few holes are uphill with a very low ceiling which makes for a very difficult shot. (not really a con, just forces you to throw good shots)

- The last three holes do not have concrete tee pads. I think there are talks about adding them in the near future.
Other Thoughts: - This is my home course, so I play it almost every day.
- Challenging course that rewards well placed shots.
-You don't necessarily need to throw far, just accurately, especially on the first 8 holes.
- Most holes offer a wide range of lines to play and forces you to be able to throw several different shots (Hyzers, Stable, Anny's, even some Overheads, skips, and rollers are the only way to get birdie looks on some holes).

All in all a good course, nothing will blow you away or make you think this is an upper echelon course. Just 21 holes of good, challenging, free disc golf.


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/12/2011   11/13/2011
Review By: xcrunner134life
Played: 71  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging.
Not only did you have to hit the gaps, but you had to also throw up and down the hill while hitting the gaps.
Tee boxes seemed new and the course was very clean.
If you like your disc to skip (I know I do), BOY, you can get some serious skips out there.
Two pin placements is awesome. At the time of my round, all pins were set to long.
Cons: The signs that were posted were from the tournament they had just finished playing. Otherwise, there were no signs at the tees.
The course folds back on itself (example: a stray throw on hole 2 could land near or on hole 3 tee box). If you've got players that aren't as skilled, it might cause some problems.
Other Thoughts: Wish I would have known there was a tournament here yesterday, I would have played in it. It seems as though the course is going through some changes and improvements, all for the better.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/1/2011   10/12/2011
Review By: bradharris
Played: 75  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 11.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the cleanest courses I've played. It plays through a park that is kept in very nice shape. The grass is all mowed and there is very little trash.

The overall length of the course caters well to a wide range of skill levels. There are some shorter holes that are reachable for beginners and provide some nice ace runs for more advanced players. A few longer holes give the bigger arms a chance to air it out but aren't so long that weaker players will be intimidated.

The baskets are periodically moved to alernate locations to give regular players a little variety.

Navigation is intuitive and easy to follow.
Cons: There's not much excitement to this course. Almost every tee shot has a clear look at the basket. There are enough trees to provide a few obstacles, but it's hard to really get in trouble anywhere on the course. While this may be a pro for some, it really takes away an interesting aspect of the game. There are no real risk/reward shots and very little strategizing required. You can give your mental game a break here.

No signs. This isn't a huge con for me because of the nature of the course. The baskets are easy to see and distances are provided on the scorecards. However, it would be nice to see some sort of basic signage. If nothing else, it would give other park visitors a better idea of what those wierd cages are all about.

Speaking of bystanders, there is a risk here of having other park users impede play. The front nine plays past a series of shelters. On nice days when these are being used for picnics, there may be large gatherings of people who visit the park rarely and don't realize that the tree they're using as a hide-and-seek base is actually in the middle of a fairway.
Other Thoughts: I chose not to comment on the teepads for this review. The last time I played it they were in the process of replacing the gravel tees with new concrete tee pads.

This was the course that I learned the game on. This is a perfect use of the course. It is great for learning the basics without the added stress of trying to shape precise lines and hit specific landing zones. However, more advanced players will be bored here.

It's certainly not a course to go out of your way to play, but a good option for a quick round if you're in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 practice course

2-4    8/7/2011   9/14/2011
Review By: VaDGer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice layout. Easy walk through the park. Good practice course. Makes you keep your drives low low.
Cons: Not much variety. Mast everything through trees. All the holes started to look alike after the first few.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of positives, not a lot of space

5+    9/11/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: Dudly
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -varied and well thought out design that fits 18 holes into a small park without feeling cramped.
-Different than most courses in that it plays through an up-kept park that is almost entirely covered by a tree-canopy. Lots of different lanes to approach a hole from, just don't go high, you won't get anywhere.
-Course is completely mowed, no poison ivy/oak and you'd have to be fairly lazy to lose a disc.
-Lot's of elevation changes
-3 minute drive or 10 minute walk from downtown Harrisonburg. 10 minutes off I-81 if you're driving through, very convenient
-Challenging course but not super long, if you have an hour, you can fit a round in.
-Multiple basket placements on more than half of the holes, moved fairly regularly.
-Bathrooms inside at the rec center, I believe they have discs to loan for new players as well.
Cons: -tee boxes are crushed gravel and not in good repair, it's never bothered me but I know it's a big deal to some. Apparently, there are plans to put in concrete boxes in the next month or two.
-Only one set of tee boxes due to space.
-No signs, if the rec center is open they have maps and can give directions
-lots of ware around some of the baskets, especially the ones that don't have alternates.
-Some tee-boxes and baskets can get pretty muddy after rain.
-you might have to wait to tee off on #10 if there is a group teeing off on #12.
-The public uses this park quite a bit and you can run into some friendly folks who are very excited to return you're disc to you after a throw.
Other Thoughts: I learned how to play at Westover Park and I'm glad I did. The tree canopy forces you to learn how to throw low and accurately and to do so even when elevation changes are a factor. I believe it's helped me significantly as start to travel and play other courses more. I have met out of towners who absolutely hate this course because it forces you too keep your disc low, I don't think it's a skill that will ever be a detriment though.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course, Tight Windows

2-4    7/22/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: All23Ways
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2011
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Free, Decent Layout, Good mix of elevation
Cons: Lots of low ceilings & tight windows, gravel tee boxes, unclear navigation between holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a solid course. The starting 9 can be tough as you're forced to throw low and maintain tight lines. Elevation comes into play on a significant number of holes (as well as some property fences and a playground) but throw a good one and you will be rewarded. I recorded my first & only HIO on #16 so this course will always be on my "favorites" list.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Home course

5+    4/17/2010   5/1/2010
Review By: unknown2no1
Played: 78  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.8 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I've played this course more than any other and learned to play on this course so I may be a bit biased. However it is well laid out with a good mix of holes, elevation change, and length.
Cons: Gravel tee pads need work, needs tee signs for visiting players, low ceiling on a lot of holes.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy playing this course and am very happy to name it as my home course, it provides a different challenge than most other courses i've played and its uniqueness is what i love about it.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Biased Reviewer

5+    3/23/2010   3/23/2010
Review By: hakaluge
Played: 132  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 23.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/6/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my "home course," so I tend to see it in a positive light. Low ceilings and tight alleys tune up your game for other courses. Majority of park is well-groomed so tough to lose plastic. It may seem there are infinite trees but there is an alley for every hole. Good mix of short ace looks and difficult par 3s. Alternate pin placements for holes 1, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 12, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21.
Cons: Definitely a right-hand backhand course.
Constant issue with tee pads HAS BEEN RESOLVED!!! CONCRETE TEEPADS 12' X 5' !! Course can be muddy, ideal play in early autumn.
Dogwalkers, bikers, picknickers abound in fair weather.
Other Thoughts: Well designed course for a city park. Course mainly avoids high traffic areas, except in summer when festivities spill out onto fairways. Friendly locals always willing to point you in the right direction.
Addendum about alternate pins:
#1- Original position straight through the alley and up a slight hill. Alternate to the left, farther up the hill near the tee for hole 3.
#5- Alternate farther and to the left.
#7- Alternate is a much harder position farther and to the left.
#8- Original position straight downhill through alley. Alternate shorter and on the right hand side. Brings OB into play with private property on the right, and fence with dead end road long.
#9- Original position farther and to the right. Alternate shorter and on the left side of the alley.
#11- Original straight downhill through alley and behind "Y" tree. Alternate farther and to the left, toward #12's basket in open field.
#12- Alternate farther and down the hill to the right of original, bringing OB sidewalk and pool into play.
#14- Original tee was behind you and to the right when looking at the basket. Tee relocated for drainage issues. Alternate pin shorter and to the left of mushroom stumps. Original to the right.
#15- Original basket downhill behind two trees, toward the skate park but in front of walking path. Alternate shorter, to the right, bringing the tee for 16 somewhat into play.
#16- Original straight through alley. Alternate further, up the hill and slightly left.
#17- Original farther and left of the alley. Alternate shorter and right of the alley.
#18- Original straight out there. Alternate is further, to the left at the base of the hill.
#19- Straight away from 18 basket to near the stop sign, with alternate much farther to the right, the only true par 4 placement on the course.
#20- Short pin on ridge of retention pond, alternate past the drainage up on the side of the hill with multiple OB in play. Tee varies.
#21- Short pin across the creek, reachable if you have a cannon. Long pin in the far right hand corner of the front section of the park. Short pin mimics original "Hole Zero."

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hills

2-4    11/16/2009   2/14/2010
Review By: tbone618
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good exercise course due to the large hills. Front nine is very wooded adding difficulty.
Cons: Very wooded. Even well placed shots will eventually hit a tree. Tough course for beginners.
Other Thoughts: Good course if you are stuck in this town.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.