Staunton, VA 
Kiwanis DGC Share
Uploaded By: Chutney Hole #5
3 / 200ft.   3 / 200ft.   3 / 230ft.   3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Approach



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Good Course

1    10/4/2014   10/14/2014
Review By: SMontgomery
Played: 46  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.2 Years
Pros: Very good variety of shots and layouts.
Cons: Very confusing to navigate if you dont have a guide.
Other Thoughts: Better tee signs and course maps would be great. I like the fact that there are score cards and pencils at the practice basket. I will definately play mulitiple times.

Welcome to the Jungle

1    6/14/2014   6/15/2014
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Dual gravel tees and dual Discatcher baskets on 18 holes provide a variety of playing options. Practice basket and kiosk by parking lot and hole 1. Excellent hole designs with variety of shots over rolling elevation in the open or heavy woods and over a pond. Navigation was fairly easy with good signage. 2 loops of 9 holes back to parking lot. Fairways are well maintained.
Cons: The biggest con IMO is the jungle rough and lack of groomed fairway width on the wooded holes. There are thorns and poison ivy/oak throughout the rough and the fairways are quite skinny, so one tiny kick off a tree and you are in the suck. The long basket on hole 2 says 6. The map on here is not correct for the back 9, as hole 10 is what the map says is 11, although the navigation without the map was pretty easy. The first section of wooded holes 2-6 is a bit cramped together. Hole 6 plays over a park road. Hole 16 plays over the edge of the baseball field. Many of the long baskets are just tucked into a ridiculous jailhouse of trees and rough. Biting flies were abundant. No bathrooms or drinking water.
Other Thoughts: Welcome to the jungle
We've got fun 'n' games...

Welcome to the jungle
Watch it bring you to your
knees, knees
I wanna watch you bleed...

I have a real hard time rating this course because of the rough, some of it boarders between genius and insane. It reminds me of Rockburn Branch when the rough used to really bad there. I had a lot of hope for Kiwanis when I stepped up to hole 1 and is nice looking par 5 uphill, but as I approached the long basket fear set in as the window is maybe 10' wide with nasty rough on both sides 100' down the tight woods. I really enjoyed the more open holes here, 9, 10, 12, 13, 16, 17 and 18 come to mind, great back 10 holes in general. The wooded holes are also great, but oh the rough!

This course has potential to be a 4 with it's nice rolling elevation and mix of open and wooded holes, but the long basket positions were borderline silly in places and the rough is just too much unless you are into machoism or pitching short shots down the fairway. Most of the holes are great, they just need to clear the brush out to make them playable and enjoyable. If you are traveling through the I-81 corridor I have a hard time recommending playing this course in the summer unless you don't care about poison ivy or losing discs a few feet off the narrow wooded fairways, winter should be more playable though.





1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Work in Progress

2-4    4/2/2013   4/15/2013
Review By: aPfaff
Played: 77  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of hole variety, up down left right straight tight open
-Interesting holes (6,11,12,13,18)
-It is set in a nice park with lots of amenities (Baseball, Tennis, Basketball, Swimming, Park, Shelters, Walking Trails)
-The baskets are very nice discatchers that are color coded to the layout you are playing
-Greens are very tricky (i.e. 2 has a steep downdrop that ends with OB)
-There are no throw and hopes
-Thorns were not a problem on the fairway
-Locals were friendly
-Not a lot of trash on the course
Cons: -Hole 9's long pin - the pin is situated on a very steep slope with pine needles on the ground, even if you throw a perfect shot, it may roll/slide back down the hill
-Teepads, they are crushed stones and most have little mounds in the middle of the teepad where one could role your foot, hopefully they can install concrete some time
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a pretty good course. It has definitely improved over the last few years. When I first played this course it was pretty bad, not the design, but the upkeep and the dirt tees. The club (SAW) is improving this course and it will only get better with time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A hidden gem! Great for disc golfers of all levels!

1    10/6/2012   12/9/2012
Review By: aussieinva
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a course that I look forward to playing whenever I am in the Staunton area. It has many of the characteristics of an excellent course: a good mixture of open and wooded holes, great use of elevation, tough enough to challenge experienced player but forgiving enough to allow beginners to enjoy the game and as a bonus, free scorecards with maps on the rear make navigating the course a breeze for newcomers. The course starts off with a nice open hole to allow players to get warmed up before heading into the forest for progressively tighter fairways for the next few holes. It then follows a pattern of an open hole and then two or three tighter holes that will test your accuracy skills. This pattern gave the course a nice flow and didn't really give an advantage to any one style of play which is nice when playing with friends.
Below are some of the main positive points about the course.
1: Course provides scorecards and pencils that are located in a mailbox between the practice basket and the first tee. The scorecards have a map on the back to help first timers and infrequent visitors navigate the course.
2: The course is free and has a dedicated parking lot next to the practice basket for disc golfers.
3: There is very little pedestrian traffic on the course. This allows you to throw to your heart's content without fear of striking an unsuspecting hiker or someone walking their dog.
4: Good use of the parkland and elevation. Has plenty of hole types to suit just about every type of player.
5: Beginner friendly - This course would be great to bring friends and family and introduce them to the game but still challenging enough to test the skills of seasoned players.
6: Signature Holes. Every great course should have at least one memorable hole and for me this is hole 6. The tee pad is perched on a small hill and to reach the basket you need to launch your disc over the road and onto the green and avoid the thick brustle to the right and behind the green. Its like playing across a river without the fear of going swimming for your disc if you come up short.
7: Well sign posted: It was easy to tell where the tee pads were and which hole they are for.
8: Multiple tees and baskets: Multiple tees are an essential part for any good course and have two different baskets on many of the holes allows for a different playing experience.
Cons: There really isn't a whole lot to say negativity about this course as it is a fun course but I have a couple of items that you may want to be aware of:
1: It's easy to end up on the tee for hole 6 instead of the tee for the third hole. Just keep going past the tees for hole 6 and you will find the tee for hole 3. If you have your trusty scorecard map it will point you in the right direction.
2: The pathway behind hole 11 down to the tee for hole 12 is steep. If you have mobility issues you may need to find a different way down to the 12th tee.
3: It can be a little confusing to find the 16th tee. Its a decent walk and there seems to be a few paths on the way. If you follow the map on your scorecard you should be ok.
Other Thoughts: The course is a great way to spend a few hours with friends or even as a solo challenge to get a new personal course record. It may be missing a few of the "nice to have" items like concrete pads, bag hangers etc but this does not detract at all from having a good time here. If you are in the area you need to stop by and play a round, you won't be disappointed.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/6/2012   3/21/2012
Review By: JeCroisQue
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Lots of variety here. There are a solid mix of wooded and open holes to help you hone your game.
-It also requires a good bit of shot making, a lot of the holes demand specific shots which I like as a challenge.
-Alternate pins.
- Fairly well maintained.
Cons: - I wasn't fond of the tee pads, they were gravel and were kind of annoying. I had stones in my shoes all day.
Other Thoughts: There wasn't anything really special about this course for me. It was nicely laid out and fun, but it didn't have anything that would make me want to drive 30 minutes there when my home course is so close. It is a nice switch up though when I get bored and will go back.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 winter improvements

5+    9/13/2011   9/14/2011
Review By: VaDGer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nicely maintained. Great mix of holes; open, wooded, lefty, righty, long, short. New red tee boxes of gravel dust on holes 12 13 and 15. Tees on 4, 14 and 16 will be completed by months end. More coming. Nice scorecards with accurate maps. Professional signs will be installed over the winter and early spring. Every hole will be marked and easy to find.
Cons: Need more signage for the casual and visiting player. Working on clearing a little more brush from various areas. Thanks to Parks and Rec for this help!
Other Thoughts: This is my home course. It will be transformed over the winter of 2011 and spring of 2012.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Unappreciated Course, GREAT DGC

2-4    8/29/2011   9/9/2011
Review By: Stud Muffin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: >Awesome variety, woods, open, differing elevation.

>A real challenge, not a pushover course.

>Looks great. Well taken care of, nice views.
Cons: >Natural Tees, always a negative to me.

>Sometimes confusing. Could easily go from 2 to 6, missing 3-5, if not paying attention.

>15 to 16 should be better guided with a sign or 2, so far away. [16 outside right field of baseball field, over the fence.]
Other Thoughts: >I have to acknowledge that the low ratings on this course is unjustified. This is an excellent course to play.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Pleasant surprise

1    10/17/2010   10/24/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 176  Reviewed: 171  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2014
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Solid 18 hole course with multiple tees & baskets, allowing for all skill levels to enjoy.
- Very good mix of holes, with course playing in and out of the woods. Elevation isn't a factor on most holes, with it only playing a major role on #1,2, 16 & 17.
- Kiwanis follows the "less is more" mantra when it comes to course layout. Holes have solid, but not complicated layouts, but still require precise shot-making to shoot well. There were no overly difficult/frustrating holes, but there were also no easy, birdie 2 holes.
- I liked the multiple tee pads and baskets. It gave some nice variety of looks, although there could have been more. The different tee locations could have been better identified on several holes. I couldn't figure if the long baskets were UVA orange or Va Tech orange?
- Course flows nicely throughout the park. Front 9 is much closer together, back 9 is more spread out, which means more walking. #10 tee is near first tee, so you can easily play only the front or back 9 if not enough time for the entire 18.
- Very good signage between holes, especially when there are long walks between holes. There's also some very nice scenic views while you're playing.
- Very nice, spacious park. I drove in through the first entrance, instead of the main one, so I was surprised to see the park have so much space. There's a lot more room in the park past all the disc golf space. I noticed the park gets much hillier in the back, and with plenty of land back there, maybe a second 18 one day?
Cons: I didn't have a lot of problems with the course. The local DGC seems to be on top of things here.
- The biggest problem was that I couldn't find the long (blue) tee pads on some holes. I couldn't find a long tee pad on holes #5, 9, 13, 14 & 18. According to the course map, some of these holes (#9, 13 & 18) only have 1 tee location, but according to the website, there are different distances for the long & short tees. So I'm not sure which one is right. On #14, there are broken blue colored bricks along the fairway, so not sure where exactly the tee should be. It'd be nice to have a final verdict on which is correct, then have either the map or the website updated.
- Layout could be a little better, especially on the front 9. Holes #2 - 6 are way too close together. From #2 tee, you're within putting range #4 basket. You then walk past tees for #6 and basket for #5. The tees for #5 are in the fairway for #4, or at least close enough to the fairway that you couldn't tee off on #4 if someone is standing on #5 tee. As mentioned above, there's enough room in the park to create a new hole or two (or 18), and unclog this traffic jam. When the course is crowded this could be a real problem.
- There could be a little more maintenance on some holes. A couple of the holes in the back (#7 - 8 & 14 - 16) could use to see the rough shorter and some trash (broken bricks, litter) & branches removed. On these holes, it almost felt like the course was still being broken in, and not several years old.
- I never saw restrooms or water fountains anywhere near the holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a solid, mid-level course. It's enjoyable with some reasonable challenges. I played the 2nd longest layout (blue tees to yellow baskets), and never felt any of the holes were overly difficult.
- I think the best way to describe a course like this is that it's fair. You're not going to (or at least shouldn't) have any blow-up, high-score holes. Even the wooded holes had clear fairways. But, while you can keep racking up the pars, you're going to have earn your birdie chances.
- The course definitely got better as it went along. After getting through the congestion of holes #2 - 5, it was solid from there on out, with the back 9 being better than the front. I loved the stretch of holes #12 - 15 (3 of the 4 holes in the 270 - 290 range), that all had different, and enjoyable layouts. I loved the old wall along the side of the fairway on #14. Very nice touch seeing that incorporated into the hole.
- The coolest hole is #6. Short hole that plays slightly downhill over the road. Holes is open except for trees to the right of the basket, so disc has to hold its line to get it close to the basket. This is a hole where you want to throw multiple shots for fun.
- Good course. It's 10 minutes off the interstate, so if you're in the area, you should check it out.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Solid 18-hole course

2-4    6/1/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: pascal
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 17.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Discatchers (always a pro for me.)
-Alternate orange baskets on some holes
-Good exercise, this course is a bit of a hike.
-Excellent variety of Wooded and open holes
-Multiple tees
-Good signs designating holes and directing to next
Cons: -Hard to find the beginning of the course.
-Rough terrain
-Map needs updating
-Tees can be difficult to find
Other Thoughts: This is about an hour drive for me. The distance and the fact that Walnut Creek is just down the road from me doesn't have any bearing on the quality of this course. But in the interest of full disclosure, it does affect my perspective on some level.

That said, this is the second Kiwanis course I have played. I had some real difficulty in finding it. If you're coming from the east, don't trust Google. The location on this site is right, but Google tells you to use some roads that I'm pretty sure don't exist, or are on private property. Use the written directions on the course page and you'll be okay.

Once I got there I had some trouble finding it. This site says that the first tee is next to the practice basket near the tennis courts and that maps are in the black mailbox. The basket closest to the courts is 18 and there is a black mailbox next to it. Don't be fooled, this isn't it. There is an orange basket (alt basket for 9) viewable from the tennis courts, the mailbox with the maps is next to it.

The course is a little confusing. Some backtracking is required but there are enough bunny trails to prevent crossing too many fairways.

The hardest part is finding the tees. They are a little schizophrenic. Nearly every sign shows two tees (red and blue). However, distances are given for a third tee (gold). The signs don't give any indication of how to find the gold tees and the map doesn't show where any specific tees are (I only found one gold tee the whole time). Sometimes the signs and the course disagree. For instance, on five, the gravel tee (had to be the blue tee based on the sign) also was painted red on a part of it, while two red tee blocks where both tossed to the side of the right fairway 30 feet up.

Aside from not specifying specific tees the map was pretty good. Just don't take it too literally. It had me searching for #14 for about 15 minutes. It's very detailed, perhaps deceptively so. Treat it like a rough sketch and you'll be fine.

As far as the alternate baskets go, they are nice. Orange-topped discatchers. However, they are not on every hole and there doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason to which holes have them. The map is wrong about two of them. #9 is next to the blue tee for #1 and not up in the woods on the left of the reg #9. Also, #17 has an orange basket not on the map (visible from the regular basket).

My only complaint about the orange baskets is that they don't seem to add a whole lot to the course. #6 and #11 are alright. But some, #7, #16, for example, just seem like they were dropped in a clump of trees and don't really require any different type of shot to par the hole. Others make the course frustrating. Maybe this is just because the signs say they are all par 3's. But on #1 from the red tees, even if you drop a perfectly accurate 350 ft drive in front of an opening of trees, you still have a technical mid-range shot to get to the basket, and all that just for par.

But I'm being a little hard on this course. Once you get the hang of it I'm sure it goes a little more smoothly. There is a good bit of variety and someone with less of a commute could enjoy this I'm sure. I won't go back myself.

The last thing I'd say is that parts of the brush are really rough. I'm okay with trees and bushes, but certain sections are just bushwhack brush, or piles of cleared brush, the kinda stuff that you can walk across. Go off the fairway on the back nine and prepare to be scratched up big time.

Overall, this is a solid 18-hole course. The designer generally knew what they were doing and did a good job using the space. It looks like the plans were grand and they ran out of money before the tees were completed. If your in the area, it's worth the time to play, or if you're local and have the time to find all the tees or play with someone who knows them I can imagine it would be a great experience. It's not worth driving an hour if you already have some good courses where you live.


2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Almost

1    3/24/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: 1978
Played: 185  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has some good moments. There are a few neat holes, some in the spring play over ponds where a wet disc is possible if you go for the pin. Luckily the ponds are shallow so getting your disc is not a problem. There are wooded and open holes and multiple basket locations. This makes for a very interesting course. Extra baskets definitely moved my rating up a bit. I played with a group of beginners and was able to show them almost every different type of shot I could think of. The variety of the course is a plus. I think half the holes were wooded and half open, and there were some decent bomb holes. The course was well maintained. I saw someone doing course maintenance while I played. It was awesome.
Cons: Layout layout layout. The first 9 is rough. It is almost like a spider designed the front 9. It is extremely confusing. You have to cross over or walk back down fairways multiple times. One hole throws over a road. Many of the tee locations are too close to adjacent fairways.
Other Thoughts: All in all a decent course for the area. I would play here if I lived nearby. It just doesnt hold up in layout, design, and looks to 3 rated courses in more developed disc golf towns. Compared to other local courses I would imagine this would be a 3 or so, but you can't review according to what is nearby. Definitely stop by if you are on your way north along RT 81. You will have fun.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.