Staunton, VA 
Kiwanis DGC Share
Uploaded By: Chutney Hole #10
3 / 250ft.   3 / 250ft.   3 / 300ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Approach



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Welcome to the Jungle

1    6/14/2014   6/15/2014
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Dual gravel tees and dual Discatcher baskets on 18 holes provide a variety of playing options. Practice basket and kiosk by parking lot and hole 1. Excellent hole designs with variety of shots over rolling elevation in the open or heavy woods and over a pond. Navigation was fairly easy with good signage. 2 loops of 9 holes back to parking lot. Fairways are well maintained.
Cons: The biggest con IMO is the jungle rough and lack of groomed fairway width on the wooded holes. There are thorns and poison ivy/oak throughout the rough and the fairways are quite skinny, so one tiny kick off a tree and you are in the suck. The long basket on hole 2 says 6. The map on here is not correct for the back 9, as hole 10 is what the map says is 11, although the navigation without the map was pretty easy. The first section of wooded holes 2-6 is a bit cramped together. Hole 6 plays over a park road. Hole 16 plays over the edge of the baseball field. Many of the long baskets are just tucked into a ridiculous jailhouse of trees and rough. Biting flies were abundant. No bathrooms or drinking water.
Other Thoughts: Welcome to the jungle
We've got fun 'n' games...

Welcome to the jungle
Watch it bring you to your
knees, knees
I wanna watch you bleed...

I have a real hard time rating this course because of the rough, some of it boarders between genius and insane. It reminds me of Rockburn Branch when the rough used to really bad there. I had a lot of hope for Kiwanis when I stepped up to hole 1 and is nice looking par 5 uphill, but as I approached the long basket fear set in as the window is maybe 10' wide with nasty rough on both sides 100' down the tight woods. I really enjoyed the more open holes here, 9, 10, 12, 13, 16, 17 and 18 come to mind, great back 10 holes in general. The wooded holes are also great, but oh the rough!

This course has potential to be a 4 with it's nice rolling elevation and mix of open and wooded holes, but the long basket positions were borderline silly in places and the rough is just too much unless you are into machoism or pitching short shots down the fairway. Most of the holes are great, they just need to clear the brush out to make them playable and enjoyable. If you are traveling through the I-81 corridor I have a hard time recommending playing this course in the summer unless you don't care about poison ivy or losing discs a few feet off the narrow wooded fairways, winter should be more playable though.





0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/6/2012   3/21/2012
Review By: JeCroisQue
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Lots of variety here. There are a solid mix of wooded and open holes to help you hone your game.
-It also requires a good bit of shot making, a lot of the holes demand specific shots which I like as a challenge.
-Alternate pins.
- Fairly well maintained.
Cons: - I wasn't fond of the tee pads, they were gravel and were kind of annoying. I had stones in my shoes all day.
Other Thoughts: There wasn't anything really special about this course for me. It was nicely laid out and fun, but it didn't have anything that would make me want to drive 30 minutes there when my home course is so close. It is a nice switch up though when I get bored and will go back.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Solid 18-hole course

2-4    6/1/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: pascal
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 17.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Discatchers (always a pro for me.)
-Alternate orange baskets on some holes
-Good exercise, this course is a bit of a hike.
-Excellent variety of Wooded and open holes
-Multiple tees
-Good signs designating holes and directing to next
Cons: -Hard to find the beginning of the course.
-Rough terrain
-Map needs updating
-Tees can be difficult to find
Other Thoughts: This is about an hour drive for me. The distance and the fact that Walnut Creek is just down the road from me doesn't have any bearing on the quality of this course. But in the interest of full disclosure, it does affect my perspective on some level.

That said, this is the second Kiwanis course I have played. I had some real difficulty in finding it. If you're coming from the east, don't trust Google. The location on this site is right, but Google tells you to use some roads that I'm pretty sure don't exist, or are on private property. Use the written directions on the course page and you'll be okay.

Once I got there I had some trouble finding it. This site says that the first tee is next to the practice basket near the tennis courts and that maps are in the black mailbox. The basket closest to the courts is 18 and there is a black mailbox next to it. Don't be fooled, this isn't it. There is an orange basket (alt basket for 9) viewable from the tennis courts, the mailbox with the maps is next to it.

The course is a little confusing. Some backtracking is required but there are enough bunny trails to prevent crossing too many fairways.

The hardest part is finding the tees. They are a little schizophrenic. Nearly every sign shows two tees (red and blue). However, distances are given for a third tee (gold). The signs don't give any indication of how to find the gold tees and the map doesn't show where any specific tees are (I only found one gold tee the whole time). Sometimes the signs and the course disagree. For instance, on five, the gravel tee (had to be the blue tee based on the sign) also was painted red on a part of it, while two red tee blocks where both tossed to the side of the right fairway 30 feet up.

Aside from not specifying specific tees the map was pretty good. Just don't take it too literally. It had me searching for #14 for about 15 minutes. It's very detailed, perhaps deceptively so. Treat it like a rough sketch and you'll be fine.

As far as the alternate baskets go, they are nice. Orange-topped discatchers. However, they are not on every hole and there doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason to which holes have them. The map is wrong about two of them. #9 is next to the blue tee for #1 and not up in the woods on the left of the reg #9. Also, #17 has an orange basket not on the map (visible from the regular basket).

My only complaint about the orange baskets is that they don't seem to add a whole lot to the course. #6 and #11 are alright. But some, #7, #16, for example, just seem like they were dropped in a clump of trees and don't really require any different type of shot to par the hole. Others make the course frustrating. Maybe this is just because the signs say they are all par 3's. But on #1 from the red tees, even if you drop a perfectly accurate 350 ft drive in front of an opening of trees, you still have a technical mid-range shot to get to the basket, and all that just for par.

But I'm being a little hard on this course. Once you get the hang of it I'm sure it goes a little more smoothly. There is a good bit of variety and someone with less of a commute could enjoy this I'm sure. I won't go back myself.

The last thing I'd say is that parts of the brush are really rough. I'm okay with trees and bushes, but certain sections are just bushwhack brush, or piles of cleared brush, the kinda stuff that you can walk across. Go off the fairway on the back nine and prepare to be scratched up big time.

Overall, this is a solid 18-hole course. The designer generally knew what they were doing and did a good job using the space. It looks like the plans were grand and they ran out of money before the tees were completed. If your in the area, it's worth the time to play, or if you're local and have the time to find all the tees or play with someone who knows them I can imagine it would be a great experience. It's not worth driving an hour if you already have some good courses where you live.


2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 DG Stew...hard to digest

1    3/19/2010   4/2/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My title reflects my sentiments about this course. It's like being force fed a huge dinner of different types of food. Some are wonderful treats. Some repulse you. Some you want to savor and some you want to throw up. It really comes down to your tastes. Afterwards...when someone asks you how was your meal. You are puzzled in what to answer. I really enjoyed certain aspects of this course. Other aspects I hated. I have a feeling this course might be an acquired taste and if I played it more...I might enjoy it more.
OK enough driveling analogy. The course caters to all levels with orange (expert) and yellow (rec) baskets there are also 2-3 tees per hole with varying tighter looks or twisted angles from the tees and not just distance added. Course is set on some hilly terrain and this is implemented into the design. Good balance with 1/3 technical woods,1/3 more open and 1/3 fairway golf. 2 holes (12,13) played over water when I was there but this was after rainstorms and these may usuaaly be boggy marshy areas as opposed to interesting pond jumper holes. A lot of unique features here: a warm up tee pad and fairway to the practice basket (yeah you actually have to warm up your drive before starting on a <200 ft practice fairway from the kiosk to hole #1..I never saw that before) the overhand vs traditional throw decision from the tee pad of hole 1, some fast greens (2,8,11), Some monstrous drives and some snaking wooded fairways(14,15). Good elevation changes throughout course. 18 is a gorgeous finishing hole that provides some relatively open downhill canopied drama as you can birdie it but most likely won't.
Cons: This might be tough to swallow but its my opinion. Seems that thorns and schule are seen as part of the design here. I love big trees, spindly trees, evergreens, and even bushes. I have no patience for thorns and underbrush directly off the fairways. On several holes such brush is apparent and seems to almost be part of the design. Maybe the course is raw and the volunteer manpower has spent time in other areas of the course and schule removal is seen as low priority. I have a beef with schule and if I have to wade into thickets and bleed more than a handful of times for shots that are not too errant I am discouraged. Hole 1 to me was looking to be one of the most brilliant holes I have played until I saw the peek-a-boo basket with a narrow lane with schule surrounding her. Why not keep the tight approach and the trees and get rid of the sloppy underbrush. A missed opportunity there IMO. A few other holes had thorns and thickets precariously close to the greens. Putting around trees and over bushes is fun...standing in a picker bush with thorns digging into your legs as your putting for birdie...not so fun.(I might be dramatic but once you remove a picker bush it's gone and the trees actually grow better and the course improves aesthetically and playwise w/o losing difficulty) Some confusion re: layout as is the case on all multi-tee multi-basket layouts. Poorly marked. Navigation was an issue....Missing basket for hole 9 (I believe its now the practice basket?) It's an odd layout that weaves in and around available land within the park...dodging other activities. No conflicts with other park uses but you never feel like your on a DG course as much as your in a park playing DG. The course is raw as of this writing...I would not go as far as to call it ugly. I think I would have enjoyed the old #14 shot across the valley. Looked like a signature hole to me. I wish they kept that and got rid of one of the woods holes earlier in the course. Tees are natural..some scoff at this.Roads, baseball fields, power lines...not the best scenery. My only true gripe is keeping the schule and pickers as an obstacle.
Other Thoughts: I have a feeling this course might develop into a pleasant play. I prefer to get away from people when I play so this course will never have that quality but it has a lot going for it. The design is ambitious with length and variety. Some grooming and a few signs, maps, tees to help first timers and this place could easily be a 4.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Colourful Options

2-4    4/11/2009   4/14/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
With two sets of tee areas (red closer, blue farther) on each hole, and two baskets (yellow closer, orange farther) on 8 of the 18 holes (1,2,6,7,11,12,14,16). you can play the course in various ways.

Scorecards, with map, available at tee #1 (near practice basket, apparently former orange basket #9)

Signs, with distances, at most holes to help you find tees and baskets.

Nice variety of open, fully wooded, trees-partially-in-play holes, with left, right, S-shape, and straight shots all needed. Some minor change in elevation on most holes.

Favourite basket location: #2 orange, in the middle of a terraced mini-cliff.
Cons:
Could not find sign on #9, #18.
Grass tee areas.
Tee areas marked by ground-level concrete red or blue squares in various states of (dis)repair which can be difficult to find.

Some parts of the course rather unattractive, in former (current?) dumping areas. Holes 7-8, 12-15, 14 in particular, not very attractive.

If there are no maps/scorecards at tee #1, this would be a difficult course for a first-time visitor to navigate.
Other Thoughts:
The shortest course (red tees to yellow baskets) average ~265', the longest (blue to orange) just under 400', and the middle two are similar in length, averaging around 325'.

Info for #9:
- the orange basket no longer appears to serve that function - it is now the practice basket.
- the blue tee is near the parking lot behind home plate of the nearby baseball field
- the red tee is quite some distance away, near the road
- the closest basket is actually #10 - #9's is farther away, to the right of the white pine trees

Having multiple baskets along with multiple tees really allows a single piece of land to serve as many different courses.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.