Staunton, VA 
Kiwanis DGC Share
Uploaded By: Chutney Hole #18
3 / 380ft.   3 / 380ft.   3 / 575ft.   3 / 575ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good Course

1    10/4/2014   10/14/2014
Review By: SMontgomery
Played: 46  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.1 Years
Pros: Very good variety of shots and layouts.
Cons: Very confusing to navigate if you dont have a guide.
Other Thoughts: Better tee signs and course maps would be great. I like the fact that there are score cards and pencils at the practice basket. I will definately play mulitiple times.

 winter improvements

5+    9/13/2011   9/14/2011
Review By: VaDGer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nicely maintained. Great mix of holes; open, wooded, lefty, righty, long, short. New red tee boxes of gravel dust on holes 12 13 and 15. Tees on 4, 14 and 16 will be completed by months end. More coming. Nice scorecards with accurate maps. Professional signs will be installed over the winter and early spring. Every hole will be marked and easy to find.
Cons: Need more signage for the casual and visiting player. Working on clearing a little more brush from various areas. Thanks to Parks and Rec for this help!
Other Thoughts: This is my home course. It will be transformed over the winter of 2011 and spring of 2012.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pleasant surprise

1    10/17/2010   10/24/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2014
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Solid 18 hole course with multiple tees & baskets, allowing for all skill levels to enjoy.
- Very good mix of holes, with course playing in and out of the woods. Elevation isn't a factor on most holes, with it only playing a major role on #1,2, 16 & 17.
- Kiwanis follows the "less is more" mantra when it comes to course layout. Holes have solid, but not complicated layouts, but still require precise shot-making to shoot well. There were no overly difficult/frustrating holes, but there were also no easy, birdie 2 holes.
- I liked the multiple tee pads and baskets. It gave some nice variety of looks, although there could have been more. The different tee locations could have been better identified on several holes. I couldn't figure if the long baskets were UVA orange or Va Tech orange?
- Course flows nicely throughout the park. Front 9 is much closer together, back 9 is more spread out, which means more walking. #10 tee is near first tee, so you can easily play only the front or back 9 if not enough time for the entire 18.
- Very good signage between holes, especially when there are long walks between holes. There's also some very nice scenic views while you're playing.
- Very nice, spacious park. I drove in through the first entrance, instead of the main one, so I was surprised to see the park have so much space. There's a lot more room in the park past all the disc golf space. I noticed the park gets much hillier in the back, and with plenty of land back there, maybe a second 18 one day?
Cons: I didn't have a lot of problems with the course. The local DGC seems to be on top of things here.
- The biggest problem was that I couldn't find the long (blue) tee pads on some holes. I couldn't find a long tee pad on holes #5, 9, 13, 14 & 18. According to the course map, some of these holes (#9, 13 & 18) only have 1 tee location, but according to the website, there are different distances for the long & short tees. So I'm not sure which one is right. On #14, there are broken blue colored bricks along the fairway, so not sure where exactly the tee should be. It'd be nice to have a final verdict on which is correct, then have either the map or the website updated.
- Layout could be a little better, especially on the front 9. Holes #2 - 6 are way too close together. From #2 tee, you're within putting range #4 basket. You then walk past tees for #6 and basket for #5. The tees for #5 are in the fairway for #4, or at least close enough to the fairway that you couldn't tee off on #4 if someone is standing on #5 tee. As mentioned above, there's enough room in the park to create a new hole or two (or 18), and unclog this traffic jam. When the course is crowded this could be a real problem.
- There could be a little more maintenance on some holes. A couple of the holes in the back (#7 - 8 & 14 - 16) could use to see the rough shorter and some trash (broken bricks, litter) & branches removed. On these holes, it almost felt like the course was still being broken in, and not several years old.
- I never saw restrooms or water fountains anywhere near the holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a solid, mid-level course. It's enjoyable with some reasonable challenges. I played the 2nd longest layout (blue tees to yellow baskets), and never felt any of the holes were overly difficult.
- I think the best way to describe a course like this is that it's fair. You're not going to (or at least shouldn't) have any blow-up, high-score holes. Even the wooded holes had clear fairways. But, while you can keep racking up the pars, you're going to have earn your birdie chances.
- The course definitely got better as it went along. After getting through the congestion of holes #2 - 5, it was solid from there on out, with the back 9 being better than the front. I loved the stretch of holes #12 - 15 (3 of the 4 holes in the 270 - 290 range), that all had different, and enjoyable layouts. I loved the old wall along the side of the fairway on #14. Very nice touch seeing that incorporated into the hole.
- The coolest hole is #6. Short hole that plays slightly downhill over the road. Holes is open except for trees to the right of the basket, so disc has to hold its line to get it close to the basket. This is a hole where you want to throw multiple shots for fun.
- Good course. It's 10 minutes off the interstate, so if you're in the area, you should check it out.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A good mix

1    3/25/2010   3/25/2010
Review By: svens06
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course definitely provides a good range of challenges from long range open field drives to narrow wooded clearings.

The nice thing with this course is most of the holes have some options on were to tee off from and which basket to choose from.

My home course in Stroudsburg PA, is completely in the woods which some of the holes remind me of this. Even the open field shots have some challenges when the basket is behind some trees, or around a turn, or on the side of a hill. I will definitely play this course again.

Hole six is really fun, you get to throw off a hill side cliff (make sure your throwing at the right basket tho)

Another pro is that there is minimal water. There is two little duck ponds on the back nine, one would be a really bad shot if you hit it, the other you need to shoot over but you throw from the top of a hill and its nothing crazy. It doesnt look deep so i think u would be able to retrieve the disk.

Even if you walk this course its going to be good exercise, if you can run it, your basically the man, or part machine.

The area seems pretty nice, and while i was there they had park maintenance so its prob really nice in the summer.
Cons: The course layout is alittle crazy. Tee boxes aren't usually withing eyesight of the basket, or u kinda have to think about where to go. While the multiple tees and baskets are nice, it causes some confusion.

Since it was my first time playing on three separate holes i ended up throwing at the wrong baskets so i had to walk back to the tee box.

The tee boxes are a bit haphazard, some are dirt with colored stones as markings, while others are nice wooden framed with level rock fillings. For me its a bit inconsistent. one or two holes you just know where to tee off because the ground area has no grass from people throwing.

The woods could definitely use some trimming / planting grass or sprucing up. (clearing trash) I went in the spring so, i don't know how it is in the summer or fall.

While i like having trees as obstacles, its annoying to trudge through thicket when your disc goes 3 or 4 feet left or right (on the wooded shots).
Other Thoughts: If anyone goes to Stroudsburg PA, I would rank Yetter Park DGC first, Field of dreams in Great meadows nj, then this course, then Rivers edge park in shawnee Pa.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Variety

1    2/8/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There's all kinds of variety here. You've got short tees and long tees. You've got 8 holes that have two permanent baskets; the extra orange baskets are snazzy. You've also got 6 holes on the back 9 with Gold basket positions. Add it all up and you've got 5 layouts to choose from! Throw in elevation variety on almost every hole and a decent amount of terrain variety. There are some holes in the woods, a few open grass, several with challenging foliage, and a few with scattered trees among nice grass. Oh yeah, there's fantastic length variety too. On the long layout I played (Blue tees to Orange baskets) there were all kinds of differing lengths (6<299/ 3<399/ 5<499/ 2<599/ 1 of 620/ 1 of 700).
Cons: -The natural tees are adequate, but it would help if they were framed, and a couple were sloping instead of level.
-There are some potential safety issues. On a few holes you throw dangerously close to park roads, and some shots can be hard to see cars.
-Navigation: Hopefully you can get a map on the score card near the course message board. Without a map it would be hard to find your way in a few places. Finding tee 3 would be confusing. Some tees were hard to find, even with the map. (Blue tee 9 was very hard to find; both of hole 14's and 18 Red tee were also hard to locate.) Some baskets were also hard to see from the tee.
Other Thoughts: Course Level of the long layout (Blue to Orange baskets) = Blue (most suited for Advanced players rated 925-975)

At a few spots the variety of layout options can become a weakness because the multiple baskets can make it hard to figure out which basket to throw to.

The tee signs were merely average with only the length on them. The rough is fairly open, but there were thorns, thick brush, and debris in places. There can be lots of wind on the open holes, and there was some soggy ground in some places.

I especially enjoyed the finishing holes, 17 & 18, because they feature the nice park setting of grass with scattered trees that I've really grown to like.

All in all it's a good course with a few aspects that could be a bit better. With all of the variety I bet the locals never get bored there, though.

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my reviews and rating notes at the Yahoo Group, DG Course Reviews, http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...ourseReviews/

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Groomed Municipal Park in the Mountains

2-4    5/30/2009   9/12/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2009
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Length, park setting
Cons: No teepads, brutal rough on a few holes
Other Thoughts: The Kiwanis DGC at Montgomery Hall is about half classic park course, meaning it features well maintained and mostly open fairways, with enough shrubbery and trees to at least make you think, about one quarter classic Virginia woods course, and about one quarter ragged, high risk woods course, with thick undergrowth, watery bogs, and otherwise daunting tee shots. And finally, Montgomery Hall is very long, with par from the white tees (red tees play shorter) perhaps 66 or even higher. All 18 holes have both white and red tees, but unfortunately they are natural, and eight of the 18 holes also have dual pins. So the course doesn't have to be so long, but certainly is if you play white tees to long baskets.

The course starts off well; grab a map from the box near the tee, and let it fly through a tight spot of two cedar trees before an open and well mown field beyond. Get out into the field and you see one regular basket giving you a standard par 3 challenge, and beyond an orange basket back inside the treeline and adding 300 feet to the hole. So right away you get both sides of the course, if you play the long version of the hole; open park land, and tight mountain woods. Overall, the demands of the course are reasonable, with no fairways too tight, and really no hard curves or doglegs - so some players may even consider the course a little too straightforward. And on the more open holes it's mostly grip and rip, but with some slope or trees in play and thus in mind. Interesting basket placements also put some extra emphasis on your short game, for some holes. The long version of #11, for instance, puts the basket just over the lip of a very steep fall-off, with absolutely no room for error. The only concern is there are just a few holes where veering off the fairway is dangerous, with very thick undergrowth easily capable of snatching your disc. In addition, when I was last there in late spring 2009, two holes were made much harder due to the presence of basically an extraordinarily large mud puddle, and another nearby hole was cut across by a soccer field under construction. These cons may not be present in drier seasons, especially once the construction is done and the drainage is improved.

Those three or four holes in the thick woods and/or negatively affected by the construction aside, Montgomery Hall is a nice, flexible course that can be tailored to both your skill level and preference. Beginners can play red tee to silver basket, those who don't like the woods can mitigate that factor to some degree by not playing to the orange baskets, and everyone else can play a long course that requires both distance and control.

I've often wished that the many nice parks throughout the state also featured disc golf, and I've often wished that the many fine disc golf courses throughout the state were just a bit longer - Montgomery Hall succeeds on both counts. I hope that Montgomery Hall represents an evolution in Virginia disc golf, from the older short courses set in unused woods far from the main area of otherwise nice parks to long, well cared for courses playing in and around the main part of parks without interfering. Because there is plenty of space in the state for more fine courses like Montgomery Hall.

Favorite Hole - #17 - Slight downhill shot through a grove of large oaks and maples.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.