Staunton, VA 
Kiwanis DGC Share
Uploaded By: Chutney Hole #6
3 / 190ft.   3 / 270ft.   3 / 230ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Orange Basket to Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 A good mix

1    3/25/2010   3/25/2010
Review By: svens06
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course definitely provides a good range of challenges from long range open field drives to narrow wooded clearings.

The nice thing with this course is most of the holes have some options on were to tee off from and which basket to choose from.

My home course in Stroudsburg PA, is completely in the woods which some of the holes remind me of this. Even the open field shots have some challenges when the basket is behind some trees, or around a turn, or on the side of a hill. I will definitely play this course again.

Hole six is really fun, you get to throw off a hill side cliff (make sure your throwing at the right basket tho)

Another pro is that there is minimal water. There is two little duck ponds on the back nine, one would be a really bad shot if you hit it, the other you need to shoot over but you throw from the top of a hill and its nothing crazy. It doesnt look deep so i think u would be able to retrieve the disk.

Even if you walk this course its going to be good exercise, if you can run it, your basically the man, or part machine.

The area seems pretty nice, and while i was there they had park maintenance so its prob really nice in the summer.
Cons: The course layout is alittle crazy. Tee boxes aren't usually withing eyesight of the basket, or u kinda have to think about where to go. While the multiple tees and baskets are nice, it causes some confusion.

Since it was my first time playing on three separate holes i ended up throwing at the wrong baskets so i had to walk back to the tee box.

The tee boxes are a bit haphazard, some are dirt with colored stones as markings, while others are nice wooden framed with level rock fillings. For me its a bit inconsistent. one or two holes you just know where to tee off because the ground area has no grass from people throwing.

The woods could definitely use some trimming / planting grass or sprucing up. (clearing trash) I went in the spring so, i don't know how it is in the summer or fall.

While i like having trees as obstacles, its annoying to trudge through thicket when your disc goes 3 or 4 feet left or right (on the wooded shots).
Other Thoughts: If anyone goes to Stroudsburg PA, I would rank Yetter Park DGC first, Field of dreams in Great meadows nj, then this course, then Rivers edge park in shawnee Pa.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of great changes

5+    11/3/2009   11/9/2009
Review By: Chutney
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/25/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are lots of different combinations of holes. Two current sets of tees, and nine holes with long basket overlays. Many of the greens on the more open holes have sloped greens that add in the factor of 3-putting.

The red tee-yellow basket layout is pretty short, is good for beginners, but still has a few longer holes. The red-orange and blue-yellow layouts are good for intermediate-advancing players. Blue-orange is well suited for advanced/open players. I almost always play this course from the blue-orange layout, so I tend to think of it in that setup. It has the best selection of holes including nine par 4s.

A fun and challenging assortment of holes with well thought out extensions. These holes require controlled distance along with a solid upshot/midrange game to score well. You'll get to throw every shot at some point on the course. Wooded-open, open-wooded, tight woods, forgiving woods, and a few air it out holes. Everything from ace runs to long bomb double driver holes.

Never have to wait to play. The course is getting busier but you can always just walk on and play.

The park is always nicely mowed and the course is free to play year-round.

Several tee boxes have been built recently. Timbers with packed gravel. Most are still grass.
Cons: Lack of consistent tee signs. Also, hard to know where the pavers are buried if you aren't familiar with the course. There is a map on the back of the scorecards that are in the black mailbox by the first tee.

Not many trashcans available. There's one on the way to hole 9 in the parking lot by the upper softball field, and in the parking lot near hole 17's tee. There is some litter around.

The course is in a multiuse park with a road running close to several of the holes. If softball season is in full swing, occasionally you might have to ask someone to move or wait for cars to go by before you throw.

Some list natural tees as a con. I guess I have played on them so long I don't mind. Some of the tees are a bit uneven, but most are fine.

On holes 4 and 5, there is only one box constructed (the blue tees) Holes 3, 7, and 8 have both red and blue Most of the tees are still grass.

Some of the wooded holes still have small piles of logs next to the fairways that have not been moved.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, and a lot of people have contributed creative ideas and worked hard in implementing it's redesign. The main reason I gave the course a 4 was because of the of the longer layout and the full range of golf shots you will throw. A really well rounded setup. I know a public park isn't the most beautiful setting you will play disc golf in, but I think the course makes up for it.

Gold tees will be finished soon.

Estimated SSAs
Red-Yellow- 47
Red Orange- 51.5
Blue-Yellow- 53
Blue-Orange-60

Hole 14 is completely different. Now a wooded par 4. Hole 15 is now 100' longer and turns right down the hill.

Hope to add new pics soon

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great VA Course

2-4    9/26/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Kiwanis is a great course. The most obvious pro, to me, is the variety in the holes. The course makes great use of the land in the park - no two holes are alike. The course provides plenty of chances to air it out, but also has plenty of technical, wooded holes. With two tees (red = short, blue = long) and two baskets (yellow = short, orange = long) on almost every hole, the course appeals to recreational players as well as pros. I would recommend playing a few rounds here, if you have time, and taking advantage of the different tee/basket combinations.

The course has clearly gotten a lot of TLC since some of the early reviews were written. All of the baskets are very nice and appear to be new. The course layout has been redone recently and is very well thought out. The long (orange) basket for #9 serves as a practice basket, and there is actually enough room to throw drives and use it as a practice hole, which I've never seen before. The bulletin board by the tennis courts has information about upcoming events, and scorecards/maps and pencils can be found in the mailbox by the blue tee for #1.
Cons: I really only have two complaints about this course, and I have a feeling that they will be addressed eventually so I'm not losing sleep over them. First of all, the tees are all natural - usually I don't mind this much, but I just played a tournament here in the rain and the tees were quite problematic. Also, they are marked by pavers in the ground, which are tough to see sometimes. Framed-in tees would provide more traction, and would also be easier to find.

My second complaint is the lack of signage on the course. There are tee signs on some holes, but not all of them. This is probably due to recent changes in the course, though. Also, there are a few signs pointing to the next tees, but there need to be more. The map provided on the back of the scorecard is very helpful, though, so be sure to pick one up.

#9 was the hardest tee for me to find - after finishing hole 8, follow the fence past the baseball field and down the hill towards the road. The red tee throws between the two big trees, with the basket straight ahead about 400 ft. This tee would be a lot easier to find if there were a sign, but once you play it once it's not a big deal.
Other Thoughts: Overall I think that Kiwanis is a great course. It's well worth the 40-minute drive from Charlottesville, and if you're ever in the area I definitely recommend checking it out (it's only 5 minutes from 81).

I have heard people say that this is the 4th best course in the state, behind The Grange, Loriella, and Walnut Creek Park. I'd put this course above Loriella, but I think that Bryan Park in Richmond belongs in that conversation as well. All in all, a great course that is a must-play for Virginia disc golfers.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Variety

1    2/8/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There's all kinds of variety here. You've got short tees and long tees. You've got 8 holes that have two permanent baskets; the extra orange baskets are snazzy. You've also got 6 holes on the back 9 with Gold basket positions. Add it all up and you've got 5 layouts to choose from! Throw in elevation variety on almost every hole and a decent amount of terrain variety. There are some holes in the woods, a few open grass, several with challenging foliage, and a few with scattered trees among nice grass. Oh yeah, there's fantastic length variety too. On the long layout I played (Blue tees to Orange baskets) there were all kinds of differing lengths (6<299/ 3<399/ 5<499/ 2<599/ 1 of 620/ 1 of 700).
Cons: -The natural tees are adequate, but it would help if they were framed, and a couple were sloping instead of level.
-There are some potential safety issues. On a few holes you throw dangerously close to park roads, and some shots can be hard to see cars.
-Navigation: Hopefully you can get a map on the score card near the course message board. Without a map it would be hard to find your way in a few places. Finding tee 3 would be confusing. Some tees were hard to find, even with the map. (Blue tee 9 was very hard to find; both of hole 14's and 18 Red tee were also hard to locate.) Some baskets were also hard to see from the tee.
Other Thoughts: Course Level of the long layout (Blue to Orange baskets) = Blue (most suited for Advanced players rated 925-975)

At a few spots the variety of layout options can become a weakness because the multiple baskets can make it hard to figure out which basket to throw to.

The tee signs were merely average with only the length on them. The rough is fairly open, but there were thorns, thick brush, and debris in places. There can be lots of wind on the open holes, and there was some soggy ground in some places.

I especially enjoyed the finishing holes, 17 & 18, because they feature the nice park setting of grass with scattered trees that I've really grown to like.

All in all it's a good course with a few aspects that could be a bit better. With all of the variety I bet the locals never get bored there, though.

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my reviews and rating notes at the Yahoo Group, DG Course Reviews, http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...ourseReviews/

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Colourful Options

2-4    4/11/2009   4/14/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
With two sets of tee areas (red closer, blue farther) on each hole, and two baskets (yellow closer, orange farther) on 8 of the 18 holes (1,2,6,7,11,12,14,16). you can play the course in various ways.

Scorecards, with map, available at tee #1 (near practice basket, apparently former orange basket #9)

Signs, with distances, at most holes to help you find tees and baskets.

Nice variety of open, fully wooded, trees-partially-in-play holes, with left, right, S-shape, and straight shots all needed. Some minor change in elevation on most holes.

Favourite basket location: #2 orange, in the middle of a terraced mini-cliff.
Cons:
Could not find sign on #9, #18.
Grass tee areas.
Tee areas marked by ground-level concrete red or blue squares in various states of (dis)repair which can be difficult to find.

Some parts of the course rather unattractive, in former (current?) dumping areas. Holes 7-8, 12-15, 14 in particular, not very attractive.

If there are no maps/scorecards at tee #1, this would be a difficult course for a first-time visitor to navigate.
Other Thoughts:
The shortest course (red tees to yellow baskets) average ~265', the longest (blue to orange) just under 400', and the middle two are similar in length, averaging around 325'.

Info for #9:
- the orange basket no longer appears to serve that function - it is now the practice basket.
- the blue tee is near the parking lot behind home plate of the nearby baseball field
- the red tee is quite some distance away, near the road
- the closest basket is actually #10 - #9's is farther away, to the right of the white pine trees

Having multiple baskets along with multiple tees really allows a single piece of land to serve as many different courses.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  

1    2/27/2009   2/27/2009
Review By: ericneff
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Challenging course. Nice elevation changes.
Cons: It look like a real, actual dump. garbage everywhere. Cinder blocks, furniture and junk all over the place. Also, the tees are a little hard to find even with a map, which was poorly designed. Thorn bushes everywhere, too. Not a pretty course.
Other Thoughts: Has potential, but would need tons of work. Not sure how anyone could call it a beautiful course unless you were from New Jersey. Definitely not top rated, either. Bryan Park (Richmond) and Walnut Creek Park (Charlottesville) blow this course out of the water.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Montgomery Hall Park

2-4    12/13/2008   1/7/2009
Review By: discguru
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of variety. Large course. Very addictive. Beautiful Park. A variety of baskets and tee boxes.
Cons: Bathrooms? Drink machine? Signage. A few bad tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: The Kiwanis Kourse at Montgomery Hall Park is awesome. I read in a Hampton Roads magazine that it was the fourth best rated course in Virginia. It's number two for me, after Hawk Hollow. Fortunately there was a good map on the back of the scorecard, because course navigation was difficult. The course was re-designed last year with a few new holes. It's not as much fun as the old course, but now it's a much "truer" disc golf course. Holes 9 and 18 are outstanding and there is a wide variety of other challenges on the course. A few of the tee boxes are terrible (uneven, uphill slant), and Hole 15 (new) is a throw-away, but the park is beautiful and uncrowded. This is a great course to visit. Staunton also has the Frontier Culture Museum and a recreation Shakespeare theater that are worse visiting. The Montgomery Hall Park Course is 3.5 hours from my home, but I plan on visiting three or four times a year. The course is very well maintained, but could use a lot more work to spruce it up. Try it, you'll like it!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 talk about options

1    9/16/2008   10/17/2008
Review By: Rowdie
Played: 38  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Most holes have two pins, multiple tees, and even different possible pin placements. This cousre does do a great job of using park space. A great deal of variety in hole styles.
Cons: Just better signs, and tee markers.
Other Thoughts: Might have to exsercise some patients. During rec. sports seasons this is a very busy place, and some holes are dangerously close to fields: baseball, football, etc.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Park Setting

2-4    4/19/2008   4/21/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2008
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes, some open and grassy, some through the woods, some gradual uphill, some hills sloping to the left, others to the right. Makes good use of available park space.
Cons: Some holes are a bit rough (13 & 14) and be careful of poison ivy. Navigation could be a little better. I like the low impact paving stones as tee markers, but they were sometimes hard to find. We were lucky to have a guide our first time at this course.
Other Thoughts: Lucked into an informal tournament during our visit. Met lots of great people, and may have to make a return visit, if this is any indication of the typical Virginia Disc Golf Community. Great course! Kudos!

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Groomed Municipal Park in the Mountains

2-4    5/30/2009   9/12/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2009
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Length, park setting
Cons: No teepads, brutal rough on a few holes
Other Thoughts: The Kiwanis DGC at Montgomery Hall is about half classic park course, meaning it features well maintained and mostly open fairways, with enough shrubbery and trees to at least make you think, about one quarter classic Virginia woods course, and about one quarter ragged, high risk woods course, with thick undergrowth, watery bogs, and otherwise daunting tee shots. And finally, Montgomery Hall is very long, with par from the white tees (red tees play shorter) perhaps 66 or even higher. All 18 holes have both white and red tees, but unfortunately they are natural, and eight of the 18 holes also have dual pins. So the course doesn't have to be so long, but certainly is if you play white tees to long baskets.

The course starts off well; grab a map from the box near the tee, and let it fly through a tight spot of two cedar trees before an open and well mown field beyond. Get out into the field and you see one regular basket giving you a standard par 3 challenge, and beyond an orange basket back inside the treeline and adding 300 feet to the hole. So right away you get both sides of the course, if you play the long version of the hole; open park land, and tight mountain woods. Overall, the demands of the course are reasonable, with no fairways too tight, and really no hard curves or doglegs - so some players may even consider the course a little too straightforward. And on the more open holes it's mostly grip and rip, but with some slope or trees in play and thus in mind. Interesting basket placements also put some extra emphasis on your short game, for some holes. The long version of #11, for instance, puts the basket just over the lip of a very steep fall-off, with absolutely no room for error. The only concern is there are just a few holes where veering off the fairway is dangerous, with very thick undergrowth easily capable of snatching your disc. In addition, when I was last there in late spring 2009, two holes were made much harder due to the presence of basically an extraordinarily large mud puddle, and another nearby hole was cut across by a soccer field under construction. These cons may not be present in drier seasons, especially once the construction is done and the drainage is improved.

Those three or four holes in the thick woods and/or negatively affected by the construction aside, Montgomery Hall is a nice, flexible course that can be tailored to both your skill level and preference. Beginners can play red tee to silver basket, those who don't like the woods can mitigate that factor to some degree by not playing to the orange baskets, and everyone else can play a long course that requires both distance and control.

I've often wished that the many nice parks throughout the state also featured disc golf, and I've often wished that the many fine disc golf courses throughout the state were just a bit longer - Montgomery Hall succeeds on both counts. I hope that Montgomery Hall represents an evolution in Virginia disc golf, from the older short courses set in unused woods far from the main area of otherwise nice parks to long, well cared for courses playing in and around the main part of parks without interfering. Because there is plenty of space in the state for more fine courses like Montgomery Hall.

Favorite Hole - #17 - Slight downhill shot through a grove of large oaks and maples.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.