Stephens City, VA 
Sherando Park Share
Uploaded By: lotsill Hole #1
4 / 268ft. Par / Distance:
Hole 1 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Play it more than once

2-4    7/7/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: zubeala
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good signage, though "Next Tee" directions would be helpful.
Excellent concrete t pads...nice and long. Nice mix of open and wooded. The woods are not so dense as to lose discs even in July. Has not been crowded when we have played. Very generous par ratings...I liked it.
Cons: May be a few more dog leg rights than most, but I didn't find it annoying.
Other Thoughts: First time I played this I was not overly impressed (February), but the 2nd time I really enjoyed it. I think the foliage on the trees made the holes more interesting and a bit more technical. I can't wait to go back.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Doglegs and Angles and Ivy. Oh my.

5+    7/24/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: ibekent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/16/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course sits on its own land apart from the baseball and soccer fields. It is a mix of fairly long open shots (after the first one) and wooded shots which require a moment's thought. The tees are mostly large, concrete trapezoids most of which are cleverly placed or angled to make the shots a little bit tricky. It has some risk reward decisions, good pin placements, and decent variety of shots.

The course is well kept. Benches and trash cans are available. Tee signs are excellent. The course has no directional signs, but they aren't really needed. Just follow the trail. The course has decent flow, but also has some awkward walks and backtracking. It's almost two loops of nine; (tees 1 and 9 are next to one another). And it has the perfect amount of traffic. It's well used and stays beat in, but is not beat up and worn out. There are always folks to play, but I've never had to wait or play through.

In general, it's not an overly challenging course, but is challenging enough and very enjoyable. If you enjoy the calm of the woods, you'll really like this course.
Cons: I can think of only two things that everyone will call a con: 1. I don't think I've ever seen so much poison ivy in one place. 2. It's a fair walk from the parking lot to the first tee.

Other thing which some might call cons: The course significantly favors players with RHFH flicks. The longest hole is 440 feet. Some of the wooded shots are lined with significant schule. The first two shots are relatively uninteresting. Water and restrooms are available, but not nearby.
Other Thoughts: When you park, just start walking back across the soccer fields toward the woods. You'll see a small kiosk back there which is next to the first tee.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Solid

5+    6/25/2009   3/30/2011
Review By: tehrain
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: As far as city park courses go, this one is pretty solid. It's fairly large and well spread out with some good variety. Not overly crowded but on sunny weekends you might get slowed down a bit if you're quick.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course In The Area

5+    8/29/2010   9/4/2010
Review By: LeftyChris
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good variation

Well maintained

Maps on each hole are very helpful



Cons: Sometimes may be confusing for first timers when finding a few tees

If you throw in the rough, you may run into some thorn bushes



Other Thoughts: Overall awesome course. I live about 40 minutes away and it's well worth the trip every time. It could use a little improving but nothing major.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Example of a Community Park

1    5/14/2010   5/15/2010
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sherando Park is another great course along the I-81 corridor and is very easy to get to. The park is exceptionally manicured and well maintained.

Sherando Park is an amazing example of a disc golf course in a community park making the most of the space that it has available Included were a variety of holes from long, wide-open field fairways to short, tight, densely-wooded holes. While the elevation at the park is limited, the change in elevation was incorporated into several holes. Each hole held its own unique characteristics and challenges, but numerous birdie bonuses and ace runs were definitely possible.

The walk from the parking lot to the first tee crosses a soccer field. This is excellent for shaking out the cobwebs and practicing a few drives before playing your round.

Tee Signs at Sherando were great. The signs included picture of the hole layout, expected flight path, obstacles, distance, and par.

The baskets were in pretty good shape as were the concrete tees pads.

One of the best things about this course were the locals. I played as a single and came across three separate foursomes that were more than happy to let me play through and were immensely friendly. While waiting for another group to finish putting, I was greeted by a pair of local players and they were helpful and seemed happy to have me on their course. The welcoming vibe at Sherando is a big plus.
Cons: Navigation at Sherando was a bit confusing at times. In some cases, the clustering of tees relative to baskets seemed a bit cramped and might have some subtle safety issues. Having "next tee" markers on more of the sings would have been nice.

As for the sings themselves, it was disappointing to see so much vandalism as numerous signs were tagged when aced.

Recognizing that Sherando Park probably did the best they could with the land they had available, several of the wooded holes seemed a bit short.
Other Thoughts: Sherando Park was a fast play, but a lot of fun. This park is great for all levels of disc golfers, from beginners to more experienced players, children, and families. Stephans City did right by themselves in their implementation of this course and I would recommend this to anyone in the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Sherando Glow

1    3/13/2010   3/30/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Snuck in after hours and played a glow round here. Perfect glow course as 9 holes are primarily wide open and the woods holes are delightfully challenging but well maintained and relatively short. Perfectly mowed grass, concrete tees, signs, and cleanliness and nice bathrooms make this quite the amenity rich experience. Course weaves between the woods and fields in a way that keeps you interested. The 9 open holes allow for some big arm birdie chances as all can be reached with a 300ish ft drive. Hole 8 and 9 were the best field holes as 8 allowed for a big crush over 400 feet of distance down a gradually sloping hill. Then 9 begs to be birdied as your throwing across a field into a wooded green. The best holes for my taste were the wooded holes 3,4,5,6, and 11. All of these employ a steep slope and some rolling terrain with tight yet ample fairways to challenge your skill set. Not brutally tough but still very fun holes to play. 6 is a blast up and out of the woods to an open field anny. Long ace runs are possible on holes 1,2, and 16 as these are all reachable with solid drives and are open and visible from the tees. These would be long aces though! 3 and 9 play from the fields into the woods and 6 plays from woods to field. There are also 2 holes (14,17) that employ evergreens to guard the greens. Some love the terror of these disc eaters so I mentioned it as a pro. This is a very well groomed course that serves many levels of player well. It's stress free golf but has enough length and variety to hold one's interest no matter what your skill level is. Course is to the rear of this huge park so non DGer traffic should be minimal.
Cons: Nothing truly memorable here. I played well here on my first time and it was pitch black. I have a feeling top pros would shred this course during daylight. Course peaked for me early. The last 7 holes were not so memorable and did not really build up to any kind of big finish. I'd start at 9 and finish on 8 if you want to save the better holes for the end. I wish there were more half woods and half field holes rather than so many (9) pure field holes. I think the woods could have been incorporated more into the design on the open holes to give it a bit more challenge yet keep the balanced feel.
Other Thoughts: It's a long walk from the car but like others say you can actually warm up your drive and the walk provides the courses isolation from other activities. The layout of the course is 3ish to me but the outstanding amenities and upkeep raise it up to a 3.5. I would definetely reccomend anyone traveling along I-81 to drive the 30 seconds off the Interstate and play this course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Times

2-4    9/26/2009   9/26/2009
Review By: natedog007
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A course that makes any skill level player feel good about their game. A very well kept well marked course with nice long concrete tees. It has a great combination of open and wooded holes and most holes you can see the basket from the tee. If your disc gets off the path its not hard to spot and recover.
Cons: Bring a garbage bag! Even though there are about 5 trash cans along the course it has quite a bit of litter. We carted off as much as we could carry, but next time we'd bring a trash bag. The only other con is that it rained as we were approaching 18 that kept us from playing a third round.
Other Thoughts: All three of us have very little experience and were able to all have adequate scores. 63-68-72. We played all 18 in about 1hour 15 minutes and had so much fun we played it again scoring 57-66-68.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    10/4/2008   10/4/2008
Review By: valkyriefb11
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2008
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sherando Park is a well groomed fun course. The course is well kept and very clean. All of the signs and tees were clearly marked and very easy to follow. Sherando offers a good variety of open, wooded, and mixed holes. There is also some elevation with several uphill shots. Perhaps the most striking aspect of the course is the wealth of right turning dog-legs. (Left handed players enjoy)
Although the course is on the grounds of a park, it was wisely placed away from the other park amenities (i.e. the playground and ball fields)
When you play the course, it isnt particularly difficult, but the cedars/pine trees do offer some fun obstacles to get around.
Cons: If you follow par according to the signs many will find that it is very generous.
Only one tea/pin placement -- It would be nice if there were some variety. (more personal preference than a real con)
Other Thoughts: The course is not in the main area of the park ... it is across the street.
There are a ton of restaurants within 5 minutes of the course.
The peaceful, rural setting is beautiful and very conducive to playing well.
This is definitely a great course ... there arent any particularly amazing holes but at the end of the course you'll still feel like you played a great course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Sherando

9/18/2006   1/22/2008
Review By: ferretdance03
Played: 74  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/27/2008
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sherando is one of those course that you love to play and you want to do better every time. There is a good variety of shots out there, but quite a few right turning shots. (Dave is left handed!) Elevation changes, shots in to the woods, out of the woods and over the woods and open bombs as well.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely one of my favorite courses to play. Like Jaymon said, it's not overly difficult in nature, but there is trouble to get in to. You are mostly trying to best your last round as there are no epic holes or challenges provided by the course. Overall, a fun course to play that will have you coming back time and time again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.