Stephens City, VA 
Sherando Park Share
Uploaded By: lotsill Hole #6
3 / 201ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee: Basket all the way down on right



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
This is my go-to course!

5+    3/18/2013   3/22/2013
Review By: amlenke
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well established course that hosts a local club that keeps the place on the up and up as well as returns lost discs. Hosts many events and there is almost always someone friendly and often challenging to play with whether you know them or not. Many of the phenominal area players make this their home course. This course has a great layout with two loops of 9 for quick 9 hole games or full 18. 1 and 9 are right next to each other for easy start and finish short loops. The design is easy to follow and they have nice concrete pads throughout. There are also multiple basket placements that are only moved for tourney play.
Cons: The baskets are never moved unless there are tournaments. Two of the concrete pads should be redone; hole number 5 pad slopes down while throwing up hill and hole number 16 slopes up while throwing over a slight rise (I have busted my butt on both when the concrete was wet on more than one occasion though I now know how to compansate for it).
On a windy day, this course is down right brutal and the ravine to the left of hole 11 has eaten a good number of my discs over the years (usually to be replaced with others found in the same spot, and yes I always call if there is a number on it)
Other Thoughts: All and all my favorite and I guess I would consider this my home course. Playing the full 18 is like a warm up on the first 9, with the second 9 being more technical. This course will challenge right handed players as it does have a large amount of right handed doglegs that appeal to lefties. Great course for teaching someone to play, not as long or as confusing as other longer more wooded courses. Make sure you write your name and number on your discs if you play here as you have a pretty good chance of someone calling you if they found it. Also make sure you join our club in the links if you play there a lot for additional challenges and fun.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorite courses

5+    5/17/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 34  Reviewed: 20
This review was updated on 3/19/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is still one of my favorite course that I've played on so far. I first learned how to play disc golf on this course and after playing 20+ more courses afterwards, it remains one of my favorites. Great course for beginners to learn on, but still challenging for more advanced players
- Great tee signage and concrete tee pads
- beautiful beautiful course, with a great mix of open and wooded holes. some require distance, some require accuracy and finesse.
- very easily navigated, course flow makes alot of sense
- cool practice putting area
- secluded, you will never run into other park goers unless they're playing disc golf
Cons: - I really don't have any major complaints. The only thing this course lacks is elevation. I love throwing downhill and there is no such hole on this course.
- Its a bit of a walk from the parking lot to the first tee. I don't mind this as much because this is what allows the course to be secluded from other park goers. However I'm mentioning it as some people will view this as a con.
Other Thoughts: Overall one of my favorites if not my top favorite course played. Besides not having a "top of the world" type of hole to throw downhill, I have no major complaints about this course and I miss it alot now that I'm back in California. Definitely worth checking out if you're in the area. Locals are extremely friendly (as are most DG'ers in general).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 a fantastic course for what it is

5+    1/19/2010   2/11/2010
Review By: FierceTable
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a wonderful variety of holes in terms of both wooded/open and left/right turning. Almost every hole has at least two vastly different ways to acheive the same end. The walk from the parking lot to the practice/first tee is open field offering an opportunity to warm up while throwing in the direction you want to go anyway. It is relatively easy to find your way from the last hole to the next tee.
Cons: Lacks variety in terms of distance. The longer holes don't require you to be accurate for the most part, so if you can throw 300' reasonably accurately there's no danger in scoring worse than par. None of the holes are overly challenging.
Other Thoughts: Despite none of the holes offering a difficult challenge I've never found the course to be boring. The variety in hole design keeps your interest and the lack of difficulty makes you want to do better than your last time out. The relative lack of punishment for being off the fairway makes this a wonderful course for casual players or those who are just learning to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good times

2-4    10/12/2008   10/13/2008
Review By: thatguy
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained course. Good variety of wooded and open holes. Practice basket. Course is set away from the rest of the activities in the park (no interuptions in play). Everyone I have met at this course has been very friendly. This course has some challenging holes and some that make you want to bang your head against a tree when your disc takes a wrong turn. Overall it's a great place for beginers and seasoned veterans.
Cons: Watch for poison ivy if your disc goes into the woods.
Other Thoughts: You will get good exercise walking this course. There is a great variety of up hill and down hill shots. Lots of dog-legs in both directions. This is a great and beautiful course that I will play again and again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 sherando

5+    1/2/2009   9/12/2008
Review By: brian j
Played: 76  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: each hole has nice flat tee pad and sign describing hole

nice hole variety, and layout.

challenging with a few holes that are real par 4's

not very crowded and even on weekends you never feel like you're near other people

great place nearby to buy discs (icredible flying objects in winchester)

plenty of parking and the course is well maintained

right off i-81 so plenty of food options
Cons: not much... only one pad per hole

pin potitions ralely move (i've been playing there for 6 months and they've never moved)

poison ivy is thick if you're disc goes into the woods that line the fairways

doesn't seem to be a strong dg club in the area so while there is a league night (wed's at 5 pm) there's not many other ways to connect with other golfers. random doubles or something would be nice.
Other Thoughts: sherando is the closest course to my home (30 minutes) so its the course i've played the most often. i often play tues mornings and have the place all to myself.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 I Love Sherando

5+    7/22/2008   7/22/2008
Review By: kcbrez009
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent variety. 8 full holes in the open. 8 full holes in the woods. 2 that are half and half. Some longer holes, some short and technical.

Great tee boxes - concrete and tapered.

Beautiful rural park setting.

The course is used enough that the parks system maintains it nicely, but not so much that it's a high traffic area.

Plenty to do in the vicinity, even though it's a bit rural.
Cons: It's on the outskirts of northern Virginia. It's quite a hike for most DC area folks, so they stay away. Actually, that should be in the "Pros" section.

Only one set of tees.

Baskets are only moved occasionally.
Other Thoughts: Worth the trip. Within 15 minutes of the northern entrance to the Blue Ridge Parkway, Skyline Caverns, and historic Winchester. There are plenty of fast food joints in the area, but if you're going to be in the Front Royal area near the BRP entrance, Spelunker's is one of the best burger joints in the world. Imagine Five Guys with really, really good ice cream.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short but Superb Shenandoah Valley Course

9/16/2006   9/12/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety, layout
Other Thoughts: Sherando Park is a real secret gem among Virginia disc golf courses. I was most reminded of Seneca Creek while playing the course; it's very well maintained, it has a nice balance of open holes with woods holes, though with well-defined fairways, and it has lots of cedar trees. Unlike Seneca, though, the course is pretty much strictly a par 3 course, and does not feature multiple tee pads or basket placements. Like Seneca, however, there are no bad holes on this course and picking a favorite is difficult. All told, playing "Seneca Lite" is still better than most other courses in the country.

The Sherando course starts off pretty straightfoward, with two holes playing in the wide open fields, both reachable with your tee shot. But then it moves into the woods for a couple holes, plenty open still but with steep penalties for errant shots. Sherando is also an interesting challenge in that it calls for many right-turning shots - of all the courses I've played thus far, only Kilborne in Charlotte is comparable in this regard. While Sherando lacks any of my favorite course features - towering views, scenic water challenges, or even downhill shots, its appeal builds with every hole, because I just kept thinking, wow, this is a pretty cool hole. So like Seneca or Patapsco, the cumulative effect is that by the end I really felt like I'd played a great course, even though no one hole really excited me. Overall, the course ranks toward the easy end, with only a couple holes over 300 feet, though control is a key skill for many of the woods holes.

I think lots of disc golfers equate hard with good when evaluating a course. For me, though, Sherando is pretty as a course, has lots of interesting challenges, and in the end left me with a wide smile. While I think it's lack of length and flexibility keep it from elite status, its definitely one of the better strict par 3 courses in the region. I can't wait to play it again.

Favorite Hole - #3 - Moderately tight fairway over steep depression and up other side, with sharp wooded drop all along left side of fairway.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.