Stephens City, VA 
Sherando Park Share
Uploaded By: lotsill Hole #9
4 / 257ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Sherando Glow

1    3/13/2010   3/30/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Snuck in after hours and played a glow round here. Perfect glow course as 9 holes are primarily wide open and the woods holes are delightfully challenging but well maintained and relatively short. Perfectly mowed grass, concrete tees, signs, and cleanliness and nice bathrooms make this quite the amenity rich experience. Course weaves between the woods and fields in a way that keeps you interested. The 9 open holes allow for some big arm birdie chances as all can be reached with a 300ish ft drive. Hole 8 and 9 were the best field holes as 8 allowed for a big crush over 400 feet of distance down a gradually sloping hill. Then 9 begs to be birdied as your throwing across a field into a wooded green. The best holes for my taste were the wooded holes 3,4,5,6, and 11. All of these employ a steep slope and some rolling terrain with tight yet ample fairways to challenge your skill set. Not brutally tough but still very fun holes to play. 6 is a blast up and out of the woods to an open field anny. Long ace runs are possible on holes 1,2, and 16 as these are all reachable with solid drives and are open and visible from the tees. These would be long aces though! 3 and 9 play from the fields into the woods and 6 plays from woods to field. There are also 2 holes (14,17) that employ evergreens to guard the greens. Some love the terror of these disc eaters so I mentioned it as a pro. This is a very well groomed course that serves many levels of player well. It's stress free golf but has enough length and variety to hold one's interest no matter what your skill level is. Course is to the rear of this huge park so non DGer traffic should be minimal.
Cons: Nothing truly memorable here. I played well here on my first time and it was pitch black. I have a feeling top pros would shred this course during daylight. Course peaked for me early. The last 7 holes were not so memorable and did not really build up to any kind of big finish. I'd start at 9 and finish on 8 if you want to save the better holes for the end. I wish there were more half woods and half field holes rather than so many (9) pure field holes. I think the woods could have been incorporated more into the design on the open holes to give it a bit more challenge yet keep the balanced feel.
Other Thoughts: It's a long walk from the car but like others say you can actually warm up your drive and the walk provides the courses isolation from other activities. The layout of the course is 3ish to me but the outstanding amenities and upkeep raise it up to a 3.5. I would definetely reccomend anyone traveling along I-81 to drive the 30 seconds off the Interstate and play this course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 a fantastic course for what it is

5+    1/19/2010   2/11/2010
Review By: FierceTable
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a wonderful variety of holes in terms of both wooded/open and left/right turning. Almost every hole has at least two vastly different ways to acheive the same end. The walk from the parking lot to the practice/first tee is open field offering an opportunity to warm up while throwing in the direction you want to go anyway. It is relatively easy to find your way from the last hole to the next tee.
Cons: Lacks variety in terms of distance. The longer holes don't require you to be accurate for the most part, so if you can throw 300' reasonably accurately there's no danger in scoring worse than par. None of the holes are overly challenging.
Other Thoughts: Despite none of the holes offering a difficult challenge I've never found the course to be boring. The variety in hole design keeps your interest and the lack of difficulty makes you want to do better than your last time out. The relative lack of punishment for being off the fairway makes this a wonderful course for casual players or those who are just learning to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Times

2-4    9/26/2009   9/26/2009
Review By: natedog007
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A course that makes any skill level player feel good about their game. A very well kept well marked course with nice long concrete tees. It has a great combination of open and wooded holes and most holes you can see the basket from the tee. If your disc gets off the path its not hard to spot and recover.
Cons: Bring a garbage bag! Even though there are about 5 trash cans along the course it has quite a bit of litter. We carted off as much as we could carry, but next time we'd bring a trash bag. The only other con is that it rained as we were approaching 18 that kept us from playing a third round.
Other Thoughts: All three of us have very little experience and were able to all have adequate scores. 63-68-72. We played all 18 in about 1hour 15 minutes and had so much fun we played it again scoring 57-66-68.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Country fun

5+    8/27/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 31.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice mix of open field holes and technical woods holes. There are a number of fairly easy birdie opportunities and a couple challenging pars (like #11) making this a great course to learn on. Great use of the elevation changes that are available. I'm partial to holes that traverse valleys and there are a couple of those here. #11 is one of my favorites, it plays across a couple of those valleys and has a number of strategically placed cedars, I imagine this is the toughest scoring hole on the course. #9 is well designed in that it's wide open to start but the pin is well placed back in a grove, leaving a fairly tight gate for a straight approach and a risky but available hyzer bomb lane that will punish you if you miss it. A couple other holes (#7 and #16 I think) that start you in a hole where you have to clear a tight early gate at the right angle and pace to reach the hole located a ways out in the open. Decent sized concrete tees.

Course location is very convenient to I-81, and some classic Americana schlock in Dinosaur World (at Rts 522 and 340 I believe). You're also only a few minutes from Front Royal and the start of Skyline Drive
Cons: There's a fairly long walk from the parking lot to the course along side a soccer field. Fairly flat for my tastes. Not too many really challenging pars.
Other Thoughts: You can use the long walk to warm up your arm on the way to the first tee if there aren't any kids on the soccer field so maybe it's not that much of a con. I haven't played the long tees here, I might have to bump this course up after I get the chance.

Consider including this course on your road trips to Walnut Creek and/or Paw Paw, it's worth the stop.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Time At Sherando

1    6/13/2009   6/20/2009
Review By: Jimb
Played: 78  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park facilities that are well maintained, including a clean bathroom. You can play all 18 in a row pretty quickly. Or if you're in a real hurry, you could actually play either the front 9 or the back 9 as separate courses if you wanted. Either way, you finish close to where you started. And there's a practice basket pretty close to #1.

Efficient map available. Definitely print the map that there's a link to on this site. The course is very easy to navigate, and with the map you shouldn't have any trouble identifying proper tees and pins.

There are good signs at each tee showing the length and basic path of the hole. Having the alternate par for each hole on the tee signs makes it more fun for newbies. The concrete tees are good and long and the baskets are all in good shape.

There was a very good mix of open holes, wooded holes and hybrid holes that played both in and out of the woods, The wooded holes aren't really heavily wooded, though, and there are clearly defined paths to the pin on every hole. Experienced players shouldn't have much trouble staying on the fairways. The length isn't overwhelming on either the open or wooded holes. The grass was well maintained and the underbrush along most of the wooded holes wasn't too thick when I played there.

The holes make good use of what elevation changes are available on this plot of land.

Good variety of left and right turning holes too... with more right turning holes than almost any course that I've played. (This was kind of a bummer since I had just lost my Stingray a couple days before I played here.)
Cons: It's not a big deal, but the first (or 10th if just playing the back 9) tee is a bit of a walk from the parking lot.

If you're a big arm and live for 400' plus long holes, then this course could disappoint you (only a negative from that perspective). And if you love water holes, there are none.
Other Thoughts: I played this course with my totally newbie brother in law and it was a lot of fun for both of us. The course was very interesting for me with a lot of missed birdie opportunities on my part. And it didn't overwhelm my BIL, playing his first 18. There was nothing about the course that should really keep a newb from playing and having fun.

I think that there were only two open holes that I couldn't reach with my typical 325' drive. And on the wooded holes I think that I used my Aviar Putt and Approach to drive on every hole exept one. So experienced players should be able to score pretty low here. Playing it for the first time, and missing several birdie putts, I was still able to score a 2 under par 52.

I believe that the longest hole is #8 at 440'. It's slightly downhill and I came up only 40' short of the pin. I was thrilled as this was well beyond my average drive distance!

Using the amatuer par, my BIL was able to score several pars and I think even a birdie or two.

All in all this is a really good course. It's not the kind of course that you'd drive 500 miles just to play... but if you're on I81 anywhere near Winchester, VA, I'd definitely recommend checking it out. I'll definitely be back and it's about 1 1/2 hours for me to get there.

And finally, one note of caution and one reccomendation... If your heading to the course from I81 and your directions say to take LandGrant Lane, don't. The park entrance is about a couple hundred yards past LandGrant. I drove back LandGrant and it dead-ended at a farm. And bring bug spray. The gnats were pretty thick at times on the open holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Moderate Mixture

1    4/6/2009   4/6/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/30/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Between the map available online, and the signs at each tee, this course was easy to navigate for a first-time visitor.

In the back of the park, away from the ball and soccer fields.

Long concrete teepads. Practice basket. Room to warm-up with long drives.
Cons: Concrete teepads a bit slick when wet.
Minimal elevation change.
Other Thoughts: About 1/3 of the holes played entirely in the open, about 1/3 entirely in the woods, about 1/3 in/out of woods.

Several holes 200' or under, only one over 400', average distance was 260'.

Fairly good mix of lefty/righty/neither advantage holes - the shorter, wooded holes tended to favour lefties.

When throwing for #8, the more visible basket, slightly in the woods, is actually #9 - #8's basket is over to the left, short of the trees, not easily visible from the tee.

Overall, a solid course - not too daunting for beginners, not too easy for those with more experience.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun to play

5+    3/26/2008   2/13/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 183  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 33.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Stephens City is what one might call a remote suburb of the DC metro area - a little over an hour west. This puts it in the Appalachian foothills and so the DGC enjoys a gently rolling topography - hills everywhere, but none to long or to steep. The DGC was actually relocated from another area in the park (across the highway) over a decade ago - it used to be a total woods course - but the parks department decided to push it to the back of a newly develpoed ball field facility, giving us what we know today. Having done that, parking is plentiful - but requires a 1/4 mile walk to get to the first tee.
The course may not move much, but there are several holes with multiple pin placements. And when they have events, there are a fairly standard set of alternate teepads, that make for a nice added challenge to the original daily layout.
Being added to the ball field facility has its perks, as there are nice bathrooms and water available. Being pushed to the back of the park is also sometimes advantageous - as there are virtually no park users that venture onto the golf course - so it's basically a dedicated use area.
Baskets are all in good condition, and concrete tees are flush to grade, and adequately sized.
Cons: That 1/4 mile walk.
Other Thoughts: The course in it's standard layout is fun to play, but not exceedingly challenging. It's fun because it brings the natural topography into play on almost every hole in a way that helps teach you how to make a disc turn (one way or the other). But it's not very long, so errant shots seldom pump up your score.
The tournament layout is a little more challenging, and the spring tournament has a history of wacky windy weather that adds a pleasantly challenging dimension to the course. That event is on my list virtually every year - an enjoyable place to play.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good times

2-4    10/12/2008   10/13/2008
Review By: thatguy
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained course. Good variety of wooded and open holes. Practice basket. Course is set away from the rest of the activities in the park (no interuptions in play). Everyone I have met at this course has been very friendly. This course has some challenging holes and some that make you want to bang your head against a tree when your disc takes a wrong turn. Overall it's a great place for beginers and seasoned veterans.
Cons: Watch for poison ivy if your disc goes into the woods.
Other Thoughts: You will get good exercise walking this course. There is a great variety of up hill and down hill shots. Lots of dog-legs in both directions. This is a great and beautiful course that I will play again and again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    10/4/2008   10/4/2008
Review By: valkyriefb11
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2008
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sherando Park is a well groomed fun course. The course is well kept and very clean. All of the signs and tees were clearly marked and very easy to follow. Sherando offers a good variety of open, wooded, and mixed holes. There is also some elevation with several uphill shots. Perhaps the most striking aspect of the course is the wealth of right turning dog-legs. (Left handed players enjoy)
Although the course is on the grounds of a park, it was wisely placed away from the other park amenities (i.e. the playground and ball fields)
When you play the course, it isnt particularly difficult, but the cedars/pine trees do offer some fun obstacles to get around.
Cons: If you follow par according to the signs many will find that it is very generous.
Only one tea/pin placement -- It would be nice if there were some variety. (more personal preference than a real con)
Other Thoughts: The course is not in the main area of the park ... it is across the street.
There are a ton of restaurants within 5 minutes of the course.
The peaceful, rural setting is beautiful and very conducive to playing well.
This is definitely a great course ... there arent any particularly amazing holes but at the end of the course you'll still feel like you played a great course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 sherando

5+    1/2/2009   9/12/2008
Review By: brian j
Played: 76  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: each hole has nice flat tee pad and sign describing hole

nice hole variety, and layout.

challenging with a few holes that are real par 4's

not very crowded and even on weekends you never feel like you're near other people

great place nearby to buy discs (icredible flying objects in winchester)

plenty of parking and the course is well maintained

right off i-81 so plenty of food options
Cons: not much... only one pad per hole

pin potitions ralely move (i've been playing there for 6 months and they've never moved)

poison ivy is thick if you're disc goes into the woods that line the fairways

doesn't seem to be a strong dg club in the area so while there is a league night (wed's at 5 pm) there's not many other ways to connect with other golfers. random doubles or something would be nice.
Other Thoughts: sherando is the closest course to my home (30 minutes) so its the course i've played the most often. i often play tues mornings and have the place all to myself.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.