Suffolk, VA 
Bennett's Creek Share
Uploaded By: Aaron D'Angelo Hole #16
3 / 279ft.   4 / 313ft.   4 / 324ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Red Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3

1    5/18/2014   6/28/2014
Review By: knoxstephen5
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 27.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course, lots of trees and rough terrain. Mud, swampy areas, and lots of roots...and bugs!
Cons: No signs at tee areas(if you can find them). Very hard to navigate. Spent a lot of time figuring out where the basket was on each hole before playing. Played the first 4 or 5 holes and then could not find the next hole. Thanks to a local that pointed us in the right direction or we would have probably not found the next hole. It was way over by the boat launch area. The hole that you had to throw over a big swampy gorge was pretty cool, but overall not real happy with this course. Didnt see any but from what i hear...watch out for snakes!
Other Thoughts: With some work this course could be nicer. Put up some signs and make baskets more visible, improve the tees, and offer a course map. I might go back sometime and play but would rather journey out and find nicer courses to play. Add some benches, trash cans, and bag holders.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Home course

5+    1/20/2014   1/21/2014
Review By: jimmyjank
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New gravel tee pads put in over the weekend, some course management by cutting down a few oddly placed trees, short drive from my house.
Cons: Trees, trees, and well trees!! All but 2 holes 9/10 play either into, out of, or through the woods.
Other Thoughts: Rating this a little higher than i previously would have. Showed up monday and BAM new gravel tee pads, played a few holes and noticed that they had cut down some trees that were right in the way of tee shots, and i also noticed when i was playing that they had layed some foundations to move baskets around in the near future, all of this was a much welcomed sight especially since the last time i played was only a week before.

EDIT: all baskets have now been moved to the new alt. position.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Marcia

1    4/5/2013   4/23/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Three (natural) tee locations per hole. For this review I played from the middle/whites.
Cons:
A bit too tight (random)/short/flat/repetitive.
Other Thoughts:
Other than wide-open, extremely long (~1/7th of the total course length is provided by this one hole) number-10, the course plays in-to, out-from, and within a dense collection of small-/mid-sized tree trees that form a border between the open space of this small, flat park, and the water, mini-inlets, and marshes of Bennett's Creek.

There are a few decent holes here. A couple holes have you throw over a marsh/inlet, more mental than physical challenging for the advancing player, and the short tees are located to minimize the chance the newer player will find much trouble. Holes 12-15, in the far corner, use what little elevation change is available, and have some of the larger trees to avoid..

From the tee, you'll need a blend of straight and turns, including some fishhooks! You'll also need, at times, a bit (lot) of luck, as some throwing lanes/windows are quite tight - bordering on random, sometimes crossing the border! Alternate lanes typically don't exist, the dense collection of trees can prevent easy recovery, and some "unfairly" (challenging?) located trees can re-direct many a fine looking-shot.

Favourite hole: #13, as it offers both the marsh and elevation change, in addition to the ever-present (larger) trees, to overcome, with #7 being an honourable mention, as it is similar to #13, and also provides a bench, just past the basket, from where there are some nice views.

While I enjoyed my round here, and would play again, given sufficient time, you do have to have an inclination for random/tight to play here frequently.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not the best

1    8/7/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice baskets
Not to far from town
Cons: natural tees
no map
horrible smell once close to the water
some holes have no line to hit
Other Thoughts: This course needs some serious updating.
While I love playing anywhere, this type of course would frustrate a newbie and keep a seasoned player away.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Prepare to Humour Yourself

5+    5/25/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: dmccune7
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice variety of shots, clean course, most of the locals are very friendly, the layout is great although it can be sort of challenging to navigate your first few times. The white tees on holes #7 and #13 go across a marsh and are awesome shots. The blue tee on #13 stands out, although a little hard to find it is one of my favorite shots on the course.
Cons: Lack of signs on a number of holes, the brush can be pretty thick during the summer months so be careful, the thorns are monstrous. The skatepark can be pretty annoying at times, especially in the summer or after school. A few holes have no fairway, just a bunch of trees, which earned it the nickname in my group of friends "Bennett's Trees."
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and the first one I ever played on so it will always hold a sentimental value to me, if it's your first time I would recommend playing here, just stick to the red tees because some of the white shots are just plain unfair at times.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Definetely a Challenge

1    0/0/0000   4/18/2012
Review By: aussieinva
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
1) Challenging course. Most of the holes are in the woods and there are plenty of trees to punish you if you don't make a good shot.
2) Mostly shaded - Allows you to play throughout the summer without burning up or getting too hot.
3) Elevation Change - This is a good amount of elevation change considering how flat the area around it is. There is a good number of holes where the elevation makes the game a little more challenging.
4) Water holes - There are two holes where you can tee off over the water/marsh which adds to the excitement and challenge.
Cons: 1) Lack of signage - Many of the holes have signs but there are a few that are missing.
2) Finding tees - The tees are mostly wooden blocks and generally aren't too hard to find but there were a few holes where it was difficult to determine which tee was which.
3) Baskets hard to find - Being in a wooded area the baskets were sometimes hard to spot from the tee. A bright flag or bright colored baskets would help. Finding the basket for hole 11 was tough. I ended up heading to what I thought was 11 but was acutally 14. However this may just be a first timer's mistake.
4) Navigation - Most of the holes were fairly easy to find but there were a few exceptions.
5) Pedestrians - Some of the fairways double as a walking path in the park so there is a chance that someone may walk into the fairway.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course very much. It is definetely a challenge, particularly for a beginner but if you can succeed here you will do well elsewhere. It has a good mix of open holes and wooded areas. Hole 10 is all out in the open so if you want to test your driver this is the hole for you. If you are bringing first timers out it might be better to start on the back 9. The cons I have listed are just small things to be aware of. You may get turned around a little on your first trip around the course but it is enjoyable and well worth the trip.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/26/2012   2/28/2012
Review By: Prandyseth
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Laid out nicely with no overlapping holes and the tee pads were seperated at reasonable distances. Grooming was average.
Cons: The blue pads which my group plays from are sometimes hard to find and on hole 11 it is nonexistent. hole one crosses over a walkway and many of the holes could use some heavy duty grooming i.e. hole 17 form the blue pad.
Other Thoughts: Overall an average course but not too impressive with a little work it could be a nice course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Most challenging course in the area

1    2/7/2012   2/7/2012
Review By: bryan
Played: 57  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tight but doable fairways. Some of the holes look like they were designed by Ewoks. I know that is a strange comment but this place is really unique. I played in Feb, and it was easy to find my disc and no bugs. More fun than Bayville for the advanced player. Nice change of terrain and use of it. Throws across water which up the stakes! 18 holes
Cons: Tough to navigate for the 1st time, but after that it's a breeze. Rooty tees for several of the holes. #10 is like practicing your drive in a soccer field.
Other Thoughts: I aced hole #1 on my 1st day here, so that auspicious start may have made me overly biased towards enjoying the course, but it really is a strange gem of a course. Definitely worth a round if you're in the area and don't want to get hit by a disc at Bayville.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/4/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: gener571
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: nice circular layout, plenty of trashcans, picnic shelters, good parking
Cons: poorly marked, tee for #4 hole missing. not enough restroom facilities, BUGS (especially ticks) , bad transition from hole 10-11

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Bennett's Trees........Not enough Creek!

2-4    8/7/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 32  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/23/2013
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 holes. Good sturdy baskets. Beautiful park. Great amenities for a day trip. Playground for kids, tennis courts, and porta-pottys. Multiple sets of tees. Challenging holes throughout. Great views on many holes.
Cons: Fairways not defined on a majority of holes. Tiny blocks of wood mark the tees. Horrible and hard to find them all. No real tee boxes. All dirt between blocks of wood. Not very FTF (First Time Friendly). No maps or scorecards, Without either it's very hard to follow the flow, especially from 4 to 5 and 9 to 10.
Other Thoughts: The course is fun despite the Cons listed, But the Cons are true. Many holes have nearly NO fairway and you must force navigate or throw for luck through the multiple trees on a wing and a prayer. Even so, the holes do give you a different type of look on every hole. Hole 10 is nothing more than a long bomb across an open field, maybe most boring hole in all of VA, seemed out of place. As if placed to simply make "Grip and Rip it" players happy.

Favorite Hole: 7, Trees are blocking the path to basket, but not impossibly. Great hole with multiple possible paths to throw and make it all the way through.

Notes: Great Bench overlooking creek for a nice view and break between 7 and 8.

I know I will get some thumbs down from local lovers of the Creek, but the truth is the truth. Again a fun, if challenging course , that would be rated a bit higher if there were maps/scorecards available to help with navigation, more defined fairways, and a better flow from hole to hole.

Navigation Notes: To get from 4 to 5 you must cross the boat dock walking across and through the parking lot. From 9 to 10, walk straight across the street and into the huge open field you past on left as you are driving into park. The Tee is near a cone a third of the way toward the basket.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.