Suffolk, VA
Bennett's Creek Share
Uploaded By: Aaron D'Angelo Hole #15
3 / 180ft.   3 / 253ft.   3 / 322ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Red Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Marcia

1    4/5/2013   4/23/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 327  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Three (natural) tee locations per hole. For this review I played from the middle/whites.
Cons:
A bit too tight (random)/short/flat/repetitive.
Other Thoughts:
Other than wide-open, extremely long (~1/7th of the total course length is provided by this one hole) number-10, the course plays in-to, out-from, and within a dense collection of small-/mid-sized tree trees that form a border between the open space of this small, flat park, and the water, mini-inlets, and marshes of Bennett's Creek.

There are a few decent holes here. A couple holes have you throw over a marsh/inlet, more mental than physical challenging for the advancing player, and the short tees are located to minimize the chance the newer player will find much trouble. Holes 12-15, in the far corner, use what little elevation change is available, and have some of the larger trees to avoid..

From the tee, you'll need a blend of straight and turns, including some fishhooks! You'll also need, at times, a bit (lot) of luck, as some throwing lanes/windows are quite tight - bordering on random, sometimes crossing the border! Alternate lanes typically don't exist, the dense collection of trees can prevent easy recovery, and some "unfairly" (challenging?) located trees can re-direct many a fine looking-shot.

Favourite hole: #13, as it offers both the marsh and elevation change, in addition to the ever-present (larger) trees, to overcome, with #7 being an honourable mention, as it is similar to #13, and also provides a bench, just past the basket, from where there are some nice views.

While I enjoyed my round here, and would play again, given sufficient time, you do have to have an inclination for random/tight to play here frequently.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/4/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: gener571
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: nice circular layout, plenty of trashcans, picnic shelters, good parking
Cons: poorly marked, tee for #4 hole missing. not enough restroom facilities, BUGS (especially ticks) , bad transition from hole 10-11

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Too many negatives

1    7/16/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: All23Ways
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.8 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Decent mix of holes

Free
Cons: Good luck figuring out where the basket is, or the next tee box.

Throw an errant shot and your disc is lost forever.

No tee pads, just dirt and roots for you to trip over.
Other Thoughts: Considering its free, I shouldnt say that its awful. For lack of other options in the general vicinity, it will suffice. There is a decent mix of holes, though most are wooded (some heavily). My drive on #2 wound lost in a thorn patch. If you are brave enough to look for it, you can have it. We spent nearly as much time looking for the baskets or the direction to the next tee box as we did actually playing DG.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Love it and Hate it

5+    12/8/2010   3/7/2011
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 71  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.7 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is huge change of pace from the others in the area.

Thick wooded holes - Extremely challenging tight holes that will no doubt force you to work on your "get out of troutble" shots. In some cases it can be ridiculously thick, bordering a luck course but overall it is fun in a painful way.

There are multiple tees on each hole to make things even more interesting. Most notably 7 and 13 over the water holes.
Cons: There are no real fairways on most ot the holes. That makes it unique but a bit much.

Pleanty of opportunities to lose a disc. The brush can get very thick and if you end up in the murky waters of the marsh you can kiss that disc good bye.

Navigation can be awful for a first timer, you can plan on a lot of wasted time finding your way around on your first time.

Bugs, bugs, bugs = bring the spray.
Other Thoughts: Overall it is an enjoyable course that has a lot of potential but as is the cons outweigh the pros.

I enjoy this course because it is a total change of pace and it enjoyable in a glutton for punishment kind of way. However this is not a place to bring friends to introduce to disc golf and can be very frustrating for all levels of players.

It is a fun place to play on the occasional visit however it would drive me crazy if this was my home course.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not a huge fan

5+    6/8/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: justinTHEcoastie
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Multiple tees, free.
Cons: Heavily wooded to the point of being ridiculous, very easy to lose discs, some slopes are difficult to even walk.
Other Thoughts: If it's the only one you can get to, then fine, but if you have a choice, go 30 minutes north to Newport News or 30 minutes south to Bayville.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 It fell flat.

1    9/2/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 54  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 6.8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is in a nice park with several amenities. There are children's playgrounds, hiking trails, bathrooms, a boat ramp and pier, tennis courts, and picnic areas. It has been developed to be a family park and that is what it is.

The course has good potential. It travels clockwise around the the edge of the park and thus stays away from most of the heavily used areas. It is a very technical course with only 1 basket truly not in the woods at least a little.

The signage that is there is accurate.

It has water/swamp as a direct hazard on 7 and 13 and on the edge of the fairways or behind the basket on several others.

The baskets are real nice and catch well.

The shule is getting wore down as the course is maturing and it was not real hard to find a disc.

There were trashcans throughout the course.
Cons: The downside is strong buy correctable.

The teepads are awful. They are dirt and the roots are a twisted ankle looking to happen. They do not allow for any run up on the majority of the tees. The 4x4 posts that mark the front of the tee are very hard to find or could not be found on any that had grass in the area. They are low so the mower can go over them but no one has used a weed eater to keep them clean.

The signs are only on the white tees and are missing on 5 and 16. On 4 and 10 they were laying on the ground.

On 7 there is no kind of fairway. It does not matter which tee you use. But the red is the worst. Nothing but trees. A fairway should have at least something to give a person a chance there is none here. Twelve was only a little different. The first half was fine but the second half was just like 7.

No benches to rest on except white 13.

Hiking trails are everywhere and are the fairways on many of the baskets. These trails are well used so be very careful.

Finding the next teepad was a chore on several but especially 10. I had read the other reviews before I played and knew it was a wide open throw. So it could only be in one area. I finally realized it was the post with the traffic marker on top of it, but the tee markers are no where to be found.

There is no map. It would have helped a lot. Next time I go I may do one if it is not done already.
Other Thoughts: When you play here the atmosphere is "There just happens to be a course in the park". That is how I felt. It is as if its an after thought. From what I can find out the park people will not let them make some changes that would greatly improve this course.

Better and more signs. Especially signs to direct to the next tee.

Better teepads. I understand concrete is not allowed. But if they can do what they did at the Grange with crush-and-run and railroad ties it would help a lot.

A few benches would be nice.

CLEAR some of the fairways! Give a player a fighting chance. The best in the world would have no chance on a couple. If it were to get through it would be blind luck.

This course at its best would be no more than a 3.5. But it could be done.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.