Suffolk, VA 
Bennett's Creek Share
Uploaded By: Aaron D'Angelo Hole #16
3 / 279ft.   4 / 313ft.   4 / 324ft.   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Red Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Prepare to Humour Yourself

5+    5/25/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: dmccune7
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice variety of shots, clean course, most of the locals are very friendly, the layout is great although it can be sort of challenging to navigate your first few times. The white tees on holes #7 and #13 go across a marsh and are awesome shots. The blue tee on #13 stands out, although a little hard to find it is one of my favorite shots on the course.
Cons: Lack of signs on a number of holes, the brush can be pretty thick during the summer months so be careful, the thorns are monstrous. The skatepark can be pretty annoying at times, especially in the summer or after school. A few holes have no fairway, just a bunch of trees, which earned it the nickname in my group of friends "Bennett's Trees."
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and the first one I ever played on so it will always hold a sentimental value to me, if it's your first time I would recommend playing here, just stick to the red tees because some of the white shots are just plain unfair at times.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Definetely a Challenge

1    0/0/0000   4/18/2012
Review By: aussieinva
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
1) Challenging course. Most of the holes are in the woods and there are plenty of trees to punish you if you don't make a good shot.
2) Mostly shaded - Allows you to play throughout the summer without burning up or getting too hot.
3) Elevation Change - This is a good amount of elevation change considering how flat the area around it is. There is a good number of holes where the elevation makes the game a little more challenging.
4) Water holes - There are two holes where you can tee off over the water/marsh which adds to the excitement and challenge.
Cons: 1) Lack of signage - Many of the holes have signs but there are a few that are missing.
2) Finding tees - The tees are mostly wooden blocks and generally aren't too hard to find but there were a few holes where it was difficult to determine which tee was which.
3) Baskets hard to find - Being in a wooded area the baskets were sometimes hard to spot from the tee. A bright flag or bright colored baskets would help. Finding the basket for hole 11 was tough. I ended up heading to what I thought was 11 but was acutally 14. However this may just be a first timer's mistake.
4) Navigation - Most of the holes were fairly easy to find but there were a few exceptions.
5) Pedestrians - Some of the fairways double as a walking path in the park so there is a chance that someone may walk into the fairway.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course very much. It is definetely a challenge, particularly for a beginner but if you can succeed here you will do well elsewhere. It has a good mix of open holes and wooded areas. Hole 10 is all out in the open so if you want to test your driver this is the hole for you. If you are bringing first timers out it might be better to start on the back 9. The cons I have listed are just small things to be aware of. You may get turned around a little on your first trip around the course but it is enjoyable and well worth the trip.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Bennett's Trees........Not enough Creek!

2-4    8/7/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 32  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/23/2013
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 holes. Good sturdy baskets. Beautiful park. Great amenities for a day trip. Playground for kids, tennis courts, and porta-pottys. Multiple sets of tees. Challenging holes throughout. Great views on many holes.
Cons: Fairways not defined on a majority of holes. Tiny blocks of wood mark the tees. Horrible and hard to find them all. No real tee boxes. All dirt between blocks of wood. Not very FTF (First Time Friendly). No maps or scorecards, Without either it's very hard to follow the flow, especially from 4 to 5 and 9 to 10.
Other Thoughts: The course is fun despite the Cons listed, But the Cons are true. Many holes have nearly NO fairway and you must force navigate or throw for luck through the multiple trees on a wing and a prayer. Even so, the holes do give you a different type of look on every hole. Hole 10 is nothing more than a long bomb across an open field, maybe most boring hole in all of VA, seemed out of place. As if placed to simply make "Grip and Rip it" players happy.

Favorite Hole: 7, Trees are blocking the path to basket, but not impossibly. Great hole with multiple possible paths to throw and make it all the way through.

Notes: Great Bench overlooking creek for a nice view and break between 7 and 8.

I know I will get some thumbs down from local lovers of the Creek, but the truth is the truth. Again a fun, if challenging course , that would be rated a bit higher if there were maps/scorecards available to help with navigation, more defined fairways, and a better flow from hole to hole.

Navigation Notes: To get from 4 to 5 you must cross the boat dock walking across and through the parking lot. From 9 to 10, walk straight across the street and into the huge open field you past on left as you are driving into park. The Tee is near a cone a third of the way toward the basket.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

2-4    10/9/2010   10/9/2010
Review By: vb5star
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There are multiple tee positions. Baskets are new and in great shape. Great course to hone your accuracy. Loved the elevation changes, it can make an easy birdie turn into a bogey. The white tees have two shots that go over water. Definitely will be back
Cons: Dirt tee pads are covered in roots. Watch your step when teeing off. Difficult to navigate your first time. Watch out for people hiking the park trail!
Other Thoughts: Someone organize a tournament!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/19/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: Gran Pa Fibbz
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/29/2010
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wooded course that plays around the City Park. It makes good use of the natural terrain. For those who are looking for a hole where you can crush a disc hole 10 is just for you. Eleven is not as long but still a good long Par three, If you like a challange try the blue T on Hole 14.
Cons: The hiking trail runs right through the course. Hikers pop up at the most inconvient times. It is better not to fhrow if you here a bunch of kids coming You never have a good lie after they get through with your disc. The T Pads are are marked with 4X4 posts planted in the ground. they can be a little difficult to find. As a matter of fact I am still not exactly sure where the blue T is on hole eleven. The natural pads are eroded and uneven with roots sticking up. And if the grass hasn't been cut it is hard to get a good runup on hole 10. The signage could be better a few direcftion arrow wouldn't hurt.
Other Thoughts: Don't let my list of cons keep you from coming out and playing here. Bennett's creek is a fun an challenging course.

Favorite hole. Hole 16 from the white or blue T's

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    2/7/2009   2/7/2009
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 32  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice setting. Beautiful walk in the woods. A lot of fun. Certainly worth the time. Loved the course. You don't need a super arm to play the course, but it requires accuracy. Because you have Red, White and Blue tees, the course can play very differently. You can play the reds for fun, the whites for a challenge and the blues for your pro challenge. Very nice. I love the variety. I wish my home course had these options.
Cons: Natural dirt teepads make any run-up difficult, the roots are showing and the tees are worn. Could use some attention. The directions to the next tee are not good. The first time I played through the course, I missed several holes because I couldn't find the tees. A friendly local helped me out.
Other Thoughts: It seems that there are some holes that are just set in the woods, without real fairways. It borders a tidal creek, so the view is great. Could use the elevation better. A little short and a lot of fun. I look forward to returning.
Update 04/09: The course is improving due to some clean-up work. Some small trees that obscured the line of flight on some holes have been cleared. It played much better.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.