Suffolk, VA 
Bennett's Creek Share
Uploaded By: Aaron D'Angelo Hole #15
3 / 180ft.   3 / 253ft.   3 / 322ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Red Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Home course

5+    1/20/2014   1/21/2014
Review By: jimmyjank
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New gravel tee pads put in over the weekend, some course management by cutting down a few oddly placed trees, short drive from my house.
Cons: Trees, trees, and well trees!! All but 2 holes 9/10 play either into, out of, or through the woods.
Other Thoughts: Rating this a little higher than i previously would have. Showed up monday and BAM new gravel tee pads, played a few holes and noticed that they had cut down some trees that were right in the way of tee shots, and i also noticed when i was playing that they had layed some foundations to move baskets around in the near future, all of this was a much welcomed sight especially since the last time i played was only a week before.

EDIT: all baskets have now been moved to the new alt. position.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Most challenging course in the area

1    2/7/2012   2/7/2012
Review By: bryan
Played: 57  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tight but doable fairways. Some of the holes look like they were designed by Ewoks. I know that is a strange comment but this place is really unique. I played in Feb, and it was easy to find my disc and no bugs. More fun than Bayville for the advanced player. Nice change of terrain and use of it. Throws across water which up the stakes! 18 holes
Cons: Tough to navigate for the 1st time, but after that it's a breeze. Rooty tees for several of the holes. #10 is like practicing your drive in a soccer field.
Other Thoughts: I aced hole #1 on my 1st day here, so that auspicious start may have made me overly biased towards enjoying the course, but it really is a strange gem of a course. Definitely worth a round if you're in the area and don't want to get hit by a disc at Bayville.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 new favorite

5+    10/30/2010   10/30/2010
Review By: Herd1978
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Scenery....love the views, animals, and salt smell. Holes 7 and 13 add a welcomed challenge to your game. You can play the Red tees and make it very easy to cross the marsh, or move to the Whites for these two holes for more of a challenge. Lots of extras, I take my 3 year old daughter every time and she goes to the playground after each 9 holes. Lots of trash cans and facilities available. Challenging par 3's, make up your strokes on #'s10 & 11.
Cons: Some holes have trees to the point where you just have to get lucky to make it through, but they are doable.
Other Thoughts: It's free, easily followable with exception of going from 4 to 5. Go across the boat dock and you'll find 5. Beautiful course. I have added it to my rotation of New Quarter and Newport News. I would say its more fun than either of the other two, and at no charge. Play the back 9 first, so you can warm your arm up on 10 with 2-3 drives to get to the basket.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Certainly . . . taxing

2-4    7/9/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: notyourfrog
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Bennett's Creek will hone your technique . . . or claim your disc. I love this course for the variety of throws needed to get a half-way decent score. The baskets are varied distances from the pins, and with all the trees, water, and other hazards, if you throw every time with the same power, and technique, you will NOT do well. This course stretches anyone's repertoire, and leave you tired, but wanting just one more round.
Cons: Trees. Everywhere. In some cases, there will be a tree directly in front of the tee box no more than ten feet away. If your shot is even slightly off, you will most likely end up rooting through the spider webs and (lots of) poison ivy trying to find your favorite disc. (NOTE: don't throw a dark green disk here - even in winter.)
Other Thoughts: In my opinion, this is a great course. It could use some tweaking, but I believe the pros vastly outweigh the cons.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.