Suffolk, VA 
Bennett's Creek Share
Uploaded By: aussieinva Hole #12 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 230ft.   3 / 255ft.   3 / 309ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Approach



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Most challenging course in the area

1    2/7/2012   2/7/2012
Review By: bryan
Played: 57  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tight but doable fairways. Some of the holes look like they were designed by Ewoks. I know that is a strange comment but this place is really unique. I played in Feb, and it was easy to find my disc and no bugs. More fun than Bayville for the advanced player. Nice change of terrain and use of it. Throws across water which up the stakes! 18 holes
Cons: Tough to navigate for the 1st time, but after that it's a breeze. Rooty tees for several of the holes. #10 is like practicing your drive in a soccer field.
Other Thoughts: I aced hole #1 on my 1st day here, so that auspicious start may have made me overly biased towards enjoying the course, but it really is a strange gem of a course. Definitely worth a round if you're in the area and don't want to get hit by a disc at Bayville.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/4/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: gener571
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: nice circular layout, plenty of trashcans, picnic shelters, good parking
Cons: poorly marked, tee for #4 hole missing. not enough restroom facilities, BUGS (especially ticks) , bad transition from hole 10-11

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bennett's Trees........Not enough Creek!

2-4    8/7/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/23/2013
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 holes. Good sturdy baskets. Beautiful park. Great amenities for a day trip. Playground for kids, tennis courts, and porta-pottys. Multiple sets of tees. Challenging holes throughout. Great views on many holes.
Cons: Fairways not defined on a majority of holes. Tiny blocks of wood mark the tees. Horrible and hard to find them all. No real tee boxes. All dirt between blocks of wood. Not very FTF (First Time Friendly). No maps or scorecards, Without either it's very hard to follow the flow, especially from 4 to 5 and 9 to 10.
Other Thoughts: The course is fun despite the Cons listed, But the Cons are true. Many holes have nearly NO fairway and you must force navigate or throw for luck through the multiple trees on a wing and a prayer. Even so, the holes do give you a different type of look on every hole. Hole 10 is nothing more than a long bomb across an open field, maybe most boring hole in all of VA, seemed out of place. As if placed to simply make "Grip and Rip it" players happy.

Favorite Hole: 7, Trees are blocking the path to basket, but not impossibly. Great hole with multiple possible paths to throw and make it all the way through.

Notes: Great Bench overlooking creek for a nice view and break between 7 and 8.

I know I will get some thumbs down from local lovers of the Creek, but the truth is the truth. Again a fun, if challenging course , that would be rated a bit higher if there were maps/scorecards available to help with navigation, more defined fairways, and a better flow from hole to hole.

Navigation Notes: To get from 4 to 5 you must cross the boat dock walking across and through the parking lot. From 9 to 10, walk straight across the street and into the huge open field you past on left as you are driving into park. The Tee is near a cone a third of the way toward the basket.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Too many negatives

1    7/16/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: All23Ways
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.9 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Decent mix of holes

Free
Cons: Good luck figuring out where the basket is, or the next tee box.

Throw an errant shot and your disc is lost forever.

No tee pads, just dirt and roots for you to trip over.
Other Thoughts: Considering its free, I shouldnt say that its awful. For lack of other options in the general vicinity, it will suffice. There is a decent mix of holes, though most are wooded (some heavily). My drive on #2 wound lost in a thorn patch. If you are brave enough to look for it, you can have it. We spent nearly as much time looking for the baskets or the direction to the next tee box as we did actually playing DG.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Love it and Hate it

5+    12/8/2010   3/7/2011
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 74  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.8 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is huge change of pace from the others in the area.

Thick wooded holes - Extremely challenging tight holes that will no doubt force you to work on your "get out of troutble" shots. In some cases it can be ridiculously thick, bordering a luck course but overall it is fun in a painful way.

There are multiple tees on each hole to make things even more interesting. Most notably 7 and 13 over the water holes.
Cons: There are no real fairways on most ot the holes. That makes it unique but a bit much.

Pleanty of opportunities to lose a disc. The brush can get very thick and if you end up in the murky waters of the marsh you can kiss that disc good bye.

Navigation can be awful for a first timer, you can plan on a lot of wasted time finding your way around on your first time.

Bugs, bugs, bugs = bring the spray.
Other Thoughts: Overall it is an enjoyable course that has a lot of potential but as is the cons outweigh the pros.

I enjoy this course because it is a total change of pace and it enjoyable in a glutton for punishment kind of way. However this is not a place to bring friends to introduce to disc golf and can be very frustrating for all levels of players.

It is a fun place to play on the occasional visit however it would drive me crazy if this was my home course.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 new favorite

5+    10/30/2010   10/30/2010
Review By: Herd1978
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Scenery....love the views, animals, and salt smell. Holes 7 and 13 add a welcomed challenge to your game. You can play the Red tees and make it very easy to cross the marsh, or move to the Whites for these two holes for more of a challenge. Lots of extras, I take my 3 year old daughter every time and she goes to the playground after each 9 holes. Lots of trash cans and facilities available. Challenging par 3's, make up your strokes on #'s10 & 11.
Cons: Some holes have trees to the point where you just have to get lucky to make it through, but they are doable.
Other Thoughts: It's free, easily followable with exception of going from 4 to 5. Go across the boat dock and you'll find 5. Beautiful course. I have added it to my rotation of New Quarter and Newport News. I would say its more fun than either of the other two, and at no charge. Play the back 9 first, so you can warm your arm up on 10 with 2-3 drives to get to the basket.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

2-4    10/9/2010   10/9/2010
Review By: vb5star
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There are multiple tee positions. Baskets are new and in great shape. Great course to hone your accuracy. Loved the elevation changes, it can make an easy birdie turn into a bogey. The white tees have two shots that go over water. Definitely will be back
Cons: Dirt tee pads are covered in roots. Watch your step when teeing off. Difficult to navigate your first time. Watch out for people hiking the park trail!
Other Thoughts: Someone organize a tournament!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not a huge fan

5+    6/8/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: justinTHEcoastie
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Multiple tees, free.
Cons: Heavily wooded to the point of being ridiculous, very easy to lose discs, some slopes are difficult to even walk.
Other Thoughts: If it's the only one you can get to, then fine, but if you have a choice, go 30 minutes north to Newport News or 30 minutes south to Bayville.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Needs a lot of work

1    5/15/2010   5/15/2010
Review By: halasjackson
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pros include:

Targets are sturdy and in good condition.

Some pretty views over the marsh / waterway.

For the holes that do have signs, they (the signs) are helpful and well-designed.

Ample parking day or night, people spouting, "Howdy, neighbor!"
Cons: Unfortunately, many more Cons:

Bugs. Lots of them. Suffolk is bug central, so bring Off.

Poor layout. You can't take a park and drop a bunch of baskets higgledy-piggledy and call it a DG course.

Trees. I don't mind trees when utilized well for challenge and design, but having a tree 3 feet dead center in front of a tee box is not good design. If you're going to have forest holes, fine, but every hole -- forest or otherwise -- should have at least *some* semblance of a fairway, otherwise you're just dropping a basket in the woods and calling it a DG course. No.

Navigation is not intuitive. No map available (at least I haven't found one), and first-timers can count on an additional 30-45 minutes of tee hunting.

This place is a park first and a DG course a distant second. Several holes play in / around pavilions, structures, jungle gyms, etc. Not conducive.

Death brush. The OB sections of this course are no-man's-land: marsh, thick woods, bug-infested jungle, swampy nastiness... Unless you're immune to snake bites, you can kiss errantly thrown discs good-bye if they find their way past the marshy event horizon.

The marsh smells like a port-a-potty. Urine. You will be smelling pee while you play. Game on.
Other Thoughts: The course needs a lot of work to be a good course. I give it 1.5 because the anchor says a 1.5 is "passable." This course is "passable" as a DG course, but barely. Dozens of trees needs to be cut to make real fairways in 90% of the holes.

With some rigorous re-engineering, this location could host a nice course, but for now, you are much better off heading to Bayville or Newport News -- or better yet, New Quarter in Williamsburg.

Impossible after a rain. Do Not Attempt.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/12/2009   1/12/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 107  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging and somewhat fun course. The course / park is very clean. Beautiful scenery as you walk in and out of the woods. Locals are friendly. You will have tee options to increase or decrease the difficulty level. I played different color tees because there were some shots I just couldn't resist!
Cons: Be ready to get frustrated when your disc hits a tree. It's a little too tight to be successful very often. Hard to follow the course or find the basket to throw to without a guide.
Other Thoughts: Luckily we had a local join us and guide us through and point out where the baskets were. Saved us a bunch of time and frustration. He also pointed out a copperhead on the path that I was going to step on (thanks man!)

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.