Suffolk, VA 
Bennett's Creek Share
Uploaded By: Aaron D'Angelo Hole #14
3 / 193ft.   3 / 249ft.   3 / 293ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Red Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Too many negatives

1    7/16/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: All23Ways
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.2 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Decent mix of holes

Free
Cons: Good luck figuring out where the basket is, or the next tee box.

Throw an errant shot and your disc is lost forever.

No tee pads, just dirt and roots for you to trip over.
Other Thoughts: Considering its free, I shouldnt say that its awful. For lack of other options in the general vicinity, it will suffice. There is a decent mix of holes, though most are wooded (some heavily). My drive on #2 wound lost in a thorn patch. If you are brave enough to look for it, you can have it. We spent nearly as much time looking for the baskets or the direction to the next tee box as we did actually playing DG.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Love it and Hate it

5+    12/8/2010   3/7/2011
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is huge change of pace from the others in the area.

Thick wooded holes - Extremely challenging tight holes that will no doubt force you to work on your "get out of troutble" shots. In some cases it can be ridiculously thick, bordering a luck course but overall it is fun in a painful way.

There are multiple tees on each hole to make things even more interesting. Most notably 7 and 13 over the water holes.
Cons: There are no real fairways on most ot the holes. That makes it unique but a bit much.

Pleanty of opportunities to lose a disc. The brush can get very thick and if you end up in the murky waters of the marsh you can kiss that disc good bye.

Navigation can be awful for a first timer, you can plan on a lot of wasted time finding your way around on your first time.

Bugs, bugs, bugs = bring the spray.
Other Thoughts: Overall it is an enjoyable course that has a lot of potential but as is the cons outweigh the pros.

I enjoy this course because it is a total change of pace and it enjoyable in a glutton for punishment kind of way. However this is not a place to bring friends to introduce to disc golf and can be very frustrating for all levels of players.

It is a fun place to play on the occasional visit however it would drive me crazy if this was my home course.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 new favorite

5+    10/30/2010   10/30/2010
Review By: Herd1978
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.8 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Scenery....love the views, animals, and salt smell. Holes 7 and 13 add a welcomed challenge to your game. You can play the Red tees and make it very easy to cross the marsh, or move to the Whites for these two holes for more of a challenge. Lots of extras, I take my 3 year old daughter every time and she goes to the playground after each 9 holes. Lots of trash cans and facilities available. Challenging par 3's, make up your strokes on #'s10 & 11.
Cons: Some holes have trees to the point where you just have to get lucky to make it through, but they are doable.
Other Thoughts: It's free, easily followable with exception of going from 4 to 5. Go across the boat dock and you'll find 5. Beautiful course. I have added it to my rotation of New Quarter and Newport News. I would say its more fun than either of the other two, and at no charge. Play the back 9 first, so you can warm your arm up on 10 with 2-3 drives to get to the basket.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

2-4    10/9/2010   10/9/2010
Review By: vb5star
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There are multiple tee positions. Baskets are new and in great shape. Great course to hone your accuracy. Loved the elevation changes, it can make an easy birdie turn into a bogey. The white tees have two shots that go over water. Definitely will be back
Cons: Dirt tee pads are covered in roots. Watch your step when teeing off. Difficult to navigate your first time. Watch out for people hiking the park trail!
Other Thoughts: Someone organize a tournament!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not a huge fan

5+    6/8/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: justinTHEcoastie
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Multiple tees, free.
Cons: Heavily wooded to the point of being ridiculous, very easy to lose discs, some slopes are difficult to even walk.
Other Thoughts: If it's the only one you can get to, then fine, but if you have a choice, go 30 minutes north to Newport News or 30 minutes south to Bayville.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Needs a lot of work

1    5/15/2010   5/15/2010
Review By: halasjackson
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pros include:

Targets are sturdy and in good condition.

Some pretty views over the marsh / waterway.

For the holes that do have signs, they (the signs) are helpful and well-designed.

Ample parking day or night, people spouting, "Howdy, neighbor!"
Cons: Unfortunately, many more Cons:

Bugs. Lots of them. Suffolk is bug central, so bring Off.

Poor layout. You can't take a park and drop a bunch of baskets higgledy-piggledy and call it a DG course.

Trees. I don't mind trees when utilized well for challenge and design, but having a tree 3 feet dead center in front of a tee box is not good design. If you're going to have forest holes, fine, but every hole -- forest or otherwise -- should have at least *some* semblance of a fairway, otherwise you're just dropping a basket in the woods and calling it a DG course. No.

Navigation is not intuitive. No map available (at least I haven't found one), and first-timers can count on an additional 30-45 minutes of tee hunting.

This place is a park first and a DG course a distant second. Several holes play in / around pavilions, structures, jungle gyms, etc. Not conducive.

Death brush. The OB sections of this course are no-man's-land: marsh, thick woods, bug-infested jungle, swampy nastiness... Unless you're immune to snake bites, you can kiss errantly thrown discs good-bye if they find their way past the marshy event horizon.

The marsh smells like a port-a-potty. Urine. You will be smelling pee while you play. Game on.
Other Thoughts: The course needs a lot of work to be a good course. I give it 1.5 because the anchor says a 1.5 is "passable." This course is "passable" as a DG course, but barely. Dozens of trees needs to be cut to make real fairways in 90% of the holes.

With some rigorous re-engineering, this location could host a nice course, but for now, you are much better off heading to Bayville or Newport News -- or better yet, New Quarter in Williamsburg.

Impossible after a rain. Do Not Attempt.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/12/2009   1/12/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging and somewhat fun course. The course / park is very clean. Beautiful scenery as you walk in and out of the woods. Locals are friendly. You will have tee options to increase or decrease the difficulty level. I played different color tees because there were some shots I just couldn't resist!
Cons: Be ready to get frustrated when your disc hits a tree. It's a little too tight to be successful very often. Hard to follow the course or find the basket to throw to without a guide.
Other Thoughts: Luckily we had a local join us and guide us through and point out where the baskets were. Saved us a bunch of time and frustration. He also pointed out a copperhead on the path that I was going to step on (thanks man!)

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 It fell flat.

1    9/2/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 54  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is in a nice park with several amenities. There are children's playgrounds, hiking trails, bathrooms, a boat ramp and pier, tennis courts, and picnic areas. It has been developed to be a family park and that is what it is.

The course has good potential. It travels clockwise around the the edge of the park and thus stays away from most of the heavily used areas. It is a very technical course with only 1 basket truly not in the woods at least a little.

The signage that is there is accurate.

It has water/swamp as a direct hazard on 7 and 13 and on the edge of the fairways or behind the basket on several others.

The baskets are real nice and catch well.

The shule is getting wore down as the course is maturing and it was not real hard to find a disc.

There were trashcans throughout the course.
Cons: The downside is strong buy correctable.

The teepads are awful. They are dirt and the roots are a twisted ankle looking to happen. They do not allow for any run up on the majority of the tees. The 4x4 posts that mark the front of the tee are very hard to find or could not be found on any that had grass in the area. They are low so the mower can go over them but no one has used a weed eater to keep them clean.

The signs are only on the white tees and are missing on 5 and 16. On 4 and 10 they were laying on the ground.

On 7 there is no kind of fairway. It does not matter which tee you use. But the red is the worst. Nothing but trees. A fairway should have at least something to give a person a chance there is none here. Twelve was only a little different. The first half was fine but the second half was just like 7.

No benches to rest on except white 13.

Hiking trails are everywhere and are the fairways on many of the baskets. These trails are well used so be very careful.

Finding the next teepad was a chore on several but especially 10. I had read the other reviews before I played and knew it was a wide open throw. So it could only be in one area. I finally realized it was the post with the traffic marker on top of it, but the tee markers are no where to be found.

There is no map. It would have helped a lot. Next time I go I may do one if it is not done already.
Other Thoughts: When you play here the atmosphere is "There just happens to be a course in the park". That is how I felt. It is as if its an after thought. From what I can find out the park people will not let them make some changes that would greatly improve this course.

Better and more signs. Especially signs to direct to the next tee.

Better teepads. I understand concrete is not allowed. But if they can do what they did at the Grange with crush-and-run and railroad ties it would help a lot.

A few benches would be nice.

CLEAR some of the fairways! Give a player a fighting chance. The best in the world would have no chance on a couple. If it were to get through it would be blind luck.

This course at its best would be no more than a 3.5. But it could be done.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/19/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: Gran Pa Fibbz
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/29/2010
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wooded course that plays around the City Park. It makes good use of the natural terrain. For those who are looking for a hole where you can crush a disc hole 10 is just for you. Eleven is not as long but still a good long Par three, If you like a challange try the blue T on Hole 14.
Cons: The hiking trail runs right through the course. Hikers pop up at the most inconvient times. It is better not to fhrow if you here a bunch of kids coming You never have a good lie after they get through with your disc. The T Pads are are marked with 4X4 posts planted in the ground. they can be a little difficult to find. As a matter of fact I am still not exactly sure where the blue T is on hole eleven. The natural pads are eroded and uneven with roots sticking up. And if the grass hasn't been cut it is hard to get a good runup on hole 10. The signage could be better a few direcftion arrow wouldn't hurt.
Other Thoughts: Don't let my list of cons keep you from coming out and playing here. Bennett's creek is a fun an challenging course.

Favorite hole. Hole 16 from the white or blue T's

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Certainly . . . taxing

2-4    7/9/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: notyourfrog
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Bennett's Creek will hone your technique . . . or claim your disc. I love this course for the variety of throws needed to get a half-way decent score. The baskets are varied distances from the pins, and with all the trees, water, and other hazards, if you throw every time with the same power, and technique, you will NOT do well. This course stretches anyone's repertoire, and leave you tired, but wanting just one more round.
Cons: Trees. Everywhere. In some cases, there will be a tree directly in front of the tee box no more than ten feet away. If your shot is even slightly off, you will most likely end up rooting through the spider webs and (lots of) poison ivy trying to find your favorite disc. (NOTE: don't throw a dark green disk here - even in winter.)
Other Thoughts: In my opinion, this is a great course. It could use some tweaking, but I believe the pros vastly outweigh the cons.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.