Tucson, AZ 
Groves Park Share
Uploaded By: jbrock Hole #8 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nothing to call home about...

2-4    4/30/2014   5/15/2014
Review By: Outdoor Craziness
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The location: it's disc golf in the ghetto. The course isn't much, but the organizers are doing their best with what they've been given. It's a pretty sketchy area, but this definitely opens the game up to a lot more people. I think that deserves some praise.
Cons: The challenge: the A-tees are all pretty simple par 3s. I'd say this is a great place to introduce someone to the game, but it's also a great place to get robbed. And I've heard about people being held up at gunpoint out here.

The parking: a few of the holes require throws over the parking lot. Beware of errant drives...

The wait: since there are only 9 baskets, it's pretty awkward waiting for groups to finish before you can go.
Other Thoughts: I only play here if I have to.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/5/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: ZDotHalbach
Played: 21  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice baskets
Well manicured park
Some holes may make you think
Concrete tees
Cons: No tee signs
Confusing flow (ended up playing backwards)
No benches
Course can interfere with other park activites
Not much variation of shots
Other Thoughts: Just another 9 hole course is all it really is.
Some minor improvement can make this course a lot better

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Groves Course

1    3/6/2010   3/7/2010
Review By: naturenut
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads and baskets are in good shape. The course is well maintained. Friendly helpful players there, makes navigating a bit easier. Good course to work on short game, most drives can be done with a putter.
Cons: Very short course. It can be difficult to navigate. There is no elevation change in the entire course. There are very few obstacles. Makes for a very easy round. There is not nearly enough room for a full 18 holes. Signs at the tees would be nice to make sure you are in the right spot.
Other Thoughts: Careful not to throw your disc in surrounding areas. If you wish to get a good 18 holes in near Tucson, go over to Marana. Overall, Groves was not a bad course to go to for a quick round. Good beginner course to improve your skills, but not a good representation of a typical course where there is a wide variety of demanding shots with either elevation, obstacles, or both.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Oasis

1    11/15/2008   11/15/2008
Review By: heywillard90
Played: 29  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice park considering that you are in the middle of a desert. Although open, trees create descent obstacles to shoot around. The dg community really has made the best of what they had to work with at this park and I wouldn't change anything.
Cons: THIS PARK IS PROBABLY THE SIZE OF TWO FOOTBALL FIELDS AT MOST. Cactus patches are on the outskirts of the park, if you lose your disc in them be prepared for a world of pain. I got a 5 inch cactus fruit with barbs all over it stuck in my leg. Find a map because the course isn't marked. The A course has some shots too short, and the B course has some tees that I couldnt find so it is probably best to create a course that has a mix of A and B tees.
Other Thoughts: This park is like an oasis in the middle of the sonoran desert. Of course it would never be too big considering the limited water supply, so you are playing in a very small space. But this course is as good as it will ever get so the designers deserve a lot of credit. Grass does make the experience a bit more enjoyable.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.