Tucson, AZ 
Groves Park Share
Uploaded By: PhoenixSoldier Hole #9 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 270ft.   3 / 440ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Real easy from the A tees; interesting from the Bs

5+    7/20/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: Anger Monsoon
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Grass inside the (small, as other reviewers mention) park. This is a good course for beginners and players wanting to work on their short game without a lot of obstacles or difficulty. The grass makes it cooler, though the sprinklers run in the morning. The A tees are fairly easy to find; and the actually plays interestingly in both directions. You can wear sandals if you want here. There are two water fountains.

The A tees are all short, though there is some interesting OB (prickly pear cactus, mesquite, and lots else if you get outside the perimeter of the park.

The B tees--though hard to find (download course map from the website and play with a regular or expect to look around)--are much more interesting. All the B tees add significant difficulty for better players. Many of them play from outside the perimeter of the park, so you have to clear 200-250' of nastiness to even get on the fairway. Many big hyzer drives from the B tees. And from those tees, you need more shots (forehands, anhyzers, hammers maybe).
Cons: For my money, the A tees are way too easy, and except for a couple, not very interesting. Only one of the holes is a difficult drive. A decent player should be able to shoot -8 on a good day without too much trouble on the A tees. Plenty of aces out there, but they're not aces you're going to feel really good about.

Admittedly the designers did a good job with a very small chunk of land here. And the Bs are much better. But still...
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty good course from the B tees. I'm not a fan of 9-basket courses, but they do a good job with this one, especially from the B tees. Warm up on the As. It's nice to have another course in town that is cooler and grassy, and this is closer to a lot of Tucson than driving out to Marana to play Marana Rock (which is a great course, much more challenging). Still, I play it all the time. Enough OB and weird cacti to keep things interesting.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Watch the rough!

1    12/29/2008   5/26/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 766  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays around a very small flat park, with a couple nice trees and very punitive rough around the edges. Though the park is tiny, the space is used very well, and the 9 baskets really didn't feel too crowded. The layout made for a very nice mix of different types of shots, despite the lack of many obstacles or any elevation.

The course only has 9 baskets, but is designed to play both clockwise and counter-clockwise around the park. This was an ingenious way to make 18 in a way that created a very different set of holes on the back 9, and was much more interesting that many other 9 holers with alternate tees for 18.

The park area where the majority of the tees and baskets was a very nicely maintained and mowed area. The rough was left very much as-is, and made for some great risk-reward decisions (let me tell you, it's no fun throwing your upshot from the middle of a patch of prickly pear cactus).
Cons: The course really needs signs, or at least a map at the beginning of the course. It was not an easy course to navigate. Despite all the tees and baskets being fairly obvious, it was not always easy to determine which tee was next or which basket to shoot at.

A course map would have also made the existence of the long set of tees more obvious. Unfortunately, many of these are more hidden, so if you don't know about them you probably won't stumble upon them.

Though the forward/backward layout was ingenious, it made for some waiting when there were players coming the other direction. This wasn't a major deal, but it certainly could have been much worse if the park was more crowded.
Other Thoughts: This course was a fun little find in an out of the way park. We enjoyed the round, and I would definitely go back if I were in the area. I wouldn't recommend driving way out of your way just to play this course, but if you happen to be in the area it's definitely worth a short stop.

The local club seems to do a lot of nice maintenance work, hopefully that means that they will get around to marking the course and the various sets of tees better. If this were done, I think it would be a really nice little course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Oasis

1    11/15/2008   11/15/2008
Review By: heywillard90
Played: 29  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice park considering that you are in the middle of a desert. Although open, trees create descent obstacles to shoot around. The dg community really has made the best of what they had to work with at this park and I wouldn't change anything.
Cons: THIS PARK IS PROBABLY THE SIZE OF TWO FOOTBALL FIELDS AT MOST. Cactus patches are on the outskirts of the park, if you lose your disc in them be prepared for a world of pain. I got a 5 inch cactus fruit with barbs all over it stuck in my leg. Find a map because the course isn't marked. The A course has some shots too short, and the B course has some tees that I couldnt find so it is probably best to create a course that has a mix of A and B tees.
Other Thoughts: This park is like an oasis in the middle of the sonoran desert. Of course it would never be too big considering the limited water supply, so you are playing in a very small space. But this course is as good as it will ever get so the designers deserve a lot of credit. Grass does make the experience a bit more enjoyable.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good use of limited space

4/17/2008   4/17/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes considering the space available, and ingenious layout utilizing double tees to make a completely different back 9 from the same baskets.
Cons: We played this one early on a Sunday morning and were the only ones out there. I imagine it might get a bit crowded and frustrating during the 'busy' usage hours.
Other Thoughts: Good beginner course. Worth the trip to Tucson.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Groves

1    4/13/2008   4/16/2008
Review By: jace
Played: 42  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nicely laid out for use with only 9 baskets. Never really felt like we played the same baskets on the back 9 which was good!
Nice concrete tee pads with course fairly easy to follow. we had a map which helped to locate some of the 'B' course tee pads which we played from occassionally.
Very excited to be able to practice a good variety of approach shots due to basket placement around trees.
Really loved that a bad drive off the tee still allowed for some recovery on shot number two. This is a wide open course with alot of forgiveness.
Cons: No bathrooms.
Open park provides little shade.
Too flat - but still plays very well - especially for beginners which is why it was designed.
Other Thoughts: a shelter and a bathroom and this course is a 3.0 IMO.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Groves Digger!

7/12/2006   3/30/2008
Review By: weum107
Played: 108  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 18.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice little park with grass and several open fairways. Good baskets and creatively laid out. "Back 9" tee placements play pretty well and help to complete this cozy course.
Cons: As is the case with any "double-up-for 18" 9-hole course, 18 different ones is always better. You only have so much room at Groves Park, though, and it is well utilized. A fun afternoon for sure. Nice work.
Other Thoughts: Took a trip across Tucson to play this course while visiting girlfriend (U of A student). Enjoyed everything about it, but course navigation was a bit of an issue. It was somewhat challenging to find some of the tee boxes, but not too bad. Worth the trip...good times!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

7/14/2007   7/14/2007
Review By: shaggydabomb
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Fun course both "A" & "B" layouts.. Good mix of shots and good use of trees..
Cons: Don't go without a map, confusing even with the map..long tees hard to find
Other Thoughts: Would play again anytime I was in the area, worth the visit good course..

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Groves Disc Golf Course

6/21/2007   6/21/2007
Review By: Mickfly6381
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: We installed this course with the mindset of a player friendly atmosphere. The short course, or "A course" as it is known, was laid out to show new players the different shot possiblities (hyzer,anhyzer, etc). The "B course" has longer T pads placement with many tucked in native trees and bushes.
Cons: Only 9 baskets.
Other Thoughts: Professionally ran and maintained by local Tucson Chain Lightning Club. Hats off to the club officers and volunteers!!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.