Tucson, AZ
Groves Park Share
Uploaded By: jbrock Hole #4 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 171ft.   3 / 204ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
A Green, Grassy Course In Southwest Arizona Is A Treat!

1    4/6/2013   4/9/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was pleasantly surprised to find a green, grass park here in Tucson. The baskets are placed are around the perimiter of the park. There are concrete pads for the longer tees. # 1-9 play in a clockwise direction, then you can play it counter clockwise 10-18 going back the opposite way. I would have had no clue about this had I not ran into a couple of locals to show me the way.
I only had time to play # 1-9. This layout was fairly short and easy. Very recreational in nature. At least three ACE runs. Definitely each hole was an easy birdie.
Previous reviewers have mentioned the punishing OB with it's cactus, etc. At least, speaking for the front nine, I thought it would be pretty difficult to miss these fairways and get to the OB's.

Although the park is fairly small aand flat, there are a few trees and the designers have done a nice job using them to create obstacles.
Cons: I could see this clockwise/counter-clockwise design being a problem when there are multiple groups playing here.
This is a beginner/recreational course. Nothing more. If you're looking for more of a challenge in the Tucson area, you'll have to drive up to Marana.

Other Thoughts: I was cool with this course. Playing on grass was a treat after playing the desert courses in New Mexico and Arizona. Groves is a great place to teach someone the game. It's a fun little throw that doesn't take forever. It has some great little ACE runs. When in Tucson, I highly recommend it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Much better elsewhere...

1    1/11/2013   1/29/2013
Review By: bsnone
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent baskets and fairly good tee pads. Basket placements make use of what little trees are in the park but at least they tried! Probably a great place to take a first timer, provided that the other person knows the layout.
Cons: Layout is very confusing, I had my iphone with me and had to check the map on this site between every hole to know where I was going. Easy short holes - an average player could play this course with a putter only (short course) or a midrange and a putter (longer tees). Lots of crossover between holes and dodging other players is a regular occurrence. Just really tough to navigate - it was a point of frustration.
Other Thoughts: If this were my backyard, I'd probably play regularly just to go throw but it was not at all worth driving across town to try out. I was actually surprised with the amount of traffic on the course for such a dull layout.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    5/5/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: ZDotHalbach
Played: 21  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice baskets
Well manicured park
Some holes may make you think
Concrete tees
Cons: No tee signs
Confusing flow (ended up playing backwards)
No benches
Course can interfere with other park activites
Not much variation of shots
Other Thoughts: Just another 9 hole course is all it really is.
Some minor improvement can make this course a lot better

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Definition of Average

1    4/14/2011   4/16/2011
Review By: rdwyer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of grass, not typical in Tucson, and nice to see. Decent baskets and tees.
Cons: Very simple. There is really nothing in between the teepads and the baskets, and you could probally go through this course with just a midrange and a putter. Mulitple tees on different sides of each hole sometimes mean you're throwing at someone else. Confusing course layout, print out the map if you can
Other Thoughts: If you live on that side of Tucson, it's worth stoppng by, but I drove about 25 min over there and it's not worth that drive. Stick to santa cruz river park, I'd say

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Simply fun course

2-4    1/16/2011   1/16/2011
Review By: Patsie87
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 1/23/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: JUST CREATED AND UPLOADED A MAP OF ALL TEES I HOPE THIS REALLY HELPS OUT!!

Most holes have multiple tees and the back ones can provide some very interesting shots. All close tees are cement and as long as you know where hole #1 is (in grass on left of parking lot by the school) the course doesn't get confusing. Not many trees and a great place to practice.Some of the holes are very short but some of the back tees out in the desert can make some of the holes very challenging. Great place for beginners and practice shots.

I am drawing out a map next visit and will try to get it uploaded!
Cons: The shortness of the course can my annoying at times and lack of trees can leave a lack of challenge and make the course boring at times. Some of the back tees are simply just a brick in the ground marker a tee or a circle drawn in the sand out in the desert which seems to always be there but if you dont know what youre looking for you may not find some of the back tees.
Other Thoughts: Great course to go and practice without any stress.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Groves Course

1    3/6/2010   3/7/2010
Review By: naturenut
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads and baskets are in good shape. The course is well maintained. Friendly helpful players there, makes navigating a bit easier. Good course to work on short game, most drives can be done with a putter.
Cons: Very short course. It can be difficult to navigate. There is no elevation change in the entire course. There are very few obstacles. Makes for a very easy round. There is not nearly enough room for a full 18 holes. Signs at the tees would be nice to make sure you are in the right spot.
Other Thoughts: Careful not to throw your disc in surrounding areas. If you wish to get a good 18 holes in near Tucson, go over to Marana. Overall, Groves was not a bad course to go to for a quick round. Good beginner course to improve your skills, but not a good representation of a typical course where there is a wide variety of demanding shots with either elevation, obstacles, or both.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fore!

1    2/13/2010   2/14/2010
Review By: tbone618
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wide open holes make for excellent beginners course. Short, easy holes, bring down your score, but lack in difficulty.
Cons: Back nine holes are the same as front nine only in reverse order. This means that you are constantly throwing at other players. Fore!!!
Other Thoughts: Only play it on a weekday when few are playing.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Real easy from the A tees; interesting from the Bs

5+    7/20/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: Anger Monsoon
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Grass inside the (small, as other reviewers mention) park. This is a good course for beginners and players wanting to work on their short game without a lot of obstacles or difficulty. The grass makes it cooler, though the sprinklers run in the morning. The A tees are fairly easy to find; and the actually plays interestingly in both directions. You can wear sandals if you want here. There are two water fountains.

The A tees are all short, though there is some interesting OB (prickly pear cactus, mesquite, and lots else if you get outside the perimeter of the park.

The B tees--though hard to find (download course map from the website and play with a regular or expect to look around)--are much more interesting. All the B tees add significant difficulty for better players. Many of them play from outside the perimeter of the park, so you have to clear 200-250' of nastiness to even get on the fairway. Many big hyzer drives from the B tees. And from those tees, you need more shots (forehands, anhyzers, hammers maybe).
Cons: For my money, the A tees are way too easy, and except for a couple, not very interesting. Only one of the holes is a difficult drive. A decent player should be able to shoot -8 on a good day without too much trouble on the A tees. Plenty of aces out there, but they're not aces you're going to feel really good about.

Admittedly the designers did a good job with a very small chunk of land here. And the Bs are much better. But still...
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty good course from the B tees. I'm not a fan of 9-basket courses, but they do a good job with this one, especially from the B tees. Warm up on the As. It's nice to have another course in town that is cooler and grassy, and this is closer to a lot of Tucson than driving out to Marana to play Marana Rock (which is a great course, much more challenging). Still, I play it all the time. Enough OB and weird cacti to keep things interesting.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Watch the rough!

1    12/29/2008   5/26/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays around a very small flat park, with a couple nice trees and very punitive rough around the edges. Though the park is tiny, the space is used very well, and the 9 baskets really didn't feel too crowded. The layout made for a very nice mix of different types of shots, despite the lack of many obstacles or any elevation.

The course only has 9 baskets, but is designed to play both clockwise and counter-clockwise around the park. This was an ingenious way to make 18 in a way that created a very different set of holes on the back 9, and was much more interesting that many other 9 holers with alternate tees for 18.

The park area where the majority of the tees and baskets was a very nicely maintained and mowed area. The rough was left very much as-is, and made for some great risk-reward decisions (let me tell you, it's no fun throwing your upshot from the middle of a patch of prickly pear cactus).
Cons: The course really needs signs, or at least a map at the beginning of the course. It was not an easy course to navigate. Despite all the tees and baskets being fairly obvious, it was not always easy to determine which tee was next or which basket to shoot at.

A course map would have also made the existence of the long set of tees more obvious. Unfortunately, many of these are more hidden, so if you don't know about them you probably won't stumble upon them.

Though the forward/backward layout was ingenious, it made for some waiting when there were players coming the other direction. This wasn't a major deal, but it certainly could have been much worse if the park was more crowded.
Other Thoughts: This course was a fun little find in an out of the way park. We enjoyed the round, and I would definitely go back if I were in the area. I wouldn't recommend driving way out of your way just to play this course, but if you happen to be in the area it's definitely worth a short stop.

The local club seems to do a lot of nice maintenance work, hopefully that means that they will get around to marking the course and the various sets of tees better. If this were done, I think it would be a really nice little course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Oasis

1    11/15/2008   11/15/2008
Review By: heywillard90
Played: 23  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice park considering that you are in the middle of a desert. Although open, trees create descent obstacles to shoot around. The dg community really has made the best of what they had to work with at this park and I wouldn't change anything.
Cons: THIS PARK IS PROBABLY THE SIZE OF TWO FOOTBALL FIELDS AT MOST. Cactus patches are on the outskirts of the park, if you lose your disc in them be prepared for a world of pain. I got a 5 inch cactus fruit with barbs all over it stuck in my leg. Find a map because the course isn't marked. The A course has some shots too short, and the B course has some tees that I couldnt find so it is probably best to create a course that has a mix of A and B tees.
Other Thoughts: This park is like an oasis in the middle of the sonoran desert. Of course it would never be too big considering the limited water supply, so you are playing in a very small space. But this course is as good as it will ever get so the designers deserve a lot of credit. Grass does make the experience a bit more enjoyable.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.