Disc Golf Store
Tucson, AZ 
Groves Park Share
Uploaded By: jbrock Hole #8 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Groves Park - A nice, short course

5+    6/22/2014   6/26/2014
Review By: Chromezero
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Groves Park is a short course but still fun. It's 9 baskets and can be played as 18. It has a lot grass, which is rare for Tucson courses. It has some challenging holes but is great for teaching newer players. The regulars at this course are generally friendly.
Cons: Some of pads/holes are tricky to find if it's your first time there. It would be nice if there were tee-pad placards or maybe arrows to point you to the next hole. Occasionally, an ATV or two can be heard racing around the park.
Other Thoughts: This has become one of my favorite courses in Tucson. It may not be "World Class", but it's great for a quick round after work.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nine By Four

1    5/22/2014   6/12/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
While there are only nine baskets (plus one for practice), there are two tees per hole, and the course does play back upon itself, so there are two 18-hole layouts.
Cons:
Dead flat.

Minimal obstacles - an occasional tree trunk or branch to miss, with only one basket offering a challenging approach through trees (number -5, set barely inside the wild space).

Some baskets much too close to private property or entrance/parking lot.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays in a clockwise, then counterclockwise, manner around the edges of a small public park located between a school/neighbourhood and undeveloped area. The course is open and short, so ace runs and birdy chances should be in abundance for the experienced, but offer some challenges to the less-advanced player.

Navigation: The online map I used mid-May 2014 has one error - there is no longer a basket-4 near the fence/play area. There is a new basket in the open space between old basket-7 and basket-8. Otherwise, the map did help me locate all the short (concrete) tees, and I mostly found the longer tees, which seemed to be transitioning from dirt patches/single brick to "real" hard-surface tees.

A place to play/practice/safari?/glow?, but not very challenging.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nothing to call home about...

2-4    4/30/2014   5/15/2014
Review By: Outdoor Craziness
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The location: it's disc golf in the ghetto. The course isn't much, but the organizers are doing their best with what they've been given. It's a pretty sketchy area, but this definitely opens the game up to a lot more people. I think that deserves some praise.
Cons: The challenge: the A-tees are all pretty simple par 3s. I'd say this is a great place to introduce someone to the game, but it's also a great place to get robbed. And I've heard about people being held up at gunpoint out here.

The parking: a few of the holes require throws over the parking lot. Beware of errant drives...

The wait: since there are only 9 baskets, it's pretty awkward waiting for groups to finish before you can go.
Other Thoughts: I only play here if I have to.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Green, Grassy Course In Southwest Arizona Is A Treat!

1    4/6/2013   4/9/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was pleasantly surprised to find a green, grass park here in Tucson. The baskets are placed are around the perimiter of the park. There are concrete pads for the longer tees. # 1-9 play in a clockwise direction, then you can play it counter clockwise 10-18 going back the opposite way. I would have had no clue about this had I not ran into a couple of locals to show me the way.
I only had time to play # 1-9. This layout was fairly short and easy. Very recreational in nature. At least three ACE runs. Definitely each hole was an easy birdie.
Previous reviewers have mentioned the punishing OB with it's cactus, etc. At least, speaking for the front nine, I thought it would be pretty difficult to miss these fairways and get to the OB's.

Although the park is fairly small aand flat, there are a few trees and the designers have done a nice job using them to create obstacles.
Cons: I could see this clockwise/counter-clockwise design being a problem when there are multiple groups playing here.
This is a beginner/recreational course. Nothing more. If you're looking for more of a challenge in the Tucson area, you'll have to drive up to Marana.

Other Thoughts: I was cool with this course. Playing on grass was a treat after playing the desert courses in New Mexico and Arizona. Groves is a great place to teach someone the game. It's a fun little throw that doesn't take forever. It has some great little ACE runs. When in Tucson, I highly recommend it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Much better elsewhere...

1    1/11/2013   1/29/2013
Review By: bsnone
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent baskets and fairly good tee pads. Basket placements make use of what little trees are in the park but at least they tried! Probably a great place to take a first timer, provided that the other person knows the layout.
Cons: Layout is very confusing, I had my iphone with me and had to check the map on this site between every hole to know where I was going. Easy short holes - an average player could play this course with a putter only (short course) or a midrange and a putter (longer tees). Lots of crossover between holes and dodging other players is a regular occurrence. Just really tough to navigate - it was a point of frustration.
Other Thoughts: If this were my backyard, I'd probably play regularly just to go throw but it was not at all worth driving across town to try out. I was actually surprised with the amount of traffic on the course for such a dull layout.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/5/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: ZDotHalbach
Played: 21  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice baskets
Well manicured park
Some holes may make you think
Concrete tees
Cons: No tee signs
Confusing flow (ended up playing backwards)
No benches
Course can interfere with other park activites
Not much variation of shots
Other Thoughts: Just another 9 hole course is all it really is.
Some minor improvement can make this course a lot better

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Definition of Average

1    4/14/2011   4/16/2011
Review By: rdwyer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of grass, not typical in Tucson, and nice to see. Decent baskets and tees.
Cons: Very simple. There is really nothing in between the teepads and the baskets, and you could probally go through this course with just a midrange and a putter. Mulitple tees on different sides of each hole sometimes mean you're throwing at someone else. Confusing course layout, print out the map if you can
Other Thoughts: If you live on that side of Tucson, it's worth stoppng by, but I drove about 25 min over there and it's not worth that drive. Stick to santa cruz river park, I'd say

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Simply fun course

2-4    1/16/2011   1/16/2011
Review By: Patsie87
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 1/23/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: JUST CREATED AND UPLOADED A MAP OF ALL TEES I HOPE THIS REALLY HELPS OUT!!

Most holes have multiple tees and the back ones can provide some very interesting shots. All close tees are cement and as long as you know where hole #1 is (in grass on left of parking lot by the school) the course doesn't get confusing. Not many trees and a great place to practice.Some of the holes are very short but some of the back tees out in the desert can make some of the holes very challenging. Great place for beginners and practice shots.

I am drawing out a map next visit and will try to get it uploaded!
Cons: The shortness of the course can my annoying at times and lack of trees can leave a lack of challenge and make the course boring at times. Some of the back tees are simply just a brick in the ground marker a tee or a circle drawn in the sand out in the desert which seems to always be there but if you dont know what youre looking for you may not find some of the back tees.
Other Thoughts: Great course to go and practice without any stress.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Groves Course

1    3/6/2010   3/7/2010
Review By: naturenut
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads and baskets are in good shape. The course is well maintained. Friendly helpful players there, makes navigating a bit easier. Good course to work on short game, most drives can be done with a putter.
Cons: Very short course. It can be difficult to navigate. There is no elevation change in the entire course. There are very few obstacles. Makes for a very easy round. There is not nearly enough room for a full 18 holes. Signs at the tees would be nice to make sure you are in the right spot.
Other Thoughts: Careful not to throw your disc in surrounding areas. If you wish to get a good 18 holes in near Tucson, go over to Marana. Overall, Groves was not a bad course to go to for a quick round. Good beginner course to improve your skills, but not a good representation of a typical course where there is a wide variety of demanding shots with either elevation, obstacles, or both.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fore!

1    2/13/2010   2/14/2010
Review By: tbone618
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide open holes make for excellent beginners course. Short, easy holes, bring down your score, but lack in difficulty.
Cons: Back nine holes are the same as front nine only in reverse order. This means that you are constantly throwing at other players. Fore!!!
Other Thoughts: Only play it on a weekday when few are playing.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.