Virginia Beach, VA 
Bayville Park Share
Uploaded By: Dooley Hole #12 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 205ft.   3 / 273ft.   3 / 273ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Crowded but fun

2-4    9/15/2014   9/16/2014
Review By: PWaggoner
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.8 Years
Pros: Nice tee pads and baskets. Multiple layouts. Clean. Decent signage. Nice array of shots and multiple paths for same hole usually.
Cons: Wow it was so busy. I've never seen so many people t a single course. By the third round we were having to take five minute breaks at each hole to wait.
The course does not circle around the bathroom. There are a lot of cars and waay to many people and not very many bushes. It's a long walk back and you basically have to take the the bike path back or dodge a good fifty discs going threw the course.
Other Thoughts: It was a great course and really would normally get a much higher rating. But I don't like getting thrown at and I have to pee a lot

 Fairly fun course

1    6/15/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: telusive
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: In a very pretty wooded area of a nice neighborhood.
It's really cool how it works, they have 2 tees and 2 baskets for every hole, so every skill level is met.
Nice benches and garbage cans
Some very hard shots, especially on the longer tees, hard lefts and rights through wooded areas.
Just wooded enough to enjoy the area, and not get super frustrated.
Cons: Very narrow, you sometimes feel like you are throwing onto people becuase the holes are so close.
Not much variety, mostly just 200' ish wooded shots.
The whole area this course is in is probably 20 acres tops.
Other Thoughts: A guy sells discs out of his van, he's awesome and will help you navigate the course if you ask him. He was a riot

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun For All

2-4    6/19/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: Brent Renken
Played: 19  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A van selling discs hangs out on the weekends.

It's a decent course and a must play but it won't be a heavy challenge for better players. Each hole has multiple basket options. The reds are very easy and the white/blue adds a little distance or slight obstacle to the hole but it won't require the perfect shot to get in for a birdie. That's actually some of the fun of playing this course...it's possible for anyone to compete.

It has 2 holes in the middle of the course that add a little fun because they're extra.

The course challenges include trees and lots of them but they're spaced out enough to leave plenty of wide open avenues to cut through.
Cons: It's a very popular course and the holes are tight so it's easy to end up on waiting on multiple holes throughout the day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Out of Town Visit

1    2/15/2011   2/19/2011
Review By: Corbie
Played: 24  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I Like the Two baskets per hole. The Bag poles where nice and simple. The Tee boxes were strait forward concrete pads. You could tell most of the baskets, by the signs at the tee box. Well wooded with little undergrowth, but see below for more details.
Cons: Leaves Leaves Every where. They swallow disc's whole, never to be found again. Getting from the basket of the hole you just played to the Tee box of the next can be very confusing.
Other Thoughts: I wish I had more time to play this course, I only got part way through it, before having to leave. I will have to come back and play again, and look for my disc's. I Lost two discs on this course, Both covered in leaves I guess.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great for beginners

5+    12/17/2010   12/27/2010
Review By: Madhatter575
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
Pros: One thing I find unique about this course is if your a lefty like myself this course is very left hand friendly. If your a beginner this course might be one of the best for you to make as your home course, given the fact it is always busy and the locals dont mind giving you some tips. This course is also good for those players who dont have long drives.
Cons: Not too many cons about this course they did well with the limited space they have. The many con would be the amount of players on warm days it seems like your always waiting at the tee, but other then that its a good course.
Other Thoughts: If your looking for a course with long holes this is not it!!! This course is all about placement, a lot of times longer drives actually put you in a worse postion because the fairways are so close to eachother. Playing this course in the fall and winter i would suggest playing with very bright discs!! lots of trees means lots of leaves and once you drive you better keep an eye on it because your disc is gonna be covered.

 Great Signs

1    9/28/2010   9/28/2010
Review By: Borrachos
Played: 55  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Obvious fairways in a very wooded course, nice long tee pads, quick to play even with several groups on the course, holes are designed in a nice out and in so there isn't a long walk back to the parking lot. Great signs!!! Baskets were great as well and it was easy to tell which to throw to depending on which tees you were playing.
Cons: Get ready to yell fore. It's a small area so chances of getting hit or hitting someone (which I did, sorry about that!) is high. Plus, ricocheting off a tree or errant throw will put you in another fairway. Could be confusing if you are from out of town, like me, but the signs come in handy.
Other Thoughts: Interesting course and it seems Va Beach DGer's take care of the course. Didn't see any litter and the signs haven't been messed with. My favorite holes were either 14 or 16. Great course to work on your accuracy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Friendly Neighborhood Community DGC

8/1/2008   8/9/2008
Review By: Aaron D'Angelo
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy to get to. Good Concrete tees, benches at many of the tees. Nice pratice tee area. Good use of available space. Shaded for most of course.
Cons: No grass to speak of, mostly sand. Very close tight course. Not technical, but if you throw badly you can very easily end up in your neighbors fairway. Not cool.
Other Thoughts: Wooded for most of the course, it seems like a nice local course. It's very active, even during the day. Could use some better signage, got confused between a couple of holes. Shorter course than can be played fairly quickly, even for me.

Favorite holes 16 - Shoot over a small canal with OB hazard to a basket bordered by canal and small hill behind, and the 17 shooting over canal again to back in the woods.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Bit More Than A Neighborhood Pitch & Putt

7/10/2003   2/22/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/13/2008
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's in a nice little neighborhood park, it's well marked with benches, it's mostly shady on those hot Virginia days, you can play a round in an hour or less, it's easy to find and it utilizes the natural setting about as well as one could ask for. There are cement tee pads to throw from. It's just a step ahead of a little pitch and putt course but that's OK. It's a fun little course that won't be holding any major tournaments but it's great for sharpening your game or bringing out the new players. Accurate throwers can rack up some nice scores here.
Cons: Nothing major. What you get here is just your basic little neighborhood park disc golf experience.
Other Thoughts: If you're looking for a 4 or 5 star course, you'll have to drive a distance. If you live in Virginia Beach, you'll probably throw here.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.